2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

Re: 2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

dragit wrote:Reid is in the Stanley zone ATM.
http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp ... %2C2024%2C
I think you have the wrong Sam Reid.

Do It again with Sam Reid Sydney Swans not GWS....

Sam Reid Swans is miles ahead of Stanley and 12 months younger.
Yes those stats are a bit off… I think combining both Reids?

Reid
has 62 games and averaged
10 disp
3.9 marks
1 goal

Stanley
has 48 games and averaged
10 disp
4.4 marks
0.6 goals

Reid looks like he should be a star, but he certainly isn't yet.

I wouldn't be dealing out a pick 3 for a player with similar to Stanley's numbers.

I can't see a role for him in the Sydney side. He's good but I don't think he's worth pick 3 and some later picks — he is far from a proven player.

Well depends what else is there at pick 3.

I also didnt suggest he was worth a pick 3 on his own.
I said we get pick 17ish as well.
I reckon hes a fair bit better than Stanley but time will tell I guess.
It is no shame if Reid cant get a game ahead of Buddy and Tippett..especially at 22yo.

Out of interest what ever happened to Ben Reid?

Just having a flashback....
Wasnt there something about Sam Reid being a one trick pony and being figured out by opposition in that if you stop him early on a lead then hes useless ?

We might be better off using picks 3 and 21 on best available and not stressing over a tall fwd.
Maybe get a John Butcher type with a later pick.

No to Reid for me.....he's another Stanley IMO. Natural athlete, below average AFL footballer.

I still believe we need to target GWS players. It seems there's a number of players motivated to leave the club for various reasons.

Con , I know you have a lot of love for John Butcher, but I figure if Richo couldn't turn him into a regular when he was at Port, and Hinkley still can't, then I doubt he is going to be any better for us. Maybe if we can get him for absolutely nothing eg preseason draft , it's worth a punt, but I would be seriously annoyed if we gave up anything of value for him .

We should offer big money and a starting spot to Mitchell from Sydney and the Pies have a guy running around in the VFL who is racking up huge numbers forget his name. Shiel too.

Zed wrote:Con , I know you have a lot of love for John Butcher, but I figure if Richo couldn't turn him into a regular when he was at Port, and Hinkley still can't, then I doubt he is going to be any better for us. Maybe if we can get him for absolutely nothing eg preseason draft , it's worth a punt, but I would be seriously annoyed if we gave up anything of value for him .
Not true at all. I am suggesting John Butcher in the same way we got Delaney.
fringe player at another club.
late pick.
we offer him game time and a contract.
not suggesting we use a high pick on him.
lets keep it real. Hed make our best 22.

Are GWS and GC still being gifted draft picks this year?

FQF wrote:I can't see a role for him in the Sydney side. He's good but I don't think he's worth pick 3 and some later picks — he is far from a proven player.
word is goodes will retire at the end of the year. plenty of room for reid as the third tall

spot on

I wonder what it would take to get Dylan shields into our team, I think he is a lock to be a ten year plus player. I'm guessing pick 3 or watever it is will have to be part of it. If we could get a later pick back, say 21 or there 3rd round 40 odd I think it would be worth it.

spot on wrote:I wonder what it would take to get Dylan shields into our team, I think he is a lock to be a ten year plus player. I'm guessing pick 3 or watever it is will have to be part of it. If we could get a later pick back, say 21 or there 3rd round 40 odd I think it would be worth it.
He would cost a top 3 pick without question, especially considering he's contracted.

Pre-listed GWS player regarded as a potential #1 draft pick. Certainly a top #5 pick.

2011 - Averaged 19 touches in his first season
2012 - Averaged 19.6 touches and 4th in the best and fairest
2013 - Averaging 21.5 touches

If anything his draft value has gone up. We went hard at him last year. We'll be having another crack this year too.

Patton started clunking them today too.

lloyd21

Yep in twelve months Boyd will be playing somewhere else .
Jaksch , Orourke , Shiel & probably Plowman .

They are missing a 2nd Ruckman , we have 4 . Rhys buddy you are on soft ground.

Hope some are with Saints.

lloyd21 wrote:Yep in twelve months Boyd will be playing somewhere else .
Jaksch , Orourke , Shiel & probably Plowman .

They are missing a 2nd Ruckman , we have 4 . Rhys buddy you are on soft ground.

Hope some are with Saints.
You don't think Boyd will re-sign?

lloyd21

Would you ..when 8 clubs are after you ? Guaranteed to play home in Victoria every 2nd week be paid double due to :
Scully , Mumford, Shaw , Ward , & Cameron in the future years.

lloyd21 wrote:Would you ..when 8 clubs are after you ? Guaranteed to play home in Victoria every 2nd week be paid double due to :
It doesn't surprise me if Boyd would want to leave.

He was unanimously considered the very best talent in the draft, a ready to go top class AFL standard forward. And yet he's languishing away playing in some substandard NSW reserves league? He probably was playing a higher standard of footy last year, in fact, he certainly was.

Boyd will we fully aware that if he was drafted by any other club (except perhaps Sydney) he would be playing every week, and possibly as the number one forward.

What exactly would be keeping him at GWS except his contractual obligation and maybe a few mates he's got there?

lloyd21 wrote:Would you ..when 8 clubs are after you ? Guaranteed to play home in Victoria every 2nd week be paid double due to :
I get your point.

I didn't know whether it was your opinion or a rumour you heard.

lloyd21

Heaps of rumours but pretty clear as good as GWS are going to be a lot of talent is coming back to Victoria.

GWS knew that from day 1 hence why their tactics heard Graeme Allan talk about it for 90 minutes last year.

They want to control the draft for next 5 years by releasing players out of the club over time but getting significant gains along the way.

Smart .

The only problem is they paid too much for Shaw Mumford Davis Scully Ward & Cameron's manager wants plenty so they will lose more than they would like.

Am I the only one that wants Angus Brayshaw over ALL of the key forwards? I'll have the Rolls Royce midfielder over a "6 years to develop key forward"... everyday of the week IMO.

Saints94 wrote:Am I the only one that wants Angus Brayshaw over ALL of the key forwards? I'll have the Rolls Royce midfielder over a "6 years to develop key forward"... everyday of the week IMO.
I'm not opposed to selecting the standout midfielder from the draft. Low risk and immediate impact.

ROLS-LEE

Saints94 wrote:Am I the only one that wants Angus Brayshaw over ALL of the key forwards? I'll have the Rolls Royce midfielder over a "6 years to develop key forward"... everyday of the week IMO.
I'm not opposed to selecting the standout midfielder from the draft. Low risk and immediate impact.
I agree as well, but I like Lamb.
We need a strong midfield with depth.
Get forward via trade / free agency later.

Lamb has major discipline issues. Punched a bloke in the head on the weekend!

FQF wrote:
It doesn't surprise me if Boyd would want to leave.

He was unanimously considered the very best talent in the draft, a ready to go top class AFL standard forward. And yet he's languishing away playing in some substandard NSW reserves league? He probably was playing a higher standard of footy last year, in fact, he certainly
The top neafl sides would beat a tac cup side by 10 to 20 goals.

Ive seen Boyd play live recently. Big unit. Moves well on the lead but still not a certainty to be a star. Does look move and play a bit like Tomahawk though...

Largely futile, but we should be dangling some big coin at Ollie Wines and few other young guns Sloane, Mitchell, Haneberry etc... Likely to stay put but at the very least it adds pressure to their caps

"Here is double what your club is offering"