Gaff

Re: Gaff

First time offender smashes a first year player in the teeth off the ball, causing a fair amount of damage, and gets 8 weeks...the outrage is OTT, the penalty is fine. Nothing to see here, move along.

IMO, Worst Coast threw a lot of money and effort into getting him a reduced penalty, he'll repay the faith and sign back on. Maybe at a slightly discounted rate, but his market value would still be very high...he's possibly their best player.

stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:56pm
Saintmatt wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:45pm
stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:54pm
KingSaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:15pm
desertsaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 9:48pm ouch. another media driven suspension. they get them off when it suits, they get their scapegoats when it suits.
afl have to back it up now and start suspending any punch. and our game grows more vanilla. just a bunch of prima donna professionals turning up at the office soon. next it be red cards, then the divers will come out to play, we'll have video reviews out of our arse, to fit them in the game time will shorten, may as well be watching soccer.
You've got to be joking...right??? An 18 year old kid gets his jaw broken by a full on swinging punch and it' s media driven???

Gaff had a brain fade...did something unbelievably stupid...deserves at least 8 weeks.
If you class that as a full-on punch, you know very little about the fight game!!!!!

I'd call that a 'Love Tap'!!!!!
You’re genuinely a dead set moron. Fight game? FFS - Gaff was playing at Optus Stadium and not MGM Grand. He’s also not a registered boxer (unless of course you know better?).

Do you also want to put 4 x !!!! after your reply like you do after every sentence?

Seeing as you you know so much about the “fight game” - how ‘bout you leave the forum; turn your computer off; and go give yourself an uppercut.
Settle down there tiger, most punches, kicks etc names originate from the 'fight game', not the footy field, thus the quote reference is appropriate!!!!!

And it's 5 of these !!!!! not 4 of these !!!!

Get your facts right before you start throwing insults around, your 'More Ron' then me!!!!!
Probably "you're" instead of "your" and most likely also "than" as distinct from "then".

But keep at it though - you're coming along well.

I believe he was swinging for the chest and I actually thought that before he said it.

Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 7:37am
parkeysainter wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 1:05am Its a weird place Australia these days.

An gun ex footballer like Shannon Grant beats the crap out of his ex missus 3 times and gets off his original jail time through an appeal.

Then we have a footy player escorted through the shady back doors of Tullamarine for his own protection because he smacked a kid on a footy field in Perth.

Lastly, you have some bloke (that has killed another man) playing footy on Saturdays whilst serving time in prison and he too breaks a kids jaw.

Bizarre weekend. You couldn't think this stuff up to write a book about it.
I think you have two cases mixed into one in the prisoner reference.

1. Guy on bail with priors breaks kids jaw in match.

2. Convicted killer on day release playing country footy.

Two stories are unrelated.
Its even worse.

shrodes wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:56am
bigcarl wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:53am Trial by Twitter. A race to see who can become the most outraged.

Not condoning what he did, but eight weeks seems excessive for a 180-game first offender.

What’s the penalty for someone with priors? Life? Death?

I’d welcome him to our club, such as it is. Get him.
Rubbish. If he did that outside a nightclub, regardless of first offender he'd be in big trouble. He did it in front of thousands of people, including kids, on the big stage.

Every offender is a first offender at one point in time. The people invoking the "good bloke" argument are the ill-informed ones.
Sorry Schrodes - you're absolutely flat-out wrong here. The direct comparison is Marley Williams when he was at the Pies. Snotted a chap out the front of a WA nightclub - one punch/broken jaw. Exactly the same as Gaff. https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/col ... zqxri.html. I'd argue that a 12-month suspended sentence is way more lenient than an 8 game sanction from the AFL Tribunal (certainly in a monetary sense).

Having said that - I think it was out of character; meant to hit him in the arm or chest but it all went severely pear-shaped.

And I'd kill to have him streaming up and down the wing in a r, w & b jumper for the next 5 years.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:47am
stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:56pm
Saintmatt wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 11:45pm
stonecold wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:54pm
KingSaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 10:15pm
desertsaint wrote: Tue 07 Aug 2018 9:48pm ouch. another media driven suspension. they get them off when it suits, they get their scapegoats when it suits.
afl have to back it up now and start suspending any punch. and our game grows more vanilla. just a bunch of prima donna professionals turning up at the office soon. next it be red cards, then the divers will come out to play, we'll have video reviews out of our arse, to fit them in the game time will shorten, may as well be watching soccer.
You've got to be joking...right??? An 18 year old kid gets his jaw broken by a full on swinging punch and it' s media driven???

Gaff had a brain fade...did something unbelievably stupid...deserves at least 8 weeks.
If you class that as a full-on punch, you know very little about the fight game!!!!!

I'd call that a 'Love Tap'!!!!!
You’re genuinely a dead set moron. Fight game? FFS - Gaff was playing at Optus Stadium and not MGM Grand. He’s also not a registered boxer (unless of course you know better?).

Do you also want to put 4 x !!!! after your reply like you do after every sentence?

Seeing as you you know so much about the “fight game” - how ‘bout you leave the forum; turn your computer off; and go give yourself an uppercut.
Settle down there tiger, most punches, kicks etc names originate from the 'fight game', not the footy field, thus the quote reference is appropriate!!!!!

And it's 5 of these !!!!! not 4 of these !!!!

Get your facts right before you start throwing insults around, your 'More Ron' then me!!!!!
Probably "you're" instead of "your" and most likely also "than" as distinct from "then".

But keep at it though - you're coming along well.
No worries Tiger, couple of spelling and punching era's on me behalve, sory!!!!! ;)

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:59am
shrodes wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 9:56am Rubbish. If he did that outside a nightclub, regardless of first offender he'd be in big trouble. He did it in front of thousands of people, including kids, on the big stage.

Every offender is a first offender at one point in time. The people invoking the "good bloke" argument are the ill-informed ones.
Sorry Schrodes - you're absolutely flat-out wrong here. The direct comparison is Marley Williams when he was at the Pies. Snotted a chap out the front of a WA nightclub - one punch/broken jaw. Exactly the same as Gaff. https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/col ... zqxri.html. I'd argue that a 12-month suspended sentence is way more lenient than an 8 game sanction from the AFL Tribunal (certainly in a monetary sense).

Having said that - I think it was out of character; meant to hit him in the arm or chest but it all went severely pear-shaped.

And I'd kill to have him streaming up and down the wing in a r, w & b jumper for the next 5 years.
No worries. Agree to disagree :)

For what it's worth I think sports players committing crimes are given too lenient a punishment in general, so I don't believe the Marley Williams case proves your point exactly. If that was a member of the general public it's likely he would have copped more. Same with Paddy Ryder assaulting police, or the aforementioned players abusing their partners.

My opinions also don't reflect how I feel on him coming to the club (I think he'd be great), or his character in general (I have no idea, but consensus seems to be he's a decent guy).
My point is that I don't think the 8 weeks is unjustified.

Nah, He will re-sign with the coasters. Would think he owes them now.

chico2001

8 weeks is a fair call IMO. If you wanted to really set an example him then give him 16 weeks and let the police charge him with assault. With his clean record and a good lawyer he would probably get a small fine if he fronted the court. It is fair to say it was a one off. The AFL are looking at all the scuffling, scragging, jumper punching and wrestling s*** etc and will make changes in this area. It has been getting ridiculous and can lead to retaliation. I know Rugby fans and others who watch AFL games cant stand it and wonder how players get away with it.
Saints would be mad to not chase Gaff but he wasnt coming before the incident and I cant see him leaving the Eagles now, he may be looking to redeem himself. He would be staying behind locked doors as well at the minute because Dockers and Eagles hate each other and there is a fair bit of anger and revenge factor over there now. The one town/2 team scenario is always a bit different.

Well at least we know no that we have not signed him for 2019...otherwise the AFL would have given him 12 months!

saintsRrising wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 1:44pm Well at least we know no that we have not signed him for 2019...otherwise the AFL would have given him 12 months!
No, but "Lethers " has been talking to him though. Admitted in his latest podcast that he knows the boy.

Didn’t Jason’s post that he will either stay at WCE or go to North?

st.byron wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 2:41pm Didn’t Jason’s post that he will either stay at WCE or go to North?
Jaxons!!!!!

Superboot

And the perennial question, how many weeks would Steve Baker have got?!

parkeysainter wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:53am
parkeysainter wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 1:05am Its a weird place Australia these days.

An gun ex footballer like Shannon Grant beats the crap out of his ex missus 3 times and gets off his original jail time through an appeal.

Then we have a footy player escorted through the shady back doors of Tullamarine for his own protection because he smacked a kid on a footy field in Perth.

Lastly, you have some bloke (that has killed another man) playing footy on Saturdays whilst serving time in prison and he too breaks a kids jaw.

Its even worse.
That’s law and order in Victoria for you!

stonecold wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 2:59pm
st.byron wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 2:41pm Didn’t Jason’s post that he will either stay at WCE or go to North?
Jaxons!!!!!
Yep that’s the one. Bloody predictive keyboards.

st.byron wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 7:26pm
stonecold wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 2:59pm
Jaxons!!!!!
Yep that’s the one. Bloody predictive keyboards.
All good, I get it all the time and posters pick me up on it, so I was helping!!!!!

Anyone remember Garry Ablett Sr elbowing Kristian Bardlsley in the face?

Apparently Bardsley looked "like a shotgun had gone off in his mouth."

"God" got five weeks.

Superboot

Cairnsman wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:51am I believe he was swinging for the chest and I actually thought that before he said it.
Same here

Perth can be claustrophobic for Eagles players. There must be a better than 50/50 chance Gaff would like to leave the scene of the crime, particularly if he has no intention of living in Perth forever. If he is guilt ridden penance by playing for the Saints would be good for his soul - and our scoring. I imagine he will not make a decision until he feels better mentally and really when he weighs everything up what does he owe the Eagles - Simpson comforted him as any compassionate person would but the club spokesman was appalling, the crowd was appalling. He has more than repaid on the field what they have paid him and I doubt they would go top even with him. I reckon we are a good chance.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 7:45pm Anyone remember Garry Ablett Sr elbowing Kristian Bardlsley in the face?

"God" got five weeks.
That waste of space cost us a place in a grannie in 1991. Cleaned up Burke and Grant.

Good footballer, disgraceful human being.

saynta wrote: Thu 09 Aug 2018 11:24am
Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 7:45pm Anyone remember Garry Ablett Sr elbowing Kristian Bardlsley in the face?

"God" got five weeks.
That waste of space cost us a place in a grannie in 1991. Cleaned up Burke and Grant.

Good footballer, disgraceful human being.
Opposition supporters say the same about Plugger, if Ablett played for us, you'd love him!!!!! ;)

Good footballer is understating it a bit!!!!!

"God" got five weeks.
I thought that was Kristian Anning? :wink:

Yes it was a shocker :evil:

Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 5:37pm
parkeysainter wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:53am

Its even worse.
That’s law and order in Victoria for you!
I remember as kid in the 1960s in country Vic, that some prisoners from the jail would play footy under supervision. My dad had something to do with supervision, but can't remember what. As school kids on our way home we would sometimes talk to the cons who were were working in the garden outside the prison walls.