Jaxons come on down

Re: Jaxons come on down

Linton Lodger wrote:Actually I just read that Stevens is out of contract. Doesn't that mean we get him for nothing?
Only if they delist him first

St Ick wrote:
bigred wrote:hmmmm.

I think we lose on that.
What if you add that 31 in there as well?

Its so in our favour and we still aren't keen.
Depends how we look at it.

Early picks do not guarantee long term players.

A bird in the hand.

bigred wrote:please....

If that happens I will introduce my membership to the microwave.
I'm sure you will have space left over for mine as well.

White Winmar wrote:Trading Hickey will weaken our list. He's so important structure wise. We've also put the time into his development and this year we began reaping the rewards. He's the ruckman we need for our next challenge. I have faith that Lewie Pierce will be his back up. Unfortunately, Billy's trade value has plummeted on the back of a very ordinary, injury riddled year. We need Hickey more than we need Lachie Weller.
Totally agree -I can live without Lachie Weller if it means losing Hickey.

The Recruit

not sure the whisperer on twitter is that off the mark....often pretty close with predictions and give a lot more than itk on here..

Myron Gaines wrote:I don't know if we would I'm just quantifying a rumour.
If it is from the TW it only qualifies as bull***t and no as a rumour. The TW has absolutely no credibility. None, zero, nada....and indeed is most likely just trolling the gullible.
The gullible and the mentally challanged, I would say.

The Recruit wrote:not sure the whisperer on twitter is that off the mark....often pretty close with predictions and give a lot more than itk on here..

Perhaps and go back and read again. :idea:

TW constantly changes and is constantly wrong. Operates on the theory that if TW posts enough that some will eventually be correct.
They also just repost a lot of what other posts.

Bardon Saint wrote:
Beno88 wrote:Koby Stevens only finished behind five St Kilda players in this year's Brownlow. Same amount of votes as Armo. He's no hack. Depth is everything if we're going to press for finals.
He didn't poll in the top 10 for the B&F for Dogs. I think he's good is very good, he just requires consistency.
In fairness, he only played 12 games.

White Winmar wrote:Trading Hickey will weaken our list. He's so important structure wise. We've also put the time into his development and this year we began reaping the rewards. He's the ruckman we need for our next challenge. I have faith that Lewie Pierce will be his back up. Unfortunately, Billy's trade value has plummeted on the back of a very ordinary, injury riddled year. We need Hickey more than we need Lachie Weller.
Exactly!

What's Weller done exactly to rate him a better player has Hickey who has played some outstanding games?

It would be a dumb trade and given what Bains has said I highly doubt it's going to happen.

SMS

Steele
Stevens
Scrimshaw or Berry or Rogue

3 nice inclusions add Carlisle, a fit Freeman, Longer, McCartin, Billings with a pre season, we will be right in it.

Wanna be ruthless?

Arma to Brissie for a 1st rnder.

Send that pick, + pick 10, plus Hickey to Freo

For Fyfe...

mate the whisperer hasnt been right once! flog campaigner

also would have thought Hick would almost be untradeable

only under exceptional circumstances. not sure Lauchie is that...

SMS

bigred wrote:Wanna be ruthless?

For Fyfe...
Why? Premium Ruckman and Ruck Rover for one overpaid star it would ruin fabric of the team. We dont have the culture or team maturity for that yet. Need to keep building. Acres may be the next fyfe. Build it and they will come. ;)

Id be stoked if we get just get steele stevens and Berry to be honest.

Folks, don't waste your breath and keystrokes on the rumour from the TW.

TW actually got it wrong.
The deal is we give Hickey to Fremantle.
They give us Ross Lyon back as a coach.

We have been looking for a half decent ruckman for well over 15 years without success.
Over that time we have wasted a number of first round draft picks on potential ruckman.
Now that we have finally found a good ruckman some lunatics want to trade him away.
We can then spend the next 15 years and many first round picks looking for another ruckman.

HICKEY IS ONLY MOVING FROM SEAFORD TO MOORABBIN !

ace wrote:TW actually got it wrong.
The deal is we give Hickey to Fremantle.
They give us Ross Lyon back as a coach.

We have been looking for a half decent ruckman for well over 15 years without success.
Over that time we have wasted a number of first round draft picks on potential ruckman.
Now that we have finally found a good ruckman some lunatics want to trade him away.
We can then spend the next 15 years and many first round picks looking for another ruckman.

HICKEY IS ONLY MOVING FROM SEAFORD TO MOORABBIN !
This is a ridiculous time of the year when all logic seems to go out the window for many supporters.
We have been building nicely with a team all coming through together and playing for the coach.
Why would you even consider crazy trades just for the sake of it.
I would rather steadily pick up the players we need (e.g Steele to add to the midfield), and get another top draftee with pick 10.
We already have Carlisle and Freeman as virtual recruits.

Rocket

Let's get over that crap rumour and get some quality onto the site

Exactly. Last year Longer was beaten almost every game and drew the rest. Some opposing ruckmen had career best games against him. This year Hickey was the main (though not the only) reason we improved our win count. He is top three most important players in our team at the moment.

The Recruit

bigred wrote:Wanna be ruthless?

For Fyfe...
done :D :D

Summary of Ameet + Reading between the lines:

Forget any trade involving Armo - wont be going anywhere.
Another key defender is a consideration but not really a huge deal or urgent priority - Carlisle is the man and we have hopes for Goddard.
No plans to trade anyone out.
Not pursuing Rockliff at all. Forget it.

Probably happy with Stevens, Steele and pick 10 at this stage.

Playon

stavro#4
Steele is a done deal - the reason it hasnt been completed as of yet, is due to us openly telling clubs pick 10 is here to push through any deal or for any interested club.

also, Koby may not be a superstar but he provides a serious dose of dont **** with me and can get the pill 20 odd times from a forward flank. If anything, he will give us another midfielder and an enforcer to protect some of these kids.

Expect Billings to get more wing time next season and to interchange with Koby/Mav through out the game. A real match up headache as all 3 can take a grab overhead or hurt teams when the ball hits the deck

I thought it may not of been done in case one of the other deals may fall through eg Marchbank etc or looking at another player from gws

So I guess were waiting on offers and if none come through we go to the draft

Grrrrr

3 minutes ago
SAINTS UPDATE

Saints chief operating officer Ameet Bains is speaking on NAB AFL Trade Radio now.

Key points:
Saints hope to get the Koby Stevens and Jack Steele deals done in the next week.
Stevens wanted to stay, but that situation became more uncertain in the last week. Disappointed he didn't make the Grand Final team there.
Steele and Stevens: we need to build midfield depth and also some size. Seb Ross and Blake Acres are unique at the Saints because of their shape and size. Protection and support.
Saints looking for more key defensive depth. None the wiser on Sam Fisher's future. Won't be till after the trade period.
Nathan Freeman: the club might send him to Europe to look at his hamstring, but pleasing he played the last two months of the season in the VFL without interruption.
Not expecting to trade anyone out at this stage.
Not pursuing Tom Rockliff.
Hard for ruckmen Billy Longer, Lewis Pierce and Jason Holmes to break into the sides while Tom Hickey is playing so well.

http://www.afl.com.au/trade/trade-talk

Grrrrr wrote:3 minutes ago
SAINTS UPDATE

Saints chief operating officer Ameet Bains is speaking on NAB AFL Trade Radio now.

Key points:
Saints hope to get the Koby Stevens and Jack Steele deals done in the next week.
Stevens wanted to stay, but that situation became more uncertain in the last week. Disappointed he didn't make the Grand Final team there.
Steele and Stevens: we need to build midfield depth and also some size. Seb Ross and Blake Acres are unique at the Saints because of their shape and size. Protection and support.
Saints looking for more key defensive depth. None the wiser on Sam Fisher's future. Won't be till after the trade period.
Nathan Freeman: the club might send him to Europe to look at his hamstring, but pleasing he played the last two months of the season in the VFL without interruption.
Not expecting to trade anyone out at this stage.
Not pursuing Tom Rockliff.
Hard for ruckmen Billy Longer, Lewis Pierce and Jason Holmes to break into the sides while Tom Hickey is playing so well.

http://www.afl.com.au/trade/trade-talk
At last some sanity -it makes me happy to hear a measured and logical response.

Playon

Moorabbin Ghost

I'll follow stavro#4 lead and second everything he said. There's some really good people in here but the minority have wrecked it unfortunately. Some say if we put information out there that doesn't come true we deserve a whack, and that's fair enough. The issue is when campaigners get arrogant or nasty like a couple did a week or so back. I don't deserve to put up with that crap. If you don't believe me or don't like me that's fine, just ignore what I have to say.

Things getting very interesting for Saints now, the O'Meara deal holding up our Steele deal. We will go one of two very different ways here...
A well loved player is a chance to go...
Don't get too attached to Pick 10.
We will come out of this trade period very, very nicel

More for the puzzle