St Kilda Performance on Footy Show Review

Spud
Location: Near the You Yangs, or as my wife used to call it, the Dugongs.

HSVKing wrote:
Spud wrote:Naive of the players, but the situation was overhyped by the media. However common sense should have prevailed given the media are just itching to take a pot at us over anything REMOTELY related to the events of the past year.
Story started by the Herald Sun and driven into everyone by them.

Anything to do with us having a sponsorship with The Age you think?
Shut this rag down now. As their motto says, 'Stories start here'... F*** oath they do.
Good point

Spud
Location: Near the You Yangs, or as my wife used to call it, the Dugongs.

I'm glad that the Grand Final today will mean that this issue can be forgotten about pretty quickly, then we can think about some hard work with the new coach in an uninterrupted pre season.

BushDave

It was naieve and brainless at best, absolutley moronic at worst.

Thank god some of these players can play football, because they are certainly not mature and aware enough to make the right decisions regarding the organisation they represent. They are first and foremost employeess and representatives of the football club and are supposed expouse the culture of the club.

It was dissapointing to see.

Never Give Up!

Behind Play wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Behind Play wrote: May certainly be light hearted fun for you but to the rest of the football public, it's the St. kilda football club's image on women.

Wake up the lot of you.
What is the club's image on women??
The club has got no problems with women, however the public image of the St. Kilda football Club towards women is very negative.
Why?

Sainterman

Are we serious with this statement just put on Facebook...sheesh...!

Statement:
The Nine Network's Footy Show has declined a request to provide the St Kilda Football Club with an apology for the damage caused by a tasteless skit aired last Thursday night.
The St Kilda Football Club was not informed of the content or nature of the skit prior to the program going to air.
The St Kilda Football Club is extremely disappointed that the Nine Network involved its players in a disrespectful and unnecessary performance on The Footy Show.
The Footy Show skit reflected badly on the St Kilda Football Club and the players involved. The skit, choreographed by The Footy Show, misrepresented the Club's commitment to values surrounding Respect & Responsibility.
The St Kilda Football Club will be making contact with all player managers to advise that future appearances on The Footy Show by Saints players beyond 2011 is being reviewed.
This is in an effort to ensure players are not placed in an unreasonable and compromising situation in the name of entertainment in the future.
The St Kilda Football Club believes all stakeholders in the AFL have a responsibility to understand and reflect community standards and portray the game in a positive and respectful manner.
The St Kilda Football Club will be formally speaking to the players involved in the segment and be working with the whole playing group to ensure they better understand the inappropriate nature of the segment.
Irrespective of the fact that The Footy Show was solely responsible for the content and nature of the skit, the players involved should have known better.

good.

... at least we are on the balls of our feet.

BushDave

After the horse has bolted once again. When will our management be proactive and not reactive?

Never Give Up!

I work in psychiatry at an emergency department

there you see REAL issues

anyone who is outraged does not have a balanced view of life

it was an act in the theme of the revue - it was not real

it wasn't making a statement

it was just a bit of fun... no one forced you to watch

people need lives

skeptic wrote:I work in psychiatry at an emergency department

people need lives
End of story.

Tempted to lock this thread, just so people understand there are far more important issues in life.

evertonfc wrote:

people need lives
End of story.

Tempted to lock this thread, just so people understand there are far more important issues in life.
Going by that then you might of well just shut the whole site down. More inportant things in life then football altogether.

What a strange response Ev.

It's a St Kilda fan forum, people are expressing their sentiments about St Kilda.

Wouldn't thought that translates into their views on current affairs.

While I agree there are far more important issues going on in the world at the moment, this is a forum about the St Kilda footy club. If we don't talk about stuff like this, which while to many of us isn't an issue, it is to the club, especially at a time we seem to be really trying to keep the negative press out of the place and attract sponsorships, what are we going to talk about?
It's the start of the off season and I imagine we're trying to get ourselves some good sponsorships, especially after one of our major ones just left due largely to all our negative publicity and this is one of the last things the club would have wanted.
As someone else said, it's more of the club reacting after the horse has bolted. Those running the place just seem to be chasing their tails all the time. I think that's well worth talking about, if we care about what happens to the club. Westaway and Nettlefold need to lift their games or stand aside, I would imagine.

Laughing my amazement off @ ... tempted to lock it.

Seriously.

9 pages of interest and comment is not evidence enough on it's own , on a board specialising in the written media.

One Moderators opinion , backed up by his shiny little badge , having the right sort of power amongst the differing views of his peer group if executed , is shallowness personified.

imho , only , of course.

Wish i had a badge to polish , i'd hone those edges like razors ... but , regretfully , only a giraffe can i buff.

... here i was thinking the baby mods were the problem !
.... but nah.
.... it's always the power trippers.

gazrat wrote:Laughing my amazement off @ ... tempted to lock it.

Seriously.

9 pages of interest and comment is not evidence enough on it's own , on a board specialising in the written media.

One Moderators opinion , backed up by his shiny little badge , having the right sort of power amongst the differing views of his peer group if executed , is shallowness personified.

imho , only , of course.
Not yours only!

Not your call Sebastian!

This is a forum where people should be allowed to express their opinions and just because a mod does not share a particular view is no reason to lock or delete a thread!

A few weeks ago I had a thread deleted by a mod who did not like my critique of the current board :shock:

The forum is for everyone to express their opinion and if it does not align itself with a particular view of a mod that is not reason enough to censor!

Perhaps the whole FS SF thing is overblown,

however it also clearly demonstrates once again exactly how amateurishly run our club is and the total incompetence of the current board!

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote: As someone else said, it's more of the club reacting after the horse has bolted. Those running the place just seem to be chasing their tails all the time. I think that's well worth talking about, if we care about what happens to the club. Westaway and Nettlefold need to lift their games or stand aside, I would imagine.
PRECISELY!

Sainterman wrote:Are we serious with this statement just put on Facebook...sheesh...!

Statement:
The Nine Network's Footy Show has declined a request to provide the St Kilda Football Club with an apology for the damage caused by a tasteless skit aired last Thursday night.
The St Kilda Football Club was not informed of the content or nature of the skit prior to the program going to air.
The St Kilda Football Club is extremely disappointed that the Nine Network involved its players in a disrespectful and unnecessary performance on The Footy Show.
The Footy Show skit reflected badly on the St Kilda Football Club and the players involved. The skit, choreographed by The Footy Show, misrepresented the Club's commitment to values surrounding Respect & Responsibility.
The St Kilda Football Club will be making contact with all player managers to advise that future appearances on The Footy Show by Saints players beyond 2011 is being reviewed.
This is in an effort to ensure players are not placed in an unreasonable and compromising situation in the name of entertainment in the future.
The St Kilda Football Club believes all stakeholders in the AFL have a responsibility to understand and reflect community standards and portray the game in a positive and respectful manner.
The St Kilda Football Club will be formally speaking to the players involved in the segment and be working with the whole playing group to ensure they better understand the inappropriate nature of the segment.

What bunch of clowns, time for these idiots to exit the building!

If they managed to be on top of things from the get go instead of being asleep at the wheel 24/7 then this stuff would just not happen!

Player reviews are always a bit raunchy with people in various states of undress!

I find it hard to fathom how the club did not bother to inquire as to what the players would actually be doing on the FS given the concerns they have now expressed after the horse has bolted!

How completely bereft of a clue are these nuffies?

I spoke to a board member just before the 2010 Grand Final and told him how I had warned the entire board in 2008 about the possibility of playing Collingwood in a Grand Final in the next few years and being forced to wear an away jumper in a Grand Final and it was imperative that our away jumper be as close to our home jumper as possible for such an eventuality eg:- home jumper with a white back etc....

at the time Westaway said "We will wear our home jumper in Grand Finals"

NO CLUE! The clown clearly got this wrong!

Anyway the board member told me the club were not aware of the AFL ruling on clash jumpers in Grand Finals until the week before the 2010 Preliminary Final and that several board members were not happy about having to wear a clash jumper in the Grand Final!

THIS IS FAIR DINKUM!

Asleep at the wheel once again

Westaway is a total embarrassment and the biggest lame duck president since Bush!

Nettlefold should be sacked immediately!

Sainterman wrote:Are we serious with this statement just put on Facebook...sheesh...!

Statement:

What bunch of clowns, time for these idiots to exit the building!

If they managed to be on top of things from the get go instead of being asleep at the wheel 24/7 then this stuff would just not happen!

Player reviews are always a bit raunchy with people in various states of undress!

I find it hard to fathom how the club did not bother to inquire as to what the players would actually be doing on the FS given the concerns they have now expressed after the horse has bolted!

How completely bereft of a clue are these nuffies?

I spoke to a board member just before the 2010 Grand Final and told him how I had warned the entire board in 2008 about the possibility of playing Collingwood in a Grand Final in the next few years and being forced to wear an away jumper in a Grand Final and it was imperative that our away jumper be as close to our home jumper as possible for such an eventuality eg:- home jumper with a white back etc....

at the time Westaway said "We will wear our home jumper in Grand Finals"

NO CLUE! The clown clearly got this wrong!

Anyway the board member told me the club were not aware of the AFL ruling on clash jumpers in Grand Finals until the week before the 2010 Preliminary Final and that several board members were not happy about having to wear a clash jumper in the Grand Final!

THIS IS FAIR DINKUM!

Asleep at the wheel once again

Westaway is a total embarrassment and the biggest lame duck president since Bush!

Nettlefold should be sacked immediately!

Seriously....Can you big note your self anymore??

"I warned the club!" What garbage. No club had ever been forced to wear a clash strip. Why the F*** should our board think any different?

Move on to your next tiresome tirade target. This one is getting old very quickly.

OR....

RUN FOR THE BOARD YOURSELF AND DO BETTER!

barks4eva wrote:I find it hard to fathom how the club did not bother to inquire as to what the players would actually be doing on the FS given the concerns they have now expressed after the horse has bolted!
This.

End Of Story.

Thread Locked.

markp wrote:
barks4eva wrote:I find it hard to fathom how the club did not bother to inquire as to what the players would actually be doing on the FS given the concerns they have now expressed after the horse has bolted!
This.

End Of Story.

Thread Locked.
Why would they. It was a dance routine.

Nothing wrong with it what so ever.

Spinner wrote:Nothing wrong with it what so ever.
Then why the club statements, and the media roasting?

markp wrote:
Spinner wrote:Nothing wrong with it what so ever.
Then why the club statements, and the media roasting?
Media for headlines and public appeal.

Statement because they are scared of media.

Similar to the Lyon situation - They were scathing on the inside... But said the least damaging this on the outside.

What people say, do and think are totally different things.

The media report, they do not decide what is right and wrong.

evertonfc wrote:

people need lives
End of story.

Surely you two rocket scientists have worked out why it is an issue by now. It has absolutely nothing to do with people who haven't got lives. I'd hate to hear your relationship counselling..."Just get over it mate, she's gaaaawn"???

degruch wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

people need lives
End of story.

Surely you two rocket scientists have worked out why it is an issue by now. It has absolutely nothing to do with people who haven't got lives. I'd hate to hear your relationship counselling..."Just get over it mate, she's gaaaawn"???
But surely it was KD's inability to get over the loss of her relationship with SG that started this whole crap in the first place.... so if she had been able to 'get over it' then this whole saga could have been avoided.

ironic, ain't it? :?

degruch wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

people need lives
End of story.

It's not an issue. The media do not decide what is an issue or not.

If you're so filthy with it ring up MTV because that Pitball clip get played everytime I'm at the gym.

And more importantly. Get a life.

degruch wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

people need lives
End of story.

It's not an issue. The media do not decide what is an issue or not.

If you're so filthy with it ring up MTV because that Pitball clip get played everytime I'm at the gym.

And more importantly. Get a life.
So many losers on this site - if you morons are happy with the club's employees (again) perpetuating the negative image we have rightly or wrongly won this year, then you'll probably think it's a non-issue, along with all the dumb f*** bogans on Facebook. The club is a business, I'm glad they're giving the players stick over it.