LYON RECEPTION THIS FRIDAY NIGHT

Re: LYON RECEPTION THIS FRIDAY NIGHT

clarky449 wrote:Always funny seeing grown men boo. Will just be laughing when i see grown people giving Lyon crap. If i was Lyon i would turn around and tell them to go back to their $30,000 a year job and there 1 bedroom house, with weeds out the front etc. Ross Lyon has acheived more then most of the Nimbats that will give him crap.

I thank him for installing a profesionalism to the club and bringing his gameplan that got us to 2 Grand Finals.
Come on C449. Let us have our week of fun. Where do you guys go on your holidays by the way. I assume the Greek Islands somewhere. Do you enjoy putting the sunscrean and oil on each other. :wink:

clarky449 wrote:Always funny seeing grown men boo. Will just be laughing when i see grown people giving Lyon crap. If i was Lyon i would turn around and tell them to go back to their $30,000 a year job and there 1 bedroom house, with weeds out the front etc. Ross Lyon has acheived more then most of the Nimbats that will give him crap.

I thank him for installing a profesionalism to the club and bringing his gameplan that got us to 2 Grand Finals.
Why can't people understand that footy is a game that elicits emotion whether you are on the field or in the stands???? If people boo or make signs good on them. It's their choice.
If you and others cannot understand that then you have totally missed the whole point of this game. Because footy is more than just a game it's more than an institution. It's like family, you enjoy the good times, despair in the bad and wish that you were never related to them at all! For some they saw the move by Lyon as an act of cheating, walking out of the relationship and this is the first time that they are seeing him with the new partner.

Oh and Lyon is an AFL coach, he didn't cure some deadly disease or destroy poverty. I reckon I know more people that have achieved more than Lyon has and they get not even a 6th of what he gets... :roll:

slider wrote:how embarrasing to have people reacting to Ross Lyon this way and this from some tool in the cheer sqaud
Bill Cobb is one of the most senior members of the St Kilda cheer squad; he's been a part of it for 44 years.

"(As) you would expect, there's a lot of angry St Kilda supporters out there.

"I would hope there'd be no physical (attacks), because that's not part of our game, verbally is part of our game.

Part of what game?
This is a joke right?
how embarrasing
how about you all grow up!!
Very disappointed in this comment too. Bill is a life member and the senior member of an official arm of the Club. Surely when Lenny asks for restraint he could at least zip it and not say stuff that the media will twist.
Another example of someone living vicariously through a football team and painting our football club as a bunch of yelling, screaming bogans with a terrible cheer squad.

Buckets wrote:

Why can't people understand that footy is a game that elicits emotion whether you are on the field or in the stands???? If people boo or make signs good on them. It's their choice.
If you and others cannot understand that then you have totally missed the whole point of this game. Because footy is more than just a game it's more than an institution. It's like family, you enjoy the good times, despair in the bad and wish that you were never related to them at all! For some they saw the move by Lyon as an act of cheating, walking out of the relationship and this is the first time that they are seeing him with the new partner.

Oh and Lyon is an AFL coach, he didn't cure some deadly disease or destroy poverty. I reckon I know more people that have achieved more than Lyon has and they get not even a 6th of what he gets... :roll:

As a fairly rational person who isn't faithful to religion, I find the theatre aspect of footy a great place to release some passion in a controlled environment. Yelling at umpires, players and anyone else is part of the fun. As for his finances, the guy has made himself a target because the way he left his employment has put his integrity in question. If we boo him he will still be more comfortable than when the Freo crowd gave Mark Harvey a standing ovation.

Got to say I am mighty sick of all the talk about Lyon.
What I think we most need to remember this week though, is that it was Freo that came and pinched him off us and then they got Zac, who we also seemingly wanted to keep. Aside from the fact we need to win for our own season and so on, we also need to make a statement to them, I reckon. We don't want to lose Ross and Zac to them and then 4 points as well, that's for sure.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:Got to say I am mighty sick of all the talk about Lyon.
What I think we most need to remember this week though, is that it was Freo that came and pinched him off us and then they got Zac, who we also seemingly wanted to keep. Aside from the fact we need to win for our own season and so on, we also need to make a statement to them, I reckon. We don't want to lose Ross and Zac to them and then 4 points as well, that's for sure.

We need to see them off even for the fact that it might come down to their melbourne games for them to take a top 8 spot we are chasing. Lose this and we are really going to need to take out some big games for any chance.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:Got to say I am mighty sick of all the talk about Lyon.
Freo look like a finals contender so I just want to beat a contender before we play the ?Demons? next week...hopefully we can go into our big 3 game stretch at 4-1 and hopefully jag a win out of the Hawks, Blues and Eagles. 5-3 with a few easier games ensures us to be set up well going into half time.

felix

clarky449 wrote:
Always funny seeing grown men boo. Will just be laughing when i see grown people giving Lyon crap. If i was Lyon i would turn around and tell them to go back to their $30,000 a year job and there 1 bedroom house, with weeds out the front etc. Ross Lyon has acheived more then most of the Nimbats that will give him crap.

Omg so all those people who boo have worthless meaningless lives the great underachievers of the world,you are now judged
By the size of your house and state of your garden, this obviously follows that the bigger your house the more interesting and purposeful your life has been , how profound !

Bill Cobb is one of the most senior members of the St Kilda cheer squad; he's been a part of it for 44 years.

"I would hope there'd be no physical (attacks), because that's not part of our game, verbally is part of our game.

The Cheer Squad are going to make a noise?

That's a step in the right direction

I won't be booing him, but I don't think Lyon is in any position to comment on any of our $30,000 pa jobs and weedy one bedroom 'houses'.... Irrespective of his $1,000,000 sign on fee, his total contract value, and terms, he is the one that had to live with his in-law's, rent free, with his wife and kids, when he was on near enough to half a mill a year... Nothing to be ashamded of, but financial advice/judgements, of any sort, is not a path that Lyon would want to go down...

His Freo cash grab should hold him in good stead, but it stems from embarrassment...

Freo is like Alan Bond... You only get one in your life, so you best make the most of it...
Last edited by Sobraz on Thu 19 Apr 2012 10:09pm, edited 2 times in total.

felix wrote:clarky449 wrote:
Always funny seeing grown men boo. Will just be laughing when i see grown people giving Lyon crap. If i was Lyon i would turn around and tell them to go back to their $30,000 a year job and there 1 bedroom house, with weeds out the front etc. Ross Lyon has acheived more then most of the Nimbats that will give him crap.

Omg so all those people who boo have worthless meaningless lives the great underachievers of the world,you are now judged
By the size of your house and state of your garden, this obviously follows that the bigger your house the more interesting and purposeful your life has been , how profound !
Quite clear that some people serve no purpose in life, while others do.
In saying that, i shouldnt have generalised.

clarky449 wrote:

You are showing your age and inexperience Clarky.
You would do a lot better spending your time with an Engli8sh teacher rather than behind a computer screen slagging off your betters, just because they have aq different view of Lyon to your myopic one!

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

whiskers3614 wrote:
clarky449 wrote:

You are showing your age and inexperience Clarky.
You would do a lot better spending your time with an Engli8sh teacher rather than behind a computer screen slagging off your betters, just because they have aq different view of Lyon to your myopic one!
Thankyou

kosifantutti wrote:

The Cheer Squad are going to make a noise?

That's a step in the right direction

Spot on!

All this booing and berating Lyon PR is good stuff. It gets our game plenty of media and should ensure a good crowd and more money into the club.

Nothing wrong with what Bill said. It's all smoke and mirrors and will
Be no different to the weekly abuse the blind monkeys that umpire our game get each week.

A chant of "Lie-In Lie-In" would echo nicel around the ground.

he is going to cop it bad

jays wrote:he is going to cop it bad
Million plus reasons to laugh it off.
Now if we could flog FReo.......

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

I heard Lyon in an interview call his side a 'very young side'. Typical of the man...he's already coming up with excuses before the match is even played LOL
It's going to funny how all the experts and all the Lyon backers will tell you after the Saints smash the Dockers, and that they're still a developing team. Some on here think they are a finals contender, but I reckon North Melbourne have a better team and Adelaide have more chances of getting in this year and the Tigers could surprise also...It's going to be tough to knock out the Saints or the The Swans and you'd think that Essendon have a good chance of sneaking in. I wonder what the Lyon devotees will be saying if the Dockers don't make the 8 this year and next?!! In any case, the Dockers will continue to be mediocre and Rossco's win loss ratio will drop considerably if he coaches out his contract.

The credit for our success lies mainly with our core group of champs and on field stars. The bloke lacked the leadership and the coaching skill to win a Grand Final with a team that was so dominant in 2009. The Dockers board have shown that they won't be afraid to stick in the knife if Lyon doesn't deliver. I have some good advice for Lyon to maintain his reputation. Quit in 3years time before that win loss ratio starts reflecting your true worth.
Last edited by Scollop on Fri 20 Apr 2012 12:43am, edited 1 time in total.

Geez Scollop I yhought I was Lyon's no1 bagger on here.
Reckon you just took that crown, where do I go now?

Thanks whiskers....Bosco will be a forgotten man in a few years time and he'll struggle to come up with new excuses.

Good question...where do you go...hmmmmmm....I know where Lyon can go...he can go forth and multiply...LOL

Will pass on your good wishes tomorrow, especially if we are about 8 goals up at 3 qtr time!

Scollop wrote:I heard Lyon in an interview call his side a 'very young side'. Typical of the man...he's already coming up with excuses before the match is even played LOL
It's going to funny how all the experts and all the Lyon backers will tell you after the Saints smash the Dockers, and that they're still a developing team. Some on here think they are a finals contender, but I reckon North Melbourne have a better team and Adelaide have more chances of getting in this year and the Tigers could surprise also...It's going to be tough to knock out the Saints or the The Swans and you'd think that Essendon have a good chance of sneaking in. I wonder what the Lyon devotees will be saying if the Dockers don't make the 8 this year and next?!! In any case, the Dockers will continue to be mediocre and Rossco's win loss ratio will drop considerably if he coaches out his contract.

The credit for our success lies mainly with our core group of champs and on field stars. The bloke lacked the leadership and the coaching skill to win a Grand Final with a team that was so dominant in 2009. The Dockers board have shown that they won't be afraid to stick in the knife if Lyon doesn't deliver. I have some good advice for Lyon to maintain his reputation. Quit in 3years time before that win loss ratio starts reflecting your true worth.
This is quite funny. ABSOLUTELY FUNNY. STOP MAKING ME LAUGH HOSER.
So Ross had no bearing on our team? His gameplan, leadership, profesionalism had no bearing on the team. Lacked "Coaching Skill" to win agrand final. Jee, maybe our players lacked that extra polish, TO GET THE JOB DONE.

I bet you thought different when he actually coached us. Also what was your thought when were won 19 in a row, and also made the Grand Final in 2010 after Roo went down??

i know this sounds boring but the only way to shove it up him is to get the 4 points and only the players can perform that task. hopefully on our behalf.
this is a must win on our home turf.

Con Gorozidis wrote:i know this sounds boring but the only way to shove it up him is to get the 4 points and only the players can perform that task. hopefully on our behalf.
this is a must win on our home turf.
Too true'
My attitude to him has mellowed somewhat since last weeks Collingwood vs Carlton game.
Seeing Luke Ball in filth jumper used to make me v ery agitated.Bad luck for Luke but that particular red rag will not be waved at this bull this year.
As for Dawson, I think that's a case of Lyon's karma........

First post this season but been following the forum religiously
All the pontificating on RL has bemused particularly the hero worshipers in their minority
I'm an old fart and my memory is freshest with recollections of his last match in our box
Surely now all the facts are out its no longer a mystery rather than
The Case of the Headless Coach!
I thought and commented accordingly to post-match baggers in lament "yeah we just didn't turn up"
But am stuck now with the belief that it was the Bloody Coach who wasn't there that fatal night
So go and vent your spleen all those who so wish ... You gotta right and ain't nobody Gunnar bother you... Personally we can't alter the past but maybe have some influence on the future and i will be more than happy if we shove it up the prick and the bloody Fremantle Football Club good and proper... And for godsakes boys JUST DO IT!!
I expect to come down to the G next Sat night 4-1 with all this formally buried in the best way possible ... ie on the bloody scoeboard
Cheers Billy the B#%^*+=d from the Bush