Ross Lyon on The Couch this Monday

Re: Ross Lyon on The Couch this Monday

Con Gorozidis wrote:disagree. real boring bloke.
knows about 5 words. crap vocab. a real bore.

How is his coaching?
Long way behind Allan Joyce.

crippa2sipa

satchmo wrote:
Spinner wrote:How is his coaching?
All judgments based on a single variable are facile and so is this.

Ross Lyon is widely regarded as one of the great coaches of the modern era. There are many reasons for this. Here are a few:

1. The "forward press" - the tactic he invented - has become a fundamental feature of the "modern game".
2. At an under-resourced club, with one of the lowest spends on recruitment and development and a list universally acknowledged as flawed (being talented only at the top), Lyon did everything bar kick the winning goal in consecutive GFs.
3. It was Lyon who made the vital move that resulted in a premiership for the Swans in 2005 (by insisting at three-quarter time that Buchanan be moved into the midfield, thus beating one of the best midfields of all time).
4. Lyon's win/loss ratio is unsurpassed among experienced coaches.

etc etc.....

Deleted.
Last edited by saintspremiers on Sun 04 Mar 2012 9:52am, edited 1 time in total.

crippa2sipa wrote:
satchmo wrote:
Spinner wrote:How is his coaching?
All judgments based on a single variable are facile and so is this.

Ross Lyon is widely regarded as one of the great coaches of the modern era. There are many reasons for this. Here are a few:

1. The "forward press" - the tactic he invented - has become a fundamental feature of the "modern game".
2. At an under-resourced club, with one of the lowest spends on recruitment and development and a list universally acknowledged as flawed (being talented only at the top), Lyon did everything bar kick the winning goal in consecutive GFs.
3. It was Lyon who made the vital move that resulted in a premiership for the Swans in 2005 (by insisting at three-quarter time that Buchanan be moved into the midfield, thus beating one of the best midfields of all time).
4. Lyon's win/loss ratio is unsurpassed among experienced coaches.

etc etc.....
G'day Rosco.

Just a question - now that you have your millions from Freo, why do you bother coming on here to spout how good you think you are?

Cheers.

saintspremiers - that's really funny because that crippasippa bloke said that Ross was a good coach so then you implied that it was Ross himself. Really really funny.

But you seemed really bitter in the post about it. Maybe you are Mark Harvey himself.

So if tour Mark Harvey, how do you find time posting here and assisting the BL's? Talented man.

He he he. So much funny material.

crippa2sipa

Saintspremiers,
Where have you been? I've been missing you.
Keep the ad hominems coming old chum.
C2S xxx

Shaggy

RL has been coaching for 16 years.

In that time he has been associated with only one premiership … not as head coach … not even as the right hand man like Longmire. Instead RL was considered a valuable member of the Sydney Swans coaching team.

RL’s record is that of a GOP coach. He is competent IMO.

If he doesn’t win a flag with Freo he will be considered with the likes of Eade and Wallace.

over to you Clarkey'

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

from what ive seen of freo this year they look horrible. love ya work rl.

crippa2sipa

Shaggy wrote:RL’s record is that of a GOP coach.
Shaggy, I'm afraid that is not the view of the wider football community who were willing to put their money where their mouth is.

THERE?

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

Old Mate wrote:from what ive seen of freo this year they look horrible. love ya work rl.
And because you make a statement like that just tells me you are a Footy Nimbat. Honestly, how did we look against Footsrcay in 2009? So funny but i also wonder how people think like this. Never knew it was possible.

Shaggy

crippa2sipa wrote:
Shaggy, I'm afraid that is not the view of the wider football community who were willing to put their money where their mouth is.
RL's record is what it is and in 16 years as coach one flag as an assistant coach is GOP (or GOC for coaches) IMO.

I don't have a problem Freo has paid over the top for RL but they do not represent the wider football community but more the Alan Bonds of the industry IMO. You can be impressed but I am not.

Shaggy wrote:
crippa2sipa wrote:
RL's record is what it is and in 16 years as coach one flag as an assistant coach is GOP (or GOC for coaches) IMO.

I don't have a problem Freo has paid over the top for RL but they do not represent the wider football community but more the Alan Bonds of the industry IMO. You can be impressed but I am not.
What did you think of him when he coached us?

What I thought was:
this prick cost us Luke Ball and brought in Lovett!

whiskers3614 wrote:What I thought was:
this prick cost us Luke Ball and brought in Lovett!
Pretty sure Luke Ball decided to leave himself. Also pretty sure Ross brought Lovett in to add some flair. I would of done the same thing. Cant blame Ross for Lovett f****** up.

Your question was what we thought of Lyon when he was coaching us.

whiskers3614 wrote:Your question was what we thought of Lyon when he was coaching us.
It was, ill ask you another question.
What did you think of Lyons coaching when he coached us.

boring, negative ALMOST succesful.

whiskers3614 wrote:boring, negative ALMOST succesful.
Interesting...
Did you think 09 and 10 were boring?

For a success starved club winning lots of games is an achievement, but grimly defending 1 goal leads wasn't exactly how I would prefer my footy.
having said that the 1st GF in 2010 was gripping rather than entertaining.

whiskers3614 wrote:For a success starved club winning lots of games is an achievement, but grimly defending 1 goal leads wasn't exactly how I would prefer my footy.
having said that the 1st GF in 2010 was gripping rather than entertaining.
Well i reckon when the team wins that is exciting. Id much rather Win games then Play excitng football that doesnt. Each to their own.

Shaggy

clarky449 wrote: What did you think of him when he coached us?
RL was atrocious the first 18 months with his corralling and killing off the careers of our power players rather than runners.

2009 he was great when our list was at its peak and he had learned corralling did not work. The stars aligned with what he had learned from Paul Roos and our list peaking.

But IMO RL cost us the GF by not playing Ball for most of the second half when conditions suited and he was playing at his best.

In 2010 RL did not positively build on his game plan and I don't believe he has since. Roo got us through the prelim and BJ and Lenny the first GF. The GF played by BJ and Lenny were the best I have seen from saints footballers.

With Lenny, Roo and BJ injured last year RL could do nothing.

If Freo really want the flag they got the wrong personnel from the Saints IMO. They need Lenny, Roo and BJ. RL was damn lucky to be given the opportunity with our list and he mucked it IMO.