Saints v Pies Match Thread

Re: Saints v Pies Match Thread

anthony_13 wrote:Ppl are bagging paddy... It's only his first game and he probably wasn't even read for a debut yet!!! I'm more worried about billings tho, hasn't shown much, even his best mate Sinclair who we took from the rookie draft has shown more.
Last year's draftee's look really slow in Dunstan, Billings and Acres. I'm a bit worried by them.

It was Paddy's first game and he was thorn into the deep end but, sheesh, surely you can take a mark with no one on you.

Let's hope it was the consecutive 6 day breaks and interstate trip that stuffed us up.

Wholesale changes may be on for next week.

Six goals in the first quarter, 4 for the other 3 quarters. That's just annoying. Great indication of work ahead.

The Umps haven't been good to us for awhile...but you would be an idiot to make an issue of it concerning this game. we were a Rabble after qtr time...pure and simple.

Austinnn wrote:I couldn't see, was just listening,
Did you get the App working to watch games mate?

supporters critical of Paddy's first game need to have a look at themselves.

skeptic wrote:Dont care about his clanger, this guy Membrey can play
Yes he looks the goods. Though likea number of our young talent just needs to be more involved.

Austinnn wrote:I couldn't see, was just listening,
Did you get the App working to watch games mate?
Nah, couldn't get the code. Never mind, I'll be right for our next Friday night game.

suss wrote:Does paddy know who he's playing for?

First game nerves I reckon.

One thing I did like to tonight was that he kept getting to the right spots.

He knows what to do....but tonight had a fit of thumbles.

Also to be fair he did not know he was playing, and so would not have been mentally prepared.

Jacks Back wrote:
anthony_13 wrote:Ppl are bagging paddy... It's only his first game and he probably wasn't even read for a debut yet!!! I'm more worried about billings tho, hasn't shown much, even his best mate Sinclair who we took from the rookie draft has shown more.
Last year's draftee's look really slow in Dunstan, Billings and Acres. I'm a bit worried by them.

It was Paddy's first game and he was thorn into the deep end but, sheesh, surely you can take a mark with no one on you.

Let's hope it was the consecutive 6 day breaks and interstate trip that stuffed us up.

Wholesale changes may be on for next week.
Wholesale changes is not the way to go but some leadership in Riewoldt and Montagna would help a lot.
They were also very tired after consecutive 6 day breaks.

Before the game Channel 7 showed a graphic of each team in order of games played. They showed the pies first and I tjought looked a bit young. Then they showed us. I think we had half a team that hadn't played 40 games. Right then I thought we were in for a long night.
Heads up people, let's get some games into the kids. We'll have games like tonight but also gameslike last week.

We travelled last week and they didn't. When they travelled to Brisbane they played shite the week after against Adelaide. Yes Crows are in good form but no doubt the travel factor has an impact when you are up against a team that hasn't travelled.

resaintlee

SemperFidelis wrote:Frees 28 to 16
How many frees did we get in the last quarter?

The thing that jump straight out of the game tonight - the first quarter we gave intense pressure, got numbers around the ball, always seemed to have the man out the back to get the footy and do something with it. FRom the second quarter on it was the Pies getting numbers at the footy with intensity. You've reluctantly got to give them props for how hard they worked. We just were flat after quarter time. The qtr time break seemed to break our spell. We went from hunters to the hunted. There was a time in the Magies forward line when they had huge numbers around the ball and we only had Dunstan and Steven. Were were the rest of our on ballers? The six day breaks could have screwed us up which is understandable with a young team. Missed Rooey really bad as that get out target. Not the end of the world though. A good reality check of how much work we need to keep doing on our list and development. Young players will be up and down. Lick our wounds and take that the extra time to get ourselves cherry ripe for NZ.

resaintlee wrote:
SemperFidelis wrote:Frees 28 to 16
How many frees did we get in the last quarter?
7 frees for Captain Pendlebury. The umpires might as well have carried him round in a sedan chair.

remboy wrote:Before the game Channel 7 showed a graphic of each team in order of games played. They showed the pies first and I tjought looked a bit young. Then they showed us. I think we had half a team that hadn't played 40 games. Right then I thought we were in for a long night.
Puts things in perspective

dsav

Photo album now up.
http://www.davesavell.com/p176308725

Dave
@SavellDave

so i get home
games taped
walk in...not knowing score
misses just looks at me

oh dear
do i press play? :shock:

matrix wrote:so i get home
games taped
walk in...not knowing score
misses just looks at me

oh dear
do i press play? :shock:
Ofcourse you do 'matrix'............. pain is something we Sainters get off on............. enjoy the first 15 or so minutes :wink: :wink:

do i put myself through mental anguish and also possibly require a new foxtel remote
prob should

matrix wrote:do i put myself through mental anguish and also possibly require a new foxtel remote
prob should
You will....you know you will 'matrix'....... you are a rusted on Sainter :wink:

yeah ive made a cuppa so i better just do it and get it over with

f*** i hate collingwood
:(

matrix wrote:yeah ive made a cuppa so i better just do it and get it over with

f*** i hate collingwood
:(
You might need something stronger than a cuppa................ stiff upper lip old chap!!!

thank god for a FF button

jesus
wtf happen after half way thru the second?