NRL CEO resigns - hands off Lethers you bum-sniffers!

Secret Kiel

Re: NRL CEO resigns - hands off Lethers you bum-sniffers!

BarryGrogan wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 4:26pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 3:10pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 2:20pm How would Lethlean go from being an AFL Footy Department Manager at a club, to the CEO of the entire NRL??
Good question, how do you think he'd perform and why.
It's not really a question of how he would perform - but how on earth would he get hired? A footy department head from another sport being recruited as CEO of an entire competition??
Are you familiar with his CV?

Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 4:38pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 2:20pm How would Lethlean go from being an AFL Footy Department Manager at a club, to the CEO of the entire NRL??
It's not really a question of how he would perform - but how on earth would he get hired? A footy department head from another sport being recruited as CEO of an entire competition??
Would not happen. The ARL HATES the AFL.

saintspremiers wrote: Mon 20 Apr 2020 9:02pm That retarded bum-sniffing sport played in Sid-er-Knee has got rid of its CEO.

Lethers may be of interest to them.

They can f*** off as far as I’m concerned.
Bum sniffers is a term used to describe union players, not league players. No scrums in league.

Nick_BlueNRG

Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 3:14pm
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 1:32pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 22 Apr 2020 1:05pm
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Wed 22 Apr 2020 12:30pm One thing I know for sure is that if we/us supporters/barrackers/members don't do anything St Kilda will fold, or at best relocate to Tassie or merge with another team.

We have to get a campaign going this year to raise at least $5 Mill. Preferably closer to $10 Mill. Obviously the more the better. I don't know if that is possible but if we don't show the AFL that we want our club to survive then we will be first to go.
You can raise $20 million and it still won't stop an AFL and/or bank decision to kill off a club under the new AFL administration-type management of the 12 assisted clubs. It's called throwing good money after bad. The insolvency practitioners engaged by the banks to oversee the $600 million loan would be looking at our club the same way the administrators are looking at Virgin, loaded with debt, under performing assets and weak market share and cashflow.
I don't agree. It's still in our hands. All supporters need to band together. We need to start a campaign now. I don't know what or how, but I am more than willing to offer my time if it means saving my club!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are stuck in the old paradigm. In the new post COVID-19 AFL the people who will decide our destiny care little for football, they are called administrators.
What planet do you live on seriously? If we managed to raise $20 Mill (very very unlikely I admit but not impossible), St Kilda would have their destiny in their own hands. No matter what any aresehole administrator says.

(M)ake (S)t Kilda (S)elf (S)ustainable

Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 21 Apr 2020 11:40pm Isn't the NRL run by a drag queen?
She'll have time now to buy a decent wig!

Secret Kiel

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 7:56pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 3:14pm
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 1:32pm
Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 22 Apr 2020 1:05pm
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Wed 22 Apr 2020 12:30pm One thing I know for sure is that if we/us supporters/barrackers/members don't do anything St Kilda will fold, or at best relocate to Tassie or merge with another team.

We have to get a campaign going this year to raise at least $5 Mill. Preferably closer to $10 Mill. Obviously the more the better. I don't know if that is possible but if we don't show the AFL that we want our club to survive then we will be first to go.
You can raise $20 million and it still won't stop an AFL and/or bank decision to kill off a club under the new AFL administration-type management of the 12 assisted clubs. It's called throwing good money after bad. The insolvency practitioners engaged by the banks to oversee the $600 million loan would be looking at our club the same way the administrators are looking at Virgin, loaded with debt, under performing assets and weak market share and cashflow.
I don't agree. It's still in our hands. All supporters need to band together. We need to start a campaign now. I don't know what or how, but I am more than willing to offer my time if it means saving my club!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are stuck in the old paradigm. In the new post COVID-19 AFL the people who will decide our destiny care little for football, they are called administrators.
What planet do you live on seriously? If we managed to raise $20 Mill (very very unlikely I admit but not impossible), St Kilda would have their destiny in their own hands. No matter what any aresehole administrator says.
Ok

Secret Kiel

saynta wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 5:19pm
The jungle drums have already started softly rolling.

I'm not sure why this topic has been hijacked by the prophets of doom and gloom who are convinced that St Kilda will not survive the post pandemic AFL landscape. Why jump to all of these dire conclusions when no-one is in possession of the real facts. Just wait for the AFL to outline their proposals for resumption of the 2020 season, and unlike some I trust their firmly stated commitment to the continuation of the current 18 team competition.

The end of the world is not nigh!!!

Simon Lehtlean may well be on the short list for the NRL's CEO position, bearing in mind that prior to coming to St KIlda as General Manager of Football he was the AFL's Football Operations Manager, a senior executive position very close to the top of the corporate football tree.

Mind you, given that the chairman of the Australian Rugby League Commission, Peter V''landys, is running the whole show in the manner of an executive chairman, and a renowned "toe-cutter", it beats me why anyone would want to take on the role of CEO there!!

From all reports Lethlean has been a very effective GM of Football at the club and his influence in the overall improvement of the player list and support staff has obviously been crucial. In the latter category, none more important than David Rath, who whenever Lethlean moves on will be his most obvious successor.

I was recently told by someone I Know in a senior administrative role at the club that David Rath has been a breath of fresh air since coming into the role of Head of the football programme, as explained in The Age last year:

"In his new role, Rath will oversee St Kilda's assistant coaches, development coaches and football analysts. He will also be in charge of game plan, coach education and development, training, player skill acquisition, training analytics, game analysis and IT, leadership and player development."

That says it all. Rath apparently lives just 10 minutes away from RSEA Park and was previously at the AFL as Coaching Innovation and Education Manager, previously he spent 8 years at Hawthorn as High-performance Coach.

"To do good is noble. To tell others to do good is even nobler and much less trouble.."

BarryGrogan

Sanctorum wrote: Sun 26 Apr 2020 1:31pm
Simon Lehtlean may well be on the short list for the NRL's CEO position, bearing in mind that prior to coming to St KIlda as General Manager of Football he was the AFL's Football Operations Manager, a senior executive position very close to the top of the corporate football tree.

But he was COO of the AFL for about 5 minutes.

Mark Evans did the job well - and his next role was CEO of a club.

Lethlean blew it, then went to a role at a club - where he reports to the CEO.

And the NRL want to poach him from another code to run the whole comp??

Secret Kiel

BarryGrogan wrote: Sun 26 Apr 2020 3:41pm

How do you know he can't do the job? He's obviously good enough to have been given the job at the AFL. We all know how he lost his job but that doesn't mean he isn't a talented sports administrator. What do you know about him that makes you so convinced he couldn't do the job.

Secret Kiel wrote: Fri 24 Apr 2020 8:09am
saynta wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 5:19pm
The jungle drums have already started softly rolling.
Well lucky its not the bum sniffers who are sniffing after Lethlean or Kurtly Beale might have a little catch up with leathers :wink:

Secret Kiel wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 8:47am

How do you know he can't do the job? He's obviously good enough to have been given the job at the AFL. We all know how he lost his job but that doesn't mean he isn't a talented sports administrator. What do you know about him that makes you so convinced he couldn't do the job.
It is not uncommon for elite sporting bodies to recruit CEO's who have previously worked for other codes, the most obvious being David Gallop who went from the NRL to FFA, and Ben Buckley (currently Chairman of North Melbourne FC) who was previously COO at the AFL and then took over at FFA from John O'Neill, the latter had been CEO of the ARU. Not to forget Raelene Castle who resigned last week as CEO of ARU, having previously been CEO at Canterbury Bankstown NRL club, who recruited her from NZ Netball where she was CEO.

Matk Evans was sent by the AFL to fix up the Gold Coast Suns once and for all and no doubt he will go from there to a more senior gig once he wants to move on from there. I reckon that it was more than likely that Simon Lehtlean was hand-picked by Gil McLachlan (great Saints supporter!) to get the Saints back on the rails....

"To do good is noble. To tell others to do good is even nobler and much less trouble.."

BarryGrogan

Sanctorum wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 11:36am
It is not uncommon for elite sporting bodies to recruit CEO's who have previously worked for other codes, the most obvious being David Gallop who went from the NRL to FFA, and Ben Buckley (currently Chairman of North Melbourne FC) who was previously COO at the AFL and then took over at FFA from John O'Neill, the latter had been CEO of the ARU. Not to forget Raelene Castle who resigned last week as CEO of ARU, having previously been CEO at Canterbury Bankstown NRL club, who recruited her from NZ Netball where she was CEO.

Matk Evans was sent by the AFL to fix up the Gold Coast Suns once and for all and no doubt he will go from there to a more senior gig once he wants to move on from there. I reckon that it was more than likely that Simon Lehtlean was hand-picked by Gil McLachlan (great Saints supporter!) to get the Saints back on the rails....
It's not uncommon for sports to recruit CEO's or very senior people from other codes or industries.

But to get sacked from a COO role after about 6 months, then go to club land to report to a CEO (after being overlooked for other club CEO roles) - then jump the queue to be CEO of an entire code would be an extraordinary move by the NRL. Especially given the hatred the NRL have for anyone or anything AFL - and that the ferals are screaming out for 'an NRL person' to take on the role. It would be a bizarre move by them. Bizarre and completely unnecessary to take that punt I would have thought.

BarryGrogan

For the second time - I didn't say he can't do the job.

Secret Kiel

BarryGrogan wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 12:29pm

Yes you did, see your above post.

BarryGrogan

Secret Kiel wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 1:18pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 12:29pm

Yes you did, see your above post.
?

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 1:29pm Let the be a lesson to all the posters who kept on saying that our Debt didn't matter. You all know who you are.
I was one of them and still am. Nothing has changed. Our debt didn't matter before (unless the AFL wanted it to matter) and it's the same thing now. And if you want to know why ... over the past few years, North have done a great job eradicating their debt and have been more successful than us. And yet - for all that effort - they still had 5K LESS members than us in R1 of 2020. North is still way more likely to be punted out of Victoria before us.

Would I like the financial strength of Hawthorn or the other big clubs? Absolutely. But we don't - we stuffed that up when we moved from Waverley to Colonial (instead of the MCG) and then doubled-down with the Seaford disaster.

Whether you like it or not - debt is a way of life in AFL (like it is in broader society). Remember that for most club's boasting of their financial performance - there's only a handful that can survive on their own without AFL distribution.

At the end of the day - if the AFL wants most of the clubs to do something different or be located somewhere else then, they've always held that right. And they still do.

Secret Kiel

Saintmatt wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 5:18pm
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Thu 23 Apr 2020 1:29pm Let the be a lesson to all the posters who kept on saying that our Debt didn't matter. You all know who you are.
I was one of them and still am. Nothing has changed. Our debt didn't matter before (unless the AFL wanted it to matter) and it's the same thing now. And if you want to know why ... over the past few years, North have done a great job eradicating their debt and have been more successful than us. And yet - for all that effort - they still had 5K LESS members than us in R1 of 2020. North is still way more likely to be punted out of Victoria before us.

Would I like the financial strength of Hawthorn or the other big clubs? Absolutely. But we don't - we stuffed that up when we moved from Waverley to Colonial (instead of the MCG) and then doubled-down with the Seaford disaster.

Whether you like it or not - debt is a way of life in AFL (like it is in broader society). Remember that for most club's boasting of their financial performance - there's only a handful that can survive on their own without AFL distribution.

At the end of the day - if the AFL wants most of the clubs to do something different or be located somewhere else then, they've always held that right. And they still do.
Very very different now, the AFL has a master now called a bank and the bank has administrator type control. And yes the AFL will still be largely in control as always, HOWEVER, if COVID-19 and the biggest recession since the great depression bites hard then we will start to see dramatic change. I'm guessing the following could be likely scenarios:

-A merger between two Melbourne clubs and remain in Melbourne or;
-Two merged clubs relocated to Tasmania.

Look beyond 2020 and through the prism of a long, deep and protracted recession. That is where the danger zone is. The way the AFL used to manage the clubs is the old way, they now have a new set of rules.

Getting through 2020 is potentially going to be the easy part.

I’m not sure if some poster’s are going to be happier if we go under or continue on as usual...

Secret Kiel wrote: Tue 28 Apr 2020 8:33am
Saintmatt wrote: Mon 27 Apr 2020 5:18pm

Very very different now, the AFL has a master now called a bank and the bank has administrator type control. And yes the AFL will still be largely in control as always, HOWEVER, if COVID-19 and the biggest recession since the great depression bites hard then we will start to see dramatic change. I'm guessing the following could be likely scenarios:

Look beyond 2020 and through the prism of a long, deep and protracted recession. That is where the danger zone is. The way the AFL used to manage the clubs is the old way, they now have a new set of rules.

Getting through 2020 is potentially going to be the easy part.
Can someone please explain what this and similar posts have to do with the topic speculating about Simon Lethlean going to the NRL????

Please stop this hijacking to air your views about the possible demise of our club and stick to the subject. Just start a new conversation about the prospects of an apocalypse if you must, but don't force those of us who don't share these views to read such rants and raves!

St Plugger

[/quote]

I'm guessing the following could be likely scenarios:

[/quote]

With all possibilities on the table, this may be possible, but I feel a merger AND move to Tassie may initially be a bridge to far.
It's more likely that to facilitate the move and for doing so, the carrot for the club that does so, will be that they can retain their identity, colors, history etc, like South did when shifting to Sydney.
If this was offered to our club as an option, I'd much prefer to see the "Tassie Saints" as a result and I for one would continue my support of the club.
Whereas a merged "Tassie Devils" would just loose me. I'm sure this outcome would be the case for a lot of supporters
Last edited by St Plugger on Tue 28 Apr 2020 11:46am, edited 1 time in total.

Secret Kiel

St Plugger wrote: Tue 28 Apr 2020 10:49am

[/quote]

With all possibilities on the table, this may be possible, but I feel a merger AND move to Tassie may initially be a bridge to far.
It's more likely that to facilitate the move, the carrot will be for the club that does so, that they can retain their identity, colors, history etc, like South did when shifting to Sydney.
If this was offered to our club as an option, I'd much prefer to see the "Tassie Saints" as a result and I for one would continue my support of the club.
Whereas a merged "Tassie Devils" would just loose me. I'm sure this outcome would be the case for a lot of supporters
[/quote]

I tend to agree, and I think it helps preserve membership, or rather minimise lost market. A merger would mean that two clubs are insolvent at around the same time and making it possible to package them up together for a relocation. Who knows, if clubs start to become insolvent it could just mean they are just killed off because the timing for starting up a team in Tasmania is also not viable.

And speaking of throwing good money after bad, this hub idea is batshit crazy. It is going to be an incredibly poor product and highly doubtful sponsors and advertisers are going to be happy about it. And the cost to run the hubs is going to be signsicant.

Isn't it a shame common sense doesn't prevail and they just aim for the 2021 season restart. Footy needs crowds to be a viable product.

Come on you Ignoramuses, stay on track will you - please read the following:

Can someone please explain what this and similar posts have to do with the topic speculating about Simon Lethlean going to the NRL????

Please stop this hijacking to air your views about the possible demise of our club and stick to the subject. Just start a new conversation about the prospects of an apocalypse if you must, but don't force those of us who don't share these views to read such rants and raves!

Nick_BlueNRG

Secret Kiel wrote: Tue 28 Apr 2020 11:44am
St Plugger wrote: Tue 28 Apr 2020 10:49am

It's more likely that to facilitate the move, the carrot will be for the club that does so, that they can retain their identity, colors, history etc, like South did when shifting to Sydney.
[/quote]

I tend to agree, and I think it helps preserve membership, or rather minimise lost market. A merger would mean that two clubs are insolvent at around the same time and making it possible to package them up together for a relocation. Who knows, if clubs start to become insolvent it could just mean they are just killed off because the timing for starting up a team in Tasmania is also not viable.

And speaking of throwing good money after bad, this hub idea is batshit crazy. It is going to be an incredibly poor product and highly doubtful sponsors and advertisers are going to be happy about it. And the cost to run the hubs is going to be signsicant.

Isn't it a shame common sense doesn't prevail and they just aim for the 2021 season restart. Footy needs crowds to be a viable product.
[/quote]

OMG you don't get it do you. If season 2020 is completely cancelled then at least 3 Victorian clubs will fold straight away.

(M)ake (S)t Kilda (S)elf (S)ustainable

City west is actually right for once - we have to play footy this year purely for the TV rights money.

NRL are looking at a 20 round season and Grand Final on 25 October