Nicky Winmar - AFL Hall of Fame

Re: Nicky Winmar - AFL Hall of Fame

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 4:49pm
CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:25am
saynta wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:24am 309 games, 415 goals comprising 58 games / 98 goals for South Fremantle 1983-86, 230 games / 283 goals for St Kilda 1987-98, 21 games / 34 goals for Western Bulldogs 1999.
Eight games for WA, 10 goals
2x Best and Fairest 1989, 1995
3x All Australian 1989, 1991, 1995
1x Leading goalkicker 1988
St Kilda Team of the Century
Indigenous Team of the Century
Warburton Millgrove Premiership player.
Is this were he was playing on minor match payments and a house and car?

I remember reading that and thinking, what a bargain?
Oops. Should have kept reading.

saynta wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:24am 309 games, 415 goals comprising 58 games / 98 goals for South Fremantle 1983-86, 230 games / 283 goals for St Kilda 1987-98, 21 games / 34 goals for Western Bulldogs 1999.

Stayed in the coaches house for a while then a unit in town. Lent him my ute until we brought a car for him to drive. Incredible year with massive crowds and plenty of ex Saints team mates joining us on Saturdays. He even did the Olympic torch relay and rolled up on the Saturday hanging out his car with the torch. Held his engagement party in the clubrooms on a Sunday arvo. Huge huge arvo and year in full.

CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 5:01pm

Stayed in the coaches house for a while then a unit in town. Lent him my ute until we brought a car for him to drive. Incredible year with massive crowds and plenty of ex Saints team mates joining us on Saturdays. He even did the Olympic torch relay and rolled up on the Saturday hanging out his car with the torch. Held his engagement party in the clubrooms on a Sunday arvo. Huge huge arvo and year in full.
Great story and fantastic memories for your club. I met him as a teen and got to know him. He worked for Gerry Ryan for a short time, when he first came over, at Jayco and my dad owned a factory around the corner.
I used to go to the local smoko shop and ask if Jayco's order was ready when I was about 13 just to deliver his food. He was very nice to me and a very quiet and humble bloke.

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 5:15pm
CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 5:01pm

Great story and fantastic memories for your club. I met him as a teen and got to know him. He worked for Gerry Ryan for a short time, when he first came over, at Jayco and my dad owned a factory around the corner.
I used to go to the local smoko shop and ask if Jayco's order was ready when I was about 13 just to deliver his food. He was very nice to me and a very quiet and humble bloke.

He will be up for the Indiginous Round we've organised on the 23rd of July. He talks to everyone and anyone.

older saint wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:49pm arguable the most talented player i have seen in a stkilda jumper based on raw ability. Tough as nails also. Actually think he is one of a few from that era who would be even better now days.

That mark on Madden was one of the best i have seen video doesnt do it justice.
A lot of players the game passes by but imagine Nicky in an area where the racial abuse situation is a thousand times better, more support, better training/techniques/info on fitness/recovery/diet etc, psychological support, a club that has actual resources, better grounds etc

If he started his career in 2006, he’s probably winding his career down now as a triple + premiership and Brownlow winner in the conversation of GOAT

Don’t know why I remember this but Winmar was the first player whose name I learnt, the first number on the shirt, the first one I pretended to be on the play ground etc

To me… he was the first super star I remember
Last edited by skeptic on Wed 15 Jun 2022 6:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 8:24am
Sainternist wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 4:25am I must admit, I didn’t see this coming. I thought the Boys Club had made him persona non grata.
Why?
I guess he’s had a bit of a troubled life after his career ended. And it look them long enough to decide :roll:

Brilliant player and yet there are arewipes on social media sites questioning why he was inducted.

Probably filth supporters and proof that racism is unfortunately still alive in this country.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 8:53am Was an unbelievable player, excitement machine.
Did not have a deficiency in his game.

He loved playing Essendon!

Incredible tackler, I remember him nailing Terry Daniher at Moorabbin one day as Daniher who was a great player and no slouch came charging out of defence and Winmar flew at him from the side and wrapped around him like a rubber band.

One of the greatest marks I ever saw was Winmar at Moorabbin against Essendon on the HFF when he jumped on a pack of 3 including Walsh & Hamilton from memory. Can't say I have ever seen footage of that mark.

There was also the one handed hanger in the forward pocket at the G I think, also against Essendon.

What about the State of Origin games back in the 80's - 90's.
It was the WCE team with Nicky added to them, how many more flags WCE would have won if they had gotten hold of him.

One can only imagine how good Winmar would have been on the flat indoor surface at Marvel.

When on song he was probably the most watchable player I have seen.
Well deserved honor.

Also a nice remark by Nicky in the HS article this morning re Dermott Brereton racially abusing him on the field.
I admire Nicky for his forgiveness and Derm for owning what he did.

His most famous incident, which is now a statue at Perth’s Optus Stadium, was to stand up against Collingwood’s crowd that day. There were countless others. Like the day in 1990, when Dermott Brereton racially abused him and Winmar was suspended for 10 weeks for kicking and eye-gouging Brereton.

Did you do it? “Not really, I was trying to get him off me … it was like wrestling a sheep,’’ he said with a laugh.

And the kicking? “Only in the side of the leg.’’

Brereton later wrote an article about how ashamed he was of what he said. And Winmar forgave the Hawks champ.

“I see Dermy now, shake his hand, say hello,’’ Winmar said. “He came out in the paper and apologised and people read that. I’m proud of Dermott for doing that.’’

He says he will never tire of talking about racism — “It’s always going to be part of us, it’s always there, it’s pretty hurtful,’’ he said — and is moved when fathers in the street with their kids stop and talk to him.
Brereton is still a see you next tuesday AFAIC.

My favourite player alongside Plugger of course ... congrats Nicky and well deserved

That Mark in 87 was phenomenal and freakin huge as others have said ... he got about a 30 sec ovation after it ... everyone on their feet on that Members side wing .... just a shame the camera caught it in the shadows of the stand