OFFICIAL - trade rumours/wishlist thread

i would rather we get 4-5 new young kids than trade and hope a fringe player at another club will make a miraculous improvement with us

name the last trade that paid off, Fiora is still trying to get respect from all of u guys

The_Dud wrote:i would rather we get 4-5 new young kids than trade and hope a fringe player at another club will make a miraculous improvement with us

name the last trade that paid off, Fiora is still trying to get respect from all of u guys
Exactly! Go the kids... Forget the hacks!

Viking3 wrote:I think we need:
Now: An established ruckman (we have Van Rheenan if we want to groom one), quick midfielders and a small forward to help out Milne.
Draft: Quick midfielders and a replacement for Max in the next few years. Gilbo will be good but don't know if he will fill out enough.
gilbert's just about good enough now i reckon. deceptively strong given his build and deceptively quick. very, very good player, whom i'd be loathe to use in a purely negating/checking role at this stage of his career.

i reckon he can play onball, wing or half-forward. imo gilbo is the quick midfielder on your wishlist.
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 09 Sep 2007 9:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

eppo67

Yes no hacks agree but which players are you suggesting are hacks. We badly need a midsize leading , marking fwd. I think we should look Kayne Pettifer.

2007 stats: 22 Games for 357 Disposals = 16.22 ave
37 Goals from 22 Games = 1.68 Goals per game.

Milne Stats: 22 Games for 270 Disposals = 12.27 ave
32 Goals from 22 Games = 1.45 per Game.

Milne is 27 Pettifer is 25. Pettifer plays is woeful team Milne plays in a decent one. Pettifer would kick 40 goals + with us easily. Guys dont forget Hamill is as good as gone we need a replacement.

What do you guys think.

eppo67 wrote:Yes no hacks agree but which players are you suggesting are hacks. We badly need a midsize leading , marking fwd. I think we should look Kayne Pettifer.

Milne is 27 Pettifer is 25. Pettifer plays is woeful team Milne plays in a decent one. Pettifer would kick 40 goals + with us easily. Guys dont forget Hamill is as good as gone we need a replacement.

What do you guys think.
i think bj can play that role, or gilbert.

eppo67

Forgot about BJ good point.

He'll be like a new recruit next year.

eppo67 wrote:Yes no hacks agree but which players are you suggesting are hacks. We badly need a midsize leading , marking fwd. I think we should look Kayne Pettifer.

What do you guys think.
Are the Tigers getting rid of him? I would look at a player like Westoff from Port or Hurn from WCE or even a player like Mitchell from the Hawks.

True Blue Sainter

What do you guys think.
Are the Tigers getting rid of him? I would look at a player like Westoff from Port or Hurn from WCE or even a player like Mitchell from the Hawks.
Plugger I'm not sure if your sarcasm sends the right message across in this case - Pettifer is far more expendable to the Tigers; than Hurn, Westhoff or Mitchell are to their respective clubs.

The Saints are coming!

True Blue Sainter wrote:

What do you guys think.
Plugger I'm not sure if your sarcasm sends the right message across in this case - Pettifer is far more expendable to the Tigers; than Hurn, Westhoff or Mitchell are to their respective clubs.
My point is just because someone on this site says we should get a player all of a sudden they are tradable. Why is gods sake would the Tigers trade Pettifer know that he is finally coming good. I know nearly every player is tradable but lets get fair dinkum there was a total of 9 trades last year and not many of them have done much.

not a big fan of trading good players away, unless they are trouble-makers (spida) or don't want to play for us (hall) or have generally run their race at the club

i'm all for believing in and developing the national draft for all it is worth ... and the rookies system, however it works.

there is a lot to be said for the way that gt built a good young list and did his absolute best to keep the core of it together.

hawthorn and geelong have followed a similar ethos and look at them now.

i'll be appalled if we go down the "quick fix" path and bring in anymore washed up duds next season.

keep 'em young and keep 'em coming through.

we must exploit the draft rules etc as much as we can. i wonder whether we have any good father-son picks coming through?

saints_rule23

I reckon we should have a look at a West Coast kid
(orginally from Central Districts) called Sam Bulter good player but was interupted by injury this season
but has been a premiership player an rising star nomination

He plays as a midfielder and has got talent
Could be worth looking at!

What are your guys thoughts on this?

True Blue Sainter

Would be delighted if we could entice Butler over... if he is over his injury worries could become a very good player for us and give us some much needed pace through the middle of the ground.

The Saints are coming!

What about Rusling from the pies. Has plenty of speed off the mark. Could be good replacement for G. We need a full forward.

lol rusling just what we need anther injury prone player.

True Blue Sainter

Rusling is very highly regarded by all at Collingwood as well. Very talented, but as mentioned, extremely injury-prone...

The Saints are coming!

True Blue Sainter wrote:Rusling is very highly regarded by all at Collingwood as well. Very talented, but as mentioned, extremely injury-prone...
I don't think Collingwood would want to trade him.

True Blue Sainter

SaintWodonga wrote:
True Blue Sainter wrote:Rusling is very highly regarded by all at Collingwood as well. Very talented, but as mentioned, extremely injury-prone...
I don't think Collingwood would want to trade him.
Pretty much what I was implying SW :P

The Saints are coming!

plugger66 wrote:What about Rusling from the pies. Has plenty of speed off the mark. Could be good replacement for G. We need a full forward.
disagree. either kosi or roo can perform admirably in that role.

we need a ruckman to allow kosi to be able to play there rather than being used up for hack work that he's not that good at anyway (the tapouts, I mean).

i'm hoping we can get gardiner right and that brooks is given both a rocket and an opportunity and finally will come on.

we should develop, rather than trade for, talent unless it is a deal that is clearly in our favour
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 09 Sep 2007 10:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

What about Travis Cloke then. He is very promising. Maybe they will trade for him then. What about pick 27 and someone like Brooks or Ferg.

plugger66 wrote:What about Travis Cloke then. He is very promising. Maybe they will trade for him then. What about pick 27 and someone like Brooks or Ferg.
i doubt they'd go for it mate.

plugger66 wrote:What about Travis Cloke then. He is very promising. Maybe they will trade for him then. What about pick 27 and someone like Brooks or Ferg.
if you cant see

True Blue Sainter

Would Adelaide accept a first-round pick for Van Berlo? Starting to flourish as an AFL footballer and might not be happy with another 1-2 seasons as second-tier to Thompson, Goodwin and McLeod.... How awesome was that chase-down of his yesterday?!

The Saints are coming!

ahh...Carl....I think thats his point.....

Lucky Saint

i'm all for believing in and developing the national draft for all it is worth ... and the rookies system, however it works.

keep 'em young and keep 'em coming through.

we must exploit the draft rules etc as much as we can. i wonder whether we have any good father-son picks coming through?
Totally agree but please no more "smokies" or re-drafts, I'd rather they invest time in kids who have been through the system rather than those who haven't. I'd like us to take a chance with a kid who may be our next Westhoff or Robbie Gray.

Us and a few other clubs were burnt badly last year by ignoring kids like these.

Lets see

Mark Seaby
Paul Haselby
Kayne Petteifer

+ a few kids in the draft with no major player losses - plugs a few holes in our list

make it happen boys :lol: :lol: :lol: