Honestly, what is your gut feel - will we win or lose?

Gabba

bigred wrote:Head: win. In a real close one. Really close one.

HEART: 30+ point win

Gut: shytting myself
Pretty much how I feel. An easy prelim win for the Cats isn't exactly a good thing and the Pies hung on until half time... somehow.

I've had this image in my head of me receiving a call from my brother in LA at the end of the game and me in tears just saying "I've waited for so long."
I actually believe it might happen, with Milney doing something special in the last.

Sainterman

Heart, gut and head all aligned=Saints in a close one. Very close...see it being under a goal. Kosi to kick the winner...

Mega

Head : Im confused to many emotions for me.
Heart: Win in a close one
Gut : Its our year so we will win !

A little less conversation a little more action please
Newman

I just said to a mate - if hypothetically you could pick a team and win $50,000 or win nothing if you were wrong .... I'd sadly go for Cats. Not happy that all their key players are back. Was really hoping that Ottens, Johnson and a few others would be on the injury list. And maybe if they had won last year this 'make up' for 2008 mentality wouldn't be so strong.

saintly_safes

If we play as if its the last game we will ever play & we will win.We can do it , we just need to give it everything .Not just the players but the supporters , the boot studder & generally the club as a whole.To be brutally honest man for man they probably have more talent but football is not all about talent alone, its about heart ,commitment, passion for the jumper & that is our biggest weapon.If we can somehow direct all our energies in the right direction all the pain & suffering of near on 50 years of torment can be soothed. Im sure the players think they can do it & why the hell carnt we :twisted: "go sainters do us all proud "
Last edited by saintly_safes on Mon 21 Sep 2009 12:32am, edited 1 time in total.

Newman wrote:maybe if they had won last year this 'make up' for 2008 mentality wouldn't be so strong.
well they have their motivation; we have ours.

we've been a premiership threat for five seasons and have no silverware to show for it.

we haven't won flag since 1966; they won one in 2007.

we've been the best team in the competition over the season as a whole, losing just the two matches. it deserves a premiership.

geelong versus st kilda has been a grudge match since those comments about their young players being better than ours in 2004.

they have a flag; we don't. that must burn in our guys' guts.

i could go on and on and on ...

i can't see how their motivation is any stronger than ours.
Last edited by bigcarl on Mon 21 Sep 2009 2:28pm, edited 2 times in total.

widereceiver

The best year of my Saints supporting life.

Twenty and two in the H & A.

Two finals wins, straight to the GF to play the best team since the 3peat Brisbane Lions.

The 10 players who had dud games on Friday won't be that bad again and by his actions Lenny Hayes says,
"We refuse to lose!"

It's a win...
until the scoreboard says otherwise.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar
jackal

We will win...we have always been going to win the flag this year since the middle of the year.

I've read all your posts because I don't really know. After reading them I feel as sick as I did before reading them :(

Just remember why we are here....

To win a flag.

26 points.

It's our time

we bring our A game we will win.

If the pressure is off - we are gone Cats will flick it round like globetrotters and score enough to win.

It comes down to pressure that we exert to break down there game plan.

Interesting to hear on One tonight how Quartermain mentioned that after Rd 14 the Cats felt they had learnt to break our zone......Harley just smiled,...

We'll see.

StSteven

Wasn't Kingy impressive on this show tonight.

I am quietly confident about this game.

The Cats are being talked up again. We don't have a chance according to the experts and the footy public yet we have beaten every team at every ground this year (including Geelong) and we still have our doubters.

Don't be sucked in by media, fellow footy followers or by our history. This team is creating a whole new history for us. The pact they made a year or so ago in regards to a premiership looks like it is finally going to come to fruition. Make no mistake, they are on a mission. Not cocky or arrogant like the Cats who feel they have our number. It will be our boys steely determination and quite confidence that will get us over the line. I cannot wait!!!!

GO THE MIGHTY SAINTERS!!!!!

WIN

widereceiver

geelong versus st kilda has been a grudge match since thompson's comments about his young players being better than ours in 2004. they have a flag; we don't. that must burn in our guys' guts.
I believe it was actually Chapman who said that. I've loathed him ever since. Good player though.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar
mick13

I got shudders down my spine thinking about it.

I'm confident. We've been the best team this season. If we play our best we will win.

But if we play anything like Friday, I don't think we'll be in it at half time.

matrixcutter wrote:WIN
We have a thread for this:

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/view ... hp?t=55482

yes, ive seen and bumped it

The thread of win will not die until we have the 2009 Flag.

mick13 wrote:I got shudders down my spine thinking about it.

I'm confident. We've been the best team this season. If we play our best we will win.

But if we play anything like Friday, I don't think we'll be in it at half time.
Yeah but that's what annoys me.

Friday was friday.

this saturday is a different day, Cats were shaky in prelim in 07 then won gf by 119 pts

avid

I reckon it's only a 40/60 chance we'll win.

I'm hoping with every cell in my body that that 40% chance comes in on the day.

That's how I'm psychologically coping with it anyway.

Maxstar22

For all our "big" games, I have been a jibbering idiot and absolutely shyting myself about it.

Right now I am not nervous, not scared, not worried....just a complete calm has come over me. While it could be the cold and flu medication I'm taking, it could be more to do with the fact that I am finally 100% confident we will WIN!!!

CARN THE SAINTERS!!!!

Kate

We'll win. I can feel it in the air....

Or in my waters, as Kath would say.