Is Foxtel worth the bucks?

No.

More fun to find a local supporter group and go hang out with them at a pub somewhere.

If you need replays, there are ways to get them via the internets...

St Fidelius wrote:Our family just love foxtel...

we have the foxtel IQ in three rooms but the main room is the IQ HD...

We have the best package available and moving up to the IQ HD in the main room saved us $$$

We just love it

ditto mate...but have one iq hd...and one iq digital box....full package too.....i don't spend any money on grog or fags...cheap entertainment to me....
Yeah mate, my wife records and pauses her shows in one room and I do the same in the main room...

and Jnr just records and watches everything that is sports in his room..

We record many movies in HD so we can watch together but come footy time, the main room is mine and I record and watch most (if not all of every AFL match)..

Whilst my wife watches her shows in the other room...

It's just fantastic and I (we) could not live without it...

JUST LOVE IT!!!

zebraman

I got it mainly for the EPL...now watching Everton V Man Utd live...and after that I can sit back and watch the mighty Arsenal....

After being laid up at home for 3 months after an accident, i would have gone nuts without Foxtel....and IQ is the best especially with series link...

Beej

zebraman wrote:I got it mainly for the EPL...now watching Everton V Man Utd live...and after that I can sit back and watch the mighty Arsenal....

After being laid up at home for 3 months after an accident, i would have gone nuts without Foxtel....and IQ is the best especially with series link...
Fantastic first half.

stinger wrote: you should get out more...nothing wrong with canberra....
Except for fraudulant politicians, their slimy private staffers and grovelling senior executive service public servants trying to climb over each other.

battye wrote:Free-to-air has become infinitely better since the new digital stations have been created. I've got an EyeTV on my Mac (what a fantastic device) and I regularly record the movies that are on GO! as well as watch some of the old sitcoms.

maverick, I sure hope not. I don't see how One HD can remain profitable off the sports they do air. They should air things like the South African / English Twenty20 tournaments, the rights to those series mustn't cost much and no other network airs them - and would surely attract some casual cricket fans (like the IPL does).
I cant see how they will remain profitable if they have to pay for games of cricket and things like that, that 2 men and a dog will watch. Less and less sport will be on FTA. You may not like it but Foxtel will just about run all sport soon as cable does in most parts of the world and i say good on them. You will get it live and uninterrupted for a bugger all price.

battye wrote:Free-to-air has become infinitely better since the new digital stations have been created. I've got an EyeTV on my Mac (what a fantastic device) and I regularly record the movies that are on GO! as well as watch some of the old sitcoms.

maverick, I sure hope not. I don't see how One HD can remain profitable off the sports they do air. They should air things like the South African / English Twenty20 tournaments, the rights to those series mustn't cost much and no other network airs them - and would surely attract some casual cricket fans (like the IPL does).
I cant see how they will remain profitable if they have to pay for games of cricket and things like that, that 2 men and a dog will watch. Less and less sport will be on FTA. You may not like it but Foxtel will just about run all sport soon as cable does in most parts of the world and i say good on them. You will get it live and uninterrupted for a bugger all price.
Thats the key part. Live.

4 games live every week. And for lovers of the AFL...not just the Saints....Money just cant buy that.

Actually you can, and we do!

People still bag foxtel, even when they provide great coverage, and most importantly LIVE coverage.

depends
the only reason i get it is for the 7 games or so that are played on FOX of the saints here in SA (that are live)

other than that:
the movie channels arent worth it (if you d/l)
and the series channels like fox 8, arena, tv1 etc are all repeats

i pretty much watch two channels
lifestyle (for all the hone reno shows etc)
and fox sports

if there wasnt half a dozen saints games on i wouldnt bother having it at all

ace wrote:
stinger wrote: you should get out more...nothing wrong with canberra....
Except for fraudulant politicians, their slimy private staffers and grovelling senior executive service public servants trying to climb over each other.
apart from some of the senior public servants..the rest aren't canberrians...they are crooks , slimes sure...but they are blow ins......i remember once whilst living in canberra i had a hoilday on the gold coast ..went to buy a queensland lottery ticket..filed out my canberra address...the newsagent said to me that he didn't like my politicians.....i told him that apart from one house of reps and maybe two senators..the rest were his and the rest of the f****** country and they were welcome to keep them all year around without them soiling my back yard...then told him i could return the favour...i didn't think much of his pollies either...joe in particular...he tore up my ticket......

funny how the porn rules are less in canberra than anywhere else

less?
sorry, non existent

coincidence
????

lmfao

saintnick12

SainterK wrote:Trick to foxtel (aside from the AFL) is to spend the extra and get IQ, record absolutely anything that may be remotely interesting....then you have stuff to watch when there is not alot on but repeats, and also watch things with the benefit of fast forward.
Agreed. We have IQ and I couldn't live without it now. I tape lots of things and watch them off the IQ. Watching free to air tv via the foxtel IQ is the way to go. Eg Series such as Grey's Anatomy, House etc that we watch. We tape them on series link then watch 3 or four of them in one go and zap through all the ads. Also great for shows such as Idol or the Biggest Loser. So many ads in those shows so you can almost watch them in half the time on the IQ. Its also great to be able to rewind and pause the live tv, and catch up in the ads. Great if the phone rings so you don't fall behind, or if there is a great piece of play you want to rewatch. My husband jokes that the IQ is not good for me cos I'm certainly guilty of giving the rewind a workout when watching footy, especially the saints, watching the great passages of play multiple times.

I guess whether its worth it or not depends on your viewing habits and your family structure. Besides the series, I also love it for the footy and watch every game at least once or twice during the week before deleting. And really good games like the Geelong one last year stay on there for ages. I only deleted in to make way for the GF last year, which I finally deleted a few months later. In previous years where we didn't win as many games as last year, I would often delete the game on getting home and watch one our winning games instead :wink:
I also have a two year old. The IQ is fantastic for recording heaps of episodes of his favourite shows and watching them off the IQ, rather than having to muck around with DVD's, so there's plenty of Wiggles, Hi5, Lazytown etc on my IQ. I am also getting him used to footy watching footy replays.
My 14 yearold loves all the sports, the AFL obviously, the A league (all games live), the EPL (he will tape overnight games and watch them in the morning), as well as other series that he likes.
My husband loves Top Gear, American Chopper etc and lots of the doco's on the history and discovery channels. Again he tapes them all and watches them at suitable times (ie when I'm at the footy). He also loves car racing and uses the IQ to tape it for watching later. We seem to be out all the time with the kids, so IQ means you don't have to miss anything.
We have the full package except the movies which we didn't find were worthwhile as we don't have time to watch them. It costs us 90 a month which is more than worth it for us as the four of us are all using it in different ways. For a single person that might not be worth it, but for our family its more than good value, and something I couldn't give up now.

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

matrix wrote:funny how the porn rules are less in canberra than anywhere else

less?
sorry, non existent

coincidence
????

lmfao

nah...that's crap.....most of the porn is maunfactured in victoria and new south wales....sold through the normal adult stores with the authorities turning a blind eye to it.....only difference is that in canberra they aren't breaking the law......all those ads in pple mag....if that is still what it is called ...giving an act postal address...is just that...a po address....australia post then redirects the mail back to a victorian address..most of them from memory were in moorabbin...unfortunately...

...once appeared for an australian post employee who was knocking off the money whilst betting most pple wouldn't be game to go to the police....

nah...like the pollies canberra doesn't own...canberra gets bad press for the sins of the rest of australia....

you're from sth australia aren't you....never been in hindley street....??

you go lyfao.... :roll: :roll: :roll:

nuttsy

DJKCR wrote:
nuttsy wrote:I live in canberra and getting fox was the second best thing I've done since being here.
Okay I will bite what is the best thing you have done since getting to Canberra :D
getting ducted gas heating :D

nuttsy wrote:
DJKCR wrote:
nuttsy wrote:I live in canberra and getting fox was the second best thing I've done since being here.
Okay I will bite what is the best thing you have done since getting to Canberra :D
getting ducted gas heating :D

couple of good buys for canberra..... :wink: :lol: :lol:

You mean like Slamball?

International cricket will at least draw some casual cricket fans. I don't know which audience Slamball attracts... and it's hard to imagine the price being a factor when you are talking about low key domestic tournaments.

Just to be clear, I don't mind if sports goes to Foxtel if the price is reasonable. $50+ to get sport is not "bugger all price", that's a blatant rip off.

The sports package costs around $12, if I could get that by itself - not a problem.

saintluke

Worth it IMO. I live in NSW and its fantastic for AFL and cricket! When you put it in context compared to a night out at the movies + food it practically evens out. So we don't go to the movies all the time but we're happy in order to watch the Saints every week.

battye wrote:

You mean like Slamball?

International cricket will at least draw some casual cricket fans. I don't know which audience Slamball attracts... and it's hard to imagine the price being a factor when you are talking about low key domestic tournaments.

Just to be clear, I don't mind if sports goes to Foxtel if the price is reasonable. $50+ to get sport is not "bugger all price", that's a blatant rip off.

The sports package costs around $12, if I could get that by itself - not a problem.
$50 a month is bugger all. it is $1.70 a day. A can of coke. They arent going to give it to you for 30 cents a day or do you think they shouldnt try and make some profit.

What he said, while it costs money, it's the way it goes round the world and has to happen. It does improve the quality of the broadcast.

Beej

maverick wrote:

What he said, while it costs money, it's the way it goes round the world and has to happen. It does improve the quality of the broadcast.
So you mean to say our subscriptions help pay Leigh Colbert's wage?

Earlier today the he called football boots "shoes".

saint64

Definitely. Its great. Couldn't do without it. Just get it!!!!!

battye wrote:

You mean like Slamball?

$50 a month is bugger all.
If you say so :lol:

Foxtel (Telstra in general) want people to think that they offer a quality product, obviously it has worked on some people :lol:

Do a web search for a network called SuperSport (South Africa) and let me know if you still think we're being given a fair deal. :wink:

As far as im concerned Foxtel is worth every cent.

You have so many choices in terms of sport, entertainment, music and movies. Sure you are guarenteed to get repeats or chanels/shows you would never watch but by sheer weight of numbers there is always something on worth watching

battye wrote:

You mean like Slamball?

$50 a month is bugger all.
If you say so :lol:

Foxtel (Telstra in general) want people to think that they offer a quality product, obviously it has worked on some people :lol:

Do a web search for a network called SuperSport (South Africa) and let me know if you still think we're being given a fair deal. :wink:
What has something in Sth Africa got to do with Australia. Give up a coke a day or a can of beer. Sorry maybe not the beer. anyway I am happy to pay $50 and I centainly think it is bugger all.

I don't mind it, though you have to wade through a lot of dull soccer and rugby stuff.

matrix wrote:funny how the porn rules are less in canberra than anywhere else

less?
sorry, non existent

coincidence
????

lmfao

nah...that's crap.....most of the porn is maunfactured in victoria and new south wales....sold through the normal adult stores with the authorities turning a blind eye to it.....only difference is that in canberra they aren't breaking the law......all those ads in pple mag....if that is still what it is called ...giving an act postal address...is just that...a po address....australia post then redirects the mail back to a victorian address..most of them from memory were in moorabbin...unfortunately...

...once appeared for an australian post employee who was knocking off the money whilst betting most pple wouldn't be game to go to the police....

nah...like the pollies canberra doesn't own...canberra gets bad press for the sins of the rest of australia....

you're from sth australia aren't you....never been in hindley street....??

you go lyfao.... :roll: :roll: :roll:
are you always right?
did you actually read?
i said porn RULES (as in laws)

havent been to hindley street in years

explain lyfao