Stress and me.

borderbarry wrote:I also have my Record still in its wrapper, never looked at it. Nor have I ever watched the Grand Final replay.
Lets hope this is our year.
It's a pity, it's a good read.

thequarry

Milan Faletic wrote:GF day was a weird one for me too, maybe because I was in the second row from the fence and I am used to, and prefer sitting up in the stands. The weather made it difficult to watch at times too.

The day was a blur and was totally different to 97 for me, when I literally wept at the 20 minute mark of the last quarter. This time I was also quiet like you Barry and then the siren went. I was more numb and in disbelief that all of the things we did in the home and away season, and then the Finals, and even the GF, amounted to no more than 97. I think if we got up I would have also been in disbelief. Normally I yell at the footy but I was quiet in the last ten minutes because I felt that we were physically spent and that we weren't going to win. However, during the year we had been in that position, including the PF and we found something. So when the siren went I still felt like I was waiting for something to happen.

I was sitting right in front of Rooke and Blake when the siren went. However the vision that haunts me, is that I was watching Blake and Rooke going for that last mark and I just saw a spilt second look of resignation on Jason Blake's face when he couldn't get to Rooke. It devastated me to see his face. Then the siren went and I saw Lenny close up and he was inconsolable.
You must have been sitting just a few rows in front of me.

When the siren went I had my head in my hands. I had my head in my hands when Geelong got out to the seven point lead. I didn't know what else to do.

I remember how I felt after that last rushed behind and the margin was a straight kick. All of a sudden we had a chance to at least get back level late in the match. But I'd spent the last quarter waiting for Geelong to win when I realised all we were doing was bombing it into the forward line and hoping for a mark (Ross confirmed that was the plan after the match). And I didn't feel as if anything would happen. Even the week before it felt like someone would get us over the line, and Nick delivered. But I didn't have that hope this time.

I didn't even see Rooke kick the goal, but I remember in the darkness of my head in my hands hearing the Geelong theme song, and thinking "this is real", and that we'd blown and lost a very close Grand Final.

Still haunted by the cheating umpire Ryan who grew up in the Geelong area and supported Geelong as a kid and called play on when Schnieder had his jumper pulled off into the Richmond Social club,

unbelievable decision, never would you ever see a more blatant instance of holding the man and biased cheating from an umpire,

absolute travesty,

had Schnieder been awarded the free kick as any non Geelong supporting umpire would surely have done and drilled it from 35 metres out, we would have been 8 points up and in a very different game of football, with all the pressure on Geelong,

still haunts me,

as does the miserable weather conditions we unluckily copped which suited Geelong

and Riewoldt doing an adductor in the final training session,

And not forgetting the goal umpiring decision which cost us two goals in 20 seconds, directly and indirectly,

and the fricken AFL don't waste time giving themselves pay rises but you reckon they can fix the goal umpiring farce any time soon,

a decision like that in a close Grand Final when for years people have been calling for video replays, two goal umpires etc...etc...

they're too busy lining their own pockets and buying Toorak mansions, to fix a basic fundamental flaw in the game, which might have cost a club a premiership,

still they've done SFA to fix the problem,

how much more of an example do you need, a goal umpiring mistake in a close Grand Final to see that something needs to be done when it was obvious many years ago that something needed to be done

then again they sat on their arses when Cousins was on speed playing in a one point Premiership win, like ignoramuses, probably too busy contemplating their next pay rise at the time, to come up to speed and realize what everyone else knew was going on from the pre season of that same year,

****** cheating and incompetent umpires........

It's a good thing I've moved on though!

barks4eva wrote:Still haunted by the cheating umpire Ryan who grew up in the Geelong area and supported Geelong as a kid and called play on when Schnieder had his jumper pulled off into the Richmond Social club,

unbelievable decision, never would you ever see a more blatant instance of holding the man and biased cheating from an umpire,

absolute travesty,

had Schnieder been awarded the free kick as any non Geelong supporting umpire would surely have done and drilled it from 35 metres out, we would have been 8 points up and in a very different game of football, with all the pressure on Geelong,

still haunts me,

as does the miserable weather conditions we unluckily copped which suited Geelong

And not forgetting the goal umpiring decision which cost us two goals in 20 seconds, directly and indirectly,

and the fricken AFL don't waste time giving themselves pay rises but you reckon they can fix the goal umpiring farce any time soon,

a decision like that in a close Grand Final when for years people have been calling for video replays, two goal umpires etc...etc...

they're too busy lining their own pockets and buying Toorak mansions, to fix a basic fundamental flaw in the game, which might have cost a club a premiership,

how much more of an example do you need, a goal umpiring mistake in a close Grand Final to see that something needs to be done when it was obvious many years ago that something needed to be done

then again they sat on their arses when Cousins was on speed playing in a one point Premiership win, like ignoramuses, probably too busy contemplating their next pay rise at the time, to come up to speed and realize what everyone else knew was going on from the pre season of that same year,

yep.......but i share your pain.....

barks4eva wrote:Still haunted by the cheating umpire Ryan who grew up in the Geelong area and supported Geelong as a kid and called play on when Schnieder had his jumper pulled off into the Richmond Social club,

absolute travesty,

still haunts me,

yep.......but i share your pain.....
And to think this slimy, filthy, rorting, cheating Geelong supporter/umpire also happens to be a flowering lawyer,.......... so any remote chance that he had any integrity whatsoever and could be trusted, can be ruled out on account of that!

Never trust a flowering lawyer and we had a flowering Geelong supporting lawyer rorting us out of a premiership with typical flowering lawyer like deception, manipulation and dishonesty!

A fair dinkum flowering disgrace!

Actually there's only one lawyer I trust, my good mate Ross Levine :wink: 8-) :lol:
Last edited by barks4eva on Fri 19 Mar 2010 4:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

And you must trust Denny Crane!

I have had more experience with solicitors (their correct title here in Australia) than most. Dont trust any of them.

borderbarry wrote:I have had more experience with solicitors (their correct title here in Australia) than most. Dont trust any of them.
Except for Ross Levine of course, there's always one exception!

As for the rest of them :evil:

Basically St Kilda got screwed in the 2009 Grand Final by a flowering lawyer/solicitor,....... cost us a few million for non free payments, not too mention the deceptive and underhanded double dealing and despicable disregard for the flowering laws of the game, didn't put the whistle away as much as his honesty, integrity, decency and gamesmanship, a flowering Geelong supporter, a flowering lawyer, never be trusted, adjudicating, passing judgement in the last quarter of a Grand Final with St Kilda leading by two points and blatantly cheats for his beloved Catters, there's no getting around it!

It's hardly surprising though when you allow flowering lawyers to umpire games of football, you're asking for trouble,........ lawyers cannot be trusted, they rort, cheat, manipulate, deceive, it's what they do for a living, they have it down pat, it's second nature, their default position,........

so by appointing a Geelong supporter who also happens to be a flowering lawyer to umpire an AFL Grand Final with Geelong playing, it's nothing short of a dereliction of care and duty by the AFL for the so called brand or whatever they flog themselves with, to invite such treachery and dishonesty, inevitable considering Umpire Sporn Lyin is a flowering lawyer for Christ's sake, I mean FAIR DINKUM, the AFL should be sued for millions of potential earnings lost and umpire Ryan should be the next man hanged in Victoria!

The flowering goal umpires probably a flowering Geelong supporter or a flowering lawyer or both like the flowering umpire Sporn Lyin, flowering lawyers, never trust them, they're all one and the same, except for my good mate Ross Levine of course!

borderbarry wrote:I have had more experience with solicitors (their correct title here in Australia) than most. Dont trust any of them.
Except for Ross Levine of course, there's always one exception!

As for the rest of them :evil:

Basically St Kilda got screwed in the 2009 Grand Final by a flowering lawyer/solicitor,....... cost us a few million for non free payments, not too mention the deceptive and underhanded double dealing and despicable disregard for the flowering laws of the game, didn't put the whistle away as much as his honesty, integrity, decency and gamesmanship, a flowering Geelong supporter, a flowering lawyer, never be trusted, adjudicating, passing judgement in the last quarter of a Grand Final with St Kilda leading by two points and blatantly cheats for his beloved Catters, there's no getting around it!

It's hardly surprising though when you allow flowering lawyers to umpire games of football, you're asking for trouble,........ lawyers cannot be trusted, they rort, cheat, manipulate, deceive, it's what they do for a living, they have it down pat, it's second nature, their default position,........

so by appointing a Geelong supporter who also happens to be a flowering lawyer to umpire an AFL Grand Final with Geelong playing, it's nothing short of a dereliction of care and duty by the AFL for the so called brand or whatever they flog themselves with, to invite such treachery and dishonesty, inevitable considering Umpire Sporn Lyin is a flowering lawyer for Christ's sake, I mean FAIR DINKUM, the AFL should be sued for millions of potential earnings lost and umpire Ryan should be the next man hanged in Victoria!

The flowering goal umpires probably a flowering Geelong supporter or a flowering lawyer or both like the flowering umpire Sporn Lyin, flowering lawyers, never trust them, they're all one and the same, except for my good mate Ross Levine of course!
You really need to get off it. It is slowly eating away at your brain.

chook23 wrote:Very stressed out at Prelim.

At GF not so during game.

Have always considered the Prelim the hardest to handle AS YOU HAVE to win to MAKE IT.....and up to that point a great season W/L

Once in the GF (Lead up nervy) but in game just so much concentration
not as stressed for some reason........

Prelim live was horrible (felt ill).............replay great!!
Agree.

Let's face it, we played a lot of terrible footy in the Prelim and were lucky to win it.

All I could think of during the Prelim was, if we make it to the Granny, we'll get smashed.

So I guess when you put it in persepctive the GF loss, in crappy very un-Roo friendly weather was not too horrible!

GET REAL, it was abysmal, in football terms just about as horrendous as it gets!

And to think a flowering Geelong supporting lawyer runs around in the Geelong defence all last quarter doing his level best to obstruct the prosecution, a flowering lawyer, as if you can trust any of them, for crying out loud, a Geelong supporter, a seven man backline, Sporn Lyin certainly shored up the defence and offers the plea of not guilty when Schnieder has his jumper pulled off into Lennox st, before he had taken possession of the ball thirty five metres out, I mean fair flowering dinkum, natural justice was denied by the actions of a slimy, slippery, snakey, snivelling sleepy hollow, suckhole, lawyer, who also by the way happens to be a Geelong supporter!

I'm just grateful that I've moved on!