Teams

Every single player in their side has won a flag. Only one in ours has.

#1GILL

sRaf wrote:Not really surprised by any of those inclusions (on both sides), but I would have liked Miles to have had just one more go.

Regardless, we are looking strong going in!
Welcome to the forum Big Fella.

dcstkfc wrote:Every single player in their side has won a flag. Only one in ours has.
Full tummy vs an empty one?

dcstkfc wrote:Every single player in their side has won a flag. Only one in ours has.
Full tummy vs an empty one?
Hope so

DWOODROW

Re: Teams

saintlee wrote:St Kilda
Backs: Jason Gram / Jason Blake / Sam Gilbert
Half Backs: Steven Baker / Sam Fisher / James Gwilt
Centreline: Brendon Goddard / Nick Dal Santo / Farren Ray
Half Forwards: Andrew McQualter / Justin Koschitzke / Leigh Montagna
Forwards:Brett Peake / Nick Riewoldt / Stephen Milne
Followers: Michael Gardiner / Lenny Hayes / Clint Jones
Interchange: Ben McEvoy / Zac Dawson / Adam Schneider / Jarryn Geary
Emergencies: Rob Eddy / Sean Dempster / David Armitage

In: S.Milne, A.Schneider, S.Baker
Out: S.Dempster (Omitted), D.Armitage (Omitted), L.Miles (Omitted)

Geelong Cats
B: Andrew Mackie, Matthew Scarlett, Darren Milburn
HB: Corey Enright, Harry Taylor, James Kelly
C: Cameron Ling, Jimmy Bartel, Joel Corey
HF: Paul Chapman, Tom Hawkins, Mathew Stokes
F: Steve Johnson, Cameron Mooney, Travis Varcoe
Foll: Brad Ottens, Joel Selwood, Gary Ablett
I/C: Tom Lonergan, Josh Hunt, David Wojcinski, Mark Blake
Emg: Shannon Byrnes, Taylor Hunt, Simon Hogan

In: Selwood, Enright, Hunt
Out: Daniel Menzel, Taylor Hunt, Simon Hogan

Oh well you missed out on the carrot again Dave. Only so many times..

saintjake

if its going to be wet, i wouldnt mind the added leg speed of steven, who also adds, IMO a bit fo silk.
and also armo for the hardness at the footy and tackling for a wet game.
to me armo has a bit of selwood about him.

Early call DW, he is an emergency, and he still may play finals.

#1GILL

DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?
Does this mean he has had enough of not being a regular and is heading North??

You are in a great position to know, let's be honest.

DWOODROW

SainterK wrote:Early call DW, he is an emergency, and he still may play finals.
Just sooking. :( Me that is
Last edited by DWOODROW on Thu 02 Sep 2010 6:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

late change
mini out
armo in

why

thought that was obvious

DWOODROW wrote:
SainterK wrote:Early call DW, he is an emergency, and he still may play finals.
Just sooking. :(
I know, but there is still hope...

He still may play, this week, the next final.

I personally think we need him this week, think they may shut Lenny down again.

I think Ross hasn't played all his cards yet, either has Bomber for that matter.

saintslegendLH wrote:is this the official saints team,
because if it is, it angers me alot.
although i half understand armitage being left out, he should have been swapped with mini, although mini 'is apperently' playing a defencive forward role hes not doing a great job and armo can kick a couple of goals and shows that every match!!!!!

the one that angers me the most though, is that dempster was dropped
he is shown that he is very reliable, can run hard and can be very damaging. the problem is i know he was brought it to replace baker i just think he deserves a spot
wow, strong opinion. have to say i disagree. i can't remember a game where dempster could have been described as "damaging", certainly not this year. (though i didn't see last week and statistically that looks like his best.)

he generally has about 10 to 15 touches, 5 to 8 marks, 3 to 6 tackles, and rarely kicks goals. reliable, maybe. runs hard, i guess so. damaging? nope.

DWOODROW

#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?

If I wanted to know I would. I leave that side of footy up to him. He is coming north actually. For Christmas. :wink:

#1GILL

DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?

If I wanted to know I would. I leave that side of footy up to him. He is coming north actually. For Christmas. :wink:
And he might not be coming back afterwards...

I seriously hope he stays though. He's put in so much hard work and has just had a lack of opportunities.
He looks like he will be a gun, and I would hate to lose him to GC for nothing and then for him to get plenty of midfield time and dominate.

If he hangs around for just another season or so, he will really be able to make a name for himself.

saintsfooty

Changes from last year's GF:

In: McEvoy, Geary, Peake
Out: King, Ball, Dempster.

Happier with Peake and McEvoy.
We lose an "in-and-under" but Geary can mark and kick.

DWOODROW

#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?

I seriously hope he stays though. He's put in so much hard work and has just had a lack of opportunities.
He looks like he will be a gun, and I would hate to lose him to GC for nothing and then for him to get plenty of midfield time and dominate.

If he hangs around for just another season or so, he will really be able to make a name for himself.
Well with the Saints midfield as good as it is he may need to change into a different type of footballer to get a game, someone like a blonde 6ft5 althletic freak, but we have one of them too. hahah

#1GILL

DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?

Well with the Saints midfield as good as it is he may need to change into a different type of footballer to get a game, someone like a blonde 6ft5 althletic freak, but we have one of them too. hahah
Drop him a line and tell him to say, from #1GILL...He will understand.

DWOODROW

#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

So many times ey?

Drop him a line and tell him to say, from #1GILL...He will understand.
righto

#1GILL wrote: Drop him a line and tell him to say, from #1GILL...He will understand.
'Stay' I assume you mean
I wouldn't discount him from the finals-But given his disrupted season I can see why they are going with players who have had a lot of game time and keeping the team fairly settled.

I too hope he stays....

saintslegendLH wrote:
the one that angers me the most though, is that dempster was dropped
he is shown that he is very reliable, can run hard and can be very damaging.
This is funny... He is the most useless, do nothing player in the side.. The word 'damaging' to describe Dempster is the exact opposite to what he brings... He does not hurt the opposition, doesnt have weapons, just tries to play his 'role', and struggles to do that...

Happy to see him dropped, again, but no doubt the late change will pull through for him once more...

personally I would have had jack over mini and miles over geary (turns it over too much). Otherwise it's a good exciting, finals type side and I can't see it blowing out either way.

Kosi to snag 4, cats to not score a goal in the final quarter and the finals get thrown upside down with the saints winning by 22 points.

#1GILL

#1GILL wrote: Drop him a line and tell him to say, from #1GILL...He will understand.
'Stay' I assume you mean
I wouldn't discount him from the finals-But given his disrupted season I can see why they are going with players who have had a lot of game time and keeping the team fairly settled.

I too hope he stays....
Once again, you are correct. Stay it is.

DWOODROW wrote:

Geelong Cats

yep.... :cry: ..i would have had him in before mini.....he will be missed.....

Very annoyed that Armitage is out, thought he busted his guts last week and played well enough to earn a finals spot.

As for Mini, he tackled well enough to earn a lifeline for the finals.

Enough of the nice men in suits. Bring in some admin who demand success!

Glad we're able to debate who should/could be in tomorrow night!
Debateables out are: Dempster, Eddy, Armo, Miles, Jack.
Noone is jumping up and down about Patterson, Heyne, Lynch but that may come in time.
And Smith, Walsh, Hutchings, Simpkin will all be good and will hopefully get a good run in the NAB and get a H&A game next year.
Realistically imo it only came down to Gears or Dempster. Good choice I reckon. Gears will only get better after tomorrow night, and think he's earnt his spot.
Shame about Clarkey. But expectations next year.
Only interesting thing for me in the team is no tall emergency.
Prediction; we turn the screws with shut-down strangulation footy from here on.
Back to the good ole days of 2009 f*ck 'em up footy!