Sandgropers at the Saints.

Our number 1 draft pick in 1992. Rob Malone. We butchered that one !

Verdun66

loris wrote:
Verdun66 wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote:Russell Reynolds
Never knew that. Just googled him and see he makes wine in the Margaret River now. Good on him.
You still in the vino industry in UK Verdun? I'll be over with a Margaret River red again for the 2013 Ashes tour........ I'm sure we will be able to down a few eh???? :P
No, left the wine business Loris. Now in coaching would you believe! Cricket coaching.....

Verdun66

Grrrrr wrote:David Grant

He was a Tassie boy wasn't he? Think we've got this thread mixed up....!

Dont be a dill RW&B. Nick played representative footy for Tassy under 14 or 15. His family moved to Queensland for a few years and we recruited him from there, but he is still a Taswegian.

The best of them ..George Young and Nicky Winmar..similar players with sublime skills...remember seeing George Young destroy Esendon in an elimination final in 72 or 3 ...weren't too many better saints than Georgie in full flight ;-)

George was great didnt he kick 11 goals in a game, and Phil Carmen kicked 12 in the same match? What a feast of footy that was.

Verdun66

George Young also hit a lazy 125 in his first or second Shield game for WA (who weren't a bad side then!).

Had some sporting talent did George!

Former Saints rookie Mark Hutchings. Apparently outstanding in the WAFL this year :shock:

Hold your ground :shock:

borderbarry wrote:George was great didnt he kick 11 goals in a game, and Phil Carmen kicked 12 in the same match? What a feast of footy that was.
George kicked 8 in that game, the week after moving to Full Forward against Footscray at the Western Oval and booting 9.

Unfortunately at Moorabbin Carmen's 11 got the Pies home.

Nonetheless those two games really kick started Yoing's career as a spearhead having previously been used mainly as a HFF.

And in doing so quickly became the fave of many Saints fans, including a much younger doc. :)

R. Harvey 3 votes!

Only got a couple of games but a good mate of mine Luke Miles is from WA.

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss

RW&B wrote:
borderbarry wrote:WA and Tassy have both been good recruiting grounds for the Saints, although I would have the Tassy lot just in front.
Verdun Howell,
Darryl Baldoch
Ian Stewart
John Bingley
John Bonney
Barry Lawrence
Nick Riewoldt
Probably missed a few.
Three Captains. Three Brownlows.
Roo is from Southport, Queensland. DArch is from Tassie though ;)
The Riewoldt family are Taswegian but his folks moved to Queensland when nick was a kid.

Verdun66 wrote:
loris wrote:
Verdun66 wrote:
Never knew that. Just googled him and see he makes wine in the Margaret River now. Good on him.
You still in the vino industry in UK Verdun? I'll be over with a Margaret River red again for the 2013 Ashes tour........ I'm sure we will be able to down a few eh???? :P
No, left the wine business Loris. Now in coaching would you believe! Cricket coaching.....
Is it the 'egg & bacon' tie mob? Or more local?

westy

thequarry wrote:
Johnny Favier wrote:David Sierakowski, Gavin Mitchell
Was Brian Sierakowski from WA or did he just finish his career there?

Matthew Carr was from WA (part of the 1998-2000 downward spiral with Mitchell).
Brian is the son of Ralph Sierakowski who owned the Brighton Club Hotel which is now Dan Murphys on the corner of Union Street and Nepean Highway Brighton. Ralph turned on free grog on 24 September 1966 after the Saints won the premiership.
That must be my old got so late that night!

I'm livin' in a madhouse
Verdun66

loris wrote:
Verdun66 wrote:
loris wrote:
Verdun66 wrote:
Is it the 'egg & bacon' tie mob? Or more local?
Local County...

borderbarry wrote:George was great didnt he kick 11 goals in a game, and Phil Carmen kicked 12 in the same match? What a feast of footy that was.
George kicked 8 in that game, the week after moving to Full Forward against Footscray at the Western Oval and booting 9.

Nonetheless those two games really kick started Yoing's career as a spearhead having previously been used mainly as a HFF.

And in doing so quickly became the fave of many Saints fans, including a much younger doc. :)
Great game,hated Carmen that day,but on his day right up there with the best

linz

I think even Allan Jenes said George Young was the most talented player he had ever coached. That was saying something.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

linz wrote:I think even Allan Jenes said George Young was the most talented player he had ever coached. That was saying something.
8-) pretty fair judge...think that George and Barry Lawrence stood out as extra special for me as a kid..any older supporters care to back me up re Lawrence..sorry to digress ..realise he was from Tassy :wink:

linz wrote:I think even Allan Jenes said George Young was the most talented player he had ever coached. That was saying something.
I can believe that.

It was certainly a privilege to have watched Young play.

He's a very big reason as to why I became a fanatical supporter who still goes to the footy each week almost 40 years later.

Hmmmm, when I think of it that way - bloody #27 :twisted:

Winmarvellous

Jimmy Krakouer

Grrrrr

Verdun66 wrote:
Grrrrr wrote:David Grant

He was a Tassie boy wasn't he? Think we've got this thread mixed up....!
Sorry, yes, Grant is a Tassie boy, bloody good player too he was.

And definitely, thread has morphed into something else! :D

bergsone wrote:

That would be the best losing H&A game that I have ever been too.
Loved St George.

MCG-Unit wrote:Former Saints rookie Mark Hutchings. Apparently outstanding in the WAFL this year :shock:
He started off like a house on fire and was favorite to win the sandover for awhile but as the season went on his form started to drop a bit ... I think he has nominated for the draft again this year he did pretty good in the under 23 game late in the year so maybe a chance at another club

Enrico_Misso wrote:
bergsone wrote:

That would be the best losing H&A game that I have ever been too.
Loved St George.
Would have to be the only time we kicked 20 goals and lost.

busso mick

A few more WA boys that went to the Saints - Ian Dargie, Tony Delaney, Craig Callahan, Mark Gale, Craig Treleven, Ian Dargie, Dale Kickett. Jason Heatley came from WCE, but originally from Victoria.

Ross who?

MCG-Unit wrote:Former Saints rookie Mark Hutchings. Apparently outstanding in the WAFL this year :shock:
Interesting....I was told that we got rid of him because he had bad hip problems. :shock:

Blake Acres fan club VIP