Weekly Crap Umpiring Post

Re: Weekly Crap Umpiring Post

CURLY wrote:
vacuous space wrote:
CURLY wrote:Im saying we are on the receiving end of bad decisions more often than Collingwood.
We're +22, Collingwood's -18. Riewoldt has received more frees than any other forward.

If there's a conspiracy, they forgot to tell the umpires.
Why wouldnt an umpire give Riewoldt more frees than Cloke? The fact that Roo doesnt receive far more is the joke.

Of course that comment is through 2 eyes. How do you explain your 40 difference in frees when you claim they are looked after and we arent. What gold do you have for us now?

That stat proves nothing. Anyone that knows anything about football knows its not how many frees its where and when you get them. Look at our game against the Crows the only goal they got in the last was a incoorect free against Gwilt on Tippet. We lost by four points.

CURLY wrote:Anyone that knows anything about football knows its not how many frees its where and when you get them.
Riewoldt has more frees (33) than Cloke (14) and Dawes (12) combined. Did he get them playing half back?

CURLY wrote:That stat proves nothing. Anyone that knows anything about football knows its not how many frees its where and when you get them. Look at our game against the Crows the only goal they got in the last was a incoorect free against Gwilt on Tippet. We lost by four points.
dude, you gotta let it go. your life must be pretty sad if you're so convinced that the world is against you.

vacuous space wrote:
CURLY wrote:Anyone that knows anything about football knows its not how many frees its where and when you get them.
Riewoldt has more frees (33) than Cloke (14) and Dawes (12) combined. Did he get them playing half back?
If Riewoldt chose to wrestle and play like those two he wouldnt have 33. Never compare the treatment of Roo to forwards like that.

CURLY wrote:That stat proves nothing. Anyone that knows anything about football knows its not how many frees its where and when you get them. Look at our game against the Crows the only goal they got in the last was a incoorect free against Gwilt on Tippet. We lost by four points.
dude, you gotta let it go. your life must be pretty sad if you're so convinced that the world is against you.
The evidence is there for you to see. Umpires at all levels do it. Its in there best interest to do so.

Cloke in 2010 was allowed a dream run where he wrestled players to the ground and pushed out the player in front. The umpiring department haven't been as tolerant and his form has dropped. Mysterious. Roo had a patch last year where they decided he played for frees and wouldn't give him anything. If they judge you you won't get frees just ask Milney and Schnides.

gringo wrote:Cloke in 2010 was allowed a dream run where he wrestled players to the ground and pushed out the player in front. The umpiring department haven't been as tolerant and his form has dropped. Mysterious. Roo had a patch last year where they decided he played for frees and wouldn't give him anything. If they judge you you won't get frees just ask Milney and Schnides.
Exactly. Watch an Eagles game now compared to earlier in the year, watch Joel Selwood you can basically do what you like to him now. Watch Dawson get pinned for any contact on a forward ghen watch Glass or Rutten use there opponents as a jungle jim and get nothing.

howlinwolf

I think the umpiring is getting more baffling by the week.
Gia's free in the goal square was the most obviously wrong decision I've seen in some time.It was actually a free the other way.
There's three of them and yet they can't get out of the way of witches hat training !
Sorry Plugs but you're playing the devil's advocate a few too many times to have credibility.
Umpiring is worse than ever imo.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

CURLY wrote:Watch an Eagles game now compared to earlier in the year, watch Joel Selwood you can basically do what you like to him now.
Selwood leads the AFL in frees, averages 2.6 per game and has had games of 2, 3, 2 and 3 in the last four weeks. That's about as bang on the league leading average as you can get.

The Eagles have broken even the last two weeks and have been at a deficit exactly once all year (-2 against the league's favourite, Collingwood).

The umpire bias against Milney has got so bad that exactly two Collingwood players (Pendlebury, 19; Blair, 19) have received more frees than him. Our leaders only have 33 (Roo), 28 (Armo), 21 (BJ) and 21 (Lenny).

Conspiracy.

ralphsmith

Was shocking today.

Fisher was tackled but got a kick away pinged for a free???

The free to giansiracusa terrible.

Kosis arms chopped nothing.

Holding jumper pulling on Milne nothing.

If this was a closer game we may well have lost because of it

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

I was at the Tigers and Blues game last night with mates and I was just amazed at how badly the umpiring was. I feel they are making it up on the run as they go.

I particularly loved the throwing decision against Jackson when he clearly handballed it. Today there were a few glaring mistakes made both ways.

The comment made by Watson on the tv summed it up, 'how did the umpire pay that free kick? he couldn't have seen the throw, he guessed!'

Jordan Bannister was woeful, umpired in the same way he played very soft!!!

Of course that comment is through 2 eyes. How do you explain your 40 difference in frees when you claim they are looked after and we arent. What gold do you have for us now?
I expect better from you P76. Counting frees to decide if umpiring favors us?

The two worst decisions made this week I thought were both advantage decisions. Are they counted in free kick stats? What about marks? Umpires have paid more marks to us than Collingwood. Is it a conspiracy against Collingwood?

howlinwolf wrote:I think the umpiring is getting more baffling by the week.
Gia's free in the goal square was the most obviously wrong decision I've seen in some time.It was actually a free the other way.
There's three of them and yet they can't get out of the way of witches hat training !
Sorry Plugs but you're playing the devil's advocate a few too many times to have credibility.
Umpiring is worse than ever imo.

The funny thing is this is said every year and has been for 20 years. Stats prove that it hasnt got worse at all. Of course people will say that is crap but i suggest you watch games from years back when there was hardly any packs and see how bad the umpiring is compared to now. The game is getting harder to umpire but the mistakes arent increasing. people will whinge every year for the next 20 it is getting worse. Some of you should be surprised that can even blow the whistle the way you think umpiring is going. They made mistakes today and they will make them next week against the pies.

Some of you should look in the mirror and say to yourself how unlucky am I that I follow a footy side that always get worse decisions than their opponents, a cricket that gets worse decisions than their opponents and why do the judges for Gymnastics and diving at the olympics always give Australia worse scores than others countries. You all must just be unlucky. The funny thing I follow all those sides as well and I see umpiring and judging that has swings and roundabouts.

CURLY wrote:
bergholt wrote:dude, you gotta let it go. your life must be pretty sad if you're so convinced that the world is against you.
The evidence is there for you to see. Umpires at all levels do it. Its in there best interest to do so.
"evidence"?

have you carefully audited all the decisions and non-decisions for and against each side in the competition, and come up with a statistically rigorous long-term trend which shows that there's bias against the saints and for the pies?

or do you just watch a few games each week and decide that the poor decisions in the saints games are "evidence" while the poor decisions in other games are just bad luck?

Maklom

Umpiring has never been that good in our great game unfortunately.

However it used to be simpler and now it is more complicated than ever and that combined with umpires being a protected species unable to be either personally or generally critiqued by anyone other than Mr Gieschen does not really allow for the best environment to improve their trade.

I am not an umpire basher or believe we cop it more than other teams but the fact remains that umpiring (over officiating) costs games and needs to improve...otherwise we will just have to deal with a substandard game and 'hope' we don't cop bad decisions.

Maklom wrote:Umpiring has never been that good in our great game unfortunately.

However it used to be simpler and now it is more complicated than ever and that combined with umpires being a protected species unable to be either personally or generally critiqued by anyone other than Mr Gieschen does not really allow for the best environment to improve their trade.

I am not an umpire basher or believe we cop it more than other teams but the fact remains that umpiring (over officiating) costs games and needs to improve...otherwise we will just have to deal with a substandard game and 'hope' we don't cop bad decisions.

I will always never understand how coaches or players having a go at umpiring decisions will help the them improve their umpiring.

Maklom

So...not saying anything at all will?

I am not advocating cart blanche criticism but a more open and constructive discussion would not hurt.

Maklom wrote:So...not saying anything at all will?

I am not advocating cart blanche criticism but a more open and constructive discussion would not hurt.

Not saying anything will improve umpiring because more will join the ranks. More criticism of umpires will mean less joining and thus less skilled umpires reaching the top level. You have to remember that the umpires are always wrong in the eyes of supporters, at least players have one group of people on their side. I reckon the umpires cop enough during games and get enough publicity anyway. We dont need to hear about them anymore.

Maklom

I keep hearing this argument about losing umpires because of the criticism but I don't really buy it. Umpires are leaving or not joining anyway. If they are paid well they will join and if they are worried or get hurt by criticism they need to deal with it or potentially turn it around and be a good performer and perhaps even gain some admiration in the public (and I don't mean you Razor Ray)...wouldn't that be great!

My point is that we will continue to talk about them because it is a blight on our game at the moment and it needs to change.

There are heaps of ways of going about this other than making the argument a criminal offence...

Maklom wrote:I keep hearing this argument about losing umpires because of the criticism but I don't really buy it. Umpires are leaving or not joining anyway. If they are paid well they will join and if they are worried or get hurt by criticism they need to deal with it or potentially turn it around and be a good performer and perhaps even gain some admiration in the public (and I don't mean you Razor Ray)...wouldn't that be great!

My point is that we will continue to talk about them because it is a blight on our game at the moment and it needs to change.

There are heaps of ways of going about this other than making the argument a criminal offence...

Do you umpire? Well I do in the biggest competition in Austrlia and they are losing umpires every year and i doubt it has much to do with what they earn but more the amount of abuse they cop. And they cop more and more because there are commentators out there like Dwayne Russell who constantly says decisions are incorrect when in fact they are right. people then think umpires are doing a crap job and abuse the umpires more and more at all levels of footy.

Maklom wrote:I keep hearing this argument about losing umpires because of the criticism but I don't really buy it. Umpires are leaving or not joining anyway. If they are paid well they will join and if they are worried or get hurt by criticism they need to deal with it or potentially turn it around and be a good performer and perhaps even gain some admiration in the public (and I don't mean you Razor Ray)...wouldn't that be great!

Do you umpire? Well I do in the biggest competition in Austrlia and they are losing umpires every year and i doubt it has much to do with what they earn but more the amount of abuse they cop. And they cop more and more because there are commentators out there like Dwayne Russell who constantly says decisions are incorrect when in fact they are right. people then think umpires are doing a crap job and abuse the umpires more and more at all levels of footy.
Have you ever wondered if it having to socialise with people like you that scare them away? Stopping debate and acting like there is no improvement to make is not going to stop people despising them.

Do you umpire? Well I do in the biggest competition in Australia and they are losing umpires every year and i doubt it has much to do with what they earn but more the amount of abuse they cop. And they cop more and more because there are commentators out there like Dwayne Russell who constantly says decisions are incorrect when in fact they are right. people then think umpires are doing a crap job and abuse the umpires more and more at all levels of footy.
Have you ever wondered if it having to socialise with people like you that scare them away? Stopping debate and acting like there is no improvement to make is not going to stop people despising them.

Pretty sure I have never socialised with an umpire in all my life but that may be a sure way of them improving if I did. Sorry but i struggle to see where i have ever said there is no improvement to be be made and I think I am debating the issue right here. Why do people dream what is written than what is actually written.

Maklom

So you are an umpire Plugger, thankyou for sharing. You could no doubt offer some valuable insight into the clandestine operation that is the AFL umpiring fraternity. One question I had been desperate to ask is what you think of the constant rule changes, is it a bugbear of yours or not a problem at all?

btw, can't control how the public is influenced by the commentators but if umpires are influenced by what certain commentators are saying...especially Dwayne Russell, then they need to harden up and I mean that in the nicest possible way!