Round 1 side

Re: Round 1 side

dragit wrote:If we get a mature KPD, I think Geary, Gwilt & Simpkin will fight for 2 spots.
How can Geary fight with Gwilt and Simpkin? Geary's the only one who can play on true smalls so he's a lock. The other two battle it out for the sixth spot, I reckon.

saintjake

Am I the only one who thinks not having Gwilt in the side is idiotic?

We've just lost Goddard, who was our go to field kicker out of defense.

The only reason Gwilt hasn't really been doing that is because he has been playing on monsters.

Go back and watch the 2010 season & Grand finals.

We need a big defener so we can allow him to play the third tall role, run off and kick long, or at least hit targets.

Well the pre-season games will be interesting, as I think whoever shows the form will get a spot in Round 1, and I don't think Watters cares much about past form or reputations.

dragit wrote:If we get a mature KPD, I think Geary, Gwilt & Simpkin will fight for 2 spots.
How can Geary fight with Gwilt and Simpkin? Geary's the only one who can play on true smalls so he's a lock. The other two battle it out for the sixth spot, I reckon.
Horses for courses I imagine, depends what type of small forwards the opposition has... I am a Geary fan but he's still fringe for mine. Gwilt, Dempster & Simpkin can all play on smalls if needed.

Simpkin Rodda Geary
Gwilt Fisher Dempster
Gilbert Armitage Dalsanto
Sippos Reiwoldt Schneider
Lee Stanley Saad
Mcevoy Hayes Steven
Hickey Ledger Ross Milera

Geary Blake T.Smith
Simpkin Fisher Dempster
Dal Santo Hayes Sipposs
Schneider Reiwoldt Saad
Milne Kosi Lee

R: McEvoy Armitage Steven

Int: Milera Hickey Gilbert Sub: Newnes

Emerg: Dunell Gwilt Ray

nobhead

gwilt blake dempster
simpkin fisher gilbert
sippos hayes steven
lee riewolt schneider
saad stanley milne
mcevoy dalsanto montagna
armitage ray hickey sub geary or ledger
blake gets a game unless we pick up a fb , no kosi unless we get an injury to a tall same for wilkes , milera, ross, newnes,markworth,dunell. all pushing for a spot in the side .imo

Uncle Barrels

True Believer wrote:Simpkin Rodda Geary
Gwilt Fisher Dempster
Lee Stanley Saad
Mcevoy Hayes Steven
Em: Ray Newnes Curren (upgrade him)

Possibly swap Newnes and Ross

Dunell swapped for Gwilt until we're sure he's recovered, his kicking was a bit wonky for the quarterback role last season.

And Montagna for Gilbert post-suspension

Uncle Barrels wrote:
Gwilt Fisher Dempster
Lee Stanley Saad
Mcevoy Hayes Steven

Dunell swapped for Gwilt until we're sure he's recovered, his kicking was a bit wonky for the quarterback role last season.

Can't fit Milne in?

Uncle Barrels

Jesus! Didn't even notice that.

He'd be in of course, just a matter of who to boot for him. Probably Curren I suppose, then a flow on as appropriate

Uncle Barrels wrote:
Gwilt Fisher Dempster
Lee Stanley Saad
Mcevoy Hayes Steven

Can't fit Milne in?
Bugger, knew I'd miss someone doing it from memory without a team list. In for Milera, Ross to sub. Although I would like to see a young guy take his spot from him on merit by the end of the year.

Totally confused on how you can have a ruckman on the bench.

It's very tough to predict who will get the first crack at seniors, with plenty of regulars departing or losing their spot and lots of new recruits and kids pushing for selection.

The locks (ignoring injuries/suspenstion) are

B: ***, ***, Geary
HB: Dempster, Fisher, Siposs
C: Montagna, Hayes, ***
HF: Schneider, Riewoldt, Saad
F: Milne, ***, Stanley

Foll: McEvoy, Dal Santo, Steven
Int: Armitage, Gilbert, ***, ***

And the competition for the last spots (my preferred picks in bold)

Competing for two defensive spots: Gwilt, Simpkin, Blake, New Recruit
Competing for one tall forward/ruck relief spot: Kosi, Wilkes, Lee, Hickey
Competing for three midfield/bench spots: Ray, Newnes, Ledger, Dunell, Ross, Milera, TDL, Jones, Curren

plugger66 wrote:Totally confused on how you can have a ruckman on the bench.
Pretty easy. When he's not on the ground playing, he sits on the wooden seat beside the ground. That's called being on the bench.

Hope that helps. When not "on the bench" he could rotate throught he foward line and ruck with McEvoy and Stanley.

We can always go back to the days of 19th and 20th men, and play the 2nd ruckman either in the forward or back pocket, and the two ruckmen rest in that position.

Geary Blake T.Smith
Simpkin Fisher Dempster
Dal Santo Hayes Sipposs
Schneider Reiwoldt Saad
Milne Kosi Hickey

Int: Milera Lee Gilbert Sub: Newnes

There you go!

Uncle Barrels

borderbarry wrote:Geary Blake T.Smith
Simpkin Fisher Dempster
Dal Santo Hayes Sipposs
Schneider Reiwoldt Saad
Milne Kosi Hickey

Int: Milera Lee Gilbert Sub: Newnes

There you go!

Self promotion?

True Believer wrote:
Pretty easy. When he's not on the ground playing, he sits on the wooden seat beside the ground. That's called being on the bench.

Hope that helps. When not "on the bench" he could rotate throught he foward line and ruck with McEvoy and Stanley.
Gold!

hungry for a premiership

mr six o'clock wrote:B ; Howell , frawley , hudgeton
HB ; Barker , Fisher , Roberts
C ; Stewart , Harvey , Winmar
HF ; Baldock , Riewoldt , Loewe
F ; Smith , Lockett , Milne
Foll ; Dietrich , Hayes , Burke
I/C ; Dempster , A.Jones , Neale , dal Santo .

And then I woke up ! :roll:

What a team!

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."
Uncle Barrels

hungry for a premiership wrote:
mr six o'clock wrote:B ; Howell , frawley , hudgeton
HB ; Barker , Fisher , Roberts
C ; Stewart , Harvey , Winmar
HF ; Baldock , Riewoldt , Loewe
F ; Smith , Lockett , Milne
Foll ; Dietrich , Hayes , Burke
I/C ; Dempster , A.Jones , Neale , dal Santo .

And then I woke up ! :roll:

What a team!
Cooper for Loewe, Griffiths for Jones and into RR, Burkey to the pine.

And can't see Marlene Dietrich as first ruck, so pick one of Ditterich, Morrow or Everitt.

True Believer wrote:

That solves it. But I am afraid they dont have a second ruckman starting on the bench these days. Its for mids and HB. Either Hickey can play on the ground somewhere or he is at sandy. But hey thats todays footy. Its only happened for a couple of years.

True Believer wrote:

That solves it. But I am afraid they dont have a second ruckman starting on the bench these days. Its for mids and HB. Either Hickey can play on the ground somewhere or he is at sandy. But hey thats todays footy. Its only happened for a couple of years.
So if it makes you happy, swap him and Sippa. The bench is fairly nominal these days is it not. Given the rotations, is it not 21 and a sub?

True Believer wrote:

So if it makes you happy, swap him and Sippa. The bench is fairly nominal these days is it not. Given the rotations, is it not 21 and a sub?

I totally agree it is 21 players but we need to fit our talls in the forward line because they dont usually go on the bench for long periods. Thats why I have said all along if we get a second ruckman he really has to be a forward first and a ruckman second. I still reckon we dont have a place for all these talls on our forward line.

At times WCE played very tall and to good effect. They had Cox and Natinui as the two rucks as well as Darling, Kennedy and Lynch in the forward line.

Cox....McEvoy
Hickey....Natinui
Stanley....Kennedy
Riewoldt....Darling
Lee....Lynch

As well as that WCE play quite tall down back so we can sit McEvoy or Hickey down back as a spare man if need be or get them to cover a tall and release Fisher to play free at times. It's not as black and white as some would suggest.

rexy

Old Mate wrote:At times WCE played very tall and to good effect. They had Cox and Natinui as the two rucks as well as Darling, Kennedy and Lynch in the forward line.

Cox....McEvoy
Hickey....Natinui
Stanley....Kennedy
Riewoldt....Darling
Lee....Lynch

As well as that WCE play quite tall down back so we can sit McEvoy or Hickey down back as a spare man if need be or get them to cover a tall and release Fisher to play free at times. It's not as black and white as some would suggest.
Good point old mate, doing something slightly different to the majority is called innovation and is usually a quality found in most good leaders!

Maybe this year?