St Kilda's blueprint to financial success

Re: St Kilda's blueprint to financial success

citywest wrote:
dragit wrote:4 months between posts… randomly appearing on a night we lose to peppington. Please go away helen, for good.
This forum needs me dragit.
Have enough of our own TROLLS without imports like you.

1 game in NZ (GWS, Sydney, GC)

2 games in Tas (Freo/Port)

8 Home games at Docklands
3 away games at MCG
3 away games at Docklands

Guarantee of only 5 interstate trips (reward for NZ game)

But that's just a wish

All games at MCG.

Delicious!

New Zealand is a great opportunity to bring in new money to the club. Word is Brisbane will be the game next season as that is an area Wellington - and NZ are focussing on for tourism within Australia. The town is sports mad and the idea of playing the interstate teams there is a win as we lose money playing them here at the moment. There is no stadium deal in place and we are determioned by the AFL which is still trying to take over the white elephant to be able to help them reduce their external funding issues.
Memberships will be determined on success on field , not whether we play games in NZ as really how many buy memberships ( not those regulars but those who wane in and out) base don number of games , usually thos irregular members do it based on finals chances and an ability to get a ticket.

Unfortunately the club allowed GT to determine that Tassie wasn't for us because the team or coach at the time could not play the ground - this has cost millions and gave Hawks a free whack that will never be recovered - lets not do the same with NZ. IF the local government there determine that StKilda playing games in NZ promotes the city and country to Australians and brings in new tourists dollars they will have no worries providing a mill every 2 year s, or whatever it is to play there as they more than make it back.

citywest wrote:Three home games per year in New Zealnd, but not against Sydney or Brisbane. Either GCS, GWS, FREO, WC, ADL, PA.
Four home games at Docklands.
Four home games at the MCG.

Sometime the solution is so easy that no one can see it. Kind of like the fact that you can't see the trees due to the forrest. :shock: :roll:
You forget that Das Fuehrer decides where games get played.
Das Fuehrer does not mind St Kilda playing in New Zealand.
He gets a freebie travel to New Zealand every game.
He hopes they will eventually end up based there becoming the Wellington Saints.
That would really boost his ego.
He would then be in charge of an international sports competiion.

Das Fuehrer has decided that St Kilda plays its other home matches at Docklands where they can contribute something in the order of $400,000 per game (about $4,000,000 per year) towards the real cost of the AFL eventually gaining possession of Docklands for $1.
That assumes an estimated value of Docklands at $500,000,000 and 1,250 games are played there before the AFL takes possession.

Das Fuehrer also decides what time games get played.
The most lucrative time to play games for clubs is on Saturday afternoon as playing at that time boosts membership and corporate sales.
The most lucrative time for the AFL is in the evenings when the AFL collects money from TV rights.
Das Fuehrer has decided that St Kilda does not get to play home games on Saturday afternoon, they play when it financially suits the AFL.

Das Fuehrer will drive St Kilda into the ground under his jackboots.
He has been practicing on a young foolish thirteen year old girl.

I actually reckon we'd make a fortune playing games at Linen House Seaford. So many St Kilda supporters live down that way that the joint would get packed whenever we play there.

samuraisaint wrote:I actually reckon we'd make a fortune playing games at Linen House Seaford. So many St Kilda supporters live down that way that the joint would get packed whenever we play there.
I don't understand how you would make money playing at boutique stadiums.

It was quoted tonight that Geelong will made $800k playing tonight at Kardinia Park - in one game!
But surely with 40,000 or whatever members and a capacity of thirty something thousand, almost all of the crowd would be members so the only revenue they would make would be on catering?

Enrico_Misso wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:I actually reckon we'd make a fortune playing games at Linen House Seaford. So many St Kilda supporters live down that way that the joint would get packed whenever we play there.
I don't understand how you would make money playing at boutique stadiums.

It was quoted tonight that Geelong will made $800k playing tonight at Kardinia Park - in one game!
But surely with 40,000 or whatever members and a capacity of thirty something thousand, almost all of the crowd would be members so the only revenue they would make would be on catering?

Firstly we will never play at Seaford or Moorabbin ever again but Geelong make money because nearly every seat is reserved for a start and secondly and more importantly they all the revenue from the sponsorship around the ground and all the revenue for their super boxes and other rooms they have. At Etihad and the G the teams get bugger all if any of that as the sponsorship is for the stadium and not the clubs. That will change when the AFL own the stadium as the clubs will sell the sponsorship.

Anyone who complains about us playing in NZ should hunt down the 10,000 members who have dropped off in the last three years. There's $1.5m gone right there...minimum. NZ means we get paid big money to play an interstate side at home..rather than write a cheque to Etihad. Also avoids us having to sell games to venues like Darwin and Cairns...and play in 99% humidity.

citywest

The debate regarding NZ will not be a debate anymore. New Zealand is St Kilda's only hope of avoiding bankruptcy. Next year the Saints will be down to 28,000 members and by 2015 we struggle to get 25,000. We need to play a minimum of 3 games in New Zealand because if we don't, WE ARE GONE!!!.

citywest wrote:The debate regarding NZ will not be a debate anymore. New Zealand is St Kilda's only hope of avoiding bankruptcy. Next year the Saints will be down to 28,000 members and by 2015 we struggle to get 25,000. We need to play a minimum of 3 games in New Zealand because if we don't, WE ARE GONE!!!.

Maybe we just move over there. Now go away little boy.

citywest

No, we don't move over there but we need to do something other than have our heads in the sand.

Now for the playing list.
Players that need to go...
Ray, Milne, Kosi, Jones, Blake.

Montagna to Hawthorn for their first pick. Which will probably be pick 18.
Dal Santo to Essendon for their first pick. Which will probably be pick 13.

citywest wrote:No, we don't move over there but we need to do something other than have our heads in the sand.

Citywest for pick 12345. And even that is to high. Now please leave little boy.

citywest wrote:No, we don't move over there but we need to do something other than have our heads in the sand.

City west is a a filthy troll that should be bannned

citywest

Stillwaiting wrote:

City west is a a filthy troll that should be bannned
Why should I be banned Stillwaiting? Is it because I care about my team and don't want them to fold? Or is it because I have a different opinion to you?

ace wrote:
citywest wrote:Three home games per year in New Zealnd, but not against Sydney or Brisbane. Either GCS, GWS, FREO, WC, ADL, PA.

Sometime the solution is so easy that no one can see it. Kind of like the fact that you can't see the trees due to the forrest. :shock: :roll:
He hopes they will eventually end up based there becoming the Wellington Saints.

Das Fuehrer has decided that St Kilda plays its other home matches at Docklands where they can contribute something in the order of $400,000 per game (about $4,000,000 per year) towards the real cost of the AFL eventually gaining possession of Docklands for $1.
That assumes an estimated value of Docklands at $500,000,000 and 1,250 games are played there before the AFL takes possession.

The most lucrative time to play games for clubs is on Saturday afternoon as playing at that time boosts membership and corporate sales.
The most lucrative time for the AFL is in the evenings when the AFL collects money from TV rights.
Das Fuehrer has decided that St Kilda does not get to play home games on Saturday afternoon, they play when it financially suits the AFL.

It is "Der Fuehrer". The german, Masculine. Otherwise, an excellent post. Or should I say wunderbar?

ace wrote:

It is "Der Fuehrer". The german, Masculine. Otherwise, an excellent post. Or should I say wunderbar?

citywest

I thought I would bump my OP considering all the talk about our spiralling debt. We desperately need to reduce the amount of games we play at the Docklands immediately. I'm talking from next year because if we don't our club is doomed.

MrCordz

My Reply is BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA!!!
Empty, Crazy - stick to your own club, get some help - Bye Bye!!!!

<it has been determined that citywest is a Saints fan and comments such as these are unjustified and if continued constitute baiting>

Humbly St. Kilda
MrCordz

Mods please research and block this character!
Thanks

Humbly St. Kilda
lloyd21

70s sainter wrote:
citywest wrote:I disagree stronly. Hawthorn play 4 games in Tassie and their membership base has gone from strength to strength. And besides, we have no choice. If we do slide down the ladder we will be in big trouble financially. We need to embrace NZ and make it work. We also need to show the Docklands that if they want to keep us the need to look after us or else we will look else where. Win win for the Saints.
Tassie is a one hour $40 flight so alot of members would do it once or twice in a season , plus the money they get from their tassie members.
Our n.z revenue will come only from the afl (about $500000 per game?) and needs to be balanced with another free game away (next year i think its rich).
If you sell too many games to N.Z, supporters will just say "stuff it" and not renew their membership so the afls payment for NZ becomes more of a compensation payment rather than a positive payment. Its not as if we will get any members in N.Z.
One N.Z game doesnt affect the overall package - in fact it could be fun , however i believe that a membership package with 3 N.Z games plus 4-5 interstate games becomes less attractive.

Its a fine line i reckon.
8-)
Hawthorn membership 4 games in Tasmania = $81.00 Yeah they make a lot 8-)

Try this they get millions from state government in Tasmania
They make over 10million from Waverley pokies
They make over 27 million from Caroline Springs pokies .

Unfortunately the Saints pokie venue is the problem & Etihad ownership unless they are both are fixed struggle

I think the OP is a fkn great idea. NZ will work in time. Financially and from a membership perspective a la hawthorn / tassie.

We need more games at the G - 2 in a season just doesn't cut it. It is the home of football.

Minimise games at etihad because it is a sh1thouse ground and even sh1ttier deal that of course we and several of the poorer clubs were wise enough to sign up to.

MC Gusto wrote:I think the OP is a fkn great idea. NZ will work in time. Financially and from a membership perspective a la hawthorn / tassie.

We need more games at the G - 2 in a season just doesn't cut it. It is the home of football.

Minimise games at etihad because it is a sh1thouse ground and even sh1ttier deal that of course we and several of the poorer clubs were wise enough to sign up to.

Why would the AFL have us play home games at the G. we cant pull a crowd now because we are poor. it isnt going to happen unless we show we can get crowds. As for NZ it will fall in a whole if we have more than one game. It costs to much to travel over there for a start. Thee council wont pay if they arent making money off us. Lets just get it right on the field and stop looking for silly venues that wont happen. I would love to know why now 2 people have said Etihad is a bad ground. I think its fantastic place to watch footy.

citywest

I'm not denying that Etihad is a great ground for 'watching' footy. However, if we keep playing 11 home games there every year we won't have a team to go and watch there soon. We were stupid abandoning Tassie (and this is not hindsight because I was the only one at the AGM that stood up to Butters and told him it was a stupid decision and one St Kilda would regret), but now we have one final chance to get it right with NZ.

FOrget games against Freo WC or even PA or Crows - too far too travel.