Saints Team Rd 1 v Gold Coast

Re: Saints Team Rd 1 v Gold Coast

St.Carl wrote:
gringo wrote: I watched CJ pretty closely during the NAB and you just have to admire his attack on the ball. He really does get to every contest and even when not directly controlling the ball will paddle it, shepherd, harass and generally do the one percenters. He will keep getting games because he is ridiculously fit and will run all day and do the things coaches love. He is obviously lacking in the clean disposal area but he works his arse off for his spot. I think Nath Wrights spot is the one Joey would take when he come in unless Nathan is an absolute gun in his first game.
No one in the AFL can shut down GA like CJ can. Good to see that Watters is playing him after keeping him out of the team a lot last season.

What is the reason for Dempster and Fisher missing out?

Both have injuries- apparently Fisher being in a moon boot wasn't going to hinder his game and Dempster has a hammy.

bigcarl wrote:If Ray's named fourth on the interchange does that mean he is sub?
Irrelevant.

Anyone in the 22 named can end up being sub - actually 25 as they can make late changes.
Good, I reckon he deserves to be in starting team.

good to actually see the team listed on the home page
http://www.saints.com.au/
right hand side- rather than having to link through to somewhere .

oneteam

It's about time we left slow kosi out. need to look to the future

oneteam wrote:It's about time we left slow kosi out. need to look to the future
Yep. He's back-up now.

Two good pick ups. Both look like they will play heaps of footy for a long time.

WTF, how is Jones still in our best 22????

saintbob wrote:WTF, how is Jones still in our best 22????
No one said he is in our best 22.

We have a number of injuries and a suspension to best 22 players.

E.g. Fisher, Dempster, Shneider, Joey

Hold your horses.

SainterK wrote:Notable exclusions are: Dempster, Schneider, Koschitzke, Montagna (suspended), Fisher.

One suspended, 3 not fit.

So the interesting one is Kosi being dropped. With Maister and Hickey being preferred it is a welcome sign that we are looking beyond this year.
though let's also be honest Kos's' pre-season form was pretty dreadful.

With all of Fisher, Schneider, Dempster and Joey ready to pounce there is great pressure on those playing against GC to perform, and that is a very good thing. It is also a sign of much greater depth at the Saints, or at least depth at our bottom end.

Selecting Hickey this week is great to see. It will allow Ben to play back if required of the GC talls get on top, or if Stanley does not end up playing.

Newne's has earnt a gig as our most promising emerging young mid. Over the season I expect to see quite a few kids rotated through. I am however pleased that we have not gone overboard in this game by playing too many very ineperienced players. With several of our best players out we need to ensure we win this game and get our season off to a good start.

There is however a goodly number of "younger" players in our 22 though:

Simpkin 22 y 7 m
Stanley 22 y 3 m
Hickey 22 y
Roberton 21y 9 m
Siposs 20 y 4 m
Newnes 20 y 1 m

Anyone else nervous about this game?

fingers wrote:Anyone else nervous about this game?
More excited.

Excited at the fact it will be the last time I see a footballer play that cannot kick the ball...

Clinton Jones I'm looking at you!

fingers wrote:Anyone else nervous about this game?
Nervous about every game.

I fully expect to win this one though.

SainterK wrote:Teams announced. Hickey and Roberton the newbies.

Fisher didn't make it up

B: Blake, Gwilt, Roberton
HB: Geary, Simpkin, Gilbert
C: Newnes, Hayes, Dal Santo
HF: Siposs, Riewoldt, Milera
F: Milne, Maister, Stanley
Ruck: McEvoy, Armitage, Steven
Inter: Saad, Hickey, Jones, Ray
Emerg: Wright, Lee, Dennis, Lane
Yeah, they probably won't line up as above, and I understand why people might want Rhys Lightning and Sippa in defence, but these two will be topflight forwards for us, so I want 'em playing mostly up there... now. :idea:

Next we just gotta Tom Lee in there somewhere as well.

Finally, if we squeeze a couple of games in for Buddy White sometime this year... perfect... :D That bloke will be an absolute star... read it and weep Skinks... he should have been yours, but you chose Ted Bundy instead to provide some companionship for FIGJAM's performing ego. :lol: :lol: :lol:

PS: I wonder if we can get away with naming four emergencies...

Good selections....I like Newnes right in the thick of it....and I like Kosi not even an Emergency....means he is clearly a back-up this year.

Fisher, Dempster, Monty certain Ins

Blake, Roberton, Jones to be replaced by them probably....after that only really Schneider to bring in, he's up against Faz and Milera

Feels like good depth this year
Last edited by fugazi on Fri 29 Mar 2013 12:32am, edited 1 time in total.

i thought koz might actually get a gig tbh
not saying he should, just thought he might have been given a couple to perform

with 4 good players out that are starting 18 its interesting to think about who might not make it when the list is fully fit
it may change weekly tho
sometimes it just depends who you are playing when picking a side

matrix wrote:i thought koz might actually get a gig tbh

with 4 good players out that are starting 18 its interesting to think about who might not make it when the list is fully fit
it may change weekly tho
sometimes it just depends who you are playing when picking a side
I hope not too much, good teams have settled sides.

I'd say the bottom 4 spots could be consistently changing, but aside for injury and suspension, you don't want to see too much unforced change.

matrix wrote:i thought koz might actually get a gig tbh
Thats what happens every year...and the coach seems to fall for it every time....glad Watters has broken through the Illusion that Kosi might one day hit his straps and win us a premiership...tragically it will not happen....Maister and Lee, and Stanley deservedly ahead of him

good points guys (or girls)

yup settled sides are the best and i should have said it in a way that didnt look like i meant a whole side
3 or 4 players for a change doesnt hurt if its for specific match ups against certain sides

agree re koz
love the guy
gave it everything
love seeing him just crash it and take big grabs
and im actually not as nervous when he is lining up for goal as i am when roo does :shock:
but, if you cant perform then you dont make the cut
its good its happening, while its sad in a way its the way it is and im happy about it
you want the best on the field at that time

Love the Big Kos but I cant help thinking the Club put a line in the sand during that Geelong game at the end of last year.

We went and got Lee and Hickey to make sure theyd never be in that position again.

If Kosi plays in '13 it's highly unlikely it'd be interstate. Youth travels, age not so much.

Uncle Barrels

SainterK wrote:Teams announced. Hickey and Roberton the newbies.

Fisher didn't make it up

B: Blake, Gwilt, Roberton
HB: Geary, Simpkin, Gilbert
C: Newnes, Hayes, Dal Santo
HF: Siposs, Riewoldt, Milera
F: Milne, Maister, Stanley
Ruck: McEvoy, Armitage, Steven
Inter: Saad, Hickey, Jones, Ray
Emerg: Wright, Lee, Dennis_Lane
It seems everyone is suggesting something like this will be the more likely line-up:

FB: Gwilt // Stanley // Roberton
HB: Geary // Simpkin // Gilbert
CR: Newnes // Hayes // Dal Santo
HF: [Siposs] // Riewoldt // Milera
FF: Milne // Maister // Hickey
RK: McEvoy // Armitage // Jones

Int: Saad // Steven // Blake
Sub: Ray
Em: Wright // Lee // Dennis-Lane

The Stanley Experiment to be continued. Sippa to be a floating HB leaving a 5-man forward line. Hickey to start up forward because the bench is now restrictive. Jones to shadow GAJ.

Correct?

Team looks too tall. I reckon Wright or TDL comes in for Stanley.

Old Mate wrote:Team looks too tall. I reckon Wright or TDL comes in for Stanley.
Not if Stanley plays in defence.

Old Mate wrote:Team looks too tall. I reckon Wright or TDL comes in for Stanley.
Three rucks is too many. Let's hope that if Stanley plays at full back he is a quick study. We haven't had a lot to go on as far as form goes in the pre-season in that position.