Grant Thomas must return

Re: Grant Thomas must return

Teflon.... Some good points

But failed miserably is language that takes away from your argument.... He made two prelims

1 team interstate with no experience 2004 against a team who had finished top three years in a row

1 with a crippled team 2005 who were beaten by eventual premiers

He wasn't a great coach, but he managed a talented team exceptionally well... They played for him...

Pelchin has too much power.... The football mgt is out of whack

BigMart wrote:Teflon.... Some good points

But failed miserably is language that takes away from your argument.... He made two prelims

1 team interstate with no experience 2004 against a team who had finished top three years in a row

1 with a crippled team 2005 who were beaten by eventual premiers

He wasn't a great coach, but he managed a talented team exceptionally well... They played for him...

Pelchin has too much power.... The football mgt is out of whack
We will never know what an experienced AFL coach could've done with that side.
I will never forget (when Eade was available) asking Thomas directly would he consider moving aside for someone with Eades experience - his reply was telling "I don't think he's a better candidate"

I knew then we had a massive problem - I also saw how poorly he handled his relationship with the AFL which cause concern

Getting us to 2 prelims means little - under Thomas we never even got the opportunity to win a flag

You can use/spin whatever language you like - the guy was and us not the answer for our club. From the mouth of 1 of his assistant coaches that Lyon sacked "Grant rooted your club"

You can dress it up all you like

As for Pelchen - no question he has control and likes it but right now we have a far greater need for his ability to build a list. We are starting from scratch.

It is why Williams must be appointed - he can coach he can develop and he has the respect and strength to work with Pelchen as he has already done it.

Eade, Lyon and Thomas have won same number of flags'
Thomas created and groomed a list that SHOULD have allowed Lyon to win at least one flag.
Lyon left a pile of smoking rubble!

I agree with that

And IMO if Eade coached StK in 2004-2006 we may well have done better... He is a better footy coach

GT must not come back.

whiskers3614 wrote:Eade, Lyon and Thomas have won same number of flags'
Thomas created and groomed a list that SHOULD have allowed Lyon to win at least one flag.
You seriously comparing Lyon to Thomas???

We were on our way down according to many when Thomas left and Harvey, Gehrig, Hamill etc had or were about to go???

Lyon got us to the big dance 2 years running - you got to be in it first to win it ... something Grant ou dreamt about while he p!ssed $300k away with his mate Daily Thompson in South Africa making "rounded young men" while "training services" was running skint ..... "training services"....gotta laugh .... sounds like a bad 1970's public service dept which this guys a throw back to

Move on FFS

bergsone wrote:Would no mind GT back at the saints ,but not as senior coach.............just IMO
should be on the board...imho

Maybe this is a bit like the "Milera has walked out of the club" tweet.

"Grant Thomas must return.....

.......his overdue library books! :P

bergsone wrote:Would no mind GT back at the saints ,but not as senior coach.............just IMO

Wasnt that his way into the senior coaching role last time?

Sham process ...

Dr Spaceman wrote:Maybe this is a bit like the "Milera has walked out of the club" tweet.

I prefer...

Grant Thomas must return...............

...,,,,Rod Butters cash.....

sax

CEO?

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

Why have a meglomaniac on the board?
He would be a destabilising influence.

I prefer...

Grant Thomas must return...............

...,,,,Rod Butters cash.....
Dad didn't buy you that bike yet??? :D

The best thing GT did was to convince us that we are not born losers.

That we could win. That we weren't inherently crap. That we could change.

Did a very good job.

The best truck the devil pulled was convincing the world he wasn't real....

GT = false dawn

SW = GT Mark 2

Both have proven that they cannot work with others.

AFL is a team environment including the coaches, and so matter how bright you may be if you can not gel all the coaching team and support staff and players to gel then you have no place as a head coach.

busso mick

Dr Spaceman wrote:Maybe this is a bit like the "Milera has walked out of the club" tweet.

AFL Coaching for Dummies (the abridged edition).

whiskers3614 wrote:Eade, Lyon and Thomas have won same number of flags'
You seriously comparing Lyon to Thomas???

We were on our way down according to many when Thomas left and Harvey, Gehrig, Hamill etc had or were about to go???

Lyon got us to the big dance 2 years running - you got to be in it first to win it ... something Grant ou dreamt about while he p!ssed $300k away with his mate Daily Thompson in South Africa making "rounded young men" while "training services" was running skint ..... "training services"....gotta laugh .... sounds like a bad 1970's public service dept which this guys a throw back to

Move on FFS
Not to mention our recruiting budget of around 70k a year, which was basically JB's salary. Not enough money to even go and watch many prospects live. Disgraceful. Still paying for it today!