Farren Ray

Superboot

Re: Farren Ray

Call me strange, or ignorant, but Farren is one of my favourite players. Love the brave marks he takes in defence (regularly).

Cairnsman wrote:A bit early and a bit tough...it's going to be a long year for some and even longer for others.

He was drafted 10 years ago.

Been in the pipeline for a long time.
Yes and I'm not sure why one scratch match in horrendous conditions consigns him to the scrap heap. He's played more good games for us than bad, and by a stretch I would argue so why throw the baby out with the bath water. He will be great for the younger kids coming through this year and next and then that will probably be it you would think. Why mindlessly bag him after last nights effort...as P66 would say...doesn't make sense.

Cairnsman wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:A bit early and a bit tough...it's going to be a long year for some and even longer for others.

Yes and I'm not sure why one scratch match in horrendous conditions consigns him to the scrap heap. He's played more good games for us than bad, and by a stretch I would argue so why throw the baby out with the bath water. He will be great for the younger kids coming through this year and next and then that will probably be it you would think. Why mindlessly bag him after last nights effort.

good post mate...

SainterK wrote:Harsh to single out one guy in the first hit out...

Earlyish I would of thought
We've been watching him for six years and 101 games now, I think we're well placed to draw conclusions. He doesn't have a position in the modern game - I've said this consistently and nothing's changed my opinion.

He has one serious skill: he's a pretty good overhead mark for his size. He's also got pretty good endurance so he can run all day. That's about it for the positives.

So where can he play?

- he's not tall enough to be a key position player
- he's not a goalkicker so he can't play as a small forward - only 52 goals in his 176 games
- he's not quick enough to be a small defender
- he's not much of a tagger - except for a great job on Swan in GF1 2010, he's never been able to stop anyone
- he's not a huge possession winner - only three games in his 176 have been over 30 possessions
- he's not necessarily a big clearance winner
- he's not particularly creative or good with the footy

His best position is as an unaccountable half-back flanker - but that's the easiest role in footy to play. Any number of our kids can play there. The only place for Faz this year is going into the midfield rotation, so then he'll be judged against the other mids.

He'll probably play 15+ games this year, but it wouldn't be much of a loss to the side if we didn't have him next year.

I think his biggest problem is consistency..same as a few of our senior players- one or two good games, then ordinary for the next few.

WinnersOnly wrote:Shouldnt play this year he and Roberton are the turnover kings....
how the hell is Roberton a "turnover king" he averaged 17 disposals last year with a kicking efficiency of 71%! Stop spinning this absolute crap

wally

there's lots of fringe players,and the second 14 or so players have been the critisism for years.
there's opportunity for young players and hopefully they will get the chance ahead of the older ones
when its almost a toss of the coin decision particually when we are openly "rebuilding".

I love Rays overhead marking but he just murders us with turnovers.

He plays that loose run role where he receives the handball runs 20m and kicks inside 50.
Now if that is your main role - you need to be able to hit up a team mate with a 30-40m pass.
He is chronically unable to do this . He just gets a handball receive runs with it and under no pressure whatsoever kicks it 45 metres directly to the opposition. He does it time and rime and time again.
Contrast this with Joey who always lowers his eyes and tries to hit up a team mate and mostly does.

This is not based on last night but 101 games ans 5 years.

He has had many many chances to improve and fix this weakness but he hasn't addressed it .

He just murders us and I reckon his opposition goal assists would dwarf his goal assists for us.

I wish they kep that stat.

Ray would be goal assists for opposition - 100
Goal assists for Saints - 10

SainterK wrote:Harsh to single out one guy in the first hit out...

Earlyish I would of thought
We've been watching him for six years and 101 games now, I think we're well placed to draw conclusions. He doesn't have a position in the modern game - I've said this consistently and nothing's changed my opinion.

He has one serious skill: he's a pretty good overhead mark for his size. He's also got pretty good endurance so he can run all day. That's about it for the positives.

So where can he play?

- he's not tall enough to be a key position player
- he's not a goalkicker so he can't play as a small forward - only 52 goals in his 176 games
- he's not quick enough to be a small defender
- he's not much of a tagger - except for a great job on Swan in GF1 2010, he's never been able to stop anyone
- he's not a huge possession winner - only three games in his 176 have been over 30 possessions
- he's not necessarily a big clearance winner
- he's not particularly creative or good with the footy

His best position is as an unaccountable half-back flanker - but that's the easiest role in footy to play. Any number of our kids can play there. The only place for Faz this year is going into the midfield rotation, so then he'll be judged against the other mids.

He'll probably play 15+ games this year, but it wouldn't be much of a loss to the side if we didn't have him next year.

Top post.

Summed it up really well. I don't really u/s why we would persevere with an older fringe players. Guys like Roo, Hayes, Fisher and even Schnieder at least command their spots in the team

vacuous space wrote:Youth fetish thread, right? We're wishing that our young guns were good enough to push him out, but if we're honest - not really. None of the kids really stood out tonight.
Exactly. I see a role for Ray so long as, week in-week out, he provides more than a developing kid.

The guy has some credits in the bank for solid performances over the years so one poor performance means very little in the context of an entire season.

Same goes for CJ, Dempster etc. Unless there is a kid who can do it better, they are in. The aim is to win games, as the coach says, even in a developing side.

So why wasn't he traded to Melbourne then?

Thought he is exactly the age we need to keep, and IMHO was better and more consistent than many "stars" last year

Its not a youth fetish . I don't care how old you are - just stop ignoring your team mates leads and bombing it to two opposition players when ur in the clear . Ray has been doing this for years not just last night.

Gilbo doesn't always execute but at less he lowers his eyes and tries to honour a lead.

If you are a specialist 'link player' who can't hit up a 30m lead then what good are you.

Can't wait for Gilbo to come back. In the meantime I'd play Savage Webster and Newnes ahead of Faz.

We already have the 6 leaders + gwilt, gilbo , fisher and Schneider = 10 senior players. Not sure what Ray is going to teach our kids. Poor decision making 101?

I forgot Maister and Jones.

So with Ray that makes 13 senior players .

Seriously how many " teachers" do people want to carry here ?

Ray is the quintessential list clogger.

first hitout on a soggy ground with a new coach and a bunch of kids and we are calling for heads already...are some of you people serious?

The Fireman wrote:first hitout on a soggy ground with a new coach and a bunch of kids and we are calling for heads already...are some of you people serious?
Many of us have been calling for Rays head for a year or two now.
Last night was just a reminder of why.

The Fireman wrote:first hitout on a soggy ground with a new coach and a bunch of kids and we are calling for heads already...are some of you people serious?

thought he went okay...his stats back me up....

Yes, and they were only 17½ minute quarters too.

Now if they had've played the scheduled 20 minute quarters, well........

Yes, and they were only 17½ minute quarters too.

Now if they had've played the scheduled 20 minute quarters, well........
welll...we would have been in front at half time..imho...

So have we anointed him the new whipping boy then? I guess Jones needs a friend in case he misses games. Gilbert was smart enough to miss most of last season and people forgot to hate on him.

I think so... :o

Us? You wanted him to be Captain less than 2 years ago. I would have delisted him last year so us must include me but im unsure it includes you.

Well I was wrong!
And I've been appalled at his decision making for well over 12 months now.
Either way I now want to cut our losses with him.
List clogger.

Well I was wrong!
And I've been appalled at his decision making for well over 12 months now.
Either way I now want to cut our losses with him.
List clogger.

Well unless the rules are changed we cant cut our losses. The funny thing is he had the second most disposals, the most clearances and the third most hard ball gets. Con you do realise over 50% of our young guys wont make it. I am certainly not a Ray fan as I previously said I would have delisted him but he is still on the list and will play as he should if his form is good enough.

Yep but 'form' is pretty subjective.

IMO his form is woeful because I place a lot of emphasis on maintaining possession and not turning it over unless you are under pressure.
Too many 'unforced' turnovers for me. It just murders us.

Cairnsman wrote:

Yes and I'm not sure why one scratch match in horrendous conditions consigns him to the scrap heap. He's played more good games for us than bad, and by a stretch I would argue so why throw the baby out with the bath water. He will be great for the younger kids coming through this year and next and then that will probably be it you would think. Why mindlessly bag him after last nights effort.

I disagree.

I think that there is enough games played, enough performances to have an opinion. The only reason he will play is because we have kids... Not necessarily good but at this stage of our transition, he is here.

Mindlessly bagging is an exaggeration by you.

I hope he eventually turns into a superstar, or at very least above average contributor - which you obviously believe. So without going down the party line of 'one scratch match' please let me know when he will eventually met this mark? At 29, 30?