Team Vs Eagles June 22nd

Re: Team Vs Eagles June 22nd

Cairnsman wrote:surprised Monty wasn't dropped.

Why would he be dropped?

Playon wrote:
PurpleHayes wrote:Actually thought Bruce showed something, unsure why he's been omitted.

Gwilt in then makes sense.

Stanley didn't play that well for Sandy, but bringing him into the side means Lee can play the whole game at FF and not have to pinch hit in the ruck.

For mine - Dunnel, Jones and Minchington wont play.

30 touches enough for Savage to earn a recall, but not Curren..
A note on that, TC wasn't used as a tagger in The Sandy game, Needs the opportunity to play as a pure mid before seasons out, without the tagging role just to see how he goes.
At least we're pumping games into Jones...

So that he can inspire the kids and try so hard and protect us from 90pt beatings

Funny how we thought Bruce killed it forward and Lee might have his papers stamped. Thought Minchington was probably gone- I guess they are trying Dunny and minch to see if they should be retained or moved on. Both played well though so good on them.

I guess Gwilt and Bruce play the same spot and they see Gwilt as a general.

gringo wrote:Funny how we thought Bruce killed it forward and Lee might have his papers stamped. Thought Minchington was probably gone- I guess they are trying Dunny and minch to see if they should be retained or moved on. Both played well though so good on them.

Yep they dropped Bruce. Who do you think played better out of Bruce and Lee? Maybe it is like Webster and he did something wrong during the week. Lee is obviously going to play this week and I hope on Sunday night we are saying he may be a player for us. No one can noe say he hasnt been given a chance. If I read that on Sunday night I will spew up Terry Wallace style.

how can you justify keeping Lee in the team after subbing him so early with no injury?
makes you wonder what's going on just a smidge.
hopefully they'll play Simpkin down back all day long.

how can you justify keeping Lee in the team after subbing him so early with no injury?

busso mick

gringo wrote:Funny how we thought Bruce killed it forward and Lee might have his papers stamped. Thought Minchington was probably gone- I guess they are trying Dunny and minch to see if they should be retained or moved on. Both played well though so good on them.

Yep they dropped Bruce. Who do you think played better out of Bruce and Lee? Maybe it is like Webster and he did something wrong during the week. Lee is obviously going to play this week and I hope on Sunday night we are saying he may be a player for us. No one can noe say he hasnt been given a chance. If I read that on Sunday night I will spew up Terry Wallace style.
Maybe Bruce had some carryover points for his bad haircut?

Jones, Stanley and Minch will not play. By the way Minch had a great game at Sandy on Saturday!

busso mick wrote:

How do explain Lee then?

millarsaint wrote:how can you justify keeping Lee in the team after subbing him so early with no injury?
I reckon the brains trust (not being sarcastic) figure that Lee is our next key forward and the comments from AR were to fire him up, and he may have credits in the bank with them.
Maybe the coaches see him as stretching the Toasters' defence.

busso mick wrote:

His haircut and beard are awesome. Sporting the same look myself. Don't mind a bit of the long on top with shaved sides.

Jones, Savage, Ross, Stanley, Dunell, Minchington, Weller.

Milestone: Stanley - 50 games
Can't be dropped... Ross and Weller.
Minch' will play... no way he'd have been elevated just to be culled from the extended bench. Besides, we need to have a decent look at him so as to make a decision by season's end.
Jones will be dropped... being the sub last week was a tad ominous, and again, we need to look at a few of the younger blokes before season's end.
That leaves Savage or Dunnell... I don't know who they'll pick, maybe will be based on how the E-girls line-up(?)

So the bench will (should) be Ross, Weller, Savage/Dunnell, Minchington (possible sub?)

And no, I haven't forgotten Rhys.

I'm tipping he'll be a late in for Longer whom I suspect is injured. I also note that he's listed as a milestone, not a possible milestone FWIW.

Besides, Rhys has to play... NicNat is his one bunny(!) :lol:

So, to our fellow Saintsationalist(s) who are 'in the know'... how'd I do...? :)
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Thu 19 Jun 2014 9:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

Very interesting to see one T Lee still in the side.

I suspect that Loris has gotten hold of that Simpson blast delivered to her E-girls mate, done some sneaky editing to insert Tom's name in the appropriate places, and passed her handiwork onto the Club to let it rip...? :wink:

Why would he be dropped?
Well I read that there are numerous posters suggesting Jack Billings should be dropped so by extension of that logic shouldn't we be calling for Monty to be dropped?

I'll make sure I remember to say " he just needs more chances" especially if he has a shocker.

Cairnsman wrote:

Why would he be dropped?
Well I read that there are numerous posters suggesting Jack Billings should be dropped so by extension of that logic shouldn't we be calling for Monty to be dropped?

No.

thequarry

busso mick wrote:

His haircut and beard are awesome. Sporting the same look myself. Don't mind a bit of the long on top with shaved sides.
Yep, I'm in the same boat too, short sides with the gradual undercut towards the front. Lesser facial hair though (I can't deliver there).

But enough about my hair - let's talk about Tom Lee's. Awful. It's a shapeless mass of hair at the back; purely functional. No stars.

Cairnsman wrote:

Why would he be dropped?

No.
Yeah we should...in actual fact Monty should be dropped and have his pay docked for being a senior player and slacking on the job...apologies to you Monty if you have an injury...aka a valid excuse.

thequarry wrote:
busso mick wrote:

Yep, I'm in the same boat too, short sides with the gradual undercut towards the front. Lesser facial hair though (I can't deliver there).

But enough about my hair - let's talk about Tom Lee's. Awful. It's a shapeless mass of hair at the back; purely functional. No stars.
I agree if he's not delivering on field at least he could have kick arse hair. He reminds me of one of those cocky's outside the toilets at a country service station that through some kind of existentialist crisis, rips it own feathers from it body.

Plugger..!

Clint Jones has had a good season and been selected appropriately. Good call, Bad Call?

From a development perspective I'm keen to see Murdoch, Weller & Stanley get plenty of opportunity. Thought Lee was harshly treated last week, and delighted for him to have the opportunity to show he's got the courage and drive to perform. Michington was elevated, so it makes sense for him to play.

Milera has shown glimpses and hope he can show something, if he can't show he's up to this standard this may be his last season.

Clint had a role under Lyon, but I dont think he's our future. Billings is our great hope for the future, but he may need a rest. Savage has had a few chances and it's only 50/50 he will make it.

I'm dissapointed they dropped Bruce, and see more future in him that Gwilt. Ross & Dunnell have had chances, Ross was pretty good last week.

Ultimately, we should show faith in the selectors and hope they are good judges, good man managers and have our long term future at heart.

kosifantutti wrote:
terry smith rules wrote:lee not even on the extended bench!!!
He's full forward.
That's a comedy show from the 90's. Like Tommy's hairstyle.

skeptic wrote:Plugger..!

Clint Jones has had a good season and been selected appropriately. Good call, Bad Call?

I didnt know he was selected? He maybe an emergency and would that have botthered anyone? I doubt it. He was dropped last week but Milera pulled out late and CJ was the only one who didnt play at Sandy so he was the only option. Well there was 2 other options and that was to play a guy who had already played that week or have a player likely liss a game who needs time at Sandy.

No idea why you are asking me though. Im no fan of CJ.

EVERY team should have BRUCE LEE playing! :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: People getting uptight about team selections? REALLY? This is the season of (perceived) "strange selection choices" at St Kilda. I'm one of those who actually believes that this is simply one part of a long-term process to re-establish the club as a power, and I'm prepared to go along with it. GO Saints! (to hell with the rest!)

thejiggingsaint wrote:This is the season of (perceived) "strange selection choices" at St Kilda. I'm one of those who actually believes that this is simply one part of a long-term process to re-establish the club as a power, and I'm prepared to go along with it.
the sad part Jiggs, is that no it's not

our team selections have extremely erratic since mid 2010. IMO it's the biggest contributing to the state of our current list. Everyone says it's because we drafted poorly... I think it's because of our inability to develop the talent we had (in context of course)