Who's heading Up ..?

Re: Who's heading Up ..?

Was great to meet up with Bakes and his friends, and the pregame function was good. Had a good time

Had plenty of beers before we even got to the Golf Club as we started at the little bar attached to the Crowne Plaza hotel.

Happy to have the club president and his wife shout us the cab to the game from the hotel (just happened to be staying at the same hotel and leaving the same time as us). He saw us in the colours and asked if we were going to the golf club and did we want to share the ride. Then picked up the fare as well. Nice people and happy to have a chat. Was very worried before the game that the boys would be very flat after being so pumped up last game after Lenny's announcement. Proved very prophetic.

BakesFan wrote:It was great meeting True Believer and his brother at the pre-game function. Great to see Saint Bev and Murray.
(That was the highlight because the game was just awful!)

Couldn't find you, stevie.....and it sounds like stinger went straight to the game.
yep...we did...stayed at royal pines.....just a brisk 20 minute walk to the game.....lots of saints surporters were staying there......had breakfast game day morning with jeff thompson...well...he and his missus were sitting at the next table...looks fit ....

ps...could not believe the numbers who started leaving the ground from 3/4 time.....swarmed out in their droves......suns supporters for the most part......unbelievable really...they must have thought they were either behind (afterall it is qld) or that they would lose..........let's face it..they haven't witnessed too many wins to date...

Sting, a lot of people leave at 3 qtr time at Metricon, especially with kids and at the late games. We used to as it was easier to be first on the buses.

You have to remember that prolly 80% of Suns members/fans are expats from other states, who follow other teams still but go to the Suns games to see footy. We did this for 2 years and also in Brissie for 3. So on a pretty cold night (for the GC) a lot of people leave at 3 qtr time. The first years when the Suns were getting smashed each week and the crowds were bigger, there were tons more going at that time lol

BakesFan wrote:It was great meeting True Believer and his brother at the pre-game function. Great to see Saint Bev and Murray.
(That was the highlight because the game was just awful!)

Couldn't find you, stevie.....and it sounds like stinger went straight to the game.
yep...we did...stayed at royal pines.....just a brisk 20 minute walk to the game.....lots of saints surporters were staying there......had breakfast game day morning with jeff thompson...well...he and his missus were sitting at the next table...looks fit ....

ps...could not believe the numbers who started leaving the ground from 3/4 time.....swarmed out in their droves......suns supporters for the most part......unbelievable really...they must have thought they were either behind (afterall it is qld) or that they would lose..........let's face it..they haven't witnessed too many wins to date...

As you said you stayed at Royal pines so you could walk home. many others would have stayed in broadbeach and if you miss that first group of busses then it can take forever and people need to lose money at the Casino. Probably none of your business why they choose to leave early. They were at least at the game which is more than I could say.

stevie wrote:Sting, a lot of people leave at 3 qtr time at Metricon, especially with kids and at the late games. We used to as it was easier to be first on the buses.

You have to remember that prolly 80% of Suns members/fans are expats from other states, who follow other teams still but go to the Suns games to see footy. We did this for 2 years and also in Brissie for 3. So on a pretty cold night (for the GC) a lot of people leave at 3 qtr time. The first years when the Suns were getting smashed each week and the crowds were bigger, there were tons more going at that time lol
pretty much sums up what my brother in law said.....

despite the loss we had a great weekend......got my photo taken with a couple of the boys on friday.....accompanied the missus at ribena shopping saturday morning.. sunbaked saturday arvo..... :cry: :cry: :cry: ....went to the game..... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: .....drove up tamborine mountain sunday....had a nice lunch at eagles something.....spectacular views towards the coast...got to sit by a log fire too....

stevie wrote:Sting, a lot of people leave at 3 qtr time at Metricon, especially with kids and at the late games. We used to as it was easier to be first on the buses.

despite the loss we had a great weekend......got my photo taken with a couple of the boys on friday.....accompanied the missus at ribena shopping saturday morning.. sunbaked saturday arvo..... :cry: :cry: :cry: ....went to the game..... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: .....drove up tamborine mountain sunday....had a nice lunch at eagles something.....spectacular views towards the coast...got to sit by a log fire too....
Good to see you and the scone burner had a good weekend bro. It's actually ROBINA shopping centre lol. And the lunch woulda been at Eagle Heights. Welcome rain came in overnight and this morn but seems to have gone already

I just ate spaghetti bolognaise, but with gluten free pasta… the corn one is the best as I reckon the rice pasta goes a bit mushy. I always have plenty of spring onions on top, I've heard they have lots of good vitamins and health benefits.

Tomorrow I may wear my burgundy shoes to work, but I will decide in the morning… keeps things exciting.

San Remo one, penne, in the box..

SainterK wrote:San Remo one, penne, in the box..
That one's good, but a little pricey…
Try this one

dragit wrote:I just ate spaghetti bolognaise, but with gluten free pasta… the corn one is the best as I reckon the rice pasta goes a bit mushy. I always have plenty of spring onions on top, I've heard they have lots of good vitamins and health benefits.

Tomorrow I may wear my burgundy shoes to work, but I will decide in the morning… keeps things exciting.
Dragstar I reckon you aren't taking this thread seriously.

Coz if you were, that post would have rhymed. :wink:

Dave McNamara wrote:
dragit wrote:I just ate spaghetti bolognaise, but with gluten free pasta… the corn one is the best as I reckon the rice pasta goes a bit mushy. I always have plenty of spring onions on top, I've heard they have lots of good vitamins and health benefits.

Dragstar I reckon you aren't taking this thread seriously.

Coz if you were, that post would have rhymed. :wink:
I reject that Dave, pasta Mondays are very important to me.

stevie wrote:

Good to see you and the scone burner had a good weekend bro. It's actually ROBINA shopping centre lol. And the lunch woulda been at Eagle Heights. Welcome rain came in overnight and this morn but seems to have gone already

:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: ....yep...ribina diidn't look right when i typed it...and yes...it was eagle heights...going to come back to a wedding there next month.....wouldn't have gone if saints were in the finals....

started to rain when we were sitting on the tarmac getting ready to roll out....sorry it didn't last....great weekend in your state though...pity about the footy... :cry: :D

Glad you enjoyed 'my' states hospitality, sting.

It's funny how I haven't lived in Victoria for 34 years, my wife and kids are born and bred Qlders but I still consider myself a Victorian. And my wife's family call me the Mexican, lol

Pre match function was really good thanks Bev and Murray.

Got pretty well smashed pre game (only way to support this club) and back for more after.
The pokies took a fare share of my money but s*** happens I guess.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintdooley wrote:Pre match function was really good thanks Bev and Murray.

Got pretty well smashed pre game (only way to support this club) and back for more after.
The pokies took a fare share of my money but s*** happens I guess.
Makes sense. We got along.

Drink more.