Thoughts on the future of Spencer White

Re: Thoughts on the future of Spencer White

matrix wrote:tank?
asthma may be holding him back a bit

whats he like in contests or packs?
does he hit them hard and go for the mark?
does he look tentative or worried he might get hurt?

He's a hard one because he is quick and agile but not combative. He works better as a Gilbert style tall. Playing him as a KP is like expecting Simpkin to play on guys much taller than him and compete. Just not using him to his strengths ATM. His best chance is if he can develop that side of his game like Buddy did. Buddy started as a tall winger and got better at the contested stuff as he went.

Buddy started as a forward and has always been a forward. We need to stop mentioning White and Buddy in the same sentence. They are like chalk and cheese.
He was started as a roaming forward not a KP. He was played much further from goal out wide where he could stream forward with out a man holding him arm to arm. He developed that side as he went. I have seen a a lot of Hawks games as I go every year to our games with a mate and have sat through plenty with him. they are one of the few other teams I know a lot about. Buddy was allowed to get free.Obviously right now Spencer isn't anything like as good as Buddy but his size and athletic attributes are going to always be compared. I think a different coach might get more out of Spencer and a program like Geelongs where they could get a coach to work intensively with him would help. He's a high maintenance work in progress but the rewards could be well worth it.
So maybe White may be better as that third tall who starts on the half forward flank. In this day and age he would need quite a tank to play that role. I heard an ad today for one of the shows tonight mentioning that asthma may be triggered by nuts (I think I heard that right). Maybe that could be a factor.

He'll be fine at Kmart in a few years....running the toys section talking bout how he couldve made it in the AFL but just didnt have any luck........yada yada yada....

He is quick so responding to check out price checks will not be an issue.

Teflon wrote:He'll be fine at Kmart in a few years....running the toys section talking bout how he couldve made it in the AFL but just didnt have any luck........yada yada yada....

He is quick so responding to check out price checks will not be an issue.
Sad but true.

I recently asked a senior player about SW and offered the comment that SW had an impressive bag of tricks.
He rolled his eyes and said that you need a lot more than a bag of tricks to succeed at AFL level.
He wouldn't say anymore than that but it gave the clear impression that he was unimpressed with SW's work ethic.

Jacks Back wrote:So maybe White may be better as that third tall who starts on the half forward flank. In this day and age he would need quite a tank to play that role. I heard an ad today for one of the shows tonight mentioning that asthma may be triggered by nuts (I think I heard that right). Maybe that could be a factor.
I don't see how castrating him would improve his fitness.

If work ethic still an issue then just let him go. Same as anything in life, it doesn't matter how much potential you have if you don't work hard it's wasted. seen this same thread for the last couple years and the responses haven't changed. Not even saying he should be playing seniors or whatever, the one thing he can control is his focus and if it hasn't come now, then when?

Maybe see him again when he's 26 in a finals team topping up their roster, if he hasn't given up footy by then.

Oh joy oh joy! What this forum really needs is ...... another bloody Spencer White thread!

My view is that he's quite a talent and has enormous potential. I think he has a tank issue, players in today's game need to be marathon runners. Some take longer to get to that level, David Armitage was a prime example. If he has asthma, that's another significant matter that may be delaying his physical conditioning. If he is working as hard as he can, something the Club will know, then we should persist and be patient. I think Arryn Siposs is a similar proposition. I would love to see how a fit Sipposs would go in our current team.

Still wondering what he did wrong after looking OK in his last senior game- 3 goals in a losing team and looked to be ready as the next forward for this season. Apparently did extra work on his fitness over summer, but Paddy and Membrey get a game over him in the first round, now both in the VFL. Funny game is footy.

The Disch

I would play him every game this year.
I think he is one of those players who plays better in better company.
The more games in him the better.
Ive watched him many times at Sandy and believe he will perform better with better delivery etc around him.
So in my view get him in pronto

The Disch wrote:I would play him every game this year.
Ive watched him many times at Sandy and believe he will perform better with better delivery etc around him.

Every game? he doesn't deserve one game but lets go with it. Who does he replace for the whole season?

The Disch

Every game? he doesn't deserve one game but lets go with it. Who does he replace for the whole season?
Not sure. However i think given we are in a rebuild stage and all, i believe he has the talent/skill to be a good player with us.
Maybe with Roo playing more up field there is a position in forward line. Or else wouldn't mind seeing him play close to Roo, to get some knowledge.
I just think game time for such a player will only be good for the future.

The Disch wrote:

Not sure. However i think given we are in a rebuild stage and all, i believe he has the talent/skill to be a good player with us.
Maybe with Roo playing more up field there is a position in forward line. Or else wouldn't mind seeing him play close to Roo, to get some knowledge.

I don't think it matters if we are in a rebuild or not, you cant just unbalance a side to plat someone who doesn't deserve a game. He needs to pull his figure out in the seconds and then he may get a game if there is room.

I would think someone like Tom Lee may be in a more precarious position right now.

Sainternist wrote:I would think someone like Tom Lee may be in a more precarious position right now.

Why? he has a contract next year and White doesn't. And he is at least playing well in the seconds.

The Disch

The Disch wrote:

Fair enough.
I just see it differently.
In my view he must have been an exceptional junior that most people saw as a future star player. So there must be something there.

I don't think it matters if we are in a rebuild or not, you cant just unbalance a side to plat someone who doesn't deserve a game. He needs to pull his figure out in the seconds and then he may get a game if there is room.

Sainternist wrote:I would think someone like Tom Lee may be in a more precarious position right now.
Can't agree.

Was certainly looking that way, but Lee has been moved into the backline and his performances have picked up. So much so that now when they swing him into the forward line for a quarter or two, he has more impact than when he played there permanently last year.

I think both Lee and White will be on the list next year, but Lee is actually on the cusp of senior selection whereas White isn't even a lock in the Sandy seniors.

I can't see Lee or Markworth staying on the list in 2016. I'd give Sippo and White one more year

Scollop wrote:I can't see Lee or Markworth staying on the list in 2016. I'd give Sippo and White one more year
Lee is contracted.

Markworth will be on the list, worst case scenario as a rookie. Two years ago he was our highest rated junior. Plenty of clubs keep players on despite long injury woes (Bailey, Morobito, Mcintosh from Richmond). He's still young.

FQF wrote:
Scollop wrote:I can't see Lee or Markworth staying on the list in 2016. I'd give Sippo and White one more year
Lee is contracted.

Markworth will be on the list, worst case scenario as a rookie. Two years ago he was our highest rated junior. Plenty of clubs keep players on despite long injury woes (Bailey, Morobito, Mcintosh from Richmond). He's still young.

It will be his 5th year and probably without a game. he is very doubtful but probably not as doubtful as Sippos.

The perennial question: What is going on now with Spencer?

Apparently he hasn't played in the VFL for the last 2 weeks and he isn't on our one-man injury list.

Didnt realise Spencer is still only 20, he will get another year for sure given he's a big forward and development time yada yada yada.

Markworth is done I think, not sure what his chances are of playing seniors this year are but if he doesnt get a game he would be 23-24 next season playing his first game. It's a pretty big risk of a spot on the senior list on an unproven talent. Id assume they would want him midfield, but we have already started building a midfield, most likely adding another 1 or 2 in the coming draft then a possible FA later. He will slide further down the ranks.

I feel sorry for Markworth for sure but can we have a 27year old as a senior who has played around 50games when we start moving up the ladder and that's assuming he becomes a semi-regular. Unless he sets the world on fire and becomes a revelation I can't see it. Good luck to him though.

Griggsy wrote:Didnt realise Spencer is still only 20, he will get another year for sure given he's a big forward and development time yada yada yada.

Markworth is done I think, not sure what his chances are of playing seniors this year are but if he doesnt get a game he would be 23-24 next season playing his first game. It's a pretty big risk of a spot on the senior list on an unproven talent. Id assume they would want him midfield, but we have already started building a midfield, most likely adding another 1 or 2 in the coming draft then a possible FA later. He will slide further down the ranks.

I feel sorry for Markworth for sure but can we have a 27year old as a senior who has played around 50games when we start moving up the ladder and that's assuming he becomes a semi-regular. Unless he sets the world on fire and becomes a revelation I can't see it. Good luck to him though.

Simpkin, markworth and Sippa are looking closest to the edge unfortunately. And then a senior retirement or trade out and possibly even trade out someone like Pierce who will be struggling to see any future with so many in front of him. Someone might want to take him on for a third round pick, he has some talent. The guys like Murdoch, Wright and Saunders along with Curren, Minchington and Shents could also be moved on to open up spots if there are some players they want in.

Griggsy wrote:Didnt realise Spencer is still only 20, he will get another year for sure given he's a big forward and development time yada yada yada.

Simpkin, markworth and Sippa are looking closest to the edge unfortunately. And then a senior retirement or trade out and possibly even trade out someone like Pierce who will be struggling to see any future with so many in front of him. Someone might want to take him on for a third round pick, he has some talent. The guys like Murdoch, Wright and Saunders along with Curren, Minchington and Shents could also be moved on to open up spots if there are some players they want in.

Why would they give him another year when they only gave him one this year. I gather that was to see how he performs and his attitude. Im guessing he is a D minus so far on both. But we reward him again for another year. Makes little sense.

#gosaintas

I reckon he's finished. Plenty of talent and not a lot of effort.

Still no one has answered what he is actually doing right now?? Not injured and not playing. Are there are issues?