How much of that $2.5B will come our way

Re: How much of that $2.5B will come our way

11 fewer games on free to air.
How is that a "win" for the ordinary fan?

Enrico_Misso wrote:11 fewer games on free to air.
they were Carlton games.

IanRush

kosifantutti wrote:
they were Carlton games.
Ch 10 or 9 will be sold the Saturday afternoon game, Fox has ‘on sell’ provisions.

Still don’t see how Ch 7’s “3 games per week” at $900 million for AFL rights is better than Ch 9’s “4 games per week” at $925M for the NRL.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

IanRush wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:
they were Carlton games.
Ch 10 or 9 will be sold the Saturday afternoon game, Fox has ‘on sell’ provisions.

Still don’t see how Ch 7’s “3 games per week” at $900 million for AFL rights is better than Ch 9’s “4 games per week” at $925M for the NRL.
According to 7 there are more in game add opportunities with footy than the bum sniffers game. That's assuming they are telecasting a game where a reasonable number of goals are scored!

IanRush wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:
they were Carlton games.

You failed maths and common sense at school? And its an overall package anyway. There will be more game on FTA and all live. I would say close to the most live FTA games we have had. Just get Foxtel anyway. $2 a day.

matrix wrote:the afl
f****** it up yet again

nothing new
2.58 bill is a F*** up?

Spare me.

Dont like Rupe and his pay TV, get AFL paypass.

$80 a year for every game and can watch any replay of any game up until Dec 31st.

Great value
I'd pay twice as much if I could watch it on my TV. I won't pay for Foxtel because the price isn't in proportion with the value I'd get from it (which is only watching footy).
I've never had AFL pay pass but you can screen anything off your PC or laptop onto your TV if you have a HDMI input in both. Just plug the HDMI cable into your laptop and TV and away you go. That's what I was doing for Netflix but then I got a Google Chromecast which just streams straight to your TV from your wifi modem however they don't have an option to stream AFL from the chromecast.

And the picture quality through the hdmi via a portable device is deplorable.

I don't mind paying for the digital membership, which I did this year. It suits me.

BUT. I was under the impression that you only had access to Saints games... But it is just an AFL game pass.

If you buy the digital membership, you should be able to cast it to your TV.

There is no way known I am paying $50 per month for Foxtel. It is just the worst possible value for money and I wont be held hostage for the footy.

Foxtel is plain antiquated and no way near good enough for current technology. The AFL should be careful that they dont lock themselves out of some better forms of media.

The AFL site is barely passable as it is. Compare it to the NFL in the US and...well it doesn't compare.

An NFL gamepass costs several hundred dollars, but you get massive value for it.

bigred wrote:And the picture quality through the hdmi via a portable device is deplorable.

I don't mind paying for the digital membership, which I did this year. It suits me.

BUT. I was under the impression that you only had access to Saints games... But it is just an AFL game pass.

If you buy the digital membership, you should be able to cast it to your TV.

There is no way known I am paying $50 per month for Foxtel. It is just the worst possible value for money and I wont be held hostage for the footy.

Foxtel is plain antiquated and no way near good enough for current technology. The AFL should be careful that they dont lock themselves out of some better forms of media.

The AFL site is barely passable as it is. Compare it to the NFL in the US and...well it doesn't compare.

An NFL gamepass costs several hundred dollars, but you get massive value for it.

I don't think we would have near the money in the game to compare ourselves to an NFL site. I still don't see a problem with $50 a month for Foxtel though. Its less than $2 a day and even if you only watch the Saints that works out to be less than $10 a game. Cheap at half the price. No food bills, no drink bills, no transport bills. My average day at the footy with my mates costs me around $100 and that's no entrance fee so I save about $90 when I don't go. And you can watch so much other sport and TV shows. I couldn't live without it.

I cannot agree with that. Yes it costs a lot to go to games, but $50 for Foxtel is rather large overs. Especially when you can get various streaming services for around $10 per month that are on demand.

Look at the actual NFL online setup.

https://gamepass.nfl.com/nflgp/secure/packages?ttv=0

And you can stream it to TV's etc etc.

The difference is that the site is current and fits the level of tech that is in a large amount of our day to day lives.

The AFL telstra site is a steaming pile of 1990's dated junk. This is not massively expensive stuff to set up.

bigred wrote:I cannot agree with that. Yes it costs a lot to go to games, but $50 for Foxtel is rather large overs. Especially when you can get various streaming services for around $10 per month that are on demand.

Look at the actual NFL online setup.

https://gamepass.nfl.com/nflgp/secure/packages?ttv=0

And you can stream it to TV's etc etc.

The difference is that the site is current and fits the level of tech that is in a large amount of our day to day lives.

The AFL telstra site is a steaming pile of 1990's dated junk. This is not massively expensive stuff to set up.

That maybe true about the other sites being cheap but they don't really do sport. I actually pay bout $170 a month and it still seems reasonable value. I know its dear compared to overseas but that's the problem being in a smaller country.

$170 per month?

I gotta ask. What is there on Foxtel that makes you think that is value?

bigred wrote:$170 per month?

I gotta ask. What is there on Foxtel that makes you think that is value?

Heaps of sport, heaps of movies and other shows and 4 boxes around the house.

felix

4 boxes ..ok one in the kitchen one in the bedroom one in the lounge and one in the loo am I right ?

matrix wrote:the afl
f****** it up yet again

nothing new
2.58 bill is a F*** up?

Spare me.

Dont like Rupe and his pay TV, get AFL paypass.

$80 a year for every game and can watch any replay of any game up until Dec 31st.

Great value
I'd pay twice as much if I could watch it on my TV. I won't pay for Foxtel because the price isn't in proportion with the value I'd get from it (which is only watching footy).
You don't know what you are missing out on. All the really good shows are on fox. Free to air sucks.

Nothing red
99% of TV shows are repeats or are at a min 6 months behind the USA release date
Movies is one channel of new release, rest is older that u can buy on blu ray for $15 to $10.

If you like soccer rugby nd NBA the sport package is worth if.

If u could pay per channel if would be worth it.
Other than that
It's really not worth it at all

bergholt wrote:I'd pay twice as much if I could watch it on my TV. I won't pay for Foxtel because the price isn't in proportion with the value I'd get from it (which is only watching footy).
You don't know what you are missing out on. All the really good shows are on fox. Free to air sucks.
I haven't watched free to air TV in years.

Jacks Back wrote:
bergholt wrote:I'd pay twice as much if I could watch it on my TV. I won't pay for Foxtel because the price isn't in proportion with the value I'd get from it (which is only watching footy).
I've never had AFL pay pass but you can screen anything off your PC or laptop onto your TV if you have a HDMI input in both. Just plug the HDMI cable into your laptop and TV and away you go. That's what I was doing for Netflix but then I got a Google Chromecast which just streams straight to your TV from your wifi modem however they don't have an option to stream AFL from the chromecast.
Right, but Live Pass isn't on computer it's only on phone. In general there's no way (without jailbreaking your phone) to cast it to the TV if the app provider says they don't allow it - as the AFL/Telstra have done in this case. They've got that side of it basically sewn up so that the Foxtel rights are actually worth something.

matrix wrote:Nothing red
99% of TV shows are repeats or are at a min 6 months behind the USA release date
Movies is one channel of new release, rest is older that u can buy on blu ray for $15 to $10.

If you like soccer rugby nd NBA the sport package is worth if.

If u could pay per channel if would be worth it.
Other than that
It's really not worth it at all
That's not true.. Shows like True Detective and Game of Thrones are basically shown here the next day.

And it is the pricks out there who download these shows illegally that are keeping the costs of services like foxtel up. Still cheap at double the price I say

And as a bonus I get two new release movies free per month.That's worth 30 bucks anyway that I don't have to spend on old blue ray movies.

And why would you. As I said it sucks.

And yet I don't miss out on the good shows. Not because I download them illegally, just because I wait a few days/weeks/months until I can pay to stream them. If you let go of having to watch everything the minute it comes out, you can watch high quality TV pretty reasonably. (Also Game of Thrones.)

I haven't a clue how you stream things or where they are steamed from., so I guess i will stick to foxtel.

I suppose being clueless costs money!

chook23 wrote:I suppose only a trickle will reach grass roots footy.............if past history is any guide.

I have no doubt more will have to be allocated to promote the game at primary school level just to maintain interest level....the days of just expecting kids to play Australian rules are gone.
Forget drug scandals and booing THIS is the games issue right here
Its dying folks at junior levels - the connection (and societies demographics) are changing and that guarantee of locked in club fans is going with it
Soccer is the new football and the AFL better get busy at grass roots levels and be seriously inventive (re branding NAB Auskick in different colors aint gonna do it) to do it
So much under Dimwits previous reign was taken for granted and i think Gill has one massive job - he's trying to re connect with fans but it'll take more than a kick on the G after the game to do it.
I seriously hope they look to twighlight footy on sat more - trash this sunday arvo shyte at 5pm
we all know TV's the big bucks - but empty stadiums on TV dont look good

But soccer have empty stadiums and soccer give far less per person playing to grass roots level. The reasons soccer is getting more popular is iys safer and schools don't want to be sued because parents are getting softer. And even though you disagree and are wrong, women teachers find it ewasier to teach soccer. Paul Callery said this and 5 female teacher I know said the same. That carries more wait than you saying im wrong for no reason. Crowds don't keep the bottom clubs alive. 2.58 billion for TV rights does. Anyway crowds have stabilized since every game has been live. NRL have dripped 10% since most games were live. Seems we are still pretty popular but I do agree we need to get more money into schools even if it is the most of any comp and by a long way.
check junior club participation rates and transference (and kids not returning) once they go to soccer??? theres' your evidence

220k sold on recent international series here thats now earmarked to continue and they have empty stadiums?
safety isnt the main reason soccer is winning in schools
the background of children at schools is changing - their heritage from dads (mostly) is one based on a love for all things soccer and AFL is a nice little quaint aussie game in a fishbowl mostly Melbourne market trying to shore up 10 teams
even though you keep bashing women teachers they too arent the reason - the reason is soccer IS less physical and therefore now attracting strong jnr female teams in schools

when you have a product that is backed:
1. worldwide
2. less physically demanding/threatening and
3.shifting demographics

The trend iseasy to see. AFL got a job on their hands - schools is where its at.

chook23 wrote:I suppose only a trickle will reach grass roots footy.............if past history is any guide.

I have no doubt more will have to be allocated to promote the game at primary school level just to maintain interest level....the days of just expecting kids to play Australian rules are gone.
Forget drug scandals and booing THIS is the games issue right here
Its dying folks at junior levels - the connection (and societies demographics) are changing and that guarantee of locked in club fans is going with it
Soccer is the new football and the AFL better get busy at grass roots levels and be seriously inventive (re branding NAB Auskick in different colors aint gonna do it) to do it
So much under Dimwits previous reign was taken for granted and i think Gill has one massive job - he's trying to re connect with fans but it'll take more than a kick on the G after the game to do it.
I seriously hope they look to twighlight footy on sat more - trash this sunday arvo shyte at 5pm
we all know TV's the big bucks - but empty stadiums on TV dont look good

But soccer have empty stadiums and soccer give far less per person playing to grass roots level. The reasons soccer is getting more popular is iys safer and schools don't want to be sued because parents are getting softer. And even though you disagree and are wrong, women teachers find it ewasier to teach soccer. Paul Callery said this and 5 female teacher I know said the same. That carries more wait than you saying im wrong for no reason. Crowds don't keep the bottom clubs alive. 2.58 billion for TV rights does. Anyway crowds have stabilized since every game has been live. NRL have dripped 10% since most games were live. Seems we are still pretty popular but I do agree we need to get more money into schools even if it is the most of any comp and by a long way.
check junior club participation rates and transference (and kids not returning) once they go to soccer??? theres' your evidence

220k sold on recent international series here thats now earmarked to continue and they have empty stadiums?
safety isnt the main reason soccer is winning in schools
the background of children at schools is changing - their heritage from dads (mostly) is one based on a love for all things soccer and AFL is a nice little quaint aussie game in a fishbowl mostly Melbourne market trying to shore up 10 teams
even though you keep bashing women teachers they too arent the reason - the reason is soccer IS less physical and therefore now attracting strong jnr female teams in schools

when you have a product that is backed:
1. worldwide
2. less physically demanding/threatening and
3.shifting demographics

The trend iseasy to see. AFL got a job on their hands - schools is where its at.
Bashing women teachers? Looks like a lie. Happy to show me one post. If women teachers telling me they would rather teach soccer than footy then yep im bashing them. And if 200K to international games means that A league games don't have empty stadiums then Im also wrong. And I agree school and junior level sport is where it starts but just giving money wont get kids to play Aussie Rules. Footy is much cheaper than soccer at the junior level but still more play soccer because its safer and easier to play and more girls play. Money wont change any of that. Wont hurt but the main thing the AFL need to do is get girls involved in footy which they are now trying to do.