Port Power + INXS = Bloody Awful!

Re: Port Power + INXS = Bloody Awful!

Superboot wrote:
I'm not having a good day
Oh diddums, chin up, it will get better. Loris loves youse........ And I'm sure loads of SS posters do too :P :P

Sainternist wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Apparently the Tigers are now using Darryl Braithwaite's cover version of the the Rickie Lee Jones song 'horses'.

The AFL never disappoints when it comes to turning the cringe-o-meter up to 11.
Gee whiz! That sounds horrendous. I hope our club resists doing something so utterly silly.

The only songs I'll ever be sing along with are (obviously) 'Oh when the Saints go marching in' and this one would be fantastic to bring back as something for us to all sing in unison:
:D I'm in!

freely wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Apparently the Tigers are now using Darryl Braithwaite's cover version of the the Rickie Lee Jones song 'horses'.

The AFL never disappoints when it comes to turning the cringe-o-meter up to 11.
Gee whiz! That sounds horrendous. I hope our club resists doing something so utterly silly.

The only songs I'll ever be sing along with are (obviously) 'Oh when the Saints go marching in' and this one would be fantastic to bring back as something for us to all sing in unison:
:D I'm in!
Cool beans! You da man, Freely!!
loris wrote:
Superboot wrote:
Oh diddums, chin up, it will get better. Loris loves youse........ And I'm sure loads of SS posters do too :P :P
Loris, ol' Superboot isn't alone here on Saintsational forum. Old mate JiggingSaint is also an Evertonian. Speaking of whom, I don't think I've seen him posting on here as of late. Hope he's doing okay. The Jiggster is a real St.Kilda footy supporting icon.

not as awful as who let the dogs out

for the Saints...we will rock you.

terry smith rules wrote:Are you kidding

I think it is fantastic

35thousand holding up thier scarves, music booming "never tear us apart", it must send shivers down the spine of anyone there

For years we have been saying on here that is the sort of thing we want at etihad, so why the bagging of this
Please don't say "We".

You might crave it.
But I could hardly think of anything worse.

If you want to go and sing along to stadium-rock songs, grow some sideburns and go to a karaoke pub and get pissed.

Personally I go to watch my team play and cheer them on.
I don't want gimmicky songs for bogans.
I don't want "Make some noise".
I don't want that blonde bimbo with the squaky voice yelling at me.
I don't want flashing advertising spiralling around the stands distracting me.
I don't want artificial "excitement" (i.e. music, stunts, t-shirt guns, kiss-cam etc.) generated by some Gen X hipster media consultant.

I just want to be left to enjoy the natural atmosphere and tension that a competitive game generates.

8856brother wrote:Running out to the start of ACDC's Hells Bells would do me.
Hells Bells sounded great at Etihad last November!

How about Baby Elephant Walk?

The Benny Hill theme ?

Superboot

loris wrote:
Superboot wrote:
Thanks Loris. You're a pal!

Having a better day today, but still hate INXS, Horses, and Liverpool supporters :)

It's a a total copy of the Newcastle Jets, who use it as their walk-out music, and have done for several years.

It isn't in the slightest bit original.

That said, I applaud them for doing things that their fans love. And the Port fans pushed for this.

The game is about the fans, the members, and doing things that make them want to come to the footy.

As for Richmond, that's just a blatant copy of Melbourne Victory, who've been playing "Horses" after winning games all season.

I'm not a religious man but… I'm thinking… O come all ye faithful with a big organ in the middle of the ground…

Cheer squad dresses in full church robes…

Nick Riewoldt moves a big paper mache stone that is blocking the players entrance to the ground…

Jack Billings in a crib…

Gears on a cross…

George Pell MCing live from the vatican, rockin' the pre-games hype

dragit wrote:I'm not a religious man but… I'm thinking… O come all ye faithful with a big organ in the middle of the ground…

Cheer squad dresses in full church robes…

Nick Riewoldt moves a big paper mache stone that is blocking the players entrance to the ground…

Jack Billings in a crib…

Gears on a cross…

George Pell MCing live from the vatican, rockin' the pre-games hype
I'll go out and buy some church robes straightaway 'dragit' ......... I want to be part of this :lol:

Ill be a wise king following a ufo...errrr star

matrix wrote:Ill be a wise king following a ufo...errrr star
I'll bring the frankincense.

Jacks Back wrote:
matrix wrote:Ill be a wise king following a ufo...errrr star
I'll bring the frankincense.
I think it might be better to bring more gold. Not so much frankincense or myrrh. The only reason for having George Pell there would be to have him stoned, Old Testament style.

I'll bring as much gold as I can eat...

Have a few INXS songs that I like but that one isn't among them. Always hated the song.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Personally I go to watch my team play and cheer them on.
I don't want gimmicky songs for bogans.
I don't want "Make some noise".
I don't want that blonde bimbo with the squaky voice yelling at me.
I don't want flashing advertising spiralling around the stands distracting me.
I don't want artificial "excitement" (i.e. music, stunts, t-shirt guns, kiss-cam etc.) generated by some Gen X hipster media consultant.

I just want to be left to enjoy the natural atmosphere and tension that a competitive game generates.
AMEN to that!!!

Only plugger66 seemed to be a fan of all of those novelties mentioned above. He said they were "good for the kids" or something. If they are good for kids, god help those poor little buggers and the future of our civilisation.

terry smith rules wrote:35thousand holding up thier scarves, music booming "never tear us apart", it must send shivers down the spine of anyone there
Well for the record, I didn't have much trouble taking orders for a couple buckets of chips and a water whilst the 35k mumbled their way through a feeble rendition at the 'Portress' (alternately, the 'Croval'?).

What can we rename Etihad to instil a false sense of theatre of war...the St Adium?

The Fireman wrote:The Benny Hill theme ?
I thought Richmond already had dibs over that. 'We're from Tigerland' always sounded like a variation of it to me.

What's wrong with the controlled dignity of, and the lack of pyrotechnics that you get with, a marching band?
I would much rather watch some fat bloke fart in his degenerate black trousers, as he pumps out notes on his tuba, as his Rivers black slip-on gets stuck in the mud, than listen to some mediocre talented druggie drone on about how stuck-fat his is with his bony squeeze.
The only upsides are it exposes the full lameness and originality of the Port Adelaide Football Club (which when you watch it you've gotta have a bit of a giggle as they man their scarves), and no doubt grates the Adelaide fans to the back teeth.