Why do people want to trade Longer?

Re: Why do people want to trade Longer?

We gave up pick 20 odd for him...

I thought he was solid last season for a 22yo... Good at stoppage and was aggressive in contest

His ability to find the ball, skill level and most important marking ability was poor though

Definitely tradeable imo

GWS would be my suggestion

citywest

ctqs wrote:He carried our ruck last year and has only been sidelined because he battled injury this year. The club was keen to re-sign him so he must be valued internally. You reckon other clubs will be jumping over each other to get him if we don't want him?
Would you be happy with the below scenario ctqs??

Richmond need a ruckman. Trade Longer to the tigers for their second pick (pick 24ish) and their forth pick (pick 60ish). Then we on-trade pick 24, 60 and our own third pick (pick 46ish) to Gold Coast for JOM.

Net Result
St Kilda lose Longer and pick 46.
Richmond lose pick 24 and 60.
Gold Coast lose JOM.

St Kilda gain JOM.
Richmond gain Longer.
Gold Coast gain pick 24, 46 and 60.

if GC are to lose JOM he will need to be replace by high end talent.

they will want either 2 first round selections... a high first rounder and high second rounder... or a high quality player and a pick or high pick and player.

he'll be a 5 year contract plus you'll need to give up plenty

Hawthorn will get him on a back ended contract and give up their first pick, the pick for Bradley Hill from Freo and possibly another player thrown in... such as Whitecross

Hemi Baxter wrote:He was poor for most of last year. He has a poor leap, average technique and didn't give us first use. Round the ground at the drop he was even worse. He can't find the ball on the ground and when he does his disposal is average at best. He couldn't take a mark forward or back and is too slow. His one asset is his intensity and above average defensive work which can create space for our midfielders to rove from the oppn ruckman.
Unfortunately he is generally not rated by other clubs recruiting staff because they are looking for a modern profile, mobile even quick, highly skilled player. He will be difficult to trade for anything of value.
I agree with most of this but I think Billy's ruck work is pretty good. However I don't think that's enough these days. You have to be able to contribute in other areas. He needs to take marks around the ground and be a threat up forward. He doesn't do either of these at the moment.

BigMart wrote:We gave up pick 20 odd for him...

I thought he was solid last season for a 22yo... Good at stoppage and was aggressive in contest

His ability to find the ball, skill level and most important marking ability was poor though

Definitely tradeable imo

I suggest you make another suggestion

Here's GWS ruck stocks
GWS GIANTS

Rucks

Shane Mumford

Rory Lobb

Dawson Simpson

Tom Downie

Pinch hitters

Jonathon Patton

Development

Can't remember his name but they have another young guy developing

So .... You think we have too many rucks ...GWS have Six and you want them to take a seventh!!! You are seriously, seriously delusional...
Tell me why they would be interested they already have about three more ruckman than you think they should carry??? V

repta

We need a second tall to play. Bruce is not the answer. The team is unbalanced when he is in the ruck.

repta wrote:We need a second tall to play. Bruce is not the answer. The team is unbalanced when he is in the ruck.
Agree 100% ...

so where for Longer when Hickey is on the ball and visa versa???

wont happen

not a club in the AFL successfully plays two genuine ruckmen who cant play elsewhere

our game is built on speed and pressure... how will playing two lumbering ruckmen help this

repta wrote:We need a second tall to play. Bruce is not the answer. The team is unbalanced when he is in the ruck.
Next year it will be Carlisle

Hopefully Pierce will factor in too

Definitely tradeable imo

We received pick 25 as a compensation pick and plenty of salary cap relief for Nick Dal Santo (you might have noticed his sublime skills tonight)
We traded pick 25 for Billy Longer but had to sweeten the deal by giving away pick 41 in return for 48.
I just hope Dal does not go on to beat the poor man's Harvey games record.

I don't like the idea of trading Longer, the trade period is long enough.

Now if only we could trade Shorten for Theresa May.
Now there's a woman that demonstrates women can be great ministers and prime ministers.
Not every women is as incompetent as Julia.

citywest wrote:[ Then we on-trade pick 24, 60 and our own third pick (pick 46ish) to Gold Coast for JOM.

Net Result
Gold Coast lose JOM.

St Kilda gain JOM.
Richmond gain Longer.
Why on earth would GC go for such a rubbish deal?

Picks 24+ are basically useless to them. They need either top end draft picks, OR an established good player.

citywest wrote:
ctqs wrote:He carried our ruck last year and has only been sidelined because he battled injury this year. The club was keen to re-sign him so he must be valued internally. You reckon other clubs will be jumping over each other to get him if we don't want him?
Would you be happy with the below scenario ctqs??

Richmond need a ruckman. Trade Longer to the tigers for their second pick (pick 24ish) and their forth pick (pick 60ish). Then we on-trade pick 24, 60 and our own third pick (pick 46ish) to Gold Coast for JOM.

Net Result
Gold Coast lose JOM.

St Kilda gain JOM.
Richmond gain Longer.

Nope nope nope to JOM.....disaster waiting to happen.

citywest

citywest wrote:[ Then we on-trade pick 24, 60 and our own third pick (pick 46ish) to Gold Coast for JOM.

Net Result
Gold Coast lose JOM.

St Kilda gain JOM.
Richmond gain Longer.

Picks 24+ are basically useless to them. They need either top end draft picks, OR an established good player.
GC would love that deal!!!!! For someone that knows, how many points would GC get for picks 24, 46 and 60? Would that give them enough to be able to pick up all of their academy players and still retain their own first and second picks? If it did then they would be laughing. Richmond would be happy with Longer and I would be happy with JOM.

The Fireman wrote:Gee that Rhys Stanley goes ok.

Yeah, what did we get for him again???

about the same as we gave up for Longer

pick 21
hugh goddard who has a long way to go before he makes it.

super saints
you listed 4 primary ruckmen as a reason GWS wouldnt recruit Longer

Mumford is a star #1 ruckman an is getting old
Dawson Simpson is injury riddled and terrible
Downie is a developing kid who's shown not much
Rory Lobb is a #2 ruckman who primarily plays forward

your "pinch hitters' don't even count as ruckmen... do we count Bruce as a ruckman? if we lose Hickey will Bruce play Ruck?

they are always one injury away from being suseptible - Mumford

The_President

saintbob wrote:

He's kicked 15 goals in 15 games.
Every time he plays a decent game someone on here jumps up and down, the bloke is a yo-to and will never be consistent.
We got Membrey for free in the same trade period.

The_President

ace wrote:

Definitely tradeable imo

We received pick 25 as a compensation pick and plenty of salary cap relief for Nick Dal Santo (you might have noticed his sublime skills tonight)
We traded pick 25 for Billy Longer but had to sweeten the deal by giving away pick 41 in return for 48.
I just hope Dal does not go on to beat the poor man's Harvey games record.
With pick 48 we got Bruce.
Dal won't go on after this year.

citywest wrote:

Net Result
Gold Coast lose JOM.

St Kilda gain JOM.
Richmond gain Longer.

GC would love that deal!!!!! For someone that knows, how many points would GC get for picks 24, 46 and 60? Would that give them enough to be able to pick up all of their academy players and still retain their own first and second picks? If it did then they would be laughing. Richmond would be happy with Longer and I would be happy with JOM.
It does not work like that.
You can't choose what picks you use to take an academy or father-son.
You MUST use your next available pick.
If due to the discount that is excessive you get a later pick worth the excess points in return.
If that pick is not enough then you again MUST use you next available pick an so on.

That means they don't get a bonus first round pick because they have academy players.
They lose their first round pick on the academy player if someone bids ahead of them.
But they do get that academy player on the cheap because of the discount and the reluctance of clubs to bid for a player they have no hope of securing.
They all leave it to the club just before the academy player's.

The strategy for academy player clubs has been to trade away their first round pick for more points in numerous second round picks.

The_President wrote:
saintbob wrote:

He's kicked 15 goals in 15 games.
Every time he plays a decent game someone on here jumps up and down, the bloke is a yo-to and will never be consistent.
We got Membrey for free in the same trade period.
Stanley reminds me of a tall Malcolm Turnbull, a tall Marshmellow.

Haven't read the thread but I'll say this anyway.

It's because he will be too good to be a second string ruck, which means there is value there. Coupled with the fact that value drops the second someone says they want out of a club. If he doesn't get opportunities over the next two years I don't want us in that seat, we've been burnt by that before.

ace wrote:I don't like the idea of trading Longer, the trade period is long enough.

Now if only we could trade Shorten for Theresa May.
Now there's a woman that demonstrates women can be great ministers and prime ministers.
Not every women is as incompetent as Julia.
Nothing to do with footy but since you brought it up, Abbott was far more incompetent that Juia and at least she had the good grace to leave politics.

Unlike Abbott who is a selfish flog.

BigMart wrote:super saints
you listed 4 primary ruckmen as a reason GWS wouldnt recruit Longer

Mumford is a star #1 ruckman an is getting old
Dawson Simpson is injury riddled and terrible
Downie is a developing kid who's shown not much
Rory Lobb is a #2 ruckman who primarily plays forward

your "pinch hitters' don't even count as ruckmen... do we count Bruce as a ruckman? if we lose Hickey will Bruce play Ruck?

they are always one injury away from being suseptible - Mumford
Lobb will be a ruckman ...Read the post ....the list was not compiled by me but fox footy... If you bother to read it, it did count Bruce as a pinch hitter...

You left GWS academy ruckman recruit Matthew Flynn who is playing seconds like Pierce ,

here is another article for you ... But your the expert

Athletic big man Rory Lobb isn't so much a back-up ruckman at the Giants, he's a tall forward capable of giving workhorse Shane Mumford a bit of a break when he needs it. Lobb will develop into a genuine ruckman with time, but at the moment his body isn't ready and the former basketball star from Western Australia is still learning the game, so he does his best work inside 50. Mumford relishes playing as many minutes as he can and is still arguably the club's most influential player. The Giants have youngster Tom Downie also coming along nicely in the reserves, recruited Dawson Simpson into the club last year and drafted Matthew Flynn from their academy, so their ruck stocks are looking strong. - Adam Curley