PLugger Lockett

Re: PLugger Lockett

Sainternist wrote:Thanks for sharing, Yipper. I really like your son's work on the radio. He's a very good and level-headed announcer.

1991 is probably my favourite year to look back on as Saints supporter. There was just so much to be optimistic about that year. Of course we made the finals for the first time in 18 years and it was the first time in my lifetime I got to see us qualify for footy in September. I think it was my birthday when Plugger made his comeback in Round 7. What a great procession of goal kicking it was to watch. I was in the cheer squad back then and we were all in ecstasy. I think it was one of the first times I'd seen the Saints win by 100+ points.
He had 9 at half time. Ran out of puff.

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk

yipper wrote:Rex Hunt this is your football life on Sunday morning. On SEN. AT 8.30am. Sunday August 14th.

Thanks yipper. I'll be overseas still but will make sure I have wifi to get the stream.

So many posts have already put what I would say. He was the Ivan Drago of Aussie rules, except there was no rocky balboa to stop him. That 87-92 period at Moorabbin was just something else to grow up in. I still actually dream about that place fairly often, we have returned back there and plugger is playing. It's a sad reality when I wake up

Simply the BEST!

prwilkinson wrote:My favourite footy memories are the same.... When Plugger was on a lead or one on one in the square at Moorabbin or Waverley... just the roar the crowd made whenever he went near the footy... I'll never forget that. He's pretty much the reason why I love the Saints so much. That's why he's my profile image.
What you described above is what converted me to a Saints supporter in 1990. I had moved to Melbourne in 1988 and followed another team until then. A workmate who was a Saints fan invited me to watch a few games at Moorabin in 1989 and I loved the build up of the roar every time the ball moved from half back through the middle and ended up with the great man. There was a game vs the Hawks where the Saints won a thriller at Moorabin which was round 6 1990 when I finally turned to my mate and said "I have to be part of this ' and officially made the change. Bought my first membership the following year and have been a member ever since.

Since then I converted my girlfriend (now wife) into a Ssints supporter and have since raised 2 Saint supporting sons !.

Plugger was a once in a lifetime player. He brought people through the turnstiles.

Zed wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:My favourite footy memories are the same.... When Plugger was on a lead or one on one in the square at Moorabbin or Waverley... just the roar the crowd made whenever he went near the footy... I'll never forget that. He's pretty much the reason why I love the Saints so much. That's why he's my profile image.
What you described above is what converted me to a Saints supporter in 1990. I had moved to Melbourne in 1988 and followed another team until then. A workmate who was a Saints fan invited me to watch a few games at Moorabin in 1989 and I loved the build up of the roar every time the ball moved from half back through the middle and ended up with the great man. There was a game vs the Hawks where the Saints won a thriller at Moorabin which was round 6 1990 when I finally turned to my mate and said "I have to be part of this ' and officially made the change. Bought my first membership the following year and have been a member ever since.

Since then I converted my girlfriend (now wife) into a Ssints supporter and have since raised 2 Saint supporting sons !.

Plugger was a once in a lifetime player. He brought people through the turnstiles.
here's hoping your previous team wasn't Hawthorn!

yipper wrote:Was he the most intimidating player ever in VFL/AFL history?? I reckon he was but he was also enormously talented. Which made him just an amazing presence on the footy ground
I would rate him in the top 5.

Big Carl, Big Nick, Teddy and Lethal being the other 4.

I can still recall a practice match vs Brisbane bears at the time - he kicked a lazy 12 - did not even get out of a slow gallop. he kicked one of those goals with 4 x bears hanging onto him - he actually ran a further 10 meters with these guys hanging onto him - all 4 of them and calmly slotted the goal. "

I recall that game fondly & it was one of the greatest he played and it was a practice game, he was simply breathtaking!!

Martin Leslie was lauded as the best full back outside the VFL & he moved over to Brisbane & Plugger ripped him a apart.
He stood on his shoulders for one speccie I will never forget, he was extremely athletic pre injuries, he was simply a God with everything
I was there that day along with a few thousand other diehards. It was hot with a north wind. Must have been March or even February. The game was billed as a battle for supremacy between two of the star forwards of the period. Our bloke and the Bears' gun import Warwick Crapper lol.

I reckon Plugger kicked 13.8 or something similar. I vividly recall that goal with the Bears players hanging off him and also the big mark.

Amazing player.

I have a mate who is a Carlton member. He was speaking to Ken Sheldon recently as asked him who was the best player he'd seen. Bomba said Lockett ... by a long way.

I'd have to agree.

8856brother wrote:
Sainternist wrote:Thanks for sharing, Yipper. I really like your son's work on the radio. He's a very good and level-headed announcer.

1991 is probably my favourite year to look back on as Saints supporter. There was just so much to be optimistic about that year. Of course we made the finals for the first time in 18 years and it was the first time in my lifetime I got to see us qualify for footy in September. I think it was my birthday when Plugger made his comeback in Round 7. What a great procession of goal kicking it was to watch. I was in the cheer squad back then and we were all in ecstasy. I think it was one of the first times I'd seen the Saints win by 100+ points.

Plugger had 10 goals at half time. People were wondering if he could beat Fred Fanning's record of 18 goals that day.

Sainternist wrote:
8856brother wrote:

Plugger had 10 goals at half time. People were wondering if he could beat Fred Fanning's record of 18 goals that day.
Pretty sure it was 9. Finished on 12 for the day.

One of the best was v Adelaide in one of their very early seasons in the AFL.

From the balcony to the Gold Pass Room we welcomed the Adelaide full-backs retreating to the bench (as they passed beneath us from the left hand goal) with much acclaim and gusto- Hughes was one!

Great days and a great player - if not the greatest.

mambo2706

prwilkinson wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
8856brother wrote:

Yep. Definitely 9 at half time.

mambo2706 wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
8856brother wrote:

Yep. Definitely 9 at half time.
My bad. He did indeed have 9 goals at half time. He was half way to equaling the record. What was the most amount of goals he kicked in a Saints guernsey? I seem to recall him kicking 13 against Carlton the same year at Waverly. It as Dean Greig's debut where he wracked up close to 40 possessions. Can't remember Plugger kicking more than 13 in a game for us. Of course he kicked 16 straight for Sydney against Fitzroy in 1995.

mambo2706

15 against Sydney in 1992 at Moorabbin

In that Adelaide game I reckon he had a shot after the siren at half time from the social club forward pocket to get his tenth. I reckon he ran around and the umpire called play on. Can anyone confirm this?

mambo2706 wrote:15 against Sydney in 1992 at Moorabbin
How could I forget! That was game where Plugger had a skirmish with a couple of Swans defenders. I think a policeman tried to get in between them at one point.

8856brother wrote:In that Adelaide game I reckon he had a shot after the siren at half time from the social club forward pocket to get his tenth. I reckon he ran around and the umpire called play on. Can anyone confirm this?
Close. He did kick his tenth from that pocket and sent the crowd off, but the umpire hadn't blown time on, so he made him take it again. He missed the second time.

I wonder how many more goals plugger would've scored if he had been fitter? Has someone ever done an analysis comparing total goals kicked by him in the first half of games compared to the second halves? I can recall a number of times when plugger had 7 or more up to half time, only for him to be incapable of running out of the goal square after the break. Still the greatest I've ever seen. I used to go to Moorabbin with a group of mates. Out of the eight of us, only three were saints. The rest came to see Anthony. That spoke volumes about his pulling power.

My boss at the time ... a huge Carlton supporter and many years later was a Carlton board member ... came with me to almost every Moorabbin game to watch Plugger.

I saw the whole of pluggers Saints career. He loved those pesky new interstate sides with a passion to make them think that Moorabbin was some sort of interstate detention centre.

bigcarl wrote:Apparently Nigel Smart, too young and green to know any better, scragged the big bloke early in this game.

He was told, try that again and you won't see the sun go down.
His name is actually Smartarse

bigcarl wrote:Apparently Nigel Smart, too young and green to know any better, scragged the big bloke early in this game.

Don't think he tried it again as he is still with us

And Sheedy's tactics against him, putting 2 who didn't normally get a game consistently on him (Flood being one).

The lacerations and marks on Tony's back from the match where he had one of those Essendon players in a head lock with Loewe coming to the assistance of the Essendon player, Tony saying after with Stu that he was going to kill the Essendon player, and we including Stu did not doubt it, had to be seen to be believed.

He put up with a fair bit.

Don't think he tried it again as he is still with us
His nickname was "Not so" after a pre-season team motivating session.
The Crows got in some motivational #anker who fired them up and then asked them to do a fire walk to confirm their belief and trust.
"Not so" was the first volunteer and received nasty burns to his feet.
The exercise was abandoned at that point.
Smart's pre-season was disrupted whilst the feet healed.

Not sure if the "motivator" ever got his payment!

To the top wrote:And Sheedy's tactics against him, putting 2 who didn't normally get a game consistently on him (Flood being one).

The lacerations and marks on Tony's back from the match where he had one of those Essendon players in a head lock with Loewe coming to the assistance of the Essendon player, Tony saying after with Stu that he was going to kill the Essendon player, and we including Stu did not doubt it, had to be seen to be believed.

He put up with a fair bit.
Brad Fox.
Stewie claimed he had turned blue by the time Plugger let him go.

This Sunday 14th at 7.30
Preview on SEN