Saints interested in Dusty?

Re: Saints interested in Dusty?

I think this is a real chance. Richmond , outside the top 6 players have an ordinary list and will likely finish bottom 6. Martin will be 26 and need to make a decision, stay at a club which is going nowhere and hasn't got the guts to make the tough calls - probably a new coach also, or a club destined for finals and who knows. Can still get paid big coin at StKilda. Has had issues, although chopstick thing was a beat up, but as others have pointed out we don't have angles, Carlisle , Webster, Dunstan, .
He is a game breaker and we don't really have one of them with his skill set.

Devilhead wrote:Would much prefer Fyfe over Dustin

Fyfe is a gun utility - he could play any and every position - Dusty not so
Doubt very much Fyfe will land at the Saints. And.....before even considering him I want to see how he comes back from a busted leg. Some players are not the same after such an injury.

older saint wrote:I think this is a real chance. Richmond , outside the top 6 players have an ordinary list and will likely finish bottom 6. Martin will be 26 and need to make a decision, stay at a club which is going nowhere and hasn't got the guts to make the tough calls - probably a new coach also, or a club destined for finals and who knows. Can still get paid big coin at StKilda. Has had issues, although chopstick thing was a beat up, but as others have pointed out we don't have angles, Carlisle , Webster, Dunstan, .
He is a game breaker and we don't really have one of them with his skill set.
Would have him in a shot. Elite player. Extremely durable. Has barely missed a game in 7 years - only 2 or 3 games. Top 4 B&F in each of those years except 2012. AA. RFC B&F 2016 and 3rd in the Brownlow.
Yep has bogan factor, but he's not the lone ranger in footy. In spite of his personal issues has still managed to keep playing footy at an elite level. And perhaps, now that he's the other side of 25, his personal life will stabilise a bit. His improved performance is maybe testament to that. Comes from a rough family and I reckon he's done extremely well to achieve what he has. Would really add quality to our mids.

Dusty has a bit of the Ben Cousins factor about him in that even though some of his off-field behaviour is concerning to say the least... I get the impression that you can't fault his football prep and professionalism.

He's a workhorse

St Loxton

markp wrote:
bigred wrote:Do we have a no dickheads policy?

Because this guy strikes me as a raging dick head.
Yes but we don't have a no raging dickheads policy.
Yes, excellent loophole find.

magnifisaint wrote:Not too old at 25/26.
Yep not too old at all. Not everyone on the playing list can be 19-20 :shock:

Maybe other factors to consider.....

Hold your ground :shock:

If he can be a Sainter without paying exorbitant $$$ then I'd do it.

st.byron wrote:
Devilhead wrote:Would much prefer Fyfe over Dustin

Fyfe is a gun utility - he could play any and every position - Dusty not so
Doubt very much Fyfe will land at the Saints. And.....before even considering him I want to see how he comes back from a busted leg. Some players are not the same after such an injury.
Not saying we are going to land Fyfe just saying that I would prefer his skill set over Martin's - safe to say that he is a lot more versatile ... that said I would be more worried about the growing rumours that he is not very well liked by the playing group at Freo ..... in fact hated if you go by some