Saints stand by Richo

Re: Saints stand by Richo

saynta wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:08pm https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/sai ... 4zvni.html

"St Kilda coach Alan Richardson won't be made a scapegoat for the club's disappointing AFL season, which hit another low with a 35-point loss to the Western Bulldogs on Saturday night.

We're going to support him, not look to blame him, and get the best people around him," Lethlean told 3AW radio.

"My view and the club's view is that 'Richo' is taking us forward and in order for him to take us forward we have to make him the best coach he can be.

Ok at least we know what Lethlean's job is now. It is to try and make the CEO's/Board decision to extend Richo's contract extension look like the right one.

It is not to try and determine what is best for the St Kilda FC. If we are driven into oblivion in attempting this they don't care. Their view is that they are more important than the club.

We are f-------d !!!!!!

chico2001 wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:43pm
st.byron wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:22pm
parkeysainter wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:12pm
st.byron wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:56pm
parkeysainter wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:35pm Of course its not all Richo's fault, but parts of the horrid year and current state lies with him and his assistants. The players are the main culprit IMO.
So a bunch of young men living their dream, who are clearly talented, yet consistently unable to realise their talent, who are taken into the system at 18 years of age and guided into their career by senior leaders and coaches, they are to blame. OK.... :( :(
Leadership starts at the apex of the triangle, not the bottom. It is mainly Richo’s fault, him and the board and CEO.
Its everyone's fault at the club. To purely blame Richo and his assistants is ridiculous. The players are also mainly responsible for their own output at the end of the day.

The club isn't getting that extra 5-10% out of its players that should be and yes, that is a coaching problem of sorts.
Ever worked for a company where the boss is useless? Uninspiring. Known by all employees to be gutless and unwilling to have difficult conversations or make hard calls. A boss whom all the employees know isn’t up to the task and whom they don’t trust in their guts. Ever worked in an environment like that? That’s what we have at STKFC.

And if you mainly blame the players, I’m curious as to what exactly they should be doing different?
And are they fundamentally not good enough or are they talented but not realising their talents?
A good post but the bottom question is the key. Despite people praising 75% of this list up to the max, quoting stats like 20 possessions a game so therefore they are good. The list is a team that sits 15th, at their very best they might win 7/8 games but that is it. 3 or 4 would get a game with a top 8 club. The CEO/board are to blame for this mess and the shite rolls downhill. Richardson and co just have'nt got the ability to do it, even with a full list. The only hope is that every player in 2019 get super fit, play out of their skin and hopefully avoids serious injury. Add some recruits into the mix. Cant see Richardson guiding this club to any great heights. Lethlean will bowl over the low hanging fruit and things will roll on.
I’m not at all convinced that we don’t have top class players on our list. As The Dud posted above, as I see it a bunch of potential A graders have been turned into mediocre B and C graders under the current regime. Agree it starts at the top of the mountain. Any time senior management of any organisation are consistently blaming the employees for repeated poor performance, that says loads more about the lack of leadership amongst the managers than it does about the employees.

Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:24pm I don't think we can really discern much from his comments, they're not going to say he's not the man for the job until they move him on. Also, doesn't a Club publicly backing their Coach, usually precede the Coach's sacking?

Aside from that his comments about our leaders and players are fair enough.

"They need to work harder and take a look at themselves and understand why it is that they can have great patches in games and really poor ones".

Too bloody right.

If he was doing a fair dinkum review all he had to do was to say that he is reviewing all aspects of the club. He doesn't have to say if anyone is safe or not.

BenLong#21

Let's be honest here.
Lethlean has been at the club all of 5 minutes.
He doest have the authority or confidence to come out and say what we all know to be true.

Finnis and the Board made a huge and costly mistake by re-signing Richo for 2019 and 2020.
Last edited by BenLong#21 on Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:12pm, edited 2 times in total.

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:59pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:24pm I don't think we can really discern much from his comments, they're not going to say he's not the man for the job until they move him on. Also, doesn't a Club publicly backing their Coach, usually precede the Coach's sacking?

Aside from that his comments about our leaders and players are fair enough.

"They need to work harder and take a look at themselves and understand why it is that they can have great patches in games and really poor ones".

Too bloody right.

If he was doing a fair dinkum review all he had to do was to say that he is reviewing all aspects of the club. He doesn't have to say if anyone is safe or not.
Can you imagine the journos if he said that? Whately would already be writing the script.

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:55pm
saynta wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 6:08pm https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/sai ... 4zvni.html

"St Kilda coach Alan Richardson won't be made a scapegoat for the club's disappointing AFL season, which hit another low with a 35-point loss to the Western Bulldogs on Saturday night.

We're going to support him, not look to blame him, and get the best people around him," Lethlean told 3AW radio.

"My view and the club's view is that 'Richo' is taking us forward and in order for him to take us forward we have to make him the best coach he can be.

Ok at least we know what Lethlean's job is now. It is to try and make the CEO's/Board decision to extend Richo's contract extension look like the right one.

It is not to try and determine what is best for the St Kilda FC. If we are driven into oblivion in attempting this they don't care. Their view is that they are more important than the club.

We are f-------d !!!!!!
Yep this is what I take out of it
Lethlean is about helping Finnis and co stay safe
A weak president a dumb coach who states after the game... “ I don’t know what the problem is........but I know what the solution is....” :roll: and corporate afl sharks in Lethlean and Finnis who care more about their careeers than the s@ints

Only 1 way out of this - board challenge

The saints ‘management’ team need to ask themselves one very simple question...

‘If it wasn’t for the extension would he be coaching next year?’

The answer to that question is the answer to what they need to do next

I know the answer...do you?

SaintPav wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:54pm What happened to the supposed 3 month notice clause in Richo’s contract or is it a myth?
I'd heard about that. But perhaps it's a myth.

28 points up, then what happened next had nothing to do with coaches, gameplans, talent and development or anything a footy club does outside of game day.

28 points up and flying.

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:31pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:54pm What happened to the supposed 3 month notice clause in Richo’s contract or is it a myth?
I'd heard about that. But perhaps it's a myth.
Conflicting posts from ITK's too...janitor says myth, junior storeman says no...or was it the other way around?

Anyway, so the myth is supposing there's a get-out clause for the club? That would seem a fairly stiff vote of no-confidence in a coach whose contract we'd just extended by 2 years, based on 4 years of incremental improvement...but stranger things have happened. On the other side, I doubt there's any contract that doesn't include some kind of clause based on performance.

footynut

rodgerfox wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 7:13pm Why would a decent, sought after assistant coach come to the Saints to work for Richardson?

What on earth would they gain from it?
Because they could shortly find themselves in the driver's seat when Richo gets the sack mid season

BenLong#21

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:34pm 28 points up, then what happened next had nothing to do with coaches, gameplans, talent and development or anything a footy club does outside of game day.

28 points up and flying.
Richo
107 games. 37 wins.. 68 losses.

Are you saying all 68 losses were just 'bad luck'?

Seeing we all agree that the team is at least four years off being a legitimate contender (if we're lucky)
does that mean that the club is intent on keeping Richo in place for not two but FOUR years? Making
him the club's second longest serving coach by a wide margin? Amazing stuff.

BenLong#21 wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:40pm
Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:34pm 28 points up, then what happened next had nothing to do with coaches, gameplans, talent and development or anything a footy club does outside of game day.

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Nup. Players have to take responsiblity for last nights game. The players didn't control the things they could.

BenLong#21

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:49pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Nup. Players have to take responsiblity for last nights game. The players didn't control the things they could.
Ok. So what about our other poor losses?

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)

BenLong#21 wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:00pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)
I'm talking about last night's game but yeah the inability to control the controllable has been a problem all year. When a team steps it up a gear and starts getting a run on, we don't have players capable of responding and games are taken away from us quickly, usually in under a quarter.

Last nights game was lost by the players.

BenLong#21

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:20pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)
I'm talking about last night's game but yeah the inability to control the controllable has been a problem all year. When a team steps it up a gear and starts getting a run on, we don't have players capable of responding and games are taken away from us quickly, usually in under a quarter.

Seems like you are very fond of Richo. A true believer.

So job for life?

At what point do you lose the faith? If ever.

BenLong#21 wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:36pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)

So job for life?

Just trying to be objective about last nights game and it was lost by the players because they gave up. They should be embarrassed. They gave up.

Yep. They did give up after half time. Alot of players didn't dig in or even care about the end result. The coaches weren't entirely responsible for that attitude and the will of so many players.

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:53pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)

So job for life?

Just trying to be objective about last nights game and it was lost by the players because they gave up. They should be embarrassed. They gave up.
Isn’t it Richo’s job to motivate the players and help them reach their full potential?

Myron Gaines

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:59pm Yep. They did give up after half time. Alot of players didn't dig in or even care about the end result. The coaches weren't entirely responsible for that attitude and the will of so many players.
So what you’re saying is the players are not playing for the coach? Richo has lost the players, as such, must go.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 10:00pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)

So job for life?

Isn’t it Richo’s job to motivate the players and help them reach their full potential?
The players were playing great in the first. That's what is difficult to explain. How could the coach be held responsible for the players giving up after quarter time.

Myron Gaines wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 10:01pm
parkeysainter wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 9:59pm Yep. They did give up after half time. Alot of players didn't dig in or even care about the end result. The coaches weren't entirely responsible for that attitude and the will of so many players.
So what you’re saying is the players are not playing for the coach? Richo has lost the players, as such, must go.
He isn't going...well not according to Lethers. Not saying he has lost the players either. They just don't give a crap about playing for each other and the entire club.

Cairnsman wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 10:22pm
The_Dud wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 10:00pm

28 points up and flying.
Richo

Rd 2 v North (52)
Rd 3 v Crows (49)
Rd 4 v Cats (47)
Rd 7 v Demons (39)
Rd 8 v Dockers (30)
Rd 12 v Swans (71)
Rd 18 v Tigers (54)

So job for life?

The players were playing great in the first. That's what is difficult to explain. How could the coach be held responsible for the players giving up after quarter time.
Because people hate Richo and want him sacked no matter what.

Due to my current location I only get to see a couple of games a year and one of those games this year was the infamous Round 2 North game

On arrival to Etihad I was pumped expecting at least a 6 goal win then I met a mate who has some inside knowledge of the inner workings at the club and he told me in no uncertain terms that Richo did not hold out much hope for the current playing group and was seriously worried about the future going forward

Obviously I was a little taken back by these comments consdering the previous weeks hard fought win against Brisbane and the fact we were going in as hot favourites against North and the promise shown by our younger brigade in the previous seasons

Well after watching the diabolical performance over the next 3 hours I caught up with .my mate again at the end of the game and just shook his head and said I reckon we could be in for a long few years - even I couldn't quite believe what he had told me earlier and thought the game was probably an aberration - looks like he wasn't bullshiteing at all

For sure Richo is struggling to get these guys playing consistent footy but is it him or does the problem lie within the playing group itself - maybe a couple of individuals? What has Richo seen/noticed that had him writing off this team so early in the season