Saints trade rating

Re: Saints trade rating

skeptic wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 9:21pm We got an elite midfielder set to produce more elite form
We got an upcoming mid gun about to blossom
Our rucks are stronger by having got rid of Hickey
We got the highest draft picks possible

A
Piss take, Turkish Roll!!!!!

Premium89

samuraisaint wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 9:34pm By downgrading the 28 to a 36 and a 46, it looks as though we are going to build more depth.
Does seem like a strange move, are the two picks are worth more than 28 in points value?
Perhaps we can up-sell them on draft night for an earlier pick, to a club that needs the points...

Our crack recruiting A-team can finally go home and have a well deserved rest, and get their clothes dry cleaned to remove that fishy smell.

C+
Hannas. I'm quite bullish. I think we can get a preseason into him and he could get back to near his best. I think his bigger issue will be the workload along with being outside the Sydney system.
Kent. Same deal really. Ideally he can get some rotation in the mid. Not a lot, but enough.

Not massively concerned with Hickey. He was our best ruckman, best ruckman when in form, but he just could not find any consistency.

The second rounder on trade sort of s***s me.

I really think we shopped a few players without much interest. Hence Weller getting the lemon and sars today.
So we needed another pick to fill the list.

2018 rooted our currency. Plain and simple.

Fox gave us a B

B in my book,happy getting ,Hannerbury,Kent,slightly improved our draft selections.Missed on Shiel and not as active as expected.Still believe something to play out re pick 4 etc,and don't thing we have lost/delisted much.With new coaches etc coming in overall happy with whats been done so far

Second (or third?) year in a row we’ve talked a big game before the trade period started (going to be aggressive, war chest of money) and failed to deliver.

Clearly shows how we’re rated internally and externally are miles apart.

Quite embarrassing really.

Fox Sports gave us a B. Who said D and F?!

Ted right again...and I'm apparantly too positive. Lol.

====================

ST KILDA

Who left: Tom Hickey (West Coast Eagles)

Who arrived: Dean Kent (Melbourne), Dan Hannebery (Sydney Swans)

Draft Picks (at the time of trade deadline): 4, 36 (via Melbourne pick swap), 46 (via Melbourne pick swap), 67 (via Port Adelaide in 2017), 79

Nick Dal Santo says: “I really like the move of Dan Hannebery, even if he doesn’t play much football. I’d love for him to bring the culture, the standards and the accountability from the Swans and that Bloods culture. Let alone playing some decent football which’d be really nice. He’s had a poor 12 months, it hasn’t been his whole career, people are getting carried away with the amount of poor football that Dan Hannebery has played. I like it. Is he going to be in their best team when they’re hopefully competing for premierships and finals again? I’m not quite sure. But that’s years away.”

Brad Johnson’s predicted ladder position: 17th

Nick Dal Santo’s predicted ladder position: 17th

Grade: B
Last edited by tedtheodorelogan2018 on Wed 17 Oct 2018 10:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

ss1986

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 10:41pm Fox Sports gave us a B. Who said D and F?!

========

ST KILDA

Draft Picks (at the time of trade deadline): 4, 36 (via Melbourne pick swap), 46 (via Melbourne pick swap), 67 (via Port Adelaide in 2017), 79

Nick Dal Santo says: “I really like the move of Dan Hannebery, even if he doesn’t play much football. I’d love for him to bring the culture, the standards and the accountability from the Swans and that Bloods culture. Let alone playing some decent football which’d be really nice. He’s had a poor 12 months, it hasn’t been his whole career, people are getting carried away with the amount of poor football that Dan Hannebery has played. I like it. Is he going to be in their best team when they’re hopefully competing for premierships and finals again? I’m not quite sure. But that’s years away.”

They also gave Hawthorn a B+ , and for a team that finished 4th, subsequently tipped them to finish 14th and 15th respectively.

Morons.

Please stop trying to justify this mega failure.

Yeah yeah. What would Johnson and Dal Santo know...

Probably a C-

To be fair to the recruting staff....they started with at least one hand tied behind their back, in the form of Richo's aura hanging over the club .

Couldn't attract a big name...not even in the running.

Trade for Hanners was ok, was probably even good
Kent low risk big upside
Downgrade a mistake. We can't afford to move toward yet more depth rather than take the best available.

Held pick 4, and should only consider trade for another in top 6 plus bonus.

Maybe it's because my expectations were so low heading in, but I'm pleasantly susprised. We didn't wind up selling the future for Hanners. We didn't try and justify our Richo blunder by making a blind chase for the eight. We rebuilt our draft as best we could and still have pick four. We're still chasing our tail for next year's draft, but that's 2019 Saintsational's problem. The only player we lost was Hickey, which only bothers me insofar as I have to watch Billy Longer play football next year.

So for a final grade, I give our trade period a yellow. You might be able to convince me that it was more of an orange trade period, but I definitely wouldn't go as far as red.

Probably a C-

To be fair to the recruting staff....they started with at least one hand tied behind their back, in the form of Richo's aura hanging over the club .

Couldn't attract a big name...not even in the running.

Trade for Hanners was ok, was probably even good
Kent low risk big upside
Downgrade a mistake. We can't afford to move toward yet more depth rather than take the best available.

Held pick 4, and should only consider trade for another in top 6 plus bonus.

ss1986

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 10:44pm Yeah yeah. What would Johnson and Dal Santo know...
Remember when David King tipped us to go winless one season?

He sure knew a fair bit didnt he...

Those premierships and 300 games more than me sure made all the difference....

Dimwit.

I'll take Dal Santo's and Johnson's B rating over your F rating.

Compared to the other 17 clubs on a whole, our trade rating was very good. Well done Saints!

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 10:41pm Fox Sports gave us a B. Who said D and F?!

====================

ST KILDA

Kind of the part I was hoping we'd influence...
go up instead of down

====================

ST KILDA

I mean no personal insult here, but sometimes you sound like a crazy person.

You are the sort of guy who'd be standing on the bridge of the Titanic after it hit the iceberg saying no worries, now we've got plenty of ice for our drinks.

Yes. Nicky Dal gave us a B.

But take a long, hard look at where he reckons we'll be finishing on the ladder next year. 17th.

Excuse me while I get excited.

He also says St Kilda competing for finals and premierships is years away.

Years.

So much for the rebuild.

That is not success. It is failure. To call it anything else is like trying to put lipstick on a pig.

We all hope Dan Hannebery will be able to give us a glimpse of past glory. And yes he will bring a professionalism that might rub off on some of the younger players. But he is NOT. I repeat NOT the A lister we were hoping for and desperately needed.

I hope Dean Kent can give us something as well. But I wouldn't bet on it. He was up and down for the Dees. More down than up.

We will go into 2019 with pretty much the same team we had in 2018. Plus some talented kids ( hopefully) from this year's draft.

Minus Hickey and Mav. Neither of whom gave us much in 2018 even when they did play.

Lest we forget. This is us marching into the brave new world of 2019 with a team that won 4.5 games of football.

Successful trade period? Yeah Right.

ss1986

LOL Yes. Great trading.... B-rated... down to 17th.

Brisbane, North Melbourne and Freo will be well into their windows before us.

So much for 2020, which still hasnt been officially given up on - for which no high ranking official (read Coach and CEO) has paid with their jobs with as yet either. (Summers walked).

Absolute waste of the last 5-8 years in this club’s history.

Little hope for at least the next 5-7 it seems too.

Even Carlton mightve jagged a flag by then.

This trade period tells us plenty and not all of it is our trade teams fault
- coming off a deplorable, pathetic infield season - NOT a destination club which u need to be to attract the Shiels of the world....no surprise there......
- no cattle worth trading outside Hickey/Lonie - no one was interested in Mavs......yet he played nea4ly full season this year....how’s that work Alan?
- not prepared to offer anything of quality to get......take a look at Hawks......loathe them all you want but they put up (Burton) to get things done......we offered no one.....we have so many HBFs .....ffs offer some up??? Newnes.....Savage....IMO coming off a 4 game debacle of a season .....I’d have offered up quite a few and only moved if I get a reply of an upgrade...
- coach.....industry knows we have a cabbage ....no one is clamouring to learn of pleasing Alan....
Meh.....another year in the wilderness....

Lots of people saying Scully a steal yet not rating St. Kilda's acquisition of Hannebery, who was almost as cheap.
Yet Hannebery is
1. the better player

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 1=C&fid2=C

2. in better physical condition... he may have carried some injuries this year but Scully may be finished... put it this way, Hannebery finished 2017 amongst his sides best in a final, whilst scully had his second operation on his very troubling ankle

Time will tell, but our trade period may have been good.

And besides, didnt Port "win" last years trade period? Look how that panned out

Teflon wrote: Wed 17 Oct 2018 11:32pm
Meh.....another year in the wilderness....
Maybe the Saints should change their name to the Wilderbeests, they spend so much time in the Wilderness.

C-

I like the Hannebery trade
Don't like the Hickey trade
Couldn't care less about the Kent trade
Pick swap seems pointless

What irks me is that we missed out on all of Scully, Preuss, Scrimshaw, Setterfield, Hall, Roughead, Kolodjashnij, Clarke and Newman being traded for peanuts and we couldn't attract an ounce of interest from Shiel, Wingard, May or Neale.

And that we're going into 2019 still carrying Armitage, Lonie, Longer, Savage and Newnes.

====================

ST KILDA

they gave us a B yet predicted we'd go even worse next season?
right...

Hack

Shithouse Trading, just proves our players have no currency and Richo can’t attract any decent players.

Perhaps we need to consider the coaching and recruitment changes as well as the trade period to get a broader perspective. The list assessment by James Gallagher may have been that with the emerging players we have and those returning from long term injury there was no need to sell the farm, particularly if Richo is almost dead man coaching. Realistically is Tom H really a big net loss, boy he was given so many opportunities. Hopefully enough players that were not automatically waved through the exit interview process know they either have to perform next year or get a real job the year after which may focus their minds and sharpen their disposals. I can only wish Shiel a season where he ends up playing VFL and Richo one where he becomes the accidental coach of the year (not putting money on it though). My hopes for 2019 are that we don't get flogged by Sydney and start to play footy that is good to watch and can win games rather than the sterile stuff Richo has been serving up. I guess he has been given a very narrow mandate to improve the win numbers and if not he can become a semi professional fisherman in 2020. Acknowledging I am terribly biased I think we have a good young developing list and Hanneberry is an excellent addition. We so need good coaching (Ratten?) and team spirit, but.