Delisted FA's

Re: Delisted FA's

Joffa Burns wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 1:18pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 1:16pm Menzel signed by Swans.
Yep, here it is ....https://www.sportsradio.com.au/menzel-a ... be-a-swan/
Will smash it at the Swans Corfe!!!!!

The 'Last Post', it's the gift that keeps giving πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 1:52pm
Menzel for Rohan in the end, should have just traded.

Proudly assuming the title of forum Oracle and serving as the inaugural Saintsational β€˜weak as piss brigade’ President.

Joffa Burns wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 2:11pm
Swans got Menzel and #61, so didn't need to trade!!!!!

Swans got the better deal, IMO!!!!!

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 2:23pm

a Better deal
Geesh the saints could have got Menzel in a longer trade

sunsaint wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 3:04pm
stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 2:23pm

a Better deal
Geesh the saints could have got Menzel in a longer trade
Good to see you have got over the 'Hickledik Trade', hahaha!!!!!!

Still going against the 'Obvious Expert's, enjoy the heartache!!!!!

Agreed. Will dominate on the SCG - smaller F50 area to defend/pressure and can use his natural football ability and goal sense. He's going to be a mighty foil for Buddy. The only downside risk is that he may get found out on the bigger grounds away from Sydney and towards the business end at the 'G.

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 3:19pm Still going against the 'Obvious Expert's, enjoy the heartache!!!!!
youre obvious - not sure about expert tho
or are you talking about the West Coast Eagles the reigning 2018 Premiers?

sunsaint wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 5:12pm
stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 3:19pm Still going against the 'Obvious Expert's, enjoy the heartache!!!!!
youre obvious - not sure about expert tho
or are you talking about the West Coast Eagles the reigning 2018 Premiers?
If they win the flag with Hickledik playing, I may give in, but that won't happen!!!!!

If he plays often, they'll go backwards fast!!!!!

He is one of you and others on here, A Spud!!!!!

and to think they could have offered the world of opportunity to Longer -
so if Hickey is a spud - that would make Billy a Pommes Noisettes

and to think they could have offered the world of opportunity to Longer -

sunsaint wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 5:56pm and to think they could have offered the world of opportunity to Longer -
Whatever, you know nothing and have proven to have no football knowledge time and time again, so f*** off out of the way, thanks!!!!!

Your a Turkish Roll!!!!!

Doubt you even really support our club!!!!!

Like it or not d**khead, Billy is here for Longer than Hickledik, get over it or piss off!!!!!

<warning for abuse>

Of course it is!!!!!

Look after and support the special needs posters!!!!!

Whatever!!!!!
Last edited by stonecold on Fri 16 Nov 2018 8:29am, edited 2 times in total.

Longer not longer enough.
Now Sam Alabakis will take over where Sandilands left off.

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 8:38pm
Whatever, you know nothing and have proven to have no football knowledge time and time again, so f*** off out of the way, thanks!!!!!

Your a Turkish Roll!!!!!

Like it or not d**khead, Billy is here for Longer than Hickledik, get over it or piss off!!!!!
Yep when you got nothing - this is all you have to offer
Nice

ace wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 11:20pm Longer not longer enough.
Now Sam Alabakis will take over where Sandilands left off.
Grasping at a very long bow, but good luck to the boy, he couldn't be any worse than the hack we got rid of!!!!!

Hickey, 5 times as many score involvements than Longer, twice as many marks, 3 times as many contested marks, 8 times as many shots on goal, nearly 3 times as many possessions, 2/3 of hit outs to advantage. Go to Footywire and compare the stats over their careers. It's there in black and white. Go and compare Longer versus all the other ruckman in the league. Spend a couple of hours analysing it. You'll see that Longer is one of the worst, or if not the worst ruckman in the league. Outside of hit-outs (and he's below average in this, too), in alll other aspects of his game he's stone motherless last.

sunsaint wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 2:29am
stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 14 Nov 2018 8:38pm

Your a Turkish Roll!!!!!

Yep when you got nothing - this is all you have to offer
Nice
What, you expect me to play nice with a Troll?????

I don't think so!!!!!

cwrcyn wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:15am Hickey, 5 times as many score involvements than Longer, twice as many marks, 3 times as many contested marks, 8 times as many shots on goal, nearly 3 times as many possessions, 2/3 of hit outs to advantage. Go to Footywire and compare the stats over their careers. It's there in black and white. Go and compare Longer versus all the other ruckman in the league. Spend a couple of hours analysing it. You'll see that Longer is one of the worst, or if not the worst ruckman in the league. Outside of hit-outs (and he's below average in this, too), in alll other aspects of his game he's stone motherless last.
The important people thought he is worth keeping, stats matter for nothing obviously!!!!!

I'll go with the 'inner sanctum' decisions thanks, not the stats or wanna be 'experts'!!!!!

Like it or not, Stonecold told you all Hickledik would go and Billy would stay, guess how that panned out?????

The rest is irrelevant!!!!!

It is now up to Billy, no excuses!!!!!

PS. None of those stats tell me Hickledik is a better 'Ruckman', just as I previously stated, a better tall midfielder with zero physical presence or accountability for opponents!!!!!

outside66

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21am
cwrcyn wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:15am Hickey, 5 times as many score involvements than Longer, twice as many marks, 3 times as many contested marks, 8 times as many shots on goal, nearly 3 times as many possessions, 2/3 of hit outs to advantage. Go to Footywire and compare the stats over their careers. It's there in black and white. Go and compare Longer versus all the other ruckman in the league. Spend a couple of hours analysing it. You'll see that Longer is one of the worst, or if not the worst ruckman in the league. Outside of hit-outs (and he's below average in this, too), in alll other aspects of his game he's stone motherless last.
The important people thought he is worth keeping, stats matter for nothing obviously!!!!!

I'll go with the 'inner sanctum' decisions thanks, not the stats or wanna be 'experts'!!!!!

Like it or not, Stonecold told you all Hickledik would go and Billy would stay, guess how that panned out?????

PS. None of those stats tell me Hickledik is a better 'Ruckman', just as I previously stated, a better tall midfielder with zero physical presence or accountability for opponents!!!!!
Hickey was moved on because he had another year to go on a very generous contract. Longer was out of contract, and no other club wanted him thus resulting in a very humble 1 year deal. The same goes for Lewis Pierce and he fact we went so hard at Lycett says it all when it comes to our confidence in the ruck department. It is well known within the club that Longer has not been as professional as he needs to be so let's hope that the penny drops and he pulls his finger out. Longer at present is exceptionally one dimensional but I'm hoping a full pre-season will do him wonders and he can provide more than just a contest in the hit-outs i.e. take a mark, kick a ball, tackle, be an option down forward, help out down back etc etc

Wholly agree.

However, I think you'll find that he's stone [cold] motherless last.

outside66 wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 11:43am

Hickey was moved on because he had another year to go on a very generous contract. Longer was out of contract, and no other club wanted him thus resulting in a very humble 1 year deal. The same goes for Lewis Pierce and he fact we went so hard at Lycett says it all when it comes to our confidence in the ruck department. It is well known within the club that Longer has not been as professional as he needs to be so let's hope that the penny drops and he pulls his finger out. Longer at present is exceptionally one dimensional but I'm hoping a full pre-season will do him wonders and he can provide more than just a contest in the hit-outs i.e. take a mark, kick a ball, tackle, be an option down forward, help out down back etc etc
I too have heard that Longer is not overly professional nor that much in love with his profession at all. Regardless - increased professionalism would probably only result in greater general fitness which - whilst important - would still not make up for his inability to deal with anything below his knees or take a mark around the ground.

As Alan Jeans so famously/correctly said - "you can't put in what God left out Son"

I have previously stated on here about Billy's attitude, also Hickledik is well known in the club ( as you put it), to be too soft and not earning the money he was paid!!!!!

All facts I have previously stated, so nothing new in your post!!!!! ;)

Disclaimer:
All this is from observation. Observation from an often (very) frustrated fan.

And, I am not a ruckman. I have not played footy at the highest level. (Though looking back, maybe I could have... a bit. Certainly not today's game though. No mud. Need mud!!! To slow people down, and to make all the receivers have to actually try to earn their kicks... which most of them can't. :twisted: )

So, allowing for those handicaps, here's what I've 'observed', and what I don't get...

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21am... Like it or not, Stonecold told you all Hickledik would go and Billy would stay, guess how that panned out?????

I certainly agree with the first sentence Lazar, but not the second.

I stand to be corrected on this, but, my understanding is that the club has tried for the last two seasons (at least) to shop Billy around. But no takers. That's why he's still with us.

I don't know how long we've tried to shop Hickey around, but this year at least, we found a taker. Even though I reckon we let him go for unders. So that's why Hickey is now not with us.

(Or maybe... we didn't actually shop Hickey around??? Lazar, your mate Dragstar posted that Hickey himself asked to be traded.

Dragstar, can you confirm?)

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21amIt is now up to Billy, no excuses!!!!!

PS. None of those stats tell me Hickledik is a better 'Ruckman'...
Agreed. No excuses.

Billy's problem though, from everything I've seen of him playing, is not that he has no excuses, but that he has no tools.

The only single stat in which he is (numerically) somewhat half decent is tap outs. But I'd argue that that one is (almost totally) irrelevant in Billy's case, because he taps blindly. Taps to our advantage, to their advantage, taps to the great vacuum of outer space... it's purely random, as Billy, even when unopposed, doesn't direct his taps.

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21amPS. ... Hickledik... a better tall midfielder with zero physical presence or accountability for opponents!!!!!
Lazar, this is the part of your argument that I do get. (Hooray, eh? :wink: ) The importance of a big bloke using his big bloke's body to advantage.

What I don't get is that Billy is significantly better than Hickey here. By 'significantly', I mean, significantly enough to offset Billy's lack of contribution in any other area.

I recall you saying how our mids appreciate Billy's physical presence out there. But can you elaborate on what this presence involves? I'm confused, as I haven't seen Billy using his big frame to clear a path for his mids, I haven't seen him scrapping on the ground and firing the ball out to a mid. I have seen him try to shepherd, but he's too often too slow to get to a position where a shepherd/a block would help us. Same goes for being accountable for his bloke around the ground. Against most ruckmen, he's too slow, too immobile.

So yes, I reckon I get the importance of the 'presence' thing from a ruckman. I get that Hickey struggles in this area. And I get that this far into his career, Tom is unlikely to be able to improve that area of his game much - just doesn't have the frame. And probably not the mongrel either(?)

Billy has the frame and the mongrel, but IMHO, and from my observations, Billy has nothing else that's necessary to contribute effectively on an AFL field.

Summary:
Lazar, I totally accept your point re the desirability/need for a ruckman who can provide a strong physical presence. My issue. When you actually break it down, Billy's lack of mobility to get into positions that matter, severely limits his ability to impact a game in that way. And he offers nothing else. That latter point is the problem.

So, if faced with the choice, IMHO, I'd happily wear Tom's physicality shortcomings, for Tom's possessions. (Possessions, which lets not forget, include several solo centre bounce clearances in most matches.)

Most preferably though, I'd run with Lou Pierce. And with Marshall as forward/backup ruckman. (Your thoughts on those two Lazar?)
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Thu 15 Nov 2018 1:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

skeptic wrote: ↑Tue 30 Jan 2024 8:07pmCongrats to Dave McNamara - hereby dubbed the KNOWINGEST KNOW IT ALL of Saintsational
outside66

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 12:55pm

I have previously stated on here about Billy's attitude, also Hickledik is well known in the club ( as you put it), to be too soft and not earning the money he was paid!!!!!

All facts I have previously stated, so nothing new in your post!!!!! ;)
Good on you mate, I just thought that i'd chime in to point out that whilst you're making Billy to look like the Mesiah whilst consistently having a dig at Hickey, the FACTS are that Hickey has thus far contributed more to the club onfield as a ruckman than Billy has. If we got Lycett then Billy would've been shown the door. Don't get me wrong, I want Billy to succeed and I think he is more than capable of doing so...

Dave McNamara wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 1:02pm Disclaimer:
All this is from observation. Observation from an often (very) frustrated fan.

And, I am not a ruckman. I have not played footy at the highest level. (Though looking back, maybe I could have... a bit. Certainly not today's game though. No mud. Need mud!!! To slow people down, and to make all the receivers have to actually try to earn their kicks... which most of them can't. :twisted: )

So, allowing for those handicaps, here's what I've 'observed', and what I don't get...

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21am... Like it or not, Stonecold told you all Hickledik would go and Billy would stay, guess how that panned out?????

I certainly agree with the first sentence Lazar, but not the second.

I stand to be corrected on this, but, my understanding is that the club has tried for the last two seasons (at least) to shop Billy around. But no takers. That's why he's still with us.

I don't know how long we've tried to shop Hickey around, but this year at least, we found a taker. Even though I reckon we let him go for unders. So that's why Hickey is now not with us.

(Or maybe... we didn't actually shop Hickey around??? Lazar, your mate Dragstar posted that Hickey himself asked to be traded.

Dragstar, can you confirm?)

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21amIt is now up to Billy, no excuses!!!!!

PS. None of those stats tell me Hickledik is a better 'Ruckman'...
Agreed. No excuses.

Billy's problem though, from everything I've seen of him playing, is not that he has no excuses, but that he has no tools.

The only single stat in which he is (numerically) somewhat half decent is tap outs. But I'd argue that that one is (almost totally) irrelevant in Billy's case, because he taps blindly. Taps to our advantage, to their advantage, taps to the great vacuum of outer space... it's purely random, as Billy, even when unopposed, doesn't direct his taps.

stonecold wrote: ↑Thu 15 Nov 2018 8:21amPS. ... Hickledik... a better tall midfielder with zero physical presence or accountability for opponents!!!!!
Lazar, this is the part of your argument that I do get. (Hooray, eh? :wink: ) The importance of a big bloke using his big bloke's body to advantage.

What I don't get is that Billy is significantly better than Hickey here. By 'significantly', I mean, significantly enough to offset Billy's lack of contribution in any other area.

I recall you saying how our mids appreciate Billy's physical presence out there. But can you elaborate on what this presence involves? I'm confused, as I haven't seen Billy using his big frame to clear a path for his mids, I haven't seen him scrapping on the ground and firing the ball out to a mid. I have seen him try to shepherd, but he's too often too slow to get to a position where a shepherd/a block would help us. Same goes for being accountable for his bloke around the ground. Against most ruckmen, he's too slow, too immobile.

So yes, I reckon I get the importance of the 'presence' thing from a ruckman. I get that Hickey struggles in this area. And I get that this far into his career, Tom is unlikely to be able to improve that area of his game much - just doesn't have the frame. And probably not the mongrel either(?)

Billy has the frame and the mongrel, but IMHO, and from my observations, Billy has nothing else that's necessary to contribute effectively on an AFL field.

Summary:
Lazar, I totally accept your point re the desirability/need for a ruckman who can provide a strong physical presence. My issue. When you actually break it down, Billy's lack of mobility to get into positions that matter, severely limits his ability to impact a game in that way. And he offers nothing else. That latter point is the problem.

So, if faced with the choice, IMHO, I'd happily wear Tom's physicality shortcomings, for Tom's possessions. (Possessions, which lets not forget, include several solo centre bounce clearances in most matches.)

Most preferably though, I'd run with Lou Pierce. And with Marshall as forward/backup ruckman. (Your thoughts on those two Lazar?)
Fair enough Dave, your opinion your entitled to it, some very fictional points and others non fictional!!!!!!

The club never tried to off load Billy but were happy to see the back Hickey, this I know!!!!!

Also, we got overs for Hickledik, let's see who goes better, him or Hanner's?????

I already know the answer, each to their own Dave, no offence intended!!!!!

No offence taken. :)

Unders (or not) for your mate, Lazar? The draft pick/s received from the E-girls, taken in isolation, was unders, IMHO. I reckon that the fact that we got to put that towards securing Hannebery masks this fact.

Also whilst I'm at it, (along with what the Saudis did with Bluthy's remains), you haven't told us yet, your assessment of Pierce and Marshall(?) Ta.

skeptic wrote: ↑Tue 30 Jan 2024 8:07pmCongrats to Dave McNamara - hereby dubbed the KNOWINGEST KNOW IT ALL of Saintsational