Im going to be cheeky and raise the ire of DrSpaceman
wouldnt it just be easier to move the saints to JO?
Im going to be cheeky and raise the ire of DrSpaceman
Im going to fly blind without looking at the balance sheet and surmise that increase is simply accounting for the fixed asset in the new building
Mr TheodoreRooseveltLogan, I couldn't agree more with you might great friend!tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: ↑Sun 25 Nov 2018 5:19pm Like. Club is turning the corner with this stuff.
Have to agree, all good ideas. Food trucks are awesome as well.outside66 wrote: ↑Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.
It currently is just a shiny pokie den with no restaurant (cafe is horrible and you can get better quality food at the Shell down the road). Also, there was zero effort put in by the club to make money for interstate games i.e. BBQ, sell merch, have non-playing players present, put something on for the kids etc.
What should've been done;
I'd approach it as 'bringing Acland Street to Moorabbin' by doing the following;
- Make it a lively place that locals want to go to as the only nearby bar/pub is the Sandbelt which is awful.
- Have good food (A full commercial kitchen is not even being used), get involved with some local brewhouses (2 Brothers in Moorabbin comes to mine) for the craft beer scene
- Tap into our bayside-peninsula heartland wine regions
- Have good music where people can have a boogie on a Fri/Sat night, offer the space to local community groups during the day (elderly and disabled activity groups)
get the Sunday sessions happening
- Plan for a bigger picture music festival (Sandringham are currently applying to do one)
- Make it known publicly as to when the Saints train. There is no such thing as a 'closed' session as they are in a public space therefore encourage Sainters to get down to training.
Basically do things that locals want to come spend their money at St Kilda FC irrespective of whether they follow the Saints or not. That IMO is where the Saints could really get back to being relevant and a true community group. Rather than sitting their with our hand out and 'making' money at the expense of problem gamblers whilst doing nothing positive.
As someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.outside66 wrote: ↑Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.
It currently is just a shiny pokie den with no restaurant (cafe is horrible and you can get better quality food at the Shell down the road). Also, there was zero effort put in by the club to make money for interstate games i.e. BBQ, sell merch, have non-playing players present, put something on for the kids etc.
I'd approach it as 'bringing Acland Street to Moorabbin' by doing the following;
- Make it a lively place that locals want to go to as the only nearby bar/pub is the Sandbelt which is awful.
- Have good food (A full commercial kitchen is not even being used), get involved with some local brewhouses (2 Brothers in Moorabbin comes to mine) for the craft beer scene
- Have good music where people can have a boogie on a Fri/Sat night, offer the space to local community groups during the day (elderly and disabled activity groups)
- Plan for a bigger picture music festival (Sandringham are currently applying to do one)
- Make it known publicly as to when the Saints train. There is no such thing as a 'closed' session as they are in a public space therefore encourage Sainters to get down to training.
Basically do things that locals want to come spend their money at St Kilda FC irrespective of whether they follow the Saints or not. That IMO is where the Saints could really get back to being relevant and a true community group. Rather than sitting their with our hand out and 'making' money at the expense of problem gamblers whilst doing nothing positive.
Saints beers is a great call! That would be a great experience if you were able to hear the team selection before the media. The CS also do the banner on a Thursday where i assume it would be moved from the bowls club to Moorabbin next year which would be a good opportunity for others to help out with or at least watch the process.Cairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29amAs someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.outside66 wrote: ↑Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.
I'd also look at reviving Thursday nights at the social club and having the team sheets read out to the punters like the good ole days. I pumped heaps of coin into the meat tray raffles back then.
And maybe we could also get Philip Morris to sponsor us againCairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am
As someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.
Give it a rest Dave. Never going to happen.Dave McNamara wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 10:45pm Hi OS66, your post above is along the lines of exactly what we need to do to capitalise on what makes our club so great and unique and lovably non-conformist. Food and drink, bands, movies... the place to be.
Only thing is... not to bring Ackland Street, Fitzroy Street, the Upper and Lower Esplanade et al to Moorabbin. No point.
No.
We go to them!
Our beloved club must join the Good Doctor.. and return home.
As an interstater, I’m looking forward to a chance to visit the new facilities when I’m in town next.outside66 wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 9:45amSaints beers is a great call! That would be a great experience if you were able to hear the team selection before the media. The CS also do the banner on a Thursday where i assume it would be moved from the bowls club to Moorabbin next year which would be a good opportunity for others to help out with or at least watch the process.Cairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29amAs someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.outside66 wrote: ↑Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.
I'd also look at reviving Thursday nights at the social club and having the team sheets read out to the punters like the good ole days. I pumped heaps of coin into the meat tray raffles back then.
Great idea but the advertising would have to be covered over so the club come accross as being a responsible citizen. They could put a bike shed over on the old outer wing to sell cigs to the high school kids while government officials hand out pamphlets providing advice on the negative health effects of smoking and how to access tax payer funded cancer treatment.Jacks Back wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 10:13pmAnd maybe we could also get Philip Morris to sponsor us againCairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am
As someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.
On a side note, there’s a ripper litter cafe opened up on the corner of South Road and Chapel road called Custodian Kitchen. Been there for about 6 months. By far the best coffee in the state IMO and really good food.Cairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am
No advertising on this site. This should be an automatic IP Ban...................................Only joking!!skeptic wrote: ↑Fri 21 Dec 2018 10:12amOn a side note, there’s a ripper litter cafe opened up on the corner of South Road and Chapel road called Custodian Kitchen. Been there for about 6 months. By far the best coffee in the state IMO and really good food.Cairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am
Check it out if you’re looking for a feed
That's a fair wrap, I'll have to check it out.skeptic wrote: ↑Fri 21 Dec 2018 10:12amOn a side note, there’s a ripper litter cafe opened up on the corner of South Road and Chapel road called Custodian Kitchen. Been there for about 6 months. By far the best coffee in the state IMO and really good food.Cairnsman wrote: ↑Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am
Check it out if you’re looking for a feed