Dermot our new goal kicking coach

Re: Dermot our new goal kicking coach

2009. - A question put to Dermott leading up to the Grand Final.

"Geelong or St.Kilda, who will win it"?

Hi answer: "It wont be St.Kilda, because it's St.Kilda".

This prick has repeatedly disrespected the club year after year.

Im not surprised by this. I remember an interview with Derm a while back and he was reminiscing about Allen Jeans and how he always had a soft spot for the Saints. Apparently Jeansy said to Derm he'd love it if some day Derm would help the Saints out in some way, Derm said he would if he could. Looks like Derms keeping his word. Good get IMO.

a club with an eye on going places
probably needs a bit of swagger
about the place

personally , not my cup of green tea

but if he can mongrel up our crew a tad
... thats good in my book

Don't you just love it.

The King and The Kid.

Some people will do anything for money, but good on him nevertheless.

We've all been calling for something to be done about our front half and the club have actioned a strategy. I'm all for it.

barneyboyz

bigred wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:40pm 2009. - A question put to Dermott leading up to the Grand Final.

Respect or not, he was right on that point :) Took Geelong many a grand final to finally work it out too

I reckon whatever Dermot has to offer, would do us well to listen

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

Love it. Best analyst in the game for my money. And a perfect match for what we're on about this season.

Don't think Dicko has been fired as our goal kicking coach though. Dermie has a different role.

spert wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:11pm
Scollop wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 12:02pm Uck me...I knew it!!

We are being overun by ex-Hawthorn people. Probably end up being as effective as bloody Dicko...

which is not effective so far...that bloody Pelchen fella came to us after Hawthorn. Although I suppose he wasn't really a true Hawks person was he? I suppose when Peter Hudson came to us it was all very positive. In fact I thnik it was quite huge

Hey, I'm begginning to think this might work...

We are similar to them when they were a struggling club 60 years ago and they had only 1 flag and they know what it's like to be up against the power clubs for so long. Maybe Hawthorn people deep down understand what that is like and they want to help us out. Didn't we get some high level administrative recruit who does football statistical analysis from Hawthorn?

Of course what about Ratts...That's right Hawthorn. Who knows who is next. Clarko might want to come on board
As long as we don't see Jeff Kennett come on board, I'm happy.
Me too. Dermie certainly knows his craft. My post was tongue in cheek for those that didn't pick up on it.

Quite frankly, I don't give a continental about Dermot Brereton's previous utterances about the Saints, water under the bridge. What I DO care about however, is seeing this club of ours prosper ON the field and off it. This bloke was one of the all-time great players of our game. He comes from a club background that promoted a professional and winning culture. I welcome this appointment, and welcome "The Kid" aboard!

thejiggingsaint wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 4:26pm Quite frankly, I don't give a continental about Dermot Brereton's previous utterances about the Saints, water under the bridge. What I DO care about however, is seeing this club of ours prosper ON the field and off it. This bloke was one of the all-time great players of our game. He comes from a club background that promoted a professional and winning culture. I welcome this appointment, and welcome "The Kid" aboard!
Agree, the more people you can get around the club from a winning culture the better. :D

Dermot the footballer was a star and a legend and also tough as nails. Targeted almost every game and wore the hits and hurt them in the score board.
If you listen to what he says about marking, kicking positioning the body etc he knows his craft.
He will be helping us with kicking at goal but there will be so much more. Already looks at Parker and sees where he can improve and flagged king as needing to do a lot more than outstretch his opponents when going for marks. Time will tell but the one thing noone can say about lethlean is that he isn't making things happen off the field

Apologies for the misleading title by the way, got the wrong end of the stick from the passing glance at the tv this morning

bigred wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:40pm 2009. - A question put to Dermott leading up to the Grand Final.

Yep, and he's really public about it.

Got stuck in again when his close mate Watters got the boot too.

saynta wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:56pm Some people will do anything for money, but good on him nevertheless.

Gosh, I feel somewhat torn about this Dermie appointment. Have had no love for him since his playing days; and what Big Red said before, he has continually ridiculed the club over the years, except when his best mate was given the coaching job in 2012. Oh well, stranger things have happened in the football world. If he can help us move onto becoming a better team, I'll just have to go along with it :?
stonecold wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 10:45am He is not our goal kicking coach!!!!!

He is helping our forwards with their craft, including Marshall (who is still seen predominantly as a forward within the Club), interesting!!!!!
Yeah I would assume Ben Dixon is still our goal kicking coach?

spert wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 10:42am Spoke to Dermie some years ago, and he didn't give the impression he hated the Saints, in fact he was keen to see us do well and mainly reckoned we were recruiting the wrong kind of players..or something similar.
He gives us a fair roast every time he commentates our games. I always heard the rumour was he was salty about how his mate Watters got treated.

Anyway, hope he can get the forward line firing. We should have one of the best forward lines in the league on paper if we can start kicking goals instead of points.

It was ratten's idea, not Simon's.

from AFL News:

'The idea to install someone of Brereton’s ilk was the brainchild of assistant coach Brett Ratten, Richardson said, given the young forward setup.

“It’s a terrific opportunity for us,” he said.

“I played a year with Dermie – his last year of footy with the Pies – and what he did for Sav Rocca was enormous. He was really able to elevate and support the coaches in elevating Sav’s game.

“Any time you can get a real expert into your program … the work that Billy Slater’s been doing with our young leaders has been terrific. Any of those levers that you can pull to go to another level is advantageous, and we think Dermie can help us.”

Brereton was vocal throughout the session, donning a marking bag at one point to work closely with forwards including highly-touted draftee Max King, who embarked on his first full training session since his knee reconstruction."

Dermie on a regular radio spot and further explained his role- and his black eye.

KB and the Doc - Dermott Brereton on KB and the Doc - Thursday, April 18 https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=361442 via @whooshkaa

I think Dermie disliked the Saints for a bit because the Aboriginal fellas in Winmar and Krakour (from memory) cleaned him up one day in the late 80's or early 90's.

Max King wasn't born when Dermie hung up his boots.

Would be like Peter Hudson coming in to help Nick Riewoldt.

Bartlett got stuck into Dermie on his radio show for putting s*** on the saints. He, Dermie, had stated that it wasn't in our DNA to be successful. Bartlet asked him if he was going to apologise now that he is on the payroll.

Dermie said he was going to change the DNA,

Might just be successful too.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 19 Apr 2019 1:47pm, edited 1 time in total.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Fri 19 Apr 2019 5:00am Max King wasn't born when Dermie hung up his boots.

Would be like Peter Hudson coming in to help Nick Riewoldt.

Well Hudson improved Loewes kicking enormously.

saynta wrote: Fri 19 Apr 2019 11:43am Bartlett got stuck into Dermie on his radio show for putting s*** on thev saints. He, Dermie had stated that it wasn't in our DNA to be successful. Bartlet asked him if he was going to apologise now that he is on the payroll.

Dermie said he was going to change the DNA,

Might just be successful too.
I was wondering if he might do a bit of work with the players in terms of self belief. Nobody had a bigger ego than Dermie but I think at the top level in any sport you need a bit of swagger.

I would've preferred we somehow got Plugger, but I'm delighted with Brereton. Our forwards will be better for it.