Second Ruck for 2020 and beyond

Re: Second Ruck for 2020 and beyond

Can't help but feel the need to find another ruck/forward just got a bit more urgent after seeing what happened on the weekend.

Carlisle shouldn't be allowed forward ever again. And Marshall is still clearly learning his craft.

In addition to the cover required for any injuries, it feels like we need somebody to smooth over the transition until Max King is 21-22.

I'd get Zac Smith as a backup, cheap and a good enough back up.

2 different positions needed. 1 is a back up first ruck, the other is a chop out player who rucks during games while No1 ruck gets a rest.

I like the idea of looking at the guys around 21 with couples years VFL/ SANFL/ WAFL experience, as a back up ruckman should Marshall get injured. A kid who wasn't ready at 18 but has filled out and can work as a back up first ruck if needed.

Game day wise the modern game means second ruck must be primarily a player from another position as their first option. Bruce, Tomlinson( if came) would be options. They need to be able to get in best 22 based on primary role though so not carried. King in a few years also an option but not yet. Find a player like Richmond has tall, not a ruck, mobile who can fill that role.

SinCitySainter

Ryder is the one I would be looking at.
Can do a job at either end of the ground as he showed in his days at the Bombers and is a good first ruck if Marshall goes down.

Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 6:03pm I'd get Zac Smith as a backup, cheap and a good enough back up.
Watched him and Stanley play together on Sunday...would very happily take Smith off Geelong's hands. They aren't playing him/don't rate him (6 games in 2 years) and will probably delist him.

I thought he was very good (in the period I watched). Definitely one to consider, as I think he'll be available very cheaply.

We almost certainly have to make a move on one cheap ruckman to cover the fact we're losing two.
SinCitySainter wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 7:16pm Ryder is the one I would be looking at.
Can do a job at either end of the ground as he showed in his days at the Bombers and is a good first ruck if Marshall goes down.
Obviously would be a great option if we can get him, although I'd think his wages are enormous.

Worth looking into, certainly.
older saint wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 7:11pm I like the idea of looking at the guys around 21 with couples years VFL/ SANFL/ WAFL experience, as a back up ruckman should Marshall get injured. A kid who wasn't ready at 18 but has filled out and can work as a back up first ruck if needed.
The incredible number of "late-blooming" ruckmen who come through the state leagues suggest this is nearly always the best-value way to go.

Will be interested to see if there's any obvious ones floating about in the 22-23 age bracket.

Perhaps we should be asking two separate questions.

1. If Marshall gets injured who can we bring into the team to play ruck?
2. Marshall needs to rest during each game, who can we run through the ruck when he's taking a break?

1st question. Either Longer or Pierce, if fit are adequate backup ruck options if Marshall gets injured. Blokes like Goldstein and Ryder are too expensive to recruit and allow to rot at Sandringham.

2nd question is more complex. Marshall is valuable because he can play ruck as well key forward. It would be great to have two of these, but ideally someone who can earn a position in the team as a key forward. and who is versatile around the ground. At the risk of criticism somebody like Rhys Stanley may be useful 2nd ruck.

St Loxton

Just don't think Longer could ever play as a modern day ruck, just gone past him.

A 19 yr old Spider Everitt would be handy.

Is the thinking:

Ruck: Goldstein (costs just salary cap as a free agent) > Marshall (currently)
CHF: Marshall > Bruce (and younger)
FF: M. King
Membery only 25 and would compliment Marshall as the high half forward

Key backs:
Brown (one more year but only on gorilla forwards) / Carlisle on the tall less physical forwards
Battle starring at CHB - can also swing forward
Wilke on high half forwards (roberton still a chance to return)

Joyce / Austin deveoping to replace Brown
Clavarino / possible recruit B. King to replace Carlisle

Is Bruce expendable? Trade value? Versus keep value?

Port will give away the two that played for them on the weekend if you just ask Kenny Hinkley.

The Recruit

Goldstein will be at the cats next year so he is out

Zac Smith would be okay
I would look at Tom Nicholls from the Gold Coast
27 yrs old, 203cm hasn’t played since 2016 in a team that has been terrible with player development, fitness etc.

Would come dirt cheap

The Recruit wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 11:11pm
I would look at Tom Nicholls from the Gold Coast
27 yrs old, 203cm hasn’t played since 2016 in a team that has been terrible with player development, fitness etc.

Would come dirt cheap
Sandy would love him, they haven't had a ruckman all year. :lol: :lol:

It's been so long i wouldn't know how to rate him.

Whats Kreuzer's contract situation?

barneyboyz

evertonfc wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 5:43pm Can't help but feel the need to find another ruck/forward just got a bit more urgent after seeing what happened on the weekend.

Carlisle shouldn't be allowed forward ever again. And Marshall is still clearly learning his craft.

In addition to the cover required for any injuries, it feels like we need somebody to smooth over the transition until Max King is 21-22.
This might be controversial, but to me Carlisle looks to purposefully miss marks when forward. He is one of the best marks of the football, but can be very easilly spoiled at times

Can be very frustrating, Jake. Needs a very good coach who can get the best out of him (no one has as yet)

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

If we don't get a backup ruck for Marshall, then we're going nowhere.

Toy Saint wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 9:10pm 1st question. Either Longer or Pierce, if fit are adequate backup ruck options if Marshall gets injured. Blokes like Goldstein and Ryder are too expensive to recruit and allow to rot at Sandringham.
I think....that we are probably going to have to delist both. Hence the extra urgency around this subject - we could go into next year having one good ruck and one kid who hasn't played a game.

Both Pierce and Longer seem to have suffered serious issues that would make playing on seem pretty difficult, IMO.

outside66

Sam Jacobs from Adelaide would be one to watch as well I reckon. Out of contract this year and not getting a regular game. Could be a handy back-up and at 32 in April, he wouldn't cost much.

Toy Saint wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 9:10pmAt the risk of criticism somebody like Rhys Stanley may be useful 2nd ruck.
It isn't a silly idea, but I think Stanley would end up playing 80% of his time on the bench or up forward.

That's why I'm keen on Jenkins. You get prime value out of him either as a ruck or a forward.

That said, Stanley would be cheaper, his body seems in good condition and as far as #2 rucks go, we've had a lot worse in the form of Longer (in the past few years) and Pierce.

Read the sun

tony74 wrote: Tue 20 Aug 2019 8:31pmRead the sun
Gone off Goldy, who are we into now?

Ryder

2nd ruck

One of the most overrated things in footy

Hardly any teams have one

Even Port can’t seem to play Ryder and Lycette in the same side... and they are both good players... and Ryder can pinch hit forward
But with Dixon and Westhoff Forward, they can’t afford another 200cm player not being able to apply forward pressure, nor can they have a guy sitting on the pine 50% of the time.

Ideally
Second ruckman comes from your fwd line or the defender that takes the opposition second ruck.
Not a player who is a ruckman who can’t contribute elsewhere

And if anyone suggests moving Rowan Forward, ill fair dinkum spew up

Can Carlisle ruck (2nd ruck) ?
We have good cover for key defenders. Battle, Wilkie, and a few maybes next year, Brown, Joyce, Clav.
Rotate Carlisle between key defence, ruck and bench.

Alabakis

groupie1

I think we'll not get an outstanding ruckman. Who would want to come to play second string? Change of focus required now. We need a backup ruckman. The names mentioned aren't that.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
groupie1

SinCitySainter wrote: Mon 19 Aug 2019 7:16pm Ryder is the one I would be looking at.
He won't come. He would surely be a no.1 ruck; won't come to play second fiddle.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga