Saints v Dees - MATCH THREAD 7:10pm

Loyal

any injuries aside from gilbo? he'll be right.
what was the read on gards?

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?

Yeah we won, but a very very unimpressive win, skill errors everywhere.
If we had played a decent team tonight and played like that, we would have been smashed!

Only good thing I can take from the game was that Zac played his best game for the night, well done Zac.

But we we're very ordinary tonight, yeah we won easily, but the opposition wasn't very good.

This side is in a dangerous cruise mode.

Pwoit

Loyal wrote: what was the read on gards?
Could be in trouble - but blessing in disguise could do with a rest has done well up to now.

Loyal

Pwoit wrote:
Loyal wrote: what was the read on gards?
Could be in trouble - but blessing in disguise could do with a rest has done well up to now.
dunno.
in his corner is the fact that the game was at carrara instead of etihad.
any contact. i'm sure we'll here about it. would be good to see some more of bigmac.
dunno. haven't seen it personally.
anything to worry about?

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?
Schillaci

Didn't sound like a good game but always great to win.
We're still unbeaten and can be pleased that we won not playing at our best.

We missed Milne's crumbing when the ball came to ground after marking contests.
Also missed him chasing after, and putting pressure on opposition defenders.

Milne will come back in next week maybe for Gwilt.
Raph Clarke has left himself exposed to demotion to the VFL.
If Max is fit he could easil come in for Raph.

Mate, a negating last line defender will not replace the likes of Raph Clarke who can play anywhere.

And Max does not play forward, so he will not replace Gwilt.

Keep looking though and you will come up with someone for him to replace - but it has to be like for like.

Personally I reckon Baker will go for Max.

Both are negating, defensive players except Max is not exposed overhead.

saintly_safes

Well what can I say im almost stuck for words . I reallly feel sorry for the supporters that made the effort to go all the way up to Queensland to watch that tripe. Did it rain or was it that dewy or was it just the worst game in AFL history.My god what are we doing. Obviously it was a full on flood but that was an absolute discrace from both teams.This game has single handely brought the game back to a all time low :cry: Im sort of happy we won but god give me stregnth that was worse than the St.kilda Hawthorn debarcle a few years back

saintly_safes wrote:Well what can I say im almost stuck for words . I reallly feel sorry for the supporters that made the effort to go all the way up to Queensland to watch that tripe. Did it rain or was it that dewy or was it just the worst game in AFL history.My god what are we doing. Obviously it was a full on flood but that was an absolute discrace from both teams.This game has single handely brought the game back to a all time low :cry: Im sort of happy we won but god give me stregnth that was worse than the St.kilda Hawthorn debarcle a few years back
Except maybe that we won this time??? 8-)

Hitouts: Melbourne 44, St Kilda 22 :shock: :shock: :shock:

we won - 4 points - and a percentage for that game of 180.44%

Ugly - gruelling - but we won and won well!

The Dees threw everything at us - We are the hunted! We need to learn how to play that style of football!

If we had played a decent team tonight and played like that, we would have been smashed!

perhaps "decent" teams don't spend the last 3/4 of a game already lost flooding the back-half , and hell bent on restricting their losing margin
In which case we wouldn't have to have played like we did to not only accomodate them , but to venture on with the 4 points relatively un pressured and unscathed, to fight another day in what will be a long season
...some peeps just don't get it IMHO!