St Kilda Performance on Footy Show Review

Slightly bemused that anyone cant see that on balance it would be better if another less potentially controversial skit had been chosen... and that after the media run we've had (justified or otherwise, it's been very ordinary) it would have been prudent of the club to enquire about the skit beforehand... and not look like headless chooks in the aftermath.

No, no one died ('get a life', oh dear.... 'whatever'?), but the incident demonstrates a lack of judgement and effective communication, again.

To me, that's the crux.

markp wrote:Slightly bemused that anyone cant see that on balance it would be better if another less potentially controversial skit had been chosen... and that after the media run we've had (justified or otherwise, it's been very ordinary) it would have been prudent of the club to enquire about the skit beforehand... and not look like headless chooks in the aftermath.

No, no one died ('get a life', oh dear.... 'whatever'?), but the incident demonstrates a lack of judgement and effective communication, again.

To me, that's the crux.
It's not necessarily one or the other markp.

I for one wish they had shown the good sense to say "no, we are not going to perform that piece." But I also believe that it really wasn't that bad. Or certainly not that bad in the context of the whole revue, which is pretty tasteless anyway. And I say that having watched it again 3 days later after a bit of the hysteria had died down.

Yep, I would have been glad if it had never happened. But it did. And strangely, the only place where it still seems to be being discussed is on this forum.

SPOT-ON Markp! some on here rant on about the (perceived) bias and persecution of us by the media (and Ch9 in particular) and then back those nobheads who went on the footy show skit! :roll: Really, these guys can't have it both ways, if you put yourselves into the spotlight in the way they did (given all the previous history of this issue) then you're going to cop whatever flak comes with it! DUMB DUMB DUMB!!!!!! :twisted:

:oops: SORRY! about the double-post

thejiggingsaint wrote::oops: SORRY! about the double-post
That just made it worse post hog :P :wink:

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Dr Spaceman wrote:strangely, the only place where it still seems to be being discussed is on this forum.
I dunno, I reckon it would be safe to say it's come up at 151 East Road, Seaford :wink:

markp wrote:Slightly bemused that anyone cant see that on balance it would be better if another less potentially controversial skit had been chosen... and that after the media run we've had (justified or otherwise, it's been very ordinary) it would have been prudent of the club to enquire about the skit beforehand... and not look like headless chooks in the aftermath.

To me, that's the crux.

I for one wish they had shown the good sense to say "no, we are not going to perform that piece." But I also believe that it really wasn't that bad. Or certainly not that bad in the context of the whole revue, which is pretty tasteless anyway. And I say that having watched it again 3 days later after a bit of the hysteria had died down.

Yep, I would have been glad if it had never happened. But it did. And strangely, the only place where it still seems to be being discussed is on this forum.
I agree with everything except your last sentence.

I see in an unrelated article quoted on here today it's being called the footy show stripper fiasco, on ten news I saw it reported as a St Kilda's sleazy dance routine, and on it went and goes... all very preventable.

Do a consumer test and ask people what words they'd associate with the club in light of the routine, or in general over the last couple of years... and ask yourself if you'd want to associate a product of yours with that image.

In isolation the skit is a virtual nothing... in the context of our run over the last couple of years, you've gotta say WTF.

markp wrote:

To me, that's the crux.

I see in an unrelated article quoted on here today it's being called the footy show stripper fiasco, on ten news I saw it reported as a St Kilda's sleazy dance routine, and on it went and goes... all very preventable.

Do a consumer test and ask people what words they'd associate with the club in light of the routine, or in general over the last couple of years... and ask yourself if you'd want to associate a product of yours with that image.

In isolation the skit is a virtual nothing... in the context of our run over the last couple of years, you've gotta say WTF.
Yeah well I shouldn't have said the only place. But regardless, it has died down a hell of a lot since the first 24 hours and I'm not sure it helps for us to keep going on about it. And in saying that I'm in no way intending to denounce you're right to be really angry at what happened.

Just not sure it helps is all I'm saying.

Dr Spaceman wrote:strangely, the only place where it still seems to be being discussed is on this forum.
I dunno, I reckon it would be safe to say it's come up at 151 East Road, Seaford :wink:
Are you taking a pole, sorry, poll SainterK? :P

I know my opinion doesn't matter, but I reckon this is completely and utterly nothing.

The biggest issue for us is, that we didn't win a flag. When you lose, no matter by how much, all of this totally irrelevant stuff suddenly becomes an issue.

If you win, no one cares.

Last year, Saints and Collingwood players are drinking together in the pre-season. A Collingwood player gets beaten up.

We lose the Granny to Geelong, so the story is 'Saints Players on a 12 Hour Drinking Binge'.

Collingwood of course, go on to the win flag.

Heath Shaw's gambling, Krakouer and Swan's thuggery, Collingwood's attitiude towrdas women (Blair and Beames), Didak, etc. etc. didn't matter cause they won.

Our stuff was nothing compared to what went on there, but we lost. So it did matter.

Now that Collingwood have lost, all their s*** might suddenly become an issue!
Last edited by Johnny Member on Tue 04 Oct 2011 11:18am, edited 1 time in total.

markp wrote:

To me, that's the crux.

Yeah well I shouldn't have said the only place. But regardless, it has died down a hell of a lot since the first 24 hours and I'm not sure it helps for us to keep going on about it. And in saying that I'm in no way intending to denounce you're right to be really angry at what happened.

Just not sure it helps is all I'm saying.
Not angry DS, just bemused, and of course it will die down.... my point is it can only add to an already poor perception, and IMO it is further indication that something aint right down there.

I hear rumblings.

markp wrote:I hear rumblings.
You're not the only one it seems.

"He also is committed to staying long-term, amid speculation about his future as chief executive"

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... 6157591773

ooooooooooooooh

rumblings
interesting

thats twice now i heard this
maybe there IS rumblings
:shock:

:oops: :oops: SORRY! must be the all-bran! (rumbling that is) :lol: :lol:

skeptic wrote:I just don't get how rational ppl can see this as an issue

by all reports the whole revue had a rather provocative flavor to it and this was one aspect to it.

if your genuinely offended by this, I think you have a poor balance in your life... it's a non-issue in a world full of serious stuff

is it any more offensive then underbelly on ch9

there's all this poverty and crime and other social issues out there and this is what ppl feel outraged about... a consensual song and dance

the club's not making a statement

ppl need to get some perspective

i agree 100%...although the missus said that the skit objectified women.... :roll: :roll:

...me?...i just get pissed off with ads showing men as pawns or clowns.....it is okay....and gets a belly laugh ..when a woman shoves a man out of a hot air balloon...but would the same pple laugh if it was the woman who got shoved out......of course not.....not in the softcock pc solicialist world we now are forced to live in..... :roll: :roll: :roll:

As I said earlier, there are people responsible for media and it's not the CEO.

Seriously, blame these guys…

Communications
Kimberley Gardiner General Manager - Communications
Michael Artup Marketing Manager
Joc O'Connell Communications Coordinator

the voice of reason joins us! Gday stringer!!!! :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

To me, that's the crux.

PRECISELY!

Once again the club goes into damage control!

What it reveals is an administration who are asleep at the wheel 24/7!

Every player review has players in states of undress with scantily clad females!

How on earth the St kilda board did not even bother to inquire as to exactly what the St kilda players would be doing on the FS player review, given the way we have been portrayed in the media is mind boggling in the extreme!

IMO it's all a storm in a teacup about nothing but that's NOT the point!

To the media it's another free hit and to potential SPONSORS it's poison!

How a board can be so naive, stupid, vacuous and incompetent to not be over this BEFORE the event to avoid this even happening in the first place is the real issue!

Now once again like headless chooks the board are in damage control releasing press statements after the event.

This has the potential to cost the club hundreds of thousands of dollars in sponsorship contracts which is the real issue!

Seriously it's ANOTHER clear example of how amateurishly run and how incompetent these clowns are!

It's mystifying that no one on the board would think

St kilda players doing a skit on the FS player review where every year lot's of scantily clad women cavort with players in states of undress

perhaps we should inquire to see what they are actually doing given the sensitivities with how the club has been portrayed in the media in recent times and our need to acquire new sponsors

You'd reckon, surely!!!!!!!!!!

Another **** up by the board and could potentially cost the club hundreds of thousands of sponsorship dollars!

It's mind boggling in the extreme that would once again they react after the event rather than take action before it!

Asleep at the wheel 24/7!

dragit wrote:As I said earlier, there are people responsible for media and it's not the CEO.

Communications
Who's responsible for them?

To me, that's the crux.

PRECISELY!

Once again the club goes into damage control!

What it reveals is an administration who are asleep at the wheel 24/7!

Every player review has players in states of undress with scantily clad females!

How on earth the St kilda board did not even bother to inquire as to exactly what the St kilda players would be doing on the FS player review, given the way we have been portrayed in the media is mind boggling in the extreme!

IMO it's all a storm in a teacup about nothing but that's NOT the point!

To the media it's another free hit and to potential SPONSORS it's poison!

How a board can be so naive, stupid, vacuous and incompetent to not be over this BEFORE the event to avoid this even happening in the first place is the real issue!

Now once again like headless chooks the board are in damage control releasing press statements after the event.

This has the potential to cost the club hundreds of thousands of dollars in sponsorship contracts which is the real issue!

Seriously it's ANOTHER clear example of how amateurishly run and how incompetent these clowns are!

It's mystifying that no one on the board would think

St kilda players doing a skit on the FS player review where every year lot's of scantily clad women cavort with players in states of undress

perhaps we should inquire to see what they are actually doing given the sensitivities with how the club has been portrayed in the media in recent times and our need to acquire new sponsors

You'd reckon, surely!!!!!!!!!!

Another **** up by the board and could potentially cost the club hundreds of thousands of sponsorship dollars!

It's mind boggling in the extreme that would once again they react after the event rather than take action before it!

Asleep at the wheel 24/7!
You really have no idea if you think 'the Board' should be involved in approving media appearances.

You think Eddie & Gary Pert read the run-sheet of Before the Game every time a Collingwood player appears?

The only way the board are at fault here is if they have employed the wrong people in the Communications department… even that would be the job of HR, not the board…

markp wrote:
dragit wrote:As I said earlier, there are people responsible for media and it's not the CEO.

Communications
Who's responsible for them?
If they aren't doing 'their jobs' properly, then they need to be replaced with people who can…

You don't sack the head coach when a runner causes a free during a game…

Just had a problem with some chicken sauce I bought from Coles… turned out to be false.

Sack the board…