Is Pelchen sticking around?

Re: Is Pelchen sticking around?

Wayne42 wrote:The Pelican was good for the Saints, he probably didn't want to take orders on football matters from legal people or receive letters from them telling him
how it should be done.

interesting...thanks for that bratty

don't think this article has been put here.
bit of a summary as seen by this author
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-10-21/w ... work-again

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/c ... 7099761182
“We had to deconstruct the playing list of St Kilda very carefully — and with respect. There’s been some very famous and long-term servants of the club leave over the last three years and they’ve been very difficult decisions to make. But you need to make hard decisions to ultimately be successful in some circumstances.

“For all St Kilda supporters, I can assure you that if you have a comparison to where Hawthorn was in 2004 — they finished second-bottom, this year unfortunately the Saints did finish on the bottom, very similar in terms of the win-loss ratio and ultimately in terms of the main demographics like experience, age and, most importantly, talent. They line up very closely, so that would give some indication of the timeline that we will work towards at St Kilda.

“I confidently believe, for Saints supporters, that the next 12 to 18 months are going to be challenging — I don’t think we’ll walk away from that. But in 2016, things will start to turn around, 2017 there’s a reasonable expectation you can get to finals again and then the sky’s the limit.”

Nice way for him to say "all will be fine ..... I'm still a genius ..... just judge me 3 years from now can you cause I need another gig and my rep to stay intact hence resignation and not sacked

Smells this departure

His comparison to 2004...................hmm

Hawks then had 3 picks 7 and below 2004 draft

Roughhead, Franklin and Lewis

IF ONLY

chook23 wrote:His comparison to 2004...................hmm

IF ONLY
Maybe thats why he was so keen on getting 4,6,7 for pick 1.
I wonder if he would have stayed on if we made that trade.

pretty interesting interview.
he came across pretty well to me.

maybe he wanted TOO MUCH say in certain decisions?

Maybe, just maybe, Chris and Matt's version of why the decision was made is 100% accurate and in the best interest of the club. The way Chris has spoken about the club since would suggest he has no beef.

This version will be far too hard for many on here to accept. But it may be correct.

8856brother wrote:Maybe, just maybe, Chris and Matt's version of why the decision was made is 100% accurate and in the best interest of the club. The way Chris has spoken about the club since would suggest he has no beef.

This version will be far too hard for many on here to accept. But it may be correct.
Most people sacked from footy clubs are under injunctions to say nothing nasty for a period of time.

resaintlee

Now we have the young players (with a few more to come in the draft) it seems like they want someone able to take responsibility for srategically developing their performance which it sounds like wasn't Pelchin's forte.
He could bring them in but wasn't the person for the next stage. There is probably a role for him at the Club doing what he does but not with the authority position he seems to want.
A bold move, but hopefully a successful one depending on who and how the performance position plays out.
That person will need to be able to manage his/her ego if they are responsible for the structure and coordination of our coaching panel to maximise the players' development.

8856brother wrote:Maybe, just maybe, Chris and Matt's version of why the decision was made is 100% accurate and in the best interest of the club. The way Chris has spoken about the club since would suggest he has no beef.

Most people sacked from footy clubs are under injunctions to say nothing nasty for a period of time.
Most? I think you just made that up.

At any rate, I have never heard Pelchen criticise Port or Hawthorn, he seems to be pretty professional in that regard.

Most are signing clauses and know bagging will bring about a negative impression of them. You can usually tell which ones are saying nothing under duress or are deliberately holding back. Everyone remembers a gritted teeth press conferences where a sacked coach claims he left amicably. Don't think Pelchen sounds burnt.

chook23 wrote:His comparison to 2004...................hmm

IF ONLY
Maybe thats why he was so keen on getting 4,6,7 for pick 1.
I wonder if he would have stayed on if we made that trade.
imho...no...if he hadn't resigned he would have been sacked...

Scoop wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Agents of change rarely get to stay once the changes start flowing through. Often they are better at instigating change, than managing or bedding down that change. Sometimes they get too addicted to making major changes, and don't know when to steady the ship.

Recruiting/drafting wise the Saints had become abysmal....

We needed a kick up the bum, and Pelchen came and gave us our biggest offield kick up the bum since RB and GT arrived at the Saints in their "second coming".

We are clearly in a much better state recruiting wise even if some calls may have been too clever.

We will be a much better team for Pelchen having come to the Saints, but he had reached his use by date.

But make no mistake, if he had not come and shaken us up, we would be in an even sorrier state.
Totally agree sRr.

In my view Pelchen was brought in to make the hard decisions about the composition of the list and to get the TPP sorted - this is what he does. He has done that and laid the foundations for the next phase of the club's redevelopment. Effectively he has done himself out of a job.

I reckon the next bloke the club will be looking for is someone who can oversee all facets of the football department by melding and maximising the coaching, sports science/medical and development aspects into one seamless high performance unit.

I am looking forward to the next phase of the club's redevelopment.
Me too.

If this is the Job Description : Overarching football manager, with a handle on high performance, sports medicine, compliance, coaching, media and the myriad other football matters that are critical to any club. then it will not just be one of the many ex-players like Banger that they are nominating. If an ex-AFL footballer they will need to have added to their experience, and not just be an ex-AFL player that has coached a bit.

Also I think some have forgotten that Luke Beveridge has joined us as Director of Coaching for 2015. So a Football Department rejig was already underway!!

The position is similar to that held by Richardson when he was director of coaching and strategy at Port Adelaide alongside coach Ken Hinkley in 2013.

So look for the new person to have skills, capabilities and experience that Luke does not have.

I know just the man for the job! And hes available now. Could start Monday.