Trade-Draft 2021 Discussion

Saints58

Re: Trade-Draft 2021 Discussion

Maybe we should pick up this guy, we can get him and not worry about draft picks or even big contacts just give him a 1 or 2 year contract Michael Hartley he was recently delisted from Hawthorn he is 28 199cm 100kg played 49 games his stats are Disposals Elite
Kicks Elite
Handballs Elite
Tackles Above average
Spoils Average
Intercept marks Below average

We could do worse then him Hawthorn have a lot of players in his position don't know why they delisted him But could be a good backup if needed.

Saints58 wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 3:53pm Maybe we should pick up this guy, we can get him and not worry about draft picks or even big contacts just give him a 1 or 2 year contract Michael Hartley he was recently delisted from Hawthorn he is 28 199cm 100kg played 49 games his stats are Disposals Elite
Kicks Elite
Handballs Elite
Tackles Above average
Spoils Average

We could do worse then him Hawthorn have a lot of players in his position don't know why they delisted him But could be a good backup if needed.
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/ ... t.1284796/

More about Hartley in the link above from BF

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 9:29am
saynta wrote: Thu 23 Sep 2021 5:06pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Thu 23 Sep 2021 5:01pm From Hangdog on BF, what he suggests make a lot of sense. Plus it would give us the cover to take Windhager or Owens earlier should a club look like taking them.

Reckon I'm in the camp of splitting 9 with Brisbane and you'd still be a good chance of getting Sinn and another very good mid like Chesser, Taylor or Draper.

I'd look at trading Battle to Gold Coast as part of a 3 way trade. Also I'm going to put the likely pick number in brackets because of Darcy and Daicos bids. The points will be based on picks in brackets.

Saints In: Pick 14 (16), 17/18 (19/20) = 2015/1979 points
Saints out: Pick 9 (11) = 1329 points, Battle (values Battle at Pick 28-30)

Lions In: Pick 11, Pick 24 = 2114 points
Lions out: Pick 16, Pick 19/20, Pick 57 (60) = 2161/2125 points

Suns In: Josh Battle, Pick 57 (60)
Suns Out: Pick 22 (24)

Battle is excess to our needs and no guarantee to get many games, but too good not to be playing elsewhere. Suns would use him, and likely up forward where he wants to play.

Saints get two bites of the cherry in the deepest midfield draft in years.
Battle is definity not " excess to our needs'. We have no CHB for f**** sake.

So no thanks from me.
To be honest, that's a well thought out trade. It will take something like that to free up St Kilda's position in this year's trade & draft as we are fairly limited.

I think the fact you say "we have no CHB" is another statement against Battle. Whilst Battle is versatile, he's also limited in that he does not own or demand a position. Howard & Wilkie are locks. Highmore has already passed him. You are right, we need a CHB, Battle is not that player.

Max & Membrey are locks. Sharman has already passed him. We'd love a ruck to move forward. No secret we also want Bing. No forward spot for Battle.

Forget the midfield, he's not a midfielder.

A Win / Win for the Club & Battle if he is a required player by another club. A Lose / Lose if he's not.
I think you are a bit quick on the ‘he is not a midfielder’. Ratten thinks he is and he has a fair say. Our wings are very weak with Billings and Hill unable to hold down those positions. Ross and McKenzie ? hmm. Doesn’t really excite me. I think Battle will see out his contract.

Perhaps Gershwin but does Ratten think that because he's been unable to hold down a forward or back position & midfield is the only area left?

Ratten has had two years to play him on a wing, that's two years he has preferred others.

I like the idea of a wing who is 190+ cms, strong overhead, fearless, can defend and attack. I'd love that to be Battle but suspect he's not quick enough or agile enough.

Saints58

Could we use Battle next year with some picks for Ben King

Saints58

Devilhead wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 5:06pm
Saints58 wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 3:53pm Maybe we should pick up this guy, we can get him and not worry about draft picks or even big contacts just give him a 1 or 2 year contract Michael Hartley he was recently delisted from Hawthorn he is 28 199cm 100kg played 49 games his stats are Disposals Elite
Kicks Elite
Handballs Elite
Tackles Above average
Spoils Average

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/ ... t.1284796/

More about Hartley in the link above from BF
Thanks DH just read the bio sounds like he is ok especially if we don't have to trade for him could fill a roll for a couple of years.

Gershwin wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 5:39pm
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 24 Sep 2021 9:29am
saynta wrote: Thu 23 Sep 2021 5:06pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Thu 23 Sep 2021 5:01pm From Hangdog on BF, what he suggests make a lot of sense. Plus it would give us the cover to take Windhager or Owens earlier should a club look like taking them.

Reckon I'm in the camp of splitting 9 with Brisbane and you'd still be a good chance of getting Sinn and another very good mid like Chesser, Taylor or Draper.

I'd look at trading Battle to Gold Coast as part of a 3 way trade. Also I'm going to put the likely pick number in brackets because of Darcy and Daicos bids. The points will be based on picks in brackets.

Saints In: Pick 14 (16), 17/18 (19/20) = 2015/1979 points
Saints out: Pick 9 (11) = 1329 points, Battle (values Battle at Pick 28-30)

Lions In: Pick 11, Pick 24 = 2114 points
Lions out: Pick 16, Pick 19/20, Pick 57 (60) = 2161/2125 points

Suns In: Josh Battle, Pick 57 (60)
Suns Out: Pick 22 (24)

Battle is excess to our needs and no guarantee to get many games, but too good not to be playing elsewhere. Suns would use him, and likely up forward where he wants to play.

Saints get two bites of the cherry in the deepest midfield draft in years.
Battle is definity not " excess to our needs'. We have no CHB for f**** sake.

So no thanks from me.
To be honest, that's a well thought out trade. It will take something like that to free up St Kilda's position in this year's trade & draft as we are fairly limited.

I think the fact you say "we have no CHB" is another statement against Battle. Whilst Battle is versatile, he's also limited in that he does not own or demand a position. Howard & Wilkie are locks. Highmore has already passed him. You are right, we need a CHB, Battle is not that player.

Max & Membrey are locks. Sharman has already passed him. We'd love a ruck to move forward. No secret we also want Bing. No forward spot for Battle.

Forget the midfield, he's not a midfielder.

A Win / Win for the Club & Battle if he is a required player by another club. A Lose / Lose if he's not.
I think you are a bit quick on the ‘he is not a midfielder’. Ratten thinks he is and he has a fair say. Our wings are very weak with Billings and Hill unable to hold down those positions. Ross and McKenzie ? hmm. Doesn’t really excite me. I think Battle will see out his contract.
With Paton & Geary available next year I would expect Hill to be moved back to the wing position. McKenzie on the wing was a revelation this year and offers heaps, plus being able to push forward and snag a goal or two.

Ratten is a good coach but I believe he is wrong in attempting to turn Battle into a wingman.

Langdon's run for the entire GF was outstanding. That's what we need from our wings. I cannot see Battle doing that, perhaps Hill & McKenzie??? Maybe Connolly after another season.

How do Carlton fit George Hewitt and Adam Cerra into their cap?

Banger9798 wrote: Mon 27 Sep 2021 9:28am How do Carlton fit George Hewitt and Adam Cerra into their cap?
Brown paper bags as always?

Its reported we have shown interest in Tom Clurey from PA. I wonder if the club are looking at a package deal with Clurey & Ladhams something like Pick 9 & 2022 3rd round for Pick 16, Clurey & Ladhams.

Pick 16 becomes Campbell Chesser or Josh Sinn.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 27 Sep 2021 12:15pm Its reported we have shown interest in Tom Clurey from PA. I wonder if the club are looking at a package deal with Clurey & Ladhams something like Pick 9 & 2022 3rd round for Pick 16, Clurey & Ladhams.

Pick 16 becomes Campbell Chesser or Josh Sinn.
Good deal
Then Pick 16, next year's FRDP and Josh Battle for Bing

Saints58

Banger9798 wrote: Mon 27 Sep 2021 9:28am How do Carlton fit George Hewitt and Adam Cerra into their cap?
Brown paper bag of cash like they used to

Its rumoured that Nick Coffield's manager has been testing interest from other clubs.

I wonder what's going on there?

He is contracted so you would expect the Saints to put an early 1st round pick on him if he wants out.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/682339/sain ... ssion=true

ST KILDA has alerted teams that it is keen to stockpile more picks at this year's NAB AFL Draft.

It's understood the Saints are determined to add to their draft hand during the Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period over the next month and are open to getting creative to secure additional selections.

The club currently holds picks No.9, 46 and 64, but would ideally like another choice in the early stages of the draft to invest in young talent after consecutive years without a top-25 selection.

As reported by AFL.com.au on Monday, clubs – including Essendon – have registered an interest in contracted defender Ben Long. It's understood St Kilda would be open to trading the 24-year-old, should it receive a suitable offer.

Coffield, Long and Battle are all tradeable at the right price.

They could all turn into good players especially Coff.

FRDP for Coffield
SRDP for Long
SRDP FOR Battle

SAINT-LEE

I reckon Ben King & Sun's are wed for a decade but what if pigs flew ......

Saints Trade Out to Sun's:
Draft pick #9. Points value 1469
Ben Long #25 Points value 756

Saints Trade In from Sun's:
Ben King #4. Points value 2034

Trade Win to Sun's: Points value 2225
Sun's advantage gain #57

Saints don't give 3 f@cks we got Benny

Sun's Trade Out to Essendon:
Draft pick #19 Points value 948

Essendon Trade Out to Sun's:
Draft Pick #11 Points value 1329

Trade Win to Essendon: Points value 1704 :evil:
Essendon advantage gain #44

Bombers go away with a chub because they think they screwed another club over. Still have a top 20 pick and Long.

Sun's don't give a f@ck cuz they got another high pick ( maybe to bundle for AA players in exchange for #1)?

Thing is we need Sun's to dangle the bait because Bombers have our number from dipping their wick at their leisure into our draft picks....we always end up smashed and wondering why we hopped in bed with the ugliest mongrel at the pub.
Last edited by SAINT-LEE on Mon 27 Sep 2021 10:20pm, edited 2 times in total.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 27 Sep 2021 10:04pm I reckon Ben King & Sun's are wed for a decade but what if pigs flew ......

Saints:
Draft pick #9. Points value 1469
Trade to Sun's Points value 2225

Saints receive:
Ben King #4. Points value 2034
Sun's advantage
Could they pay his wages too? Like just 1 year maybe and we then could transfer the pokies license to B&M King.

SAINT-LEE

Callum Coleman Jones

How did we not look at this lad? He asked to be traded to Roos.

He did get the ridiculous 10 game ban for breaching Covid protocols.

But in 8 games he's shown A LOT! A LOT.
But here is traded off for a late draft pick.
We're left holding the bag hoping Mason Cox will play for free as a rookie.

Trade Radio

St Kilda have told Dean Kent and Jack Lonie they'll have to wait until the end of trade period for a new deal." - Mitch Cleary

Impatient Sainter wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 12:26pm Trade Radio

St Kilda have told Dean Kent and Jack Lonie they'll have to wait until the end of trade period for a new deal." - Mitch Cleary
At which stage if there are no takers for either player, Lonie will be delisted and Kent offered a one year contract.

SAINT-LEE

ESSENDON great Matthew Lloyd has warned St Kilda to be wary of throwing everything into the Ben King basket....look mate, I don't want to come across as a convincing cúnt who's using my position in the media to try and dissuade you from pursuing a star that I want at Essendon....but yeah....I'm a cúnt so there's that.

SAINT-LEE

saynta wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 12:30pm

At which stage if there are no takers for either player, Lonie will be delisted and Kent offered a one year contract.
Which is bonkers iny opinion...surely Lonie has more value dropping into the forward line if everyone else in the small forward category is hurt?

SAINT-LEE wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:41pm
saynta wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 12:30pm

Which is bonkers iny opinion...surely Lonie has more value dropping into the forward line if everyone else in the small forward category is hurt?
Yeah maybe but my source is realiable.