GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

Re: GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

jaxons wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:Need an update from Jaxons. Were we close to dealing?
Ok an update.
GWS offered us 4 & 7 but wanted 1 & 21 in return.
This happened yesterday afternoon.
If they threw in pick 6 we may have considered it, in fact likely we would have taken 4,6 and 7 for 1 & 21.
For what it's worth I would have only done 1 for 4,6,7 period.
GWS did not come to us at all today with an improved offer.
We dodged a bullet. Love the fact we get Petracca.

Cheers for the updates mate!

jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
If they threw in pick 6 we may have considered it, in fact likely we would have taken 4,6 and 7 for 1 & 21.

Yep heard that on SEN.

jaxons wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I think Daryl Kerrigan most perfectly summed up the answer to that 'offer'.

jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
Thanks. What a pack of arrogant arseholes

jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
That's really disappointing, but through no fault of our own. I would've happily given 4, 6 & 7 for 1, 21 & 22 even.

Selecting Petracca doesn't have me worried, but the thought of three out of Paddy, Lever, Wright, Laverde, De Goey or Weller would've had me and supporters everywhere doing cartwheels. Especially after we traded Rhys who despite inconsistencies had his best year for us this year.

I see the draft going Petracca, Brayshaw, Lever, Wright, Paddy, Laverde. If that happens I'll be so shattered.

Wright will be a good Boyd/Giles replacement. Paddy would then go to Pies, that would be a real kick in the guts. Laverde, well, to me he is exactly what we need on our list - maybe we already have him in Acres, but will be a steal at 6.

No point being upset about it I suppose, Petracca has shown he should be an excellent player, I am just shattered at what could've been. I feel like GWS have played us this year - we helped pump up the price of every pick they got this year, and missed them all.

evo

I think we got greedy and GWS called our bluff.

GWS are proving themselves to be among the best at trade week.

They've secured a champion midfielder and picks 4, 6 and 7. FML. Dynasty in the works.

When they start winning, they'll be retaining players with their eyes closed. Players love winning environments.

magnifisaint wrote:
jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
GWS 7 but wanted 1 & 21 in return.
I think we were the arrogant ones sitting on our hands and thinking they would come begging. Everyone knew 4, 6 & 7 was over but we didnt attempt to re engage GWS that was a considerable error on Pelchins behalf. I dont think the media release the day before suggesting the bidding frenzy over Pick one had just begun would have helped either. Far too smug for their own good IMO and the more I hear about there actions the more I understand what a poor job our trade team did!

No pick 1 has ever been that good !

evertonfc wrote:GWS are proving themselves to be among the best at trade week.

They've secured a champion midfielder and picks 4, 6 and 7. FML. Dynasty in the works.

When they start winning, they'll be retaining players with their eyes closed. Players love winning environments.

They were smarter than GCS as they got heaps of KPFs and knew they traded higher than other commodities. They had a handful of KPFs last year but still used their first two picks on the best two KPFs in the draft. They still have guys like Mc carthy and Stewart unable to get a game waiting in the wings.

evertonfc wrote:GWS are proving themselves to be among the best at trade week.

They were smarter than GCS as they got heaps of KPFs and knew they traded higher than other commodities. They had a handful of KPFs last year but still used their first two picks on the best two KPFs in the draft. They still have guys like Mc carthy and Stewart unable to get a game waiting in the wings.
They'll lose players to free agency in the coming years, of course.

But they'll also attract a string of players in the 23-25 age bracket who want to be there for 6-8 years of success.

People under-estimate how good their squad is becoming. It's the best crop of youngsters the game has ever seen.

When Ablett goes, they'll quickly overtake GCS. We'll be a year or two behind; one can only hope we sneak in a flag during a lull for the expansion clubs.

Basically, we need most of our potential guns - Billings, Acres, Hickey, Longer, Bruce, Lee, Membrey - to fire if we're any chance of knocking them off in their prime. Big ask.
Last edited by evertonfc on Fri 17 Oct 2014 3:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

WinnersOnly wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
jaxons wrote:
Ok an update.
GWS 7 but wanted 1 & 21 in return.
I think we were the arrogant ones sitting on our hands and thinking they would come begging. Everyone knew 4, 6 & 7 was over but we didnt attempt to re engage GWS that was a considerable error on Pelchins behalf. I dont think the media release the day before suggesting the bidding frenzy over Pick one had just begun would have helped either. Far too smug for their own good IMO and the more I hear about there actions the more I understand what a poor job our trade team did!

No pick 1 has ever been that good !
Nick Reiwoldt
Luke Hodge
Brendan Goddard
Adam Cooney

were, and still are, all 'not that good' players :roll:

St Ick wrote: Wright will be a good Boyd/Giles replacement. Paddy would then go to Pies, that would be a real kick in the guts. Laverde, well, to me he is exactly what we need on our list - maybe we already have him in Acres, but will be a steal at 6.
Hi Ick, to hopefully make you feel a bit better... :wink:

- Paddy only plays one posi' and only gets goals on the lead... will struggle to make it in the AFL.

- Two-metre Peter is 2 metres tall, only 18, and quite possibly already has a bad back... (and we have heaps of talls, despite losing Rhys).

- Laverde is very outside... I personally don't want a single outside player in our team... everyone must be able to win their own footy. The Dawks lost the 2012 GF to the Swine coz all their flashy outside receivers went missing in the white-hot heat of a GF. Angry Little Man Syndrome to his great credit recognised that, made the necessary personal and game-style tweaks, and in 2013 won a flag against the most defensively-minded side in the comp'. Then repeated that against the Swines this year.

Prediction: (Baring injury) Petracca will kick more goals than McOneTrickin.

IMHO we won't be disappointed that our recruiters held their nerve. :D

Dave McNamara wrote:
St Ick wrote: Wright will be a good Boyd/Giles replacement. Paddy would then go to Pies, that would be a real kick in the guts. Laverde, well, to me he is exactly what we need on our list - maybe we already have him in Acres, but will be a steal at 6.
Hi Ick, to hopefully make you feel a bit better... :wink:

- Paddy only plays one posi' and only gets goals on the lead... will struggle to make it in the AFL.

- Two-metre Peter is 2 metres tall, only 18, and quite possibly already has a bad back... (and we have heaps of talls, despite losing Rhys).

- Laverde is very outside... I personally don't want a single outside player in our team... everyone must be able to win their own footy. The Dawks lost the 2012 GF to the Swine coz all their flashy outside receivers went missing in the white-hot heat of a GF. Angry Little Man Syndrome to his great credit recognised that, made the necessary personal and game-style tweaks, and in 2013 won a flag against the most defensively-minded side in the comp'. Then repeated that against the Swines this year.

Prediction: (Baring injury) Petracca will kick more goals than McOneTrickin.

IMHO we won't be disappointed that our recruiters held their nerve. :D

Dave I still don't think have ever answered this but how many games have you seen these guys play. Get out of fantasyland and back to reality. By the way repeating the same rubbish doesn't make it true. And im sure you have said you don't drink. Its all very confusing how you come up with stuff then.

is fantasy land next door to numpty ville??
gws can get farked
they didnt want the pick badly enough
im happy to take it and take the Pet man with number one
we'll add to that next year with another low pick and jezza cam when he crosses to the sainters!

matrix wrote:is fantasy land next door to numpty ville??
gws can get farked
they didnt want the pick badly enough
im happy to take it and take the Pet man with number one
we'll add to that next year with another low pick and jezza cam when he crosses to the sainters!

Excellent stuff. I have no idea what all that means though.

thats because youre a numpty

we still love you tho

i think you know what it all means

matrix wrote:thats because youre a numpty

we still love you tho

i think you know what it all means

I have no idea. GWS can get farked. Wow. They didn't want the pick badly enough. What?

One gun player is better than 3 good ones. Lets hope Petracca is as good as Judd.

magnifisaint wrote:One gun player is better than 3 good ones. Lets hope Petracca is as good as Judd.
Yes we can only hope that he will be part of a Premiersip side or multiple Premiership side and NOT want to ........ F*** off!!! :roll: