Seb Ross

Re: Seb Ross

I'm still waiting for the article where the 2x B&F decided a change of roles in which he won the B&F would be a good idea.

'I just thought I was the best player but then we found out Steele was heaps better and we recruited a couple more blokes who are better and so I thought I'd take on a different role just to help out those guys out, Ask BM from Saintsational, he'll tell you how good I am'

It would go something like that I reckon.

Obviously Seb has NFI either.
Tell me again how nothing has changed and how the coaches don't deserve any credit for developing a 2xBF whose long kicking was crap and wasn't the best thing for the team and not in his realm or between his flags.

Then tell me that he didn't switch roles after a couple of BF's and let better players play his old role.

BTW, how did 2020 go for the club?

Killa

On anonymous forums such as this it is folly to assume re the identities - and connections - of other contributors

You just never know - and how could you because anonymity is the cloak

There may even be contributors to this site who know the Ratten family (noting that you could safely assume that even if you know the family, Brett would confide in you past the subject of polite conversation - so he would not confide past what is in the media, such as his opinion of Number 7 and the challenge he set Jack Steele et al. And it may also be that, if he lets slip, it does not finish up on sites such as this - sites which are trawled by media

Anyone can say that, of course, but who is to say that they misrepresent?

So how do you know?

Past the reporting of St Kilda in the media (which may not be factual, the media being what it is)

So there you go

Attacking those who do not concur with your (individual) opinion is fraught

And guess whose credibility is then called to question?

Funny how BOGs and Brownlow votes mean a lot when it comes to Seb, but when Dunstan was racking them up last year you were like “nothing to see here” BM…

The easiest was to sum Seb up is I doubt you’ll find another long term mid who has hit the scoreboard as little as he. He’s been good but no where near damaging enough over his career.

Killa

So, The Dud, what are those statistics?

And how do they compare?

Would you agree the synopsis that, whilst quick, Ross struggles running straight lines with ball in hand and disposing of the ball when running at pace?

Hence how many goals across how many games?

He does not challenge the goal front hence the data

In a day when analytics are the core

Hence Rath (from the AFL via Hawthorn)

I think 2020 can be explained by a few factors

Dan Butler - 30 goals
Paddy Ryder dominated centre bounce
Zac Jones breakaway speed from stoppage
Dougal Howard at FB
Brad Hill moving to HB

Steele evolution into elite mid

Max King available to play

Improvement from Coffield and Clark and Paton

Hannebery available in finals

Being one of the few teams that handled hub life

But hey, don’t let truth get in the way of a good story

Please do tell
How has Seb played so far this season?

Dunstan was excellent last season for a dozen games IMO

Obviously Ratten didn’t rate him though

So what is it

Ratten was wrong?
Or
Luke was not as good as seemed?

That’ll be a quandary for you?

Seb is still at StK as a mid
Luke plays at Casey

B.M wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:24pm I think 2020 can be explained by a few factors

Dan Butler - 30 goals
Dougal Howard at FB
Brad Hill moving to HB

Please do tell
Apology accepted. I've noted several times that Seb is playing well. Well within his flags.
I've also.noted that with his skill deficiencies under control, it may be time to unleash his outside game again, to add more variety to the teams midfield.

But hey, don’t let truth get in the way of a good story.

That's f****** funny coming from you.

B.M wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:24pm I think 2020 can be explained by a few factors

Dan Butler - 30 goals
Dougal Howard at FB
Brad Hill moving to HB

Please do tell
Brad Hill’s output in 2020 was less than what he achieved in his previous season in 2019 ( see link below). His averages in 2018 and 2017 were also much higher than his 2020 year. I wouldn’t say that he was one of the major factors for the club getting into finals

I also did a comparison of his 2020 season versus his 2021 season and he had higher numbers in 2021. Not sure when he got moved to half back, but if I recall correctly it was early 2021 and that’s perhaps why his disposal numbers were higher last year versus 2020

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... fopt2=2020
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:51pm, edited 1 time in total.

What stories have I told - please do tell?

It’s good you conceded but with a back handed compliment

Another story I’ll tell you
Seb has been in the best players in the last 3 wins

Not bad for a player
“Swimming between the flags”

B.M wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:51pm What stories have I told - please do tell?

It’s good you conceded but with a back handed compliment

Another story I’ll tell you
Seb has been in the best players in the last 3 wins

Not bad for a player
“Swimming between the flags”
Mum and dad didn't read you Sebs fluff piece, did they.

Im using Seb's own assessments.

He is swimming between his flags
Kicking shorter cause it better for the team, not his stats and vote count.
Working with what he has
Cause it's better for the team to keep possession
He was trying to kick the skin off, following Richo"s game plan. Kicking off his shiin.

Your ignorance and pompous attitude restricts you from being credible BM. Otherwise, you go well as a fan site forumite. When all else fail get childish and insulting.

I'm sure he was demoted from vice captain too but retained in the leadership group. Might have been focussing on his own game.

Conceded to you. What a laugh.

Mate

Just admit it

He’s a good player

You sound like a dick trying to prove he’s not

Every week he plays well, you look foolish and have to find excuses to downplay his performance - it’s tiresome and embarrassing

He’s had a great career as a Saint
Something you or I will never do, he’s captained the team, he’s been the teams best player. He’s going to play 200 games

None of the s*** you spruke on a fan forum about his shortcomings or inability matter a f***
He’s walked the walk

I respect what he’s done for the club I support, maybe you should show some respect - rather than try to tear down a dual club champion in order to try and make yourself sound like you have some idea on a fan forum

When it’s clear you don’t

But anyway,
I’ll let Sebs footy do the talking. It keeps making people like you look silly

Clutch at a few more straws champ!

I've never said he isn't.

You just won't leave that point and explore the conversation beyond your own scope because you think you already know everything.

Ross's own words champ.

So now it’s about me is it?

I thought we were talking about Ross?!

Change of subject? Why is that?!

BTW

I don’t know everything, far from it

But what I do know is that Seb has been a very good player for many years and I respect that.

Because of the direction he and quite a few others have had from the current coaching team Seb has played in a final and is a good chance of playing in a Grandfinal before he replies.
I've sat and read you and others bag the s*** out of selectors, new recruits, coaches and staff because your too short sighted to understand what develop and planning looks like and just run your f****** mouth off.
Why, because you worship mediocrity. Seb has improved even after the dizzy heights the previous coaching team took him to for playing his role.
His skill set has been tweaked and he and the club are better off for it.
Now as the development across a whole list is coming together, all the real f****** haters are jumping on board, slowly.
Coaches don't matter, he's not flint hard, he's too skinny, GC have a good list, GWS are going to win one soon. Your opinion and support has more caveats than a f****** prenuptial.
Keep edging your bets with seeds of doubt before each game, comments on how a players physical appearance is a indicator of how well he'll go and all the other s*** you spout on with. FFS.

No one has ever argued he has NOT been a very good player

There’d be a handful of games that he was outstanding in his career and even in those games he was probably 1 of about half a dozen St Kilda players who played their role for us to win games of football.

He wasn’t ever a ‘dominant’ player.

Scollop wrote: Mon 18 Apr 2022 12:35am No one has ever argued he has NOT been a very good player

There’d be a handful of games that he was outstanding in his career and even in those games he was probably 1 of about half a dozen St Kilda players who played their role for us to win games of football.

He wasn’t ever a ‘dominant’ player.
Boom

To me this is the crux of it. There was a patch, I think in 2017, when he had a few games over 30+ and kicked a few goals and he really looked like he was going to step it up but he didn’t.

For far too much of his career he’s been ok or good which is not bad... but I always wanted him to take the step that Steele, Crouch, Steven etc took. Consistently amongst our best.

Steele doesn’t win every game for us off his own boot. But on a down day he’s still pretty good. A crappy game for Crouch is still 20+ touches.
It’s a lot worse for Ross and we’ve seen it more than most of us have liked to.

The problem BM, is that you refuse to see it

Not a star of the comp but isn't he an important part of the team?

Killa wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:05pm On anonymous forums such as this it is folly to assume re the identities - and connections - of other contributors

There may even be contributors to this site who know the Ratten family (noting that you could safely assume that even if you know the family, Brett would confide in you past the subject of polite conversation - so he would not confide past what is in the media, such as his opinion of Number 7 and the challenge he set Jack Steele et al. And it may also be that, if he lets slip, it does not finish up on sites such as this - sites which are trawled by media

So how do you know?

Past the reporting of St Kilda in the media (which may not be factual, the media being what it is)

So there you go

SS trawled by the media? Doubt it.

Anyway, how is Brett now? Fully recovered and persistent headache gone?

takeaway wrote: Mon 18 Apr 2022 8:45am
Killa wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:05pm On anonymous forums such as this it is folly to assume re the identities - and connections - of other contributors

So how do you know?

So there you go

SS trawled by the media? Doubt it.

Anyway, how is Brett now? Fully recovered and persistent headache gone?

This made me chuckle. SunnyErnie is a real Killa....LOL.

Saintmike65

WOW…Seb really does polarise opinion…although not a fan personally, let’s acknowledge that he is a solid citizen playing his role!
As long as he does the team things and plays within his limitations, he’ll be fine.

I think Ross has been exceptional for us this year.

His gut running, his ability to win the ball in really important contests and his leadership

Look at the reaction of the others after he kicked that goal on Saturday, they flocked to him with joy and respect, says a lot really

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

B.M wrote: Sun 17 Apr 2022 11:36pm Dunstan was excellent last season for a dozen games IMO

Obviously Ratten didn’t rate him though

So what is it

Ratten was wrong?
Or
Luke was not as good as seemed?

That’ll be a quandary for you?

Seb is still at StK as a mid
Luke plays at Casey
Ratten an Dunstan obvious had issues outside of the football field, they’re humans, this happens. He was not operating under the same secretion criteria as others. He hasn’t broken into the premiership midfield yet, no shame in that.

Would Ross be getting a game at the Dees? Will Ross be getting a game at St Kilda if we had a full list? Will he be getting a game by the end of the year if the likes of NWM, Windhager and Clark continue to develop?

I’d love to hear which of our mids you have him ahead of.

Indeed he has, which really has annoyed some people.