What is a "Clutch" Goal ?

Re: What is a "Clutch" Goal ?

Devilhead wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 8:50pm
Leo.J wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 12:03pm Not sure if it’s been mentioned yet. But after 9 games both King and Sharman have/had kicked 13 goals.
2 of those games Sharman was Medical sub and didn't get on
so 7 games then?

Vortex wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 8:53pm
Leo.J wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 12:03pm Not sure if it’s been mentioned yet. But after 9 games both King and Sharman have/had kicked 13 goals.
so 7 games then?
The point being Sharman has kicked more goals than King across their first 7 games ... kicked more than Plugger as well .....but hey he is a bust

Devilhead wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:04pm
so 7 games then?
The point being Sharman has kicked more goals than King across their first 7 games ... kicked more than Plugger as well .....but hey he is a bust
ok bugger it...you've turned me around Devilhead, I'm jumping onboard the Sharman wagon. I'm now looking forward to a game more than I have in a long time. Do you think Paddy will play on Cooper or Max ?

Vortex wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:10pm
so 7 games then?
ok bugger it...you've turned me around Devilhead, I'm jumping onboard the Sharman wagon. I'm now looking forward to a game more than I have in a long time. Do you think Paddy will play on Cooper or Max ?
You are in a Vortex ... you are constantly turning around ..... leads to dizziness and confusion ..... if symptoms worsen consult a Doctor or maybe ..... a Psychiatrist

Devilhead wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:14pm
so 7 games then?
You are in a Vortex ... you are constantly turning around ..... leads to dizziness and confusion ..... if symptoms worsen consult a Doctor or maybe ..... a Psychiatrist
as a side argument it's a mouth watering prospect, Paddy McCartin V Cooper Sharman. Who wins?

Vortex wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:34pm
so 7 games then?
as a side argument it's a mouth watering prospect, Paddy McCartin V Cooper Sharman. Who wins?
Sharman would be instructed to lead up the ground, Paddy would probably let him.go.

so 7 games then?
King hopefully

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:46pm
so 7 games then?
Sharman would be instructed to lead up the ground, Paddy would probably let him.go.
and sag off to double and tripple team King while Sharman takes a contested mark 80m from goal

Devilhead wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:51pm
so 7 games then?
King hopefully
we eagerly await selection

Vortex wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:59pm
so 7 games then?
and sag off to double and tripple team King while Sharman takes a contested mark 80m from goal
If we intend on driving from defence then yes.
But if we can get the ball quickly, and your going to have to trust me or do some research, the last few times Sharman and King played, Sharman posted near King and was actually able to block for him very well.
In about 3 of Kings marks, Sharman's hands were right behind Kings shielding him from blocks and defensive play. It worked quite well.
But if Sharman can lead up and the mids cam get passed him, King just has to run into the gap.

If Paddy wants to drop off, I'd get King to run straight in Paddy's direction and get Paddy backing into dangerous positions allowing King to jump all over him at every chance he gets. f*** Paddy. King should knock the s*** out of him.

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 10:14pm
Vortex wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 9:59pm
so 7 games then?
If we intend on driving from defence then yes.
But if we can get the ball quickly, and your going to have to trust me or do some research, the last few times Sharman and King played, Sharman posted near King and was actually able to block for him very well.
In about 3 of Kings marks, Sharman's hands were right behind Kings shielding him from blocks and defensive play. It worked quite well.
But if Sharman can lead up and the mids cam get passed him, King just has to run into the gap.
no need for me to do any research, I trust you, let's hope he gets picked this week and hold on for the ride.

IMO the thread "what is a clutch goal "was just a distraction to bag Sharman . IMO Vortex knows what a clutch goal is 😉

bangaulegend wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 10:45pm IMO the thread "what is a clutch goal "was just a distraction to bag Sharman . IMO Vortex knows what a clutch goal is 😉
Yes but it would appear Vort has had his Vortex well and truly plugged judging by overwhelming support for Sharman in this thread.

He fought the good fight Vort but arguing for the sake of stupidity just can’t be allowed to win the day.

Anyhoo we are all on the Sharman train now with Captain Vort - let’s hope the kid gets a go and sticks it up a few Vortexes

bangaulegend wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 10:45pm IMO the thread "what is a clutch goal "was just a distraction to bag Sharman . IMO Vortex knows what a clutch goal is 😉
Quick Quiz: Which poster said this about one of our forwards;
Interestingly, of the 8 goals he has kicked, 4 of them have been clutch goals in the last quarter when the game was in the balance.
Supplementary Question: Can you name the forward?

Hint

viewtopic.php?p=1873298#p1873298

Who would have guessed hey?

Scollop wrote: Wed 22 Jun 2022 3:43am
Quick Quiz: Which poster said this about one of our forwards;
Interestingly, of the 8 goals he has kicked, 4 of them have been clutch goals in the last quarter when the game was in the balance.
Supplementary Question: Can you name the forward?

Hint

viewtopic.php?p=1873298#p1873298

Who would have guessed hey?
You do realise internet stalking is creepy?

A clutch goal is the one that helps the team go up a gear.

The Fireman wrote: Wed 22 Jun 2022 11:31am A clutch goal is the one that helps the team go up a gear.
Is that automatic?

meher baba wrote: Wed 22 Jun 2022 3:22pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 22 Jun 2022 11:31am A clutch goal is the one that helps the team go up a gear.
Is that automatic?
Hydramatic

So Batch’s Sharman write up below had the usual areas he has to work on pressure etc but the middle bit caught my eye and is why I think he’s handy alongside King…

Cooper was solid. He didn’t have heaps of impact, though he did boot three goals. But it was his running patterns that were great. He is never going to get heaps of the footy, but those patterns can disrupt the opposition defence is crucial for our ability to move the footy. He probably just needs to work on his pressure a bit more, but he’s acknowledged that. It was definitely a good game for Cooper, but there are opportunities for him to keep improving.

Teflon wrote: Thu 23 Jun 2022 1:09am So Batch’s Sharman write up below had the usual areas he has to work on pressure etc but the middle bit caught my eye and is why I think he’s handy alongside King…

Cooper was solid. He didn’t have heaps of impact, though he did boot three goals. But it was his running patterns that were great. He is never going to get heaps of the footy, but those patterns can disrupt the opposition defence is crucial for our ability to move the footy. He probably just needs to work on his pressure a bit more, but he’s acknowledged that. It was definitely a good game for Cooper, but there are opportunities for him to keep improving.
Ouch...didn't have heaps of impact and is never going to get heaps of the footy, words you never want to hear from the coach. If you've only got one trick then I suppose your challenge as an AFL footballer is you need that one trick to work nearly every game you play which in Coopers case is kick clutch goals. So obviously 0.8 goals a game isnt enough for Ratts, want to hazard a guess on how many goals he needs to kick against the Swans to keep his spot? I'll say 3 minimum.

Looks like we might get to see 'a clutch goal' this weekend.

That's bent...we need more of this left field thinking

There is a very interesting analysis article on ABC sports page on who are the top AFL ‘Clutch’ players. Sorry I’ve tried to paste it onto SS but not having any success.

It’s extremely in depth. It identifies ‘clutch’ players who influence games late in final quarters....... this doesn’t necessarily mean goal kickers.

In relation to players who kick ‘clutch’ goals for the Saints only King & Membery get on the tables. :cry:

It breaks ‘clutch goals’ into 2 areas. Goals kicked at important stages in the earlier 3 quarters of the game. And, goals kicked at a vital stage in the final quarter that gives the goalkicker’s team an advantage.

Surprisingly Max King isn’t as shocking at ‘clutch’ goal kicking this year as some posters on this site would reckon. The only full-forwards better than him were Tex Walker and Cameron (Geelong)! Although King’s stats were better in earlier 3 quarters than in the final quarter. King comes in better on average than Harry McKay andTom Hawkins!

It’s definitely worth a read. Shows our mid-field up as not having any ‘clutch players’ for getting the ball out & into forward fifty. Also highlights how Saints small forwards don’t rate as ‘clutch’ goal kickers.
Clutch goal kickers mostly are smaller forward players than the full forwards.

Maybe someone can post this article up. Sorry I can’t.

PS. DeGooey doesn’t come up as a ‘clutch’ player at stoppages or centre contests nor as a ‘clutch goal’ kicker. So save you money Saints!!!!!

loris wrote: Fri 26 Aug 2022 2:02pm There is a very interesting analysis article on ABC sports page on who are the top AFL ‘Clutch’ players. Sorry I’ve tried to paste it onto SS but not having any success.

It’s extremely in depth. It identifies ‘clutch’ players who influence games late in final quarters....... this doesn’t necessarily mean goal kickers.

In relation to players who kick ‘clutch’ goals for the Saints only King & Membery get on the tables. :cry:

It breaks ‘clutch goals’ into 2 areas. Goals kicked at important stages in the earlier 3 quarters of the game. And, goals kicked at a vital stage in the final quarter that gives the goalkicker’s team an advantage.

Surprisingly Max King isn’t as shocking at ‘clutch’ goal kicking this year as some posters on this site would reckon. The only full-forwards better than him were Tex Walker and Cameron (Geelong)! Although King’s stats were better in earlier 3 quarters than in the final quarter. King comes in better on average than Harry McKay andTom Hawkins!

It’s definitely worth a read. Shows our mid-field up as not having any ‘clutch players’ for getting the ball out & into forward fifty. Also highlights how Saints small forwards don’t rate as ‘clutch’ goal kickers.
Clutch goal kickers mostly are smaller forward players than the full forwards.

Maybe someone can post this article up. Sorry I can’t.

PS. DeGooey doesn’t come up as a ‘clutch’ player at stoppages or centre contests nor as a ‘clutch goal’ kicker. So save you money Saints!!!!!

Since the OP was posted Loris Wikipedia has added a photo of Jamie Elliot on its page for clutch moments.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clutch_(sports)