Everybody now.... 'Centrebet dot com'

StSteven

Dr Spaceman said:

"If any St Kilda supporter doesn't gamble but now starts gambling, or gambles a little but but will now gamble more, simply because their club has a logo on it's jumper, then they have really big issues anyway."

Please explain to me why Centrebet would want to pay out thousands of dollars in sponsorship then......

StSteven wrote:Dr Spaceman said:

"If any St Kilda supporter doesn't gamble but now starts gambling, or gambles a little but but will now gamble more, simply because their club has a logo on it's jumper, then they have really big issues anyway."

Please explain to me why Centrebet would want to pay out thousands of dollars in sponsorship then......
Errr brand recognition??? I don't think they're just limiting their sights to the one club they sponsor.

Finna wrote:Does anyone know the value of the deal and how it compares to our previous one?
Not sure of the value but they are giving us double or nothing on the contract. Should we take it?

What happened to individual responsibility?

If you have a gambling problem, it's yours to sort out.

It's not the job of society or government and certainly NOT the job of a football club to sort it out for you.

People have been gambling since the beginning of mankind, and will still be gambling the day the world ends.

Great work by the Saints on signing a major sponsor. Hopefully the dollars are good.

Finna

Finna wrote:Does anyone know the value of the deal and how it compares to our previous one?
Not sure of the value but they are giving us double or nothing on the contract. Should we take it?
We should definitely take it! what do you think?

Oh When The Saints Go Marching In.......

I have a spotsbet a/c,if i want to bet on anything from the races,footy or even a darts game i can,so be it.These companies are here to stay,whether people like it or not.I like the convenience it provides,have a bet not having to leave home

I say sponsorship go for it

YES i did lose on the sainters last year......this year?

Gambling is good.

Gamblers provide revenue for the Government.
Which in turn funds Government programmes.
Which in turn means the Government needs to raise less taxes from non gamblers.
Which in turn means I pay less tax.

bergsone wrote:I have a spotsbet a/c,if i want to bet on anything from the races,footy or even a darts game i can,so be it.These companies are here to stay,whether people like it or not.I like the convenience it provides,have a bet not having to leave home

spotsbet? Another new player in the neverending line of crooks after the money of people who can't afford to gamble.

bergsone wrote:I have a spotsbet a/c,if i want to bet on anything from the races,footy or even a darts game i can,so be it.These companies are here to stay,whether people like it or not.I like the convenience it provides,have a bet not having to leave home

spotsbet? Another new player in the neverending line of crooks after the money of people who can't afford to gamble.
How do you know whether or not I can afford to gamble ?

StSteven wrote:Dr Spaceman said:

Ford sponsor Geelong. Does that make their supporters rush out and buy a Ford? Maybe some really keen supporters may choose a Ford when making their purchase, but only when they're out to buy a car in the first place.

Does Centrebet want more people to gamble? Of course they do! But they are also after a bigger share of the present market. They seek to grow their brand and take customers from the TAB and other betting agencies.

The effect on Saints supporters would be the same whether they sponsored us or another team (which they will surely do if we knock them back). The only difference is this way we get their significant sponsorship bucks.

No doubt Derryn Hinch will see things differently but it is not our role to control problem gambling.

We exist to play football and that is all.

(IMO of course :wink: )

Why are they crooks? Is the local pub a crook getting money off people who are alcoholics? Sometimes people have to look after themselves unless you want a complete nanny state.

As long as they pay through the arse to put their name on the guernsey, so be it.

Ice Wolf

bigred wrote:As long as they pay through the arse to put their name on the guernsey, so be it.
I'd rather they used a wallet or better still a bank account. :D

Perhaps they can provide free gaming vouchers for all our Junior members?

Why are they crooks? Is the local pub a crook getting money off people who are alcoholics? Sometimes people have to look after themselves unless you want a complete nanny state.
Good on ya Mark.

Ryan gamble.

I'll take it, thank you very much.

Dodgy sponsors go hand-in-hand with St Kilda, so it's part of the fabric for mine.

Up here the RSL clubs HAVE to pour money - and not just a trickle - into community projects on account of their pokie income.

I don't really see a gambling company's investment in a footy club as all that different.

It's all circular. They want the money, they take the money, they give some of it back so they can get the money, they take the money, they give some of it back...

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

savatage wrote:Ryan gamble.
he is the key to this sponsorship no doubt. should be on all the posters and ads.

bloke 1: "hey mate - what you up to this arvo?"
bloke 2 : "well its caulfield cup day so so im just heading to the pub for a beer and a ryan"

savatage wrote:Ryan gamble.
he is the key to this sponsorship no doubt. should be on all the posters and ads.

bloke 1: "hey mate - what you up to this arvo?"
bloke 2 : "well its caulfield cup day so so im just heading to the pub for a beer and a ryan"

We close to a signature on this? Or will we do it Friday morning for maximum media coverage?????

Con Gorozidis wrote:We close to a signature on this? Or will we do it Friday morning for maximum media coverage?????
Can we have a bet on what day it will be?

And for those who prefer an exotic bet, we could nominate the amount involved :lol: