St Kilda Performance on Footy Show Review

OneEyedSainter77

spert wrote:
OneEyedSainter77 wrote:
millarsaint wrote:no one is saying flesh, dancing, couches, poles etc... are bad.

But considering our image problems last couple of years it was ill-thought out - hence the predictable Sun article.

it's comparable to giving Fevola free beer and a microphone and thinking it a sensible proposition.

'go on Fev it will be funny'

don't get me wrong I'm not outraged but just shaking my head at the brains trust.

if you wanted to take the mick why not choreograph a routine with nuns or something, or Saints players trying to pick up a hot coach in a nightclub?

an act featuring Ross Lyon protecting his family from dragons and demon creditors

at least give it a twist
I agree it wasn't the smartest thing to do content wise but its better to laugh at ourselves (after all, you shouldn't take that sort of performance seriously, especially after last pre-season) than to just hid in our shells.

Having siad that, I hope we stay away form the revue next year. I hope we have more important thngs to worry about.
Too many people laughing at St Kilda already after failing at three grand finals in a row, then all the off-season crap..the club should be trying to re-building respect, and this just looks sad, not funny.
As much as I hate being the laughing stock of the competition, we should be used to it.

Doesn't make it any better of course, I wish we were a more respected club but you know what we need for that? Premierships. It's simple. Win flags = get respect.

Until then, we could have the quietest, most boring pre-season ever and people would still be laughing at us.

Whatever. Let them enjoy our misery - will be all the more sweeter when we win - we'll get there one day!

ebsniffworth

You'd have to be brain dead to not understand why this was a bad idea.

You don't give people ammo to pot you.

5 seconds in last night and I knew this would be top story on the HUN website this morning and Neil Mitchell would be warbling about it.

Day before the grand final and what's top story on the HUN website and what's the old woman Neil Mitchell carrying on about...

Whoever ok'd this has all the intelligence of a used condom.

Storm meet Teacup

ebsniffworth wrote:You don't give people ammo to pot you.
Well Armo was a strange choice indeed given his involvement in the other incident :wink:
Last edited by Dr Spaceman on Fri 30 Sep 2011 1:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Hurricane wrote:Storm meet Teacup

Completely correct.

FFS blink and you miss it.

By the look of CJ and Raph dancing, we need a return to the Saint's Disco days. :shock:

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

GrumpyOne wrote:
Hurricane wrote:Storm meet Teacup

Completely correct.

FFS blink and you miss it.

By the look of CJ and Raph dancing, we need a return to the Saint's Disco days. :shock:
Well looking at Sam's performance, I'm just glad Allan Sidebottom is no longer at the club!

That WOULD have been front page :P

over reaction from the Club??

OR not

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/anger- ... 6153537646

chook23 wrote:over reaction from the Club??

OR not

well given the reactions on here and elsewhere ......... who knows-
as saints we have become so gunshy ...

I'm guessing the boys just wanted to be lighhearted and seen to be having a bit of fun-- theose who put together the show may have been more aware of the 'hidden' connections people would all to willingly make.
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 30 Sep 2011 12:37pm, edited 2 times in total.

OR not

A reaction to the actual performance, or to the media backlash?

The latter me thinks.

bvince17 Bernie Vince
The @theheraldsun is absolutely pathetic for having a crack at the st kilda boys for having a bit of fun @SamFisher25 let us bloody live!

I didn't think it was demeaning in any way. All the acts featured some sort of scantily clad young lady. But I did think it was pretty lame, but as someone else said, that is what TFS is all about.

However, I was on tender hooks thinking that Kim Duthie was going to pop up on that dancefloor at some point. :shock:

This is much classier.

thats it

theres no stopping him now 8-)

The Redeemer wrote:
The Jeff wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:Just relax you two. It was obviously taking the piddle out of the dog of a year that has been 2011.
Agreed. Chillax guys.
On the flipside see it as the last time we will see Raph on tv.....
want to put money on that ..... :?: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

matrix wrote:thats it

theres no stopping him now 8-)
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

tony74 wrote: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Aren't ping pong balls usually white tony? :wink: :P

I think the whole revue is crap, however I reckon for St Kilda boys to be involved in such a routine, well I'd go for the word insane before I'd even think of sleazy.

What this has exposed though (once again) is how our club just has no idea about PR.

So the St Kilda spokesperson said they are not happy and did not know and will be talking to the players involved, yet tweeted out a message not to miss it?

Good grief.

If people can't see how our club just keeps giving when it comes to this kind of stuff, your glasses are too rose coloured IMO.

The club is struggling for sponsors already, there is only so many times you can say 'we had no knowledge' before it wears thin.

Guarantee every other club knows what their players are committed to media wise.

This has exposed more than a bit of skin, the club is clueless.

OneEyedSainter77

I also think its a bit unfair of that article to blame the Footy show for it too. It was the St Kilda players who did it, the footy show shouldn't really get into trouble for "letting them" - that's pathetic and petty and juvenile IMO.

I agree with you, K. From a PR perspective this is an absolute nightmare. I know this will disgrace a lot of posters on this board but we better hope Centrebet stays with us because if they leave us, I can't think of a more lucrative sponsorship deal we can get atm.

:?

OR not

Just read the article. So St Kilda FC claim not to know they were on the show, or not to know the content of their segment?

I can understand the latter, but not the former, considering the club twitter promoted it.

Right hand talking to the other?

right hand doing something else i reckon
what a crock

The media will always refer to the CLUB when it was an employee of the club.....commenting

if that person who made a comment on behalf of the "club" is NOT the employee charged with it .................they should have been drilled re the correct process etc

IF IT was the employee given the responsibility should have known about (the skit) especially given the tweet to watch it etc etc

at this point we are again IN DAMAGE control....

get the PR area of the club right........Management from CEO down

Itis a PR nightmare for a club trying regain ground and respect. Players like Fisher are the supposed experienced leaders of the playing group, but instead he has a sign over his head now saying "I'm a d**khead" and I would reckon he has a few mates as well after the off-season bulldust- no wonder we had an ordinary year instead of challenging for another premiership with leaders like that.

Actions. Not Words.

An embarrassment of a program made worse by the thoughtlessness of the club at thinking it might be a lark.

Dumbarse, puerile, utter s***.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

the media have now turned it into...... how foolish is the CLUB and the communication between departments...

makes us look foolish etc

the actual skit being pushed into the background.......

We are just so under the microscope....

Players and PR department should have been all over the outcomes....

:evil: