The old days at Saintsational

Cassius ..thats right ..had forgotton that.. thanks for the memories Mart :wink:

BigMart wrote:I started in pre draft 2001....whilst looking into the Ball, Judd, Hodge profiles I stumbled upon sainters.com and from there found saintsational...

Bungiton an myself had some absolutely massive donnybrooks.... and at one stage i think were meeting up to exchange some views....never happened

we always made up, and I thought he was hilarious....he never had an ego, but a wit that could easily humiliate...

Statsman was the poster who I thought had the best handle on footy.....rarely wrong

Barks4eva hit his absolute peake in 2006/07.....some of his threads went for 20 pages

Sainter On Line or something like that was that abbusive and personal in his posts that I quit posting for 8 months....after I had my say on Justin Sweeney in which he took offense... one of only a handful of posters I have found to be nasty

and Grant did post on SS at least once...maybe twice
under the name of Cassius in about 2005
Wasnt cassius his son? Back to topic. Can someone tell me the site I would have posted on in about 1998 and 1999. It had running comments. There were no threads as such. Posted for about 2 years and then lost contact.

could have been original Saints Fan forum

or SS
both had the running conversation style of posting

saint patrick wrote:Cassius ..thats right ..had forgotton that.. thanks for the memories Mart :wink:
Cassius was his son's logon (Clay). I recall he got into the shyte with his old man when he spilled the beans on something on here a day early (team selection or a delisting or somerhing).

joffaboy wrote:what ever happened to bungiton?

Had a hilarious afternoon with him and barks and pwoit (I think) and a couplef others at a Carlton match a few years back.

One of the funniest blokes you would ever meet.

john collis......
Wasn't it Brian Collis Joffaboy? The Tribunal fellow. I have an inkling that was also one of Bungi's nom de plumes

True Believer wrote:
saint patrick wrote:Cassius ..thats right ..had forgotton that.. thanks for the memories Mart :wink:
Cassius was his son's logon (Clay). I recall he got into the shyte with his old man when he spilled the beans on something on here a day early (team selection or a delisting or somerhing).
Clay told us about Kosi re-signing before the Club had given a press release.

Yes he posted using his sons username 'cassius' Clay Thomas....

he attempted to set the record straight once

Cassius posted a fair few times....was well recieved by posters.... he stopped when it got a bit too close to home

BigMart wrote:Yes he posted using his sons username 'cassius' Clay Thomas....

Cassius posted a fair few times....was well recieved by posters.... he stopped when it got a bit too close to home
Yep GT named I believe 6 of his 8 kids after boxers.

I had a boxer called Barney. Was that one of his kids' names?

Iceman234 wrote:

I had a boxer called Barney. Was that one of his kids' names?

Your obviously a mate of GT's.

Wasnt cassius his son? Back to topic. Can someone tell me the site I would have posted on in about 1998 and 1999. It had running comments. There were no threads as such. Posted for about 2 years and then lost contact.
It was the other site..... think it was Sainters.com The guy Simon Templar or The Phantom used to run it .......... I think that's the one you mean Plugger. It had a good archive of photos. Anyway the guy who ran it ended up with the job of setting up the official Saints site....or something to do with running it for them.

I can remember visiting that site and Barks4Eva was on it..... I kept hoping he wouldn't find his way to Saintsational as he was brawling with everyone....... then he found his way over...... his modus operandi didn't change!!

A lovely poster from that site was Dougie........ he eventually came to SS. Sadly I think he has passed away.

this was 2003
http://web.archive.org/web/200302030637 ... um.php?f=1

ok doesn't seem to load the actual page
go to
http://www.archive.org/web/web.php
type in 'saintsational.com' near the http//

you will get a graph of pages available and a calender
take the cursor to an early year- 2002 or 2003
click on one of the circled dates
ie 3 Feb will get the old style front page with a report of the chinese Dinner ;)

go to the 'fan forum ' link at the top and you can find threads headings some may open some may not but the names are those of the long termers.
in the same style as today
- 'new forum' was 3 july 2003-
Topics Replies Author Views Last Post
Announcement: Wanted! Do You Know the Location of the Following People?? 14 saintsational 717 Sun Jan 26, 1:12 pm Jaxon5
Sticky: Painting Moorabbin Red 11 Templar 422 Mon Feb 03, 3:04 pm Doc Hollywood
For all you people who love stats :) 5 Aussie Jones18 131 Mon Feb 03, 5:39 pm
Statsman
The official saint chat [ Goto page: 1, 2 ] 29 lennyfan07 466 Mon Feb 03 5:30 pm philip
Good Luck Chad "Lefty" Davis! 0 Fraser 20 Mon Feb 03, 5:04 pm Fraser
our leader group of 7 is 2 rogerwa 153 Mon Feb 03, 4:48 pm SCM2180
The newest footy politician is .................. 3 Eastern Saint 120 Mon Feb 03, 4:09 pm busso mick
which games are our substitute matches? 0 Faithful Saint 23 Mon Feb 03, 4:03 pm Faithful Saint
For those who remember some of the 'news' posts of last year 0 dan warna 20 Mon Feb 03, 3:58 pm dan warna
Max Crow 1 saint23 51 Mon Feb 03, 3:57 pm Saint Tragic
roger wa was swept into power at the 1 Firthy 71 Mon Feb 03, 2:15 pm Milne
Hey Verduns Fan 15 loriswa 211 Mon Feb 03, 1:20 pm VerdonsFan

the one or two links in 2002 give this info

in the running comments style.
everitt....good riddance... - philip, Tue, Dec 17 2002 at 9:30 am
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

has anyone been to training lately? - saintly, Tue, Dec 17 2002 at 9:11 am
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ANyone know the answers to these questions - AHoney, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 10:29 pm
Re: ANyone know the answers to these questions - Hollywood, Tue, Dec 17 2002 at 8:44 am

Game plan - bungiton, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:44 pm
"Triple Tall Back & Attack" - Stikman, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 11:22 pm
Re: "Triple Tall Back & Attack" - Statsman, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 11:49 pm
Re: Game plan - rogerwa, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 10:24 pm
Re: Game plan - Statsman, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:58 pm
Re: Re: Game plan - bungiton, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 10:04 pm

Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - AHoney, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:06 pm
Re: Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - bungiton, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:38 pm
Re: Re: Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - Statsman, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:52 pm
Re: Re: Re: Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - vergs, Tue, Dec 17 2002 at 1:27 pm
Re: Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - Statsman, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:28 pm
Re: Justin Koschitzke next year what can we expect - Fraser, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:11 pm

we are getting value for money - rogerwa, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:04 pm
Re: we are getting value for money - Fraser, Mon, Dec 16 2002 at 9:19 pm
Re: Re: we are getting value for money - vergs, Tue, Dec 17 2002 at 1:30 pm

eastern as always wanted reports
Name: EasternSaint
Subject: Twilight Family Pincic !!
Sun, Dec 15 2002 at 6:08 pm
[ Email Msg | Invite ]
Could someone who attended please post a report on the evening. Things like;
How many in attendance?
How many memberships sold?
How the players were?
Any other info that might be of some interest !!
PS one thread is titled
'Ugly Rumour" Dec 12 2002-
and from responses it appears our salary cap and club finances where under AFL consideration. - as one posters comments- What's new?

loris wrote:
joffaboy wrote:what ever happened to bungiton?

Had a hilarious afternoon with him and barks and pwoit (I think) and a couplef others at a Carlton match a few years back.

One of the funniest blokes you would ever meet.

john collis......
Wasn't it Brian Collis Joffaboy? The Tribunal fellow. I have an inkling that was also one of Bungi's nom de plumes
Brian was very funny.
Though not always politically correct!
Remember his frequent requests for dinner suggestions.

98/99 when I first stumbled upon an incarnation of this site - also posted on Saints chat when GT was doing the rounds....

My favs:

JoffaBurns - level head and funny.
Krabb -hope ure well
Saintbec05
Statsman
ctqs
Barks - entertainment (even when it annoyed most)
Spelly

Jeffdunne was drivel.

Cant remember the name of the guy that got banned cause everyone said he was negative all the time...????? (he wasnt a troll) felt like he was older but can never be sure....

Verdun66

The first site I found about the Saints was I think 'Back to Moorabbin'. It was probably more a blog. Must have been about 1998/99.

Seem to remember another site that had 'chat', but I didn't get involved. Can't remember when I first saw Saintsational, but it was well before 2004 when the 'Crash' happened, and we all had to re-register.

Whenever I see a post with terrible spelling I think of Spelly. Stinger, Loris and Dan Warna were there way back. I miss Rogerwa....and where's Firthy gone?

True Blue Sainter

Ahh... Joffa Burns...Stikman...Statsman!! They were sensational posters. Austinn's Honey is another name I remember from that list!

The Saints are coming!

I also recall jars who posted a bit
What bout that looney Kenny?...

and then good old DodgerFox......I just know hes still lurking, waiting, hoping.......for more st kilda failure.....to pounce!!

yeah
i reckon rodger still posts
surely

Teflon wrote:ctqs
stood for close the quotes saints - we had 66 he wanted a flag in 99. Very clever as a nic back in those days

Teflon wrote:Cant remember the name of the guy that got banned cause everyone said he was negative all the time...????? (he wasnt a troll) felt like he was older but can never be sure....
poochy. Compared to the mentally ill NexXxus and his thousands of nic's he was logical and reasonable.

Yes loris Brian Collis - could tell it was an absolute pisstake, didn't know it was bungi.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

loris wrote:
battye wrote:
SainterK wrote:Wonder if he posts now?

Certainly would be interesting.

Anyone ever called out since to see if he responds?

Grant, you there? :)
I'm not sure if GT was ever on the forum; I was talking about the Saints chat.

But I'm almost certain his son was a regular poster here on the forum back around 2004 or 2005?
Grant Thomas was posting on this forum well before there was ever a Saints chat.

He went on the Saints chat because he was no longer allowed to post on this forum by the Club. It was when the Saints chat was started on the official AFL Saints site.

Clay (Casius) remained posting on this forum after GT had to cease.

The lad stopped when GT left the Saints when all the personal crap used to be posted about his Dad on this site by certain cowardly cyber wimps................ you know the numnuts, the ones who haven't got the language or analytical skills to criticise constructively and just spew forth with endless verbal diarrhoea.
yep......

Teflon wrote: What bout that looney Kenny?...
You mean that Scottish drunkard twat St.Kunny dont you? :wink:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

loris wrote:
It was the other site..... think it was Sainters.com The guy Simon Templar or The Phantom used to run it .......... I think that's the one you mean Plugger. It had a good archive of photos. Anyway the guy who ran it ended up with the job of setting up the official Saints site....or something to do with running it for them.

I can remember visiting that site and Barks4Eva was on it..... I kept hoping he wouldn't find his way to Saintsational as he was brawling with everyone....... then he found his way over...... his modus operandi didn't change!!

A lovely poster from that site was Dougie........ he eventually came to SS. Sadly I think he has passed away.
met duggie once......in canberra.....the day kosi played his first game in a saints jumper...pre season comp....he did pass away...his daughter posted that information for us...

Teflon wrote:ctqs
stood for close the quotes saints - we had 66 he wanted a flag in 99. Very clever as a nic back in those days

Teflon wrote:Cant remember the name of the guy that got banned cause everyone said he was negative all the time...????? (he wasnt a troll) felt like he was older but can never be sure....
poochy. Compared to the mentally ill NexXxus and his thousands of nic's he was logical and reasonable.

Yes loris Brian Collis - could tell it was an absolute pisstake, didn't know it was bungi.
I'm only guessing it was Bungi.......because he used to PM me when we were baiting a certain poster (naughty wasn't I), usually it was late Eastern states time(Bungi & I were in WA).......... up would pop Brian Collis posts and some of the comments were very similar to thoughts we had been having in our PM's) but he never actually told me he was the Collis poster...it was just me putting 1 & 1 together and coming up with Bungiton....... I could be way off the mark.

Also remember Doc Holliday........... did that poster morph into Holly Valance?

barks...rave on for 20 pages??
serious?? :shock:

friggin no way!
that woulda been great to see.

8-)