Draft Strategy

Kernal75

Am I the only one who thinks we needs more pace and high skill level off HB as well as a lead up forward to takle the heat off Rooey? Gram is cooked, Raph is Raph so never likely to break the game open unfortunately.

A Stephen Hill type around pick 32 would be nice, anyone fit that mould.....

[quote="Rosco"]yeah, i reckon the fact that GWS has so many of the early picks means that a few mids will slide - mids that would have been snapped up if it was 1 pick per club for the first 18 picks. because GWS isn't going to pick 8 mids in their 11 picks, don't need that many. still, i agree that our first pick needs to be for some size (KP fwd and/or back), but with some luck there may be some decent mids sliding to our picks in the 30s.[/quote]

I disagree to an extent. Unless a gun like Kersten, Tomlinson or similar slides to 25 I think we should go best available. I wouldnt want to miss a gun mid like crozier or kavanagh to get Talia at 25 as he fills a gap on the list.

Not many clubs have a second pick between our first and second pick, assuming most clubs pick up a best available kid with their first pick, we should roll the dice with it and hope/expect two kpps with 35 and 37.

Kernal75 wrote:Am I the only one who thinks we needs more pace and high skill level off HB as well as a lead up forward to takle the heat off Rooey? Gram is cooked, Raph is Raph so never likely to break the game open unfortunately.

Assume you mean 35. Milera is quick with good skills and could play that flank role. Curren or Talia would be a good pickup for pick 42. Isnt Bosely a kpp, might aim for him with 35 if available. Either way will probably not play this year as smaller bodies. Id still consider Fev for a rookie spot, best lead up fwd in the land.

I can see some left field mature aged choices coming out of WA though. And Currie has to be a chance...

Kernal75 wrote:Am I the only one who thinks we needs more pace and high skill level off HB as well as a lead up forward to takle the heat off Rooey? Gram is cooked, Raph is Raph so never likely to break the game open unfortunately.

stephen hills little brother would do the job for starters .

we just gave winmar a 2 year contract. surely he gets first crack at it off half back?

and yes a stong fwd to take the heat of rooey would be very very handy. i think most people recognise that one. just easier said than done.

SaintSimmo

As I have stated before I know a couple of the boys in this draft, I spoke to Tom Curran the other day and he said that St.Kilda was one of the clubs interested in him and he said another 5 clubs had spoken to him.

I think he would be a decent pick up with pick 37 or 42.

With the rise of Patton and Crozier in the forward line he was forced to play in the backline for Vic Metro but I have seen him play for Wesley at CHF many times and he has very strong hands and a great kick.

Sainter for life.

My wish:

Pick 25: Todd Elton

Pick 35: Mitch Grigg

Pick 37: Myles Bolger

Pick 42: Michael Talia/Andrew Bossely

Pick 60: Kyal Horsley

Pick 68: Jordan Murdoch

Pick 76: Jason Blake

thirty-seven!? wrote:
Gershwin wrote:The media draft experts are tweeting madly.

Names being linked to St Kilda are:

James Magner - killing it at training - Sandingham B&F strong midfielder
Kyal Horsley - mature-aged midfielder Subiaco
Alex Woodward - small mid - Sandringham Dragons
Tom Downie - 205cm ex basketballer Nth Ballarat Rebels
Out of interest, who are the 'draft experts' you are following??
Mainly Emma Quayle and those that she tweets with.

Did they say who we might be targeting with our first pick?

Assume you mean 35. Milera is quick with good skills and could play that flank role. Curren or Talia would be a good pickup for pick 42. Isnt Bosely a kpp, might aim for him with 35 if available. Either way will probably not play this year as smaller bodies. Id still consider Fev for a rookie spot, best lead up fwd in the land.

I can see some left field mature aged choices coming out of WA though. And Currie has to be a chance...

Saints94 wrote:

Not yet.
One of them said 2 hours ago that he is "trying to get some info on the Saints today".

SaintSimmo

Gershwin wrote:
Saints94 wrote:

Not yet.
One of them said 2 hours ago that he is "trying to get some info on the Saints today".
can u please post a link to these twitter accounts...would greatly appreciate it :D

Sainter for life.

Gershwin wrote:
Saints94 wrote:

Not yet.
Sweet mate, let us know :)

SaintSimmo wrote:
Gershwin wrote:
Saints94 wrote:

Not yet.
can u please post a link to these twitter accounts...would greatly appreciate it :D
BrettAndersonIF

They watch us, we watch them.
Last edited by Gershwin on Mon 21 Nov 2011 5:46pm, edited 1 time in total.

thirty-seven!?

Saints94 wrote:My wish:

Pick 25: Todd Elton

Pick 35: Mitch Grigg

Pick 37: Myles Bolger

Pick 42: Michael Talia/Andrew Bossely

Pick 60: Kyal Horsley

Pick 68: Jordan Murdoch

Pick 76: Jason Blake
If this is what happenss on Thursday, I would be ecstatic!!

However, both Bosley and Talia definitely won't be around at 42. Bosely almost certain to go at 32 to Geelong. Talia a chance for 35 or 37 though. Adelaide would swoop if we passed on him at 35.

Rucks didn't play a role in this years GF .,, it was a nil all draw.

Which makes me think we need 3 potential Steve Johnson type midfielders/goal kicking half forwards to every ruckman out there.

Kernal75

If Grigg is as slow as a Glacier then he's no use to us......think David Armitage! I think Jackson Ferguson (if available) ahead of Elton at 25, then go for the best available talent that addresses our obvious deficiencies......Speed & Effective Disposal.

A gigantor ruckman late in the draft would also be handy.

Kernal75 wrote:If Grigg is as slow as a Glacier then he's no use to us......think David Armitage! I think Jackson Ferguson (if available) ahead of Elton at 25, then go for the best available talent that addresses our obvious deficiencies......Speed & Effective Disposal.

We could upgrade Ferguson with our last pick if we wanted to.

I think you mean one of the other Jacksons :wink:

Kernal75 wrote:If Grigg is as slow as a Glacier then he's no use to us......think David Armitage! I think Jackson Ferguson (if available) ahead of Elton at 25, then go for the best available talent that addresses our obvious deficiencies......Speed & Effective Disposal.

Who is Jackson Ferguson apart from the one we already have?

Kernal75

Sorry my bad, got my Jackson's mixed up.

Jackson Paine ahead of Elton at 25.....

Who is Jackson Ferguson apart from the one we already have?
Not sure but if we draft Elton John then we'll probably need Molly as a line coach. Thought he'd be older than 25 by now ?

take Molly if the AFL let us put him on the veteran list.

saintsfreak

Kernal75 wrote:Sorry my bad, got my Jackson's mixed up.

Elton's better than Paine.

The Freak

saintsfreak wrote:
Kernal75 wrote:Sorry my bad, got my Jackson's mixed up.

Elton's better than Paine.

Anyone have much sauce on Danial Markworth?

Has been touted as a potentially high pick but hasn't been playing footy seriously for many years… so his potential improvement is a bit unknown?

dragit wrote:Anyone have much sauce on Danial Markworth?

Has been touted as a potentially high pick but hasn't been playing footy seriously for many years… so his potential improvement is a bit unknown?
Apparently Essendon have big interest in him, they have pick 19.