match in doubt. bombers couldn't land

Re: match in doubt. bombers couldn't land

It would be interesting to check the rules regarding this, technically speaking, I do believe that the rules will show that the game should be declared a forfeit by Essendon because they failed to field a team.
But, like in Tasmania, the AFL have bent the rules and we are bending over and taking it.

Have just read that the Bombers took the flight option because they are playing on Friday night! Fair dinkum, you are not going to suffer jet lag driving for three hours on a Sunday morning.
As it turns out, a lot of their players got air sick due to the rough weather they had to fly through.
Gee, light plane which can't fly above the inclement weather forcast for days, it's not rocket science that there might be some difficulties.
Wonder what would have happened if they did get down, play, then couldn't fly home and had to organise last minute accomadation and transport back down to Melbourne tiomorrow, great forward planning Bombers.
And yet, they get two points for being incompetent, they're lucky they are not going to get sued for their stupidity.

3rd generation saint wrote:Have just read that the Bombers took the flight option because they are playing on Friday night! Fair dinkum, you are not going to suffer jet lag driving for three hours on a Sunday morning.
As it turns out, a lot of their players got air sick due to the rough weather they had to fly through.
Gee, light plane which can't fly above the inclement weather forcast for days, it's not rocket science that there might be some difficulties.
Wonder what would have happened if they did get down, play, then couldn't fly home and had to organise last minute accomadation and transport back down to Melbourne tiomorrow, great forward planning Bombers.
And yet, they get two points for being incompetent, they're lucky they are not going to get sued for their stupidity.
rule out accommodation difficulty as their reason- seems they were booked into same hotel as Saints and DIDnt wish to share...........

Something very James Hird about it all. :lol:

3rd generation saint wrote:It would be interesting to check the rules regarding this, technically speaking, I do believe that the rules will show that the game should be declared a forfeit by Essendon because they failed to field a team.

Under NAB rules a coin toss could determine the winner. No kidding.

Rules are rules ... but of course it is the AFL we are talking about.

lol still cant get over this

So when the Bombers open their new training centre at Melbourne Airport, will they be flying to games at the MCG & Etihad? 

After all, the Tulla Freeway can be a bitch :P

Dr Spaceman wrote:So when the Bombers open their new training centre at Melbourne Airport, will they be flying to games at the MCG & Etihad? 

After all, the Tulla Freeway can be a bitch :P
So can spewing your guts up on a light aircraft!

R. Harvey 3 votes!

Anyone know who is going to refund the 100 bucks I spent on petrol going to wangaratta and back? Honestly who the F@rk gets a plane in that weather? What a bunch of flogs the essendon football club is! It was played in Wang not bloody Darwin!

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss

R. Harvey 3 votes! wrote:Honestly who the F@rk gets a plane in that weather?
Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens & The Big Bopper come to mind

poor didums had to forgo their Sunday coffees
The main thing is we've had to revise all our plans for individual players, and even our weekly training schedule because training this morning obviously wasn't on the agenda," he said.

"It's clearly not ideal for us, but having said that we've got enough time and games still ahead of us to engineer the desired work rate we need from the players in the lead up to round one."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

wet yes But Biblical? has he been reading on line forums
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/n ... 1ub3s.html

R. Harvey 3 votes! wrote:Honestly who the F@rk gets a plane in that weather?
Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens & The Big Bopper come to mind

The funny thing was I thought of Man U all dying on a plane when a mate told me the were flying into the wet in light planes. Which insurer let them do that?

saintbrat wrote:wet yes But Biblical? has he been reading on line forums
Umm no biblical is a fair call, based on the fact that it is reportedly the biggest floods in the area for 50 years.

The state of the ground was appalling. People have reported it was ok given the amount of rain.

Well faark me. If that was "ok" it must've been absolutely hosing for hours non stop!

saintbrat wrote:wet yes But Biblical? has he been reading on line forums
Umm no biblical is a fair call, based on the fact that it is reportedly the biggest floods in the area for 50 years.

The state of the ground was appalling. People have reported it was ok given the amount of rain.

Well faark me. If that was "ok" it must've been absolutely hosing for hours non stop!
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

First instruction when you get on a plane,-turn phones of or to flight mode, means no transmission does it not?
Players on twitter transmitting and coach on phone to CEO - I know many flout the rule but even so,

saintbrat wrote:First instruction when you get on a plane,-turn phones of or to flight mode, means no transmission does it not?
Players on twitter transmitting and coach on phone to CEO - I know many flout the rule but even so,
But it was a major problem.

The princesses were feeling airsick.

And they were stuck for TWO HOURS in a cramped, hot uncomfortable plane.

BWAHAHHHAHAHHAHAH!!!

saintbrat wrote:First instruction when you get on a plane,-turn phones of or to flight mode, means no transmission does it not?

BWAHAHHHAHAHHAHAH!!!
You go through it and see if you aren't sick.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

BWAHAHHHAHAHHAHAH!!!
You go through it and see if you aren't sick.
Never been airsick.

Been on turbo props in nssty weather also.

Have no sympathy for them considering a sensible bus ride option was the go.

dals_da_bomb

[quote="R. Harvey 3 votes!"]Anyone know who is going to refund the 100 bucks I spent on petrol going to wangaratta and back? Honestly who the F@rk gets a plane in that weather? What a bunch of flogs the essendon football club is! It was played in Wang not bloody Darwin![/quote]

Got to agree RH3V.
We drove up there aslo but our accomindation was in Beechworth-.

Was a farce up there.
and wet!

I was getting more current/correct information of facebook then the ground staff. I was told to refer to my ticket which stated no refunds when i asked if the reports of a refund were true.
Then the announcements about the praccy match being 20minx3... but then watching 10 x 6.

I dont think anyone knew what the hell was going on!

I do hope something is done by the afl to compensate the community.
they were literally giving away salad rolls during the scrap match.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

Well they had to give them away in the end. They were expecting 11,000 there on the night. Figures says both Rovers and Magpies lost about $40000 grand because of this farce! And that to local footy clubs is absolutely massive!

3rd generation saint wrote:Have just read that the Bombers took the flight option because they are playing on Friday night! Fair dinkum, you are not going to suffer jet lag driving for three hours on a Sunday morning.
rule out accommodation difficulty as their reason- seems they were booked into same hotel as Saints and DIDnt wish to share...........
Could it be that they TRIED to book the same hotel that the saints did (they may have even tried to pursuade the hotel operators to cancel the saints booking) but because they only tried 3 weeks ago they found that EVERYTHING in the region was BOOKED OUT????????? !!

Buckets wrote:Well they had to give them away in the end. They were expecting 11,000 there on the night. Figures says both Rovers and Magpies lost about $40000 grand because of this farce! And that to local footy clubs is absolutely massive!
Reduce Demetriou's annual bonus by 40K hand it to the Wang Filth!

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/opinions ... -widening/
The only problem for Essendon is that they might have been able to sell a few memberships but they won't sell many up there now.

It just seems to me that it's all about 'we've got the money, we can travel first class'.

It's like Collingwood, 'we've got the money, we can go to Arizona, we can do anything we like, we ooze cash'.

The richer clubs just get richer and the borderline ones, well they ride the buses of this world.

The only interesting thing about this is Geelong, the powerhouse side, when they have a camp they go to Torquay and don't worry too much about flying here and flying there and having rubdown beds on the way home from Perth.

Everybody tells you you've got to spend $45 million to win a premiership and this is out of the reach of some clubs.

But the Essendon debacle was a case of the rich and powerful falling at a hurdle for the first time in a long time.

they reckon they had a contigency bus ready on the Friday, but stated they were flying because there was no accommodation. so where were they going to stay if the contigency was used?

smell a red and black rat.