Game Thread.. Syd v Stk

Re: Game Thread.. Syd v Stk

Gwilt and Jones turning it over too much, talls have been useless and the mids can't win a clearance. Lucky Milne has kept us in it on the scoreboard. We're lucky to be this close, i hope they find something at half time

Gotta say, the Swans pressure is enormous and has put us on the back foot. The good news is we're still in the game however we'll need to play a lot better or this could be a blow out. All our best players are down. Hayes is getting smashed, Joey and Dal Santo can't get near it. Kosi, Roo and Goddard were all extremely poor.

bakes

We're Only down by 9 points, despite playing really bad against the top team. I'm tipping us to re- group and give it a good second half ( don't think we can get any worse). We are a side that doesn't give up!! Go saints

PakenhamSaint

Raining at the ground now.

sub roo out if injured... he's not giving anything at all. same ol thing from the saints soft footy 2nd quat... i didn't expect anything thing this game but... would like to see effort.

Lucky not to be at least 5 goals down. Talls are being murdered and mids are getting smashed. Roo's barracking and whinging about how lucky we were in the first qtr was sickening. Roo, Kosi and Goddard must get involved, or at least create a contest for us to get back into it.
Roo's still sticking the boots in in the background as I type. Not one bad word for the Swans when they were 4 goals down. Plenty for us all game so far.

Doesn't look good still. We are second to the ball but hard to get on top when you have a 6 foot 6 dud like Kosi fall over at the drop of a hat and offers no contest when he's challenged even by blokes a foot shorter than him. Been watching Gram too the last 10 mins, what a fairy floss footballer this joker is. Offers stuff all desperation and has virtually no physical presence. Laughable that he got a backended contract around $600k a year. Both these blokes would struggle in a VFL side and have no future value.
Last edited by saintkid on Sun 22 Jul 2012 3:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

Can Koshitzke frig off!!!! He is the most useless "big man" in the league. Waste of a position.

Maybe we can put the correct boots on and stop slipping over. This may help.

commentators on this game are very biased... getting sick of having to deal with this 90% of our games....

OneEyedSainter77

All the people out there saying lucky not to be eight goals down or whatever, you realise that take out the first quarter and we effectively are. The reason we are so pissed off is we blew a wonderful opportunity after kicking the first five goals of the match.

Unforgivable quarter.

I blame the coaching for the 2nd quarter.

We are never going to improve as a team until they learn how to play fast tempo football. We keep trying to slow the ball movement down and it is to our own detriment as we (Saints) lose any ball winning abilities, aggression and momentum.

The best way to defend is too take the opposition on and when we are just in a defensive mind set we get smashed ! We need to get back into the contest by winning our share of contested possession and to do that we have to have to take the game on. Very poor effort by the usual when the heat is on. I cant believe Gram still gets a game in the AFL and am disgusted it is with our team - has to tbe softest player ever to pull on a Saints jumper.

Today we look a very poorly coached and prepared side !
Last edited by WinnersOnly on Sun 22 Jul 2012 3:30pm, edited 3 times in total.

8856brother wrote:Lucky not to be at least 5 goals down. Talls are being murdered and mids are getting smashed. Roo's barracking and whinging about how lucky we were in the first qtr was sickening. Roo, Kosi and Goddard must get involved, or at least create a contest for us to get back into it.
Roo's still sticking the boots in in the background as I type. Not one bad word for the Swans when they were 4 goals down. Plenty for us all game so far.

unfortunately they were taping goddards ankle back on in the first quarter so maybe not going to turn it around. rooey needs to almost stay deep and run a little closer to goal. Schnieder is the one who could impact for me, he and Gram need to pick up.

That's the problem isn't it? The forwards aren't even bringing the ball to the ground. They're constantly getting out marked by Richards, Mumford and even Mike Pyke....Geez.

siposs should be put forward, but our mids are having trouble with clearences... its a hard one.

getting sick of this hudson wanker as well calling saints games.

[quote="snoopygirl"]For those of us working & unable to watch or listen, score please?[/quote]
5-13 43
5-4 34
you can tell by the theme of the thread which way

SMS

disgraceful effort. Only reason we are within 10 goals is MILNE (god) DEMPSTER and SIMPKIN (solid) and sydneys missing of easy goals.

Season over.

Kosi should be let go. Sorry just not good enough anymore.

Only positive is that we have unearthed simpkin and siposs.

saintkid

Jacks Back wrote:Can Koshitzke frig off!!!! He is the most useless "big man" in the league. Waste of a position.

Maybe we can put the correct boots on and stop slipping over. This may help.

Nah mate nothing to do with his boots. He is always like that in a contest, absolutely useless. Seriously has no body strength gets thrown around like a rag doll 99% of the time. Laughable when you see smaller blokes toss him out of the contest time and time again.

PakenhamSaint

Sydney have activated thier sub. Mumford is off.

We only have 1 player in the top 10 possession winners on the ground.

That player is a defender (Gwilt).

The Swans entire midfield makes up the other 9 players.

Jimmy O'Dea

Unless the ball lands on top of his head Kosi is useless. We really do play with 17 with him in the team for 95% of the game.

PakenhamSaint wrote:Sydney have activated thier sub. Mumford is off.
Well this will give us a shot....Just gotta get hold of Kennedy....Jones is all over Jetta....Those three are the Swans most important players IMO. Goodes getting a bit on...

Watters didn't sound too confident on Roo seeing out the game

[quote="ShanghaiSaint"]commentators on this game are very biased... getting sick of having to deal with this 90% of our games....[/quote]
and what the comments here are more easy to digest?
Seriously Roos has a "bit" of footy knowledge
and the other commentator is StKIlda's longest serving captain
what more do people want?

Mumford being out?? Is a big positive for us - but leaving Goodes alone in the goal square is not