Saints in NZ- April 2013 ( vs Swans)- Vision

Re: Saints vs Swans in NZ

miskycat wrote:Annoys me no end. We must be hard up for cash.
How about a sponsor instead?

Supporters dudded big time.

Why is the AFL doing this? They need to invest more money on the game in Australia, especially grassroots, instead of this piece of nonsense.

why are the supporters dudded?

if you don't go to the match in NZ and if you have a membership you will be compensated with an extra game in melbourne.

and if you are a member and decide to to go to the NZ game game is included in the home games.

I think the club is being more then generous.

Skildir

Don't get our supporters sometimes. If another club does something innovative or outside the square everyone jumps up and down and says why didn't we try that. Now we are doing something bold and it's the worst idea since unsliced bread.

Say what you want about the current Saints admin, they're pretty conservative and methodical in their approach. This deal is being backed big time by the AFL and the Wellington City council. You can bet that 7 and Foxtel will be 100% behind this too. All the ducks in a row so you'd imagine a big payday.

As for losing games to NZ, based on some of the woeful attendance figures we generated this year I don't think anyone could mount an argument that Saints fans are desperate for more footy in Melbourne.

Well said mate!

We lost a lot of money last year so anything that helps replenish the coffers is probably a good thing

Will sheep be allowed in?

SaintPav wrote:Will sheep be allowed in?
No; they're baared :P

LOL :wink:

I actually think this might turn out to be one thing the board has done right!

Aside from a nice pay cheque, great promotional opportunity in OUR HOME JUMPER and a whole country that hopefully embraces the game with St kilda first cab off the rank

They have to get something right eventually, perhaps they've cracked it

I think one thing that shouldn't be lost as a huge positive for the club in this deal is that we have just secured an ANZAC day match. The timeslot is arguably worth more than the venue. One way of looking at his deal is that if the venue side of things doesn't work we are in the box seat to negotiate with the AFL to have an ANZAC day timeslot at an Australian venue. However the important thing to remember is we have secured an ANZAC day match.

It's a big tick to the Footy First team.

mcadam05

Here's what the Local press think about it

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-spor ... big-things

mcadam05

I'm listening to 'Radio sport' (the NZ SEN) the afternoon host is speaking with great enthusiasm about the AFL coming too Wellington and the all callers are very postive about it even people from other parts of country talking about going down to Wellington for the game

less then 24 hrs old and the Vibe is pretty good :)

http://radiosport.co.nz/

Re: Saints in NZ

Nick and Co have popped across to check it out
http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-disp ... -up-198313
Getting the chance to play on Anzac Day, even on New Zealand soil, will be a 'huge honour' says St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt.

Riewoldt and ruckman Ben McEvoy were part of a Saints delegation that made the trip to Wellington on Friday to receive an official welcome at Te Papa, the museum of New Zealand, following the announcement the Saints will play Sydney in a ground-breaking match in the capital on April 25 next year.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsartic ... fault.aspx
A delegation of representatives from the St Kilda Football Club, including captain Nick Riewoldt, attended the launch function in Wellington on Friday.

Senior representatives from the AFL and St Kilda joined Wellington Mayor Celia Wade-Brown and Councillor John Morrison, as well as the Australian High Commissioner Michael Potts in celebrating the signing of the premier partnership agreement between the Wellington City Council.

“I see this match encouraging our Trans-Tasman cousins to deepen sporting and cultural ties, providing mutual tourism and business opportunities,” Wellington Councillor John Morrison said.

Re: Saints in NZ- April 2013 ( vs Swans)

Time for the Velcro gloves.

Excited for this. Probably head over. Reckon it will be a great experience to be at the first AFL game overseas. Wont be many people able to say that in 50 years time.

audio from yesterday
http://arntrnassets.mediaspanonline.com ... 0933_0.mp3

http://radiosport.co.nz/news/spspo/7101 ... l-fixture-
AFL NZ confident in next year's top level fixture

By: Brenton Vannisselroy | Other Sport News | Thursday September 13 2012 6:40

AFL New Zealand's trumpeting the announcement of a top level Aussie Rules match in Wellington.

For the first time a regular season AFL match will be played outside Australia, with St Kilda and Sydney to meet at Westpac Stadium on ANZAC Day next year.

AFL NZ chief executive Rob Vanstam is sure it'll be a success.

"The way the AFL is as an organisation, I think that they know exactly how to promote it and I'm sure that, coupled with Wellington's success at putting on events, it's a good marriage."

Vanstam says having an elite level game will help promote the community programmes they're putting in place.

"With the game coming on board, it provides a message to New Zealanders that anybody, men and ladies, they can all play the game now."

He says the game is the best advertising they could hope for.

This is from earlier in the year --->-http://radiosport.co.nz/player/ondemand ... ellington-
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 14 Sep 2012 6:44pm, edited 1 time in total.

today Fri
hardsell‏@hardsell
Big Rooey makes it on NZ TV, @TV3nz had him saying 'it'll be sweet as bro to play in Wellington' @stkildafc #gosaints

AFL International‏@AFLGoingGlobal

In New Zealand with Nick Riewoldt Ben McEvoy introducing them to Westpac Stadium ahead of NZ ANZAC Day 2013. History http://pic.twitter.com/G6GUvl84

You know I am beginning to falter in my thinking BJ will stay :(

I just reckon he'd be over there with Roo....

Someone please tell me he was booked in for surgery?

SainterK wrote:Someone please tell me he was booked in for surgery?
Yeah, he was booked in for a jumper transplant. :D

having his white removed.

mcadam05

clarky449 wrote:Excited for this. Probably head over. Reckon it will be a great experience to be at the first AFL game overseas. Wont be many people able to say that in 50 years time.
In 50 years NZ will be a state of Australia though!

saintbrat wrote:today Fri
hardsell‏@hardsell
Big Rooey makes it on NZ TV, @TV3nz had him saying 'it'll be sweet as bro to play in Wellington' @stkildafc #gosaints

AFL International‏@AFLGoingGlobal

In New Zealand with Nick Riewoldt Ben McEvoy introducing them to Westpac Stadium ahead of NZ ANZAC Day 2013. History http://pic.twitter.com/G6GUvl84

OMG :shock: :shock: :shock: Is that a little bit of white sock peeking out between the end of Roo's trouser leg and shoe?

Oh dearie me Nick I thought you would have more fashion sense than to wear white socks with a suit............... very boganish. Lift your game me lad :evil: