Raph Clarke on the move

Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

Re: Raph Clarke on the move

Raph has had more than enough time to become a solid AFL player, he's just a little way off unfortunately. Have to respect the bloke for his effort and courage.

Are we waiting for a saviour?
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!
andrewg

To be honest ability isn't my biggest concern with Raph it's his body. Calf injures have plagued him which doesn't help form and consistency. I can't question his courage and effort though it always seems outstanding.

But I think it's time we let home go. Don't think I can watch another game turning holding the ball decision against him. I wih him all the best at his new club. And I genuinely hope he does well.

I suppose Clarke's position within the team is being squeezed out. If we actually secure a key defender (or two), then the small/medium defender roles can be filled by Fisher, Geary, Dempster, Gilbert, Gwilt, and Newnes. That's 6 players for 4 positions. Clarke has now moved to the back of that queue and it's probably in his best interests to look elsewhere.

Farren Ray falls into a similar category, with Sam Dunell capable of playing the his role, but with far superior foot skills. The same can be said of Clinton Jones, who has Tom Curren breathing down his neck.

It's quite possible that we lose, in total: Goddard, Clarke, Ray, Jones, Crocker, Polo, Peake. We'll need to move on at least that many if we want to trade two players in and elevate two rookies. Blake's future depends on who we can secure during the trade period, but I'd love to still have him around for another year due to his versatility and dependability.

saint6

cant blame raph for looking to move - he was played out of position this year. To put him at full back against north melbournes giant forwards was ridiculous. He was far from our worst player that day but seemed to cop the blame for our poor perfomrance.
Would love to see him play in the forward line - he was originally drafted as a forward.

In relation to the guys questioning my post re compo...

I'm sure I've read somewhere that it was a net worth of all FA's scenario for compo picks. I hope I am wrong, either way, if we are already at Band 1 with BJ, its only fair to start again with another compo pick for more players lost. (one would think...)

One thing I don't want is to top up our list for the sake of it because losing Raph wont get us compo!

It wouldn't let me quote you all :lol:

If Raph leaves it's going to be bad news for someone on our list.

It wouldn't surprise me if Carlton wanted him. Raph on the HBF could allow them to play Gibbs or Yarran in the midfield.
Also, Malthouse would tell him to play like Harry O, get it and kick it as long as you can.

saint6 wrote: He was far from our worst player that day but seemed to cop the blame for our poor perfomrance..
Scapegoated.

You'd think that once all the calls for his head were heeded that we'd be a better side ... make the finals even.

But that didn't happen, predictably.

The knockers overlook Raph's strengths, of which there are many, and see only the howlers

Good bloke being aside, I find it fascinating that another club will pick him. He's injury prone and not consistent enough for AFL standard IMO. I guess if he is picked up as a FA we would be compensated with a pick around 55.

paddy

he would be a depth purchase.....

I will be disappointed to see him go. He was probably our most courageous player.

I lost a bit of respect for Scott Watters when he only gave Raph the three games this season. Did not make sense, other than to appease the anti-Raph drongos.

I find it fascinating that another club will pick him. He's injury prone and not consistent enough for AFL standard IMO.
0ne man's trash is another's treasure.

Malthouse senses an opportunity here.

borderbarry wrote:I will be disappointed to see him go. He was probably our most courageous player.

I lost a bit of respect for Scott Watters when he only gave Raph the three games this season. Did not make sense, other than to appease the anti-Raph drongos.
Yes, a victory for the haters unfortunately.

Old Mate wrote:Good bloke being aside, I find it fascinating that another club will pick him. He's injury prone and not consistent enough for AFL standard IMO. I guess if he is picked up as a FA we would be compensated with a pick around 55.
Spot on, Old Mate. Could be a win for us. Send him to Carlton and watch him turn it over, get run down, make poor decisions and feature on "Coach killers" every other week. I can't believe people still think he will make it as an AFL player. 85 games in 9 years says it all. Courageous? Yes. Good bloke? Tick. Very ordinary player who is past it? Definitely. If we get any compensation for him, in the form of another club's pick, I'll be rapt. I fear it may be a case of what GT used to say, "a mars bar and a can of coke". That should do it. My bet is he'll be delisted and maybe (a big maybe) another club will gamble on him with a late pick.

If he goes free, that would dilute our BJ compensation yeah?

saintlee

Raph seemed like a good fella. Only okay as a player, no real loss IMO

saintlee

Munga wrote:If he goes free, that would dilute our BJ compensation yeah?
Wouldn't dilute it, if anything will add to it

Royston

saintlee wrote:
Munga wrote:If he goes free, that would dilute our BJ compensation yeah?
Wouldn't dilute it, if anything will add to it

Correct - completely seperate 'transaction' to Goddards.

The only way Goddards FA pick would be diluted is if the Saints pick up a player through FA, not lose one....

borderbarry wrote:
How can you lose respect for someone displaying their opinion? I don't rate Raph Clarke either, I respect him as a person & for all he's given but it doesn't mean you should lose respect for someone disagreeing with you?

Dr Spaceman wrote: for whatever reasons, his career continually stalled.
Thsat is a strange way to describe failed hamstrings.

borderbarry wrote:I will be disappointed to see him go. He was probably our most courageous player.

I'd prefer he stayed. But I think it's a stretch to think that Watters didn't play him just to appease the spectators. Tts just nonsense. D you think that maybe there might be some things that happen that we don't see and that the coach and match committee do?

Carlton have no interest according to Greg Swann on SEN.

I would've thought it was a victory for common sense and objective observation. 85 games in 9 seasons. Injury prone and this year the coach had a look and obviously didn't like what he saw. Does that make Scott an anti-Raph drongo?

barrel-it

alot of players never see an AFL game after being drafted, they spend a year or 2 in VFL/WAFL/SANFL before they get cut loose, along way from being the worst ever AFL player.

I bet the 2013 squad are sh*tting themselves if he leaves...
1. Who are you all going to string up now?
2. Who is going to back into the packs?
and finally, raph played buggar all this year and we still looked like a second rate side....

hope he goes and plays consistent footy @ carlton or wherever under an old school coach such as malthouse or sheedy where they could possibly turn him into a 50+ goal fwd!